Refusing to exit car while on wrecker..

Re: Refusing to exit car while on wrecker..

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2015, 7:06 am

well they cannot set a precedent,

then everybody could just jump and sit in car and not be wrecked/ticketed.

I live in a bad parked area of woodbrook and I glad for wreckers.

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Still man I dont think officers should behave like that....for a simple parking offence....

BRZ

Postby BRZ » January 14th, 2015, 7:28 am

BMW, BENZ, B14- it doesn't matter , once youre wrecked and youre NOT in the vehicle its over, you can try to jump in the car but then youre obstructing , then if you refuse to comply with the officers, then youre resisting arrest!

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 14th, 2015, 8:00 am

BRZ wrote: BMW, BENZ, B14- it doesn't matter , once youre wrecked and youre NOT in the vehicle its over, you can try to jump in the car but then youre obstructing , then if you refuse to comply with the officers, then youre resisting arrest!

No disrespect brother man, but clearly you dont know whats going on (at least in POS and more SO in woodbrook), there certain folk who can park HOWEVER AND WHENEVER THEY CHOOSE (on the pavement too which some do) and the police CANNOT(or rather will not) MOVE their car! :wink:

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2015, 8:01 am

sometimes the officers let you sit in the vehicle so you dont have to travel to impound lot but thats just a bligh as far as i know

the officers always prefer to wreck than ticket from what ive seen because they get more money for themselves

i know the official stance is that "no all the money goes to the treasury and the wrecking service is paid a certain amount bla bla bla" but many times instead of the official $500 wrecking fee at sealots, one of the officers will tell you (depend on how you looking or how you approach them i guess) "hit meh a $300 i guh handle yuh"

i get wreck the other day near to city gate
had a meeting so couldnt bother to go with the car, officer was pretty nice, my flare kit kinda low and she say she will make sure they dont damage it

gone sealots to pick up my car, looking for my insurance in car and realize it expire 6 months before........

and thats the end of that story lol

Postby pete » January 14th, 2015, 8:08 am

Man if you don't want to pay for parking in POS just move with someone to sit in the car for you. The wreckers won't even stop to tell them to move.

I actually want to do an experiment and put a cardboard cutout in a car or something looking like there is someone in the car and see if they pick it up.

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2015, 8:29 am

pete wrote:Man if you don't want to pay for parking in POS just move with someone to sit in the car for you. The wreckers won't even stop to tell them to move.

I actually want to do an experiment and put a cardboard cutout in a car or something looking like there is someone in the car and see if they pick it up.

You can buy a realistic sex doll

Postby Les Bain » January 14th, 2015, 8:35 am

Better had not be a e46. God go do for them police.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 14th, 2015, 9:24 am

I tell allyuh about them wreckers already...

That is a moneymaking scheme..

when you go to pay to retrieve your vehicle the tell you the actually distance you were from the corner, down to the millimeter.

Have you ever seen anybody jump out a wrecker to measure anything?

they don't have a clue! Trust me

I was parked outside Albion Plaza...on Albion street and got wrecked. I asked to look at the video footage.. They pulled my car from between 2 cars!.. the car behind me was a regiment vehicle of course... the guy went to drop his daughter to the dance class. The man reversed for the wrecker to pull me out ...hahah.. this place is a mess yes

Postby j.o.e » January 14th, 2015, 9:30 am

in POS and Chaguanas I've seen them use a laser digital tape measure for distance from corners, fire hydrant etc...wasn't always like that but now they have started. I have even seen a officer take a photo, might not be official policy but he's probably doing it to ensure no one can wrongfully accuse him

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 14th, 2015, 9:35 am

uncle sam wrote:I tell allyuh about them wreckers already...

when you go to pay to retrieve your vehicle the tell you the actually distance you were from the corner, down to the millimeter.

I was parked outside Albion Plaza...on Albion street and got wrecked. I asked to look at the video footage.. They pulled my car from between 2 cars!.. the car behind me was a regiment vehicle of course... the guy went to drop his daughter to the dance class. The man reversed for the wrecker to pull me out ...hahah.. this place is a mess yes

The guy was in his vehicle, you were not :|

Postby pete » January 14th, 2015, 9:56 am

So my question is, what is the purpose of having no parking areas when someone can just wait in the vehicle? Does someone waiting in the vehicle cause less of a traffic disruption than a car parked with nobody in it?

