Update on driving fines

R-H-D

Update on driving fines

Postby R-H-D » January 31st, 2015, 11:09 am

If you are caught driving while drunk you will now have to pay a whooping TT$12,000, if you are a first time offender. However, the fine almost doubles to TT$22, 500 for a second offence.
And if you fail or refuse to take a breathalyser test those same penalties apply.
The fine for speeding has been increased by 50% and is now TT$6,000 while anyone caught driving without a permit will now have to pay TT $15 000, which represents an increase of 1500% from the previous fine of TT$1000.
The law went into effect on Wednesday when President Anthony Carmona signed the proclamation.

What you all think?

Update

Hefty Fines for Drunk Drivers: Motorists who drive drunk will now have to pay steep fines ranging from $12,000 to $22,500.

These new fines went into effect on January 30th 2015, with the amendment to the Motor Vehicle Road Traffic Act. Chapter 48:5 (MVRTA), which increased the penalties onexisting road traffic offences.

A person will be liable under the Act once their breath alcohol level is in excess of 35 micro grammes.

The increased penalties under the MVRTA as amended are as follows:

Under Section 42 (1) personsDriving Without a valid Driver’s Permitcan pay an increased fine of $1500 from the previous band of $500 - $1000.
For exceeding the speed limit, that fine has been increased from $4,000 to $6,000.
Under Section 70 (1) Driving under the Influence of Liquor, thefine hasmoved from $8,000 to $12,000 for a first conviction. In cases of repeat offenders, the fine can range from $15,000 to $22,500.

The other revised fines under Section 70 of the MVRTA are as follows:
• Section 70 B (5) Fails to Provide Breath Specimen fine increased from $8,000 to $12,000 for first conviction.
• Section 70 C(6)c & d Fails to Provide Breath or Attempts to Alter Specimen for Analysis fine increased from $8,000 to $12,000 for first conviction and from $15,000 to $22,500 for second conviction.
• Section 70 E (1) Refusal to Provide Blood Sample for Analysis fine increased from $8,000 to $12,000 for first conviction and from $15,000 to $22,500 for second conviction.

Sober Zones
In the interest of public safety, the DUI Task Force of the TTPS in collaboration with Arrive Alive will continue to conductvoluntary alcohol breath testing at Sober Zonesset up at certain pre and post Carnival events including the Ash Wednesday beach parties.

TTPS Public Affairs

February 6th 2015
Last edited by R-H-D on February 7th, 2015, 8:55 am, edited 2 times in total.

eurotuner

Re: Update on driving fines

Postby eurotuner » January 31st, 2015, 11:15 am

That $1500% is freeking outrageous, who came up with that number sigh.
I'm fine with everything else.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2015, 11:18 am

I agree with all except driving without a permit. I can understand if the fine applies if you cannot produce a valid permit within 24hrs. But to have that fine applied at the exact time is extreme IMO.

Postby sharkman121 » January 31st, 2015, 11:27 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I agree with all except driving without a permit. I can understand if the fine applies if you cannot produce a valid permit within 24hrs. But to have that fine applied at the exact time is extreme IMO.

same thing i saying yesterday... a bit harsh imo.

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » January 31st, 2015, 11:27 am

all good except for driving without a permit

Postby X_Factor » January 31st, 2015, 11:42 am

oil price down yuh know
money hadda make somewhere else

Postby pete » January 31st, 2015, 11:49 am

Breaking red light and driving on the shoulder remaining the same? As long as they didn't jack up the fines for stupid infractions like unauthorised lights and tint this will have very little impact on revenue collection. When was the last speed trap set in this country? Without speed traps ever being set up the fine could be $1M and it will still not be a deterrent for people to speed.

Postby nervewrecker » January 31st, 2015, 11:58 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I agree with all except driving without a permit. I can understand if the fine applies if you cannot produce a valid permit within 24hrs. But to have that fine applied at the exact time is extreme IMO.

x2.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2015, 12:03 pm

pete wrote:Breaking red light and driving on the shoulder remaining the same?
this should be raised to $22,500 for first offence plus 1 year of learning standard 1 primary school work. I know the primary school work will be very difficult for most of those being charged for this.

Postby 88sins » January 31st, 2015, 12:05 pm

pete wrote:Breaking red light and driving on the shoulder remaining the same? As long as they didn't jack up the fines for stupid infractions like unauthorised lights and tint this will have very little impact on revenue collection. When was the last speed trap set in this country? Without speed traps ever being set up the fine could be $1M and it will still not be a deterrent for people to speed.

no speed traps, but plenty roadblocks

& if yuh license expired & they ketch yuh in a roadblock, $15K is a lot of scratch to have to pay

Postby SMc » January 31st, 2015, 12:07 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

same thing i saying yesterday... a bit harsh imo.

