PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » January 13th, 2015, 2:29 pm

sMASH wrote:Black Friday ... Amazon
Actually, most were amazon with the odd part from ebay.

Decided ti try a liquid cpu cooler for the heck of it... By next week I would be booted

Which model liquid cpu cooler is that?

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2015, 2:32 pm

Antec h2 950.

This has a single fan, there is another with a double fan cooler.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 13th, 2015, 2:36 pm

sMASH wrote:Antec h2 950.

This has a single fan, there is another with a double fan cooler.

Yeah i just checked their website and saw they have 3 new models, but the 650 has a single fan, the 950 has dual fans and the 1250 is a dual rad with two fans on a side.

http://store.antec.com/liquid-cooling/

Unless i missed something (older revision perhaps?)

Nuh really a fan of those all in one units after using a few of them in the past (limited to cpu alone). 2 of my 7 desktops using custom liquid cooling setups but they're necessary for liquid cooling the graphics cards in them as well.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2015, 2:56 pm

Oh... I misunderstood what I saw. I didn't see the fan on the other side of the radiator.

Gpu cooling is something I would look into when I decide to upgrade from this whole set up.
Its been many moons since I've last dabbled with pc's. I'm doing this to get back a feel for the what does what, while still being in the game.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 13th, 2015, 3:01 pm

sMASH wrote:Oh... I misunderstood what I saw. I didn't see the fan on the other side of the radiator.

Gpu cooling is something I would look into when I decide to upgrade from this whole set up.
Its been many moons since I've last dabbled with pc's. I'm doing this to get back a feel for the what does what, while still being in the game.

Well when u do decide to try gpu cooling, use those same all in one coolers plus brackets like these:

http://www.nzxt.com/product/detail/138- ... acket.html

Much wider compatibility, functionality and ease of installation than the brand name full cover waterblocks u see on overclock.net and such forums. Better resale value too.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2015, 3:52 pm

Thanks dude... Will keep that in mind

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2015, 6:06 pm

Liquid cooling should aid in processor life right?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 13th, 2015, 6:27 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Liquid cooling should aid in processor life right?

Correct. Have an Antec Kulher 620 (previous model to what Smash has) for sale if you interested.

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2015, 6:41 pm

How do I know if it will fit?

Pc is a home pc btw, nothing fancy.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 13th, 2015, 6:51 pm