As they do the same thing then why aren't they getting people to move and not stop and wait in no parking areas as well?

Postby 16 cycles » January 14th, 2015, 10:02 am

saw them release a vehicle late last year on Arapita ~3pm- guy came running as they were pulling it out into roadway to wreck...

airuma

Postby airuma » January 14th, 2015, 10:35 am

BRZ wrote:BMW, BENZ, B14- it doesn't matter , once youre wrecked and youre NOT in the vehicle its over, you can try to jump in the car but then youre obstructing , then if you refuse to comply with the officers, then youre resisting arrest!

Clearly you have no idea what you're saying. What exactly was the woman doing that invoked the powers of arrest? Refusing to come out of her own vehicle?
I am thinking that the more intelligent people on the forum just don't see the need to comment on this thread. IMHO, the police has an overall duty to "protect and serve", not themselves and associates alone but the general public. AFAIK, the wrecking fee is around $500.00 and the ticket is $1000.00 so why not issue the ticket, wouldn't a heavier fine more likely result in greater compliance. My question would be, why not issue the ticket then let the vehicle down? There would be no need to call for backup, the woman could sit in the vehicle until the ticket was issued, the vehicle would not be moving..... But guess what.... The officer would not get her cut from the wrecker and would miss an opportunity to fluff her feathers (how come they don't deal with the serious criminals so, like a short while ago in Barrackpore).... To me this is the real issue at hand and if people on this forum are supporting this misuse of public office by police officers then you might as well not have a problem with crime in the country. It really does not matter who the woman is, what vehicle she was driving. The idea is, was there a better way to handle the situation which would have been aligned with their motto and was that option explored?

Postby sMASH » January 14th, 2015, 10:36 am

If ur in ur car, I suppose u can move it when necessary.

But if the woman jump back in she car while it in the air, clear obstructions!

Postby 16 cycles » January 14th, 2015, 10:45 am

the law not clear on when to wreck, release, release and ticket.....

will have more of these situations...

Postby pete » January 14th, 2015, 10:52 am

Move it when necessary???

The whole purpose of not having cars parked on the two sides of the road is to allow easier movement of vehicles through the narrow streets or to allow two lanes of traffic and one lane of parked vehicles to have a better flow overall. It even gives people a place to pull over and drop off passengers to go and conduct business without everything having to come to a stop.

Details

Postby Details » January 14th, 2015, 11:06 am

airuma wrote:
BRZ wrote:BMW, BENZ, B14- it doesn't matter , once youre wrecked and youre NOT in the vehicle its over, you can try to jump in the car but then youre obstructing , then if you refuse to comply with the officers, then youre resisting arrest!

Clearly you have no idea what you're saying. What exactly was the woman doing that invoked the powers of arrest? Refusing to come out of her own vehicle?
I am thinking that the more intelligent people on the forum just don't see the need to comment on this thread. IMHO, the police has an overall duty to "protect and serve", not themselves and associates alone but the general public. AFAIK, the wrecking fee is around $500.00 and the ticket is $1000.00 so why not issue the ticket, wouldn't a heavier fine more likely result in greater compliance. My question would be, why not issue the ticket then let the vehicle down? There would be no need to call for backup, the woman could sit in the vehicle until the ticket was issued, the vehicle would not be moving..... But guess what.... The officer would not get her cut from the wrecker and would miss an opportunity to fluff her feathers (how come they don't deal with the serious criminals so, like a short while ago in Barrackpore).... To me this is the real issue at hand and if people on this forum are supporting this misuse of public office by police officers then you might as well not have a problem with crime in the country. It really does not matter who the woman is, what vehicle she was driving. The idea is, was there a better way to handle the situation which would have been aligned with their motto and was that option explored?

I wasn't going to post on this topic... till this sheit was posted. .. you really sit down and typed this level of filth...

1. If your vehicle is being wrecked by the law for unlawful parking, it is by the discretion of the officer if the owner shows up to release the vehicle. The officer is not obligated in no way to drop the vehicle because the owner shows up. Discretion of an officer differs from situation to situation, person to person, island to island, sate to state, station to station...

2. The woman after failed to ad hear to the nation's road laws, try to get into her vehicle after it was mounted on the tow truck and was leaving... again if she wanted to get a ride to the compound at sea lots that is at the discretion of the officer it doesn't state anywhere that an officer is obligated to do such.. the woman refused this and didn't want to close the door which caused an obstruction of the officer carrying out their duties...

obstructing and officer from carrying out his/her duties is a charge, now the officers have all rights to arrest this individual... and while carrying out an arrest an officer has the right to use any force deemed reasonable to detain anyone who is subject to be charged for an offense... NOTE... if an officer says you're under arrest and you say no or do not comply you are resisting arrest...