I think they meaning driving without having a driving permit to be you dont have one period, ie its not at home, by yuh mother house, yuh partner have yoh wallet; it means you not recorded in any 'book' as having passed your test and be competent to drive...you will still be given the opportunity to produce it within a certain timeframe otherwise the fine wont stand...to be honest that is an inconvenience enough to make me drive around with my DP

Remember without a licence, you cannot be insured do drive a car and will hold personal responsibility if something were to go wrong (potentially) whether or not it was your fault. Anyway, a simple start would be to have a proper record of what car is owned by who, which ones of those are insured and a readily accessible database of who is licensed to drive in TT... only problem in doing so is it harder to take bribe.

anyway hope it goes through!

Postby 88sins » January 31st, 2015, 12:15 pm

oil price low, & politician eh finish pad they nest egg yet

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 31st, 2015, 12:15 pm

They still using string and stopwatch for speed measuring?

I think they should focus on having the proper infrastructure in place and amend accordingly.

civicman

Postby civicman » January 31st, 2015, 1:22 pm

Very good
It about time to get ridiculous with fines because the foolish driving
How else will you stop the statement

"Well Jes gimme the damn ticket nah" mentality

Bet Yuh last dollar men will be watching they @$$ now on the highway

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 31st, 2015, 1:32 pm

the irony is these high fines may increase other crimes.. most people don't have an extra 15 or 22k lying around..

In one hand, a logical thinking person would say prevention is better than cure

but in the other, when sheit hits the fan 22k = 2 almeras or a tiida and no lock up.

Postby zoom rader » January 31st, 2015, 1:36 pm

12k for drunk injuns, but beetham guntas robbing ppl and no fine for them..
Epic police looking for any injun now. $$$ to be made.

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 31st, 2015, 1:48 pm

They need a revised speed limit.....

Seriously 80km is too slow.

Postby Gem_in_i » January 31st, 2015, 2:00 pm

People always saying abt producing your DP after if you been caught driving without it. Is tht true? Or tht is ole talk.

Postby 88sins » January 31st, 2015, 2:06 pm

it depends on the officer & whether you got a ticket or they intend to serve you a summons.

Ticketed for the offense on the spot=produce dp/ins or not, go shell out $$
Time, paper & ink done use, somebody hadda pay for it

Postby Spitfir3 » January 31st, 2015, 2:07 pm

damn, thats pretty harsh with regards to no permit, imagine yuh in a rush and you forget your permit or wallet at home and you get hooked in a roadblock.....is instant diarrhea

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 31st, 2015, 2:17 pm

zoom rader wrote:12k for drunk injuns, but beetham guntas robbing ppl and no fine for them..
Epic police looking for any injun now. $$$ to be made.

Well maybe drunk injuns need to target why they see the need to be getting drunk in the first place.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 31st, 2015, 2:24 pm

They should charge ZR for bringing race,religion and politics into every thread.His $hit rel annoying.He need to go and lime with natio now

Postby pete » January 31st, 2015, 2:56 pm

Whenever the radar guns are implemented they should also reduce the basic fine and then incrementally increase it that 1-10 over is one fine, 11-20 over another, 21-30 over is higher and anything over 31 over and you have to face a judge with possible community service / jail time.

Cause really doing 85kph and being made to pay a full $6k is insane. That should really be no more than $1k.

alex jj

Postby alex jj » January 31st, 2015, 3:11 pm

src1983 wrote:They need a revised speed limit.....

Seriously 80km is too slow.

and they also need a minimum speed..and certain vehicles should only be allowed on the roads at night

Postby toyolink » January 31st, 2015, 3:13 pm

These new level of fines (for folks like me) can really cause a real dent on finances.
I believe the last time I got a valid ticket was around 1980's.
The most recent ticket in about 2002 was seriously flawed and disposed of in court.
People may actually find that employment of an attorney now makes sense.
The drink and drivers getting embarrassed and impoverished with incarceration to follow.

Postby sharkman121 » January 31st, 2015, 3:15 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:They still using string and stopwatch for speed measuring?

j-honda-civic

Postby j-honda-civic » January 31st, 2015, 3:19 pm

just do the right things an all good .........

Postby toyolink » January 31st, 2015, 3:21 pm

Issues of police officers abusing their ability to issue tickets may seriously come into spot light.

Postby zoom rader » January 31st, 2015, 3:34 pm

toyolink wrote:Issues of police officers abusing their ability to issue tickets may seriously come into spot light.

That's why I said it's easier to target drink indos rather that police to patrols beetham.
But men on tuner thinks it's all race, political and religion .

Think about it, u an officer which one easier, abusing your power over some intoxicated injun or facing armed guntas.
Then again you could make make some east money on de indo

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2015, 3:39 pm

Any injun driving a vehicle better watchout

Is always Harrikumar and Rajpaul getting charge for DUI, never Alfred and Cooper.