So TTADA threatening Japanese exporters..... LOLZ

triniroro

So TTADA threatening Japanese exporters..... LOLZ

Postby triniroro » February 3rd, 2015, 9:47 pm

So it seems that V Babwah and the boys at TTADA dont like the recent upsurge of individual importers trying to save some hard earned cash by purchasing directly online.....

I wonder who they go threaten next? People who does sell rim and tyre online? Amazon??? This has to be the most blatant act of selfishness and greed to hit this industry.. The failed to stop new importers from being registered as dealers, now they attempting to boycott the exporters, the very same exporters who they depend on for credit and specifically ask for favors to ply their trade...

Like they feel Trinidad is a big market for these Japanese exporters, that BTW, number in the hundreds??

Lets see what happens next.

This should be interesting..... lets see what the local media thinks.... starting here..
Ttada Letter page 1.jpg
Ttada letter page 2.jpg
Last edited by triniroro on February 3rd, 2015, 10:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: So TTADA threatening Japanese exporters..... LOLZ

Postby joker » February 3rd, 2015, 10:22 pm

lol at drastic actions

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » February 3rd, 2015, 10:36 pm

Greedy people out here .....

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 3rd, 2015, 10:47 pm

Them are realise is new vehicles people leaning towards.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » February 3rd, 2015, 10:48 pm

LalChun

Postby LalChun » February 3rd, 2015, 10:58 pm

Ahahahahahaha firetruck them

Postby Dizzy28 » February 3rd, 2015, 11:05 pm

They can't even spell "breach"

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 3rd, 2015, 11:18 pm

Please tell me that they didn't send that rubbish.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 4th, 2015, 2:23 am

Do so aint like so!

Ryan2302

Postby Ryan2302 » February 4th, 2015, 2:43 am

These people not serious...loool :drinking:

Postby A172 » February 4th, 2015, 4:44 am

boolas

Postby ismithx » February 4th, 2015, 5:39 am

Hahaha Japanese gonna laugh at that letter... Full of bluff and poorly worded. They need to get with the times, increase the value of the product they provide or lower price

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » February 4th, 2015, 5:52 am

They too damn greedy

neexis

Postby neexis » February 4th, 2015, 7:06 am

Is there still need for foreign used vehicles? Considering more affordable new vehicles and a very wide selection available in the local used market

mad

Postby mad » February 4th, 2015, 7:08 am

chulo45 wrote:They too damn greedy

Very greedy indeed. People in Trinidad are becoming smart and trying to save their hard earned money by bringing in these RORO vehicles on their own. These dealers have no right to do this. All of them employ a mere 5, if so much. Therefore their business does not create value unlike the Toyota and Nissan etc. new Car dealers which employ a range of people to the organisation, after service and parts. The intent of these dealers is to make the dealer rich and hence greedy.
I highly doubt they will be able to succeed on the intention of that letter. By the end of the day the japanese will want to get a hold of as much market share as possible and dealers here are dependent on them for their supply. Therefore the japanese look like their have full power here. Lol.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » February 4th, 2015, 7:18 am

Them ain't know who they dealing with at all. This very dumb. Aparantly them ain't making no money at all

Postby pete » February 4th, 2015, 8:10 am

The power of bulk purchases should allow them to have lower fees than someone buying a single car.

They also have the advantage of having vehicles ex stock which some people prefer than having to wait two months and the hassle of getting import licenses etc. Plus they give a 3 month 3000km warranty on vehicles.

What they need to do is put a value on their product such that someone wouldn't go directly to the auction houses for buying a vehicle. What they need to do is see how much people are buying cars on their own and then factor in the warranty and availability to work out their markup. The time for making 20-30k on a car costing 30-40k are gone, now they need to learn to be competitive or they'll continue to get left out.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 4th, 2015, 8:15 am

wait till ppl started getting scammed left right and center ....... most will end up right back by the dealers

there is always suppose to be a pricing middle ground between supplier and retailer that allows both parties to make a profit regardless of the transaction process. to bad most local retailers are unscrupulous and greedy

