toyota2nr wrote:Habit7 wrote:toyota2nr wrote:I am not defending him obviously.You are defending him.toyota2nr wrote:This is a story of something that happened 14 years ago. The express real fishing for a story to bring down the government. And by who? The PNM agent Anika Gumbs.
You are using the skewed Section 34 logic that time absolves wrong doing. Then you are blaming the revelation not on the legal fraternity that brought it forward but the reporter who is doing her job.
Furthermore, you attacking me personally as if Garvin Nicholas' accusations are an attack from me to you. We know the politics heighten now, but please keep it civil.
Seems balisier house give you that raise you wanted. Read again I am NOT defending him in any way. Not sure what Section 34 logic you talking about but along that line you seem to be using emailgate logic. Carry on.
The man did nonsense more than a decade ago and paid the price for his crap. He needs to answer. I fail to see what impact that has on his job right now. You wanna hold the PP to high standards? No scene I completely agree with that but hold the PNM to same standard too. Let's talk about what the PNM did in the 70's and 80's and beyond. Bring up O'Hallaran and Tesoro. Let's talk about the Scott drug report and La Tinta bay.
As mentioned before there is no statue on ethical behaviour.
slippy1 wrote:toyota2nr wrote:Habit7 wrote:toyota2nr wrote:I am not defending him obviously.You are defending him.toyota2nr wrote:This is a story of something that happened 14 years ago. The express real fishing for a story to bring down the government. And by who? The PNM agent Anika Gumbs.
You are using the skewed Section 34 logic that time absolves wrong doing. Then you are blaming the revelation not on the legal fraternity that brought it forward but the reporter who is doing her job.
Furthermore, you attacking me personally as if Garvin Nicholas' accusations are an attack from me to you. We know the politics heighten now, but please keep it civil.
Seems balisier house give you that raise you wanted. Read again I am NOT defending him in any way. Not sure what Section 34 logic you talking about but along that line you seem to be using emailgate logic. Carry on.
The man did nonsense more than a decade ago and paid the price for his crap. He needs to answer. I fail to see what impact that has on his job right now. You wanna hold the PP to high standards? No scene I completely agree with that but hold the PNM to same standard too. Let's talk about what the PNM did in the 70's and 80's and beyond. Bring up O'Hallaran and Tesoro. Let's talk about the Scott drug report and La Tinta bay.
Yes and the PNM was voted out of office for facilitating corruption by people who knew what was right. The public made them pay in the elections of 1986
Do you have the moral gumption to do the same now? Or are you going to provide excuses?
Maybe you'll just not take a stance and stay away from voting(which is your legal right). BUT REMEMBER EVIL PROSPERS WHEN GOOD MEN DO NOTHING
toyota2nr wrote:Habit7 wrote:toyota2nr wrote:I am not defending him obviously.You are defending him.toyota2nr wrote:This is a story of something that happened 14 years ago. The express real fishing for a story to bring down the government. And by who? The PNM agent Anika Gumbs.
UML wrote:and the achievement thread go die a natural death...cause pnm doh do nuttin!![]()
toyota2nr wrote:You giving me a headache with all that nonsense. I never attacked you personally, that would be a waste of my time.
toyota2nr wrote:If that happens you know Habit7 and RASC and the rest gonna go into hibernation. Their thought processes narrower than a bicycle lane...
toyota2nr wrote:Obviously you are still blind to decades of PNM destruction. Read what I posted before making an @$$ out of yourself. I leave it up to the electorate to decide. If it comes to that I will vote a third party. Integrity should never be compromised. I don't know what so hard in that for you to understand.
toyota2nr wrote:I am not downplaying anything but why the huge fuss about something that the man already paid for that has no impact on his present position.
Habit7 wrote:How has Nicholas paid for this breach of integrity?
For real I forgot how expensive they were to print. An intern can never afford that...toyota2nr wrote:Please tell me how you think he should pay for printing call cards 14 years ago claiming he was an attorney while he was still doing his internship.
toyota2nr wrote:OP you just join tuner and chirping loud....
Quit while you're ahead it looking bad on your part.
This is a story of something that happened 14 years ago. The express real fishing for a story to bring down the government. And by who? The PNM agent Anika Gumbs.
Please tell me what bearing that has on him being an AG right now. UDFR...
Law Association on complaint against AG: Mischief afoot
Gail Alexander
Published:
Friday, February 6, 2015
The Law Association of T&T has told attorney Gregory Delzin that a matter which arose 14 years ago while Attorney General Garvin Nicholas was a student was addressed and resolved and it is “unfortunate and mischievous” that the matter became public yesterday.