3. By all rights the wpc/s who physically apprehend the individual are in their rights as members of the trinidad and Tobago police service to use the necessary force to arrest the individual for the offences...

antlind

Postby antlind » January 14th, 2015, 11:11 am

Thanks for these details Details. Best post here so far. Lesson to be learnt - if is says No Parking then don't park.

Postby RBphoto » January 14th, 2015, 11:12 am

I have found that appealing to police gentler side has removed me from these type of situations on the two occasions I have run afoul of them. Once you have attitude, it is usually downhill from there.

They are accustomed to dealing with people who call them jackass with stripes and all kinda thing. When you are genuinely and respectfully requesting an ease up, you might get one.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 14th, 2015, 11:18 am

RBphoto wrote:I have found that appealing to police gentler side has removed me from these type of situations on the two occasions I have run afoul of them. Once you have attitude, it is usually downhill from there.

They are accustomed to dealing with people who call them jackass with stripes and all kinda thing. When you are genuinely and respectfully requesting an ease up, you might get one.

And even more so when you don't have a crowd of screaming donkeys surrounding you or vehicle and making a scene

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 14th, 2015, 11:57 am

Trinis hate to walk, see it all the time by Irie Bites, they prefer to park right infront the place that to park in the empty street opposite it

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 14th, 2015, 1:03 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
uncle sam wrote:I tell allyuh about them wreckers already...

The guy was in his vehicle, you were not :|

so you can park where ever you want once you're in your vehicle? I missed your point...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 14th, 2015, 1:07 pm

The wardens will quicker ticket you for parking in a no parking zone, the wrecker will not pull a vehicle which is occupied and running

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2015, 1:11 pm

uncle sam wrote:
so you can park where ever you want once you're in your vehicle? I missed your point...

yes, if you in the vehicle you not parked, yuh waiting

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 14th, 2015, 1:15 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:The wardens will quicker ticket you for parking in a no parking zone, the wrecker will not pull a vehicle which is occupied and running

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
uncle sam wrote:

so you can "wait" where ever you want? :|

airuma

Postby airuma » January 14th, 2015, 1:15 pm

Details wrote:
airuma wrote:

I wasn't going to post on this topic... till this sheit was posted. .. you really sit down and typed this level of filth...

1. If your vehicle is being wrecked by the law for unlawful parking, it is by the discretion of the officer if the owner shows up to release the vehicle. The officer is not obligated in no way to drop the vehicle because the owner shows up. Discretion of an officer differs from situation to situation, person to person, island to island, sate to state, station to station...

2. The woman after failed to ad hear to the nation's road laws, try to get into her vehicle after it was mounted on the tow truck and was leaving... again if she wanted to get a ride to the compound at sea lots that is at the discretion of the officer it doesn't state anywhere that an officer is obligated to do such.. the woman refused this and didn't want to close the door which caused an obstruction of the officer carrying out their duties...

obstructing and officer from carrying out his/her duties is a charge, now the officers have all rights to arrest this individual... and while carrying out an arrest an officer has the right to use any force deemed reasonable to detain anyone who is subject to be charged for an offense... NOTE... if an officer says you're under arrest and you say no or do not comply you are resisting arrest...

3. By all rights the wpc/s who physically apprehend the individual are in their rights as members of the trinidad and Tobago police service to use the necessary force to arrest the individual for the offences...

I am getting the feeling that this forum has some police officers. It's comforting to know that they are keeping up with technology.... maybe we have hope after all!!!

You clearly did not read my entire post!

BTW, what was the officer's duty? Towing the vehicle or ensuring that the law offender is issued the appropriate penalty while still maintaining a cooperative society?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 14th, 2015, 1:17 pm

airuma wrote:
Details wrote:
airuma wrote:

I am getting the feeling that this forum has some police officers. It's comforting to know that they are keeping up with technology.... maybe we have hope after all!!!

You clearly did not read my entire post!

BTW, what was the officer's duty? Towing the vehicle or ensuring that the law offender is issued the appropriate penalty while still maintaining a cooperative society?