tony12tt

Postby tony12tt » February 4th, 2015, 8:25 am

Where do I even begin attacking this attack? To begin with the wording of the letter has every indication of it being written by a capital dunce. These people call themselves a "professional" body or association? I maintain, when Trinidadians give this impression of ignorance it reflects poorly on the entire nation. The GORTT has allowed citizens the freedom to import a vehicle of their choice (certain restrictions apply) from a country of their choice. Now dealers are launching an attack on this freedom by issuing what is essentially a threat to their supplier. I imported a vehicle for personal use from Japan last April. Based on local market prices for the same model vehicle I estimate that my cash saving by choosing to import on my own was somewhere in the region of $30K (conservatively). The fact is that for years the dealers have been gouging because of an imbalance of knowledge/power in the market. A basic business lesson states that in such situations (asymmetric knowledge) will cause one party in the deal to profit more than the other. When the playing field is leveled and consumers are now able to make the links themselves or though friends (who share their knowledge, experience and networks) the party that once held all the power gets upset. They are essentially a CARTEL and NOT a dealer's association. Too many local businesses and their representative associations are quick to cry to the govt when the game changes. We saw the same thing happen over the Christmas period when retailers complained about a reduction of their sales due to the rise of online shopping. Essentially no business in this country wants YOU to save money. They want you to pay for their gouging and utter lack of service. I do believe that the Japanese embassy and the Min. of Trade and Industry should look into this. This signals arrogance and could be a severe disruption to trade relations between the two countries. Either way, I'm interested to know how this cartel plans to enforce and execute the threats they've issued. their "stipulations numbers "1" and "3" would require them to audit the accounts, telephone records, email records etc. of the Japanese suppliers. Number "5" is essentially trying to control the content that these suppliers can and cannot display on their websites. This is information that the cartel does not hold an intellectual property right/copyright to or can legally control in any way. Their illusion that they can control who, where or what is displayed is more twisted than a stick of red Twizzlers that fell out of a whirlpool spin-drying machine.... which itself fell out of a tornado... the same tornado that killed Clark Kent's dad in the movie. Furthermore, if the same minds which penned the letter are the ones responsible for enforcing it's threats, then it's an open field day for ALL individuals to work directly with Japanese suppliers.... nothing to worry about.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » February 4th, 2015, 8:29 am

Who are the members of the TTADA anyways?

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » February 4th, 2015, 8:33 am

Did they really start a sentence with "What sense"? I can't take the English in this letter seriously, far less for its message.

If you are buying in bulk, you should be able to sell at a price low enough to deter persons from going to your suppliers themselves. Buying from a wholesaler should mean that you have to buy a certain quantity in order to get a competitive or comparable price. THAT is why consumers don't buy directly from wholesalers, not because of some unstated law.

But I guess it easier to threaten your suppliers than provide a competitive price...

Postby cinco » February 4th, 2015, 8:52 am

ROFL the wording on that letter and lack of a signature holds as much weight as a Nigerian prince wanting help to move 1millions dollars

Postby RBphoto » February 4th, 2015, 8:59 am

Don't discount Japanese pride and saving face. If you make them shame or accuse them, my results from suppliers have ranged from:

1) "You are too stupid/dishonorable a customer to deal with". They will shut you out and not even respond, even to lawyers letters and frustrate the process of you ever doing business with them again.

2) "We have lost face and we need to do whatever is earthly possible to get it back". Once I had a purchase order for untagged spares. They kept writing back saying that their components will not fail and refused to provide "spare" units. When it was time to ship the order, they provided twice the order size so we would have 100% spare in case anything failed at no extra cost.... just to ease our mind.

Lets see how they interpret this letter.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » February 4th, 2015, 9:06 am

is this the use car dealers alone?

tony12tt

Postby tony12tt » February 4th, 2015, 11:50 am

There's something else weird and somewhat juvenile about this letter. It doesnt address any specific trade association, JUMVEA for instance, or call out to a special group. It just starts "Attention all Japanese Exporters" and ends by dictating their compliance. This thing reads like the urban legend story of the US aircraft carrier vs the lighthouse. They're (the cartel) either incredibly stupid or..... no wait... there's no "or".

Postby MG Man » February 4th, 2015, 11:57 am

RBphoto wrote:
1) "You are too stupid/dishonorable a customer to deal with". They will shut you out and not even respond, even to lawyers letters and frustrate the process of you ever doing business with them again.

ent that why we doh have Eneos here again?

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » February 4th, 2015, 12:02 pm

Just now they will send a warning letter to Amazon and Ebay lol!

Postby Country_Bookie » February 4th, 2015, 12:11 pm

Japan is the 3rd largest economy in the world, with a GDP of almost 6 trillion USD. When you address a letter to "All Japanese Exporters", you are addressing thousands of companies!

LOL @ "Moral Law of Business". The law of any business is to survive, and the way u survive is by making as much money as possible. The TTADA idiots have no contract or exclusive distribution arrangements with the used car exporters of Japan, these exporters can sell to whomever they want.

Postby RBphoto » February 4th, 2015, 12:24 pm

RBphoto wrote:

ent that why we doh have Eneos here again?

Really?

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 4th, 2015, 12:46 pm

The average quotes for the car I brought in was 350K-400K. I saved an awesome 100K importing on my own. To me the run around was not hard.