The association issued a copy of a letter to this effect, signed by its president Seenath Jairam and sent to Delzin yesterday.
This, after Delzin wrote the association on the matter involving Nicholas on Wednesday, shortly after Nicholas was appointed Attorney General. The association’s council met Wednesday night.
But private documents concerning Nicholas’s pupilage period were leaked to the media, appearing in an Express report yesterday. It was reported that the issue of 14 years ago concerning Nicholas was being referred to the association.
The association was being urged to investigate allegations that Nicholas, while in pupilage at Trinity Chambers in 2001, was cautioned by then chamber head Desmond Allum, SC, about breaching the Legal Profession Act (LPA).
This occurred after Nicholas allegedly printed call cards representing himself as an attorney admitted to practise in T&T.
Allum is now deceased. A copy of a letter by the deceased Allum was sent to association on Wednesday. Allum had reportedly spoken to Nicholas on the issue in 2001 in the presence of Delzin.
Lawyers attached to Trinity Chambers now, according to the chamber’s telephone recording listing, include Delzin and former Solicitor General Eleanor Donaldson-Honeywell.
She resigned in 2014 while former attorney general Anand Ramlogan was in office and her complaint to Ramlogan ignited the prisongate controversy, now under probe.
Prisongate refers to an investigation where civil claims were being filed against the State by prisoners who claimed they were beaten in custody and awarded compensation by the Judiciary.
Police are probing allegations that the information in the civil lawsuits were being copied and pasted by attorneys involved in the matters.
Nicholas has said he had left Trinity chambers due to false allegations that he sought a percentage of fees paid to attorneys in the chamber for work done.
He said he had also resigned not because of the call card issue but because he felt some personalities were being “petty” and he didn’t want to be there.
He said he had been a barrister of England and Wales and a member of the Inner Temple.
However, as he had not yet been called to the local Bar, it was felt he should not state that on his card. He said when the situation was pointed out, he complied and later left on very amicable terms with Allum.
Delzin didn’t answer calls on the association’s letter.
Full Confidence
Yesterday Government confirmed due diligence was followed with regard to Nicholas’ appointment. The Communication Ministry, via a statement, added:
“As explained by the Attorney General (in the story) he was called to the Bar in the United Kingdom in 2001 as a barrister of law and member of the Inner Temple.
“Later that year, he returned to T&T to start his six month in-service training at Trinity Chambers under the tutelage of the head of chambers, the late Desmond Allum, SC, as part of the Legal Education Certificate (LEC) requirement to get called to the Bar locally.
“Regarding allegations that Mr Nicholas was requesting a percentage of fees from work he had referred to attorneys while at the chambers, these claims were denied and Mr Nicholas continued his pupilage at Trinity Chambers until his decision to resign and complete his training with Mr Robin Montano.
“It is worth noting that this matter occurred more than 14 years ago and was resolved. Senator Nicholas was called to the Bar in 2002 in T&T, and has a distinguished career in the fields of law, politics and diplomacy.
“Government has every confidence that Senator Nicholas will execute the functions of the Office of the Attorney General responsibly and in keeping with the highest principles of integrity, transparency and accountability,”
No censure for West
The Law Association’s Council meeting on Wednesday did not have any motion calling for Police Complaints Authority director David West to resign and no motion was “out-voted,” legal sources said.
West has been called upon to resign by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar for failing to notify the President or herself that he was allegedly approached by former attorney general Anand Ramlogan to withdraw his witness statement in a defamation lawsuit in support of Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley.
Members said there was an almost full council turnout but no motion to call on West to resign.
They said discussions on West began at the association’s meeting last Saturday following which the council issued a statement, saying then attorney general Anand Ramlogan should resign to the face of a police probe.
They said the West issue was again examined at Wednesday’s council meeting but no decisions were taken, sources said. Association officials yesterday said it stood by its statement of last Saturday.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-02- ... hief-afoot
HIGH COMMISSIONER GARVIN NICHOLAS WINS DIPLOMAT OF THE YEAR FROM THE AMERICAS AWARD
A leader among his peers
Garvin Nicholas has won the coveted Diplomat of the Year from the Americas Award in his role as High Commissioner to the United Kingdom.
London is host to one of the largest diplomatic communities comprising some of the most experienced and influential diplomats in the world.
High Commissioner Nicholas was nominated and voted for by his peers in the Diplomatic Community in the UK. The Award Ceremony was put on by DIPLOMAT magazine at the Langham Hotel in London and hosted by former British Ambassador to the United States, Sir Christopher Meyer.
Nicholas has lifted the image and influence of Trinidad and Tobago in the UK and the Commonwealth over the last two and a half years.
Nicholas is:
-Member of the Board of Governors of the Commonwealth Secretariat
-Member of the Board of Governors of the Commonwealth Foundation
-Member of the Executive Committee of the Commonwealth Foundation
-Chairman of the Grants Committee of the Commonwealth Foundation
-Member of the Commonwealth Education Trust
-Member of the Commonwealth Advisory Panel for the Queen
Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee Trust
-Chairman of the Sub-Committee of the CARICOM High Commissioners for Trade and Development
-Member of a Sub-Committee to rationalise the Strategic Plan of the Commonwealth Secretariat
Trinidad and Tobago is also a member of the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG).
As a result of his efforts, Trinidad and Tobago is now recognised as an active and influential participant in the quest to strike a balance between human rights and democracy and development issues as the Commonwealth charts its future.
Trinidad and Tobago's culture has been significantly exposed to the diplomatic community and the general population of the UK with initiatives such as the very impressive four and a half week Cultural Village put on during the summer of 2012, our Golden Jubilee year, and the annual Parang and varied religious receptions hosted by Nicholas in the UK.
Most importantly, Nicholas has been able to present a professional and uplifting image of Trinidad and Tobago and has been able to attract significant direct investment interest towards Trinidad and Tobago in the Energy, Tourism, Manufacturing, Financial and Infrastructure Development sectors.
Nicholas, who came within a few hundred votes of winning the Diego Martin North East constituency in the 2010 General Elections, noted that while he enjoyed his role as High Commissioner, he got into politics to serve the people and enjoys his role most when it impacts directly and positively on the lives of people.
Nicholas thanked his staff for their invaluable support to him in the execution of his role and noted that his successes would not have been possible without that support.
In moving forward he wished to note that, "Trinidad and Tobago is a nation with huge potential, sometimes you get a better appreciation for the potential from a distance. We however need to be far more proactive as well as responsive to opportunities as the best opportunities do not wait for us to deliberate indefinitely."
http://www.tthighcommission.co.uk/index ... icas-award
orangefox wrote:toyota2nr wrote:OP you just join tuner and chirping loud....
This is a story of something that happened 14 years ago. The express real fishing for a story to bring down the government. And by who? The PNM agent Anika Gumbs.
Slippy you are academia material . Welcome to Tuner !
Toto so if you commit a crime or a discretion 14 years ago and then go on to be the Attorney General,
simply by an act of insanity or desperation that person should not be evaluated ?
Then you further "evaluate" the reporter or begin to shoot blanks at the messenger Anika Gumbs ?
Your free laptop should be used for education Toto. Kindly return and go to back of Standard 1![]()
Hmmm ...![]()
Desmond Allum SC had a problem with this AG and any evaluation is in order.
toyota2nr wrote:orangefox wrote:toyota2nr wrote:OP you just join tuner and chirping loud....
Slippy you are academia material . Welcome to Tuner !
Toto so if you commit a crime or a discretion 14 years ago and then go on to be the Attorney General,
simply by an act of insanity or desperation that person should not be evaluated ?
Then you further "evaluate" the reporter or begin to shoot blanks at the messenger Anika Gumbs ?
Your free laptop should be used for education Toto. Kindly return and go to back of Standard 1![]()
Hmmm ...![]()
Desmond Allum SC had a problem with this AG and any evaluation is in order.
Like you now come off the fig boat...welcome to Trinidad eh.
There was an issue 14 years ago involving Garvin Nicholas and it was dealt with and resolved. He resigned his position at the law firm.
Why you only bringing it now? Because the express reporter brought it up? Why bring up a closed matter if not only for mischief.
Habit7 wrote:If integrity "should never be compromised" why downplay the issue saying that the event occurred 14yrs ago?
Why attack the reporter who is reporting on the LATT report?
If me being a part of the electorate will decide, why attack me personally?
Nobody is stopping you from opening a thread about O'Halloran, Tesero, Gene Miles, etc. But this thread's focus is on our new AG. If Glenda Morean becomes AG again what she did 14 years ago become relevant again.toyota2nr wrote:So we can talk about that issue that was resolved 14 years ago but we must NOT talk about PNM misdeeds just 5 years ago.
That is PNM donkey logic...