There is a gay one with a dog avatar

Postby nervewrecker » January 14th, 2015, 1:24 pm

pete wrote:Man if you don't want to pay for parking in POS just move with someone to sit in the car for you. The wreckers won't even stop to tell them to move.

That won't work.

They does come out, knock on the glass and tell you move. And they not discriminating, Audi, merc and BMW get that treatment by immigration.

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2015, 1:28 pm

uncle sam wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:The wardens will quicker ticket you for parking in a no parking zone, the wrecker will not pull a vehicle which is occupied and running

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
uncle sam wrote:

so you can "wait" where ever you want? :|

yeah

they guh ticket you or tow you for waiting?

ent they MOST they could do is tell you move your car?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 14th, 2015, 1:33 pm

Came across this article today. Might shed some light.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/The ... 55841.html

The police tries to clarify the vehicle wrecking law

The Trinidad and Tobago Police service wishes to remind the public that the role of the Police is to enforce all applicable laws of Trinidad and Tobago. Under the law governing traffic violations, Police Officers are authorised to take certain action against persons in cases of a breach.

In this regard, the public is hereby reminded, that if a vehicle is parked in contravention of traffic signs; and obstructs the visibility or free flow of traffic, this can lead to a safety hazard and the Police is authorised to have the vehicle removed/towed.

As it relates to the wrecking of vehicles, the law is quite clear on the circumstances under which a vehicle can be wrecked.

Section 108 – (1) of the Motor Vehicle and Road Traffic Act Chapter 48:50 refer:

Where a vehicle is parked in contravention of any provisions of the Road Traffic Act 48:50 or any Regulations, example, where there is a breach of a No parking sign, or Orders made thereunder, or is left on any road in a manner that it is likely to cause any obstruction to persons lawfully using any such road, any member of the Police Service may:

• Require the driver or other person in control or in charge thereof, to remove it or cause it to be removed, and any person who fails to comply with any such requirement is liable to a fine of three hundred dollars or to imprisonment for three months
The law further states:

• If the driver or other person in control or in charge of such vehicle cannot be found or refuses to remove the vehicle when required to do so, the Police is authorised to remove such vehicle or arrange for it to be removed from the place in which it is parked, to a place of safe custody, either by towing or driving the vehicle or in such other manner, as he may think necessary.

Before a vehicle is removed for a breach of any traffic law , Operational Procedures of the TTPS, require the Police Officer to:
(i) Make brief enquiries in the immediate vicinity in an effort to locate the driver; this of course, is within a reasonable time and distance.
(ii) If the driver is not found, the Police officer can have the vehicle towed to a designated area.
(iii) If the driver is found, the officer can prefer the relevant charge(s) against the driver for the offence committed and request that the vehicle be removed. If the driver refuses, the vehicle can be impounded.

Where a vehicle has been “hooked up or is in the actual process of being hooked up” to a wrecker, but the vehicle has not been removed, from where it was parked; and the driver or person in control of the vehicle simultaneously appears and claims the vehicle, the police officer shall:

(i) Release the vehicle to the driver or person claiming the vehicle;
(ii) Issue a ticket(s) for the offence(s) committed; or
(iii) Prosecute the driver or person in charge of the vehicle for any offences detected.

The TTPS has noted with concern the unacceptable practice of persons, who have parked their vehicles in contravention of traffic signs or regulations; and where the Police proceed to have the said vehicle towed, the driver resorting to entering the vehicle, whilst the Police are in the lawful execution of their duty; and whilst the vehicle is in motion.

This practice can result in serious injury to persons; and may amount to the offence of, Obstructing a Police Officer whilst in the execution of his duty, according to Section 59 of the Police Service Act 2006(As amended). Persons found in contravention of the law where this is concerned, are liable, on summary conviction, to a fine of $10,000.00 and to imprisonment of 2 years.

In addition:
Section 4(1) of the Criminal Law act 10:04 authorises a person ‘to use such force as is reasonable, in the circumstances, in the prevention of crime, or in effecting or assisting in the lawful arrest of offenders or suspected offenders or of persons unlawfully at large.

If on the other hand, Police Officers whilst in the execution of their duties are perceived to have abused their authority or to have used excessive force, than is necessary in the circumstances, persons are therefore advised of their right to immediately lodge a report and the matter would be thoroughly investigated.

Again, we are kindly asking members of the public to co-operate with us in ensuring that we make every place in Trinidad and Tobago safe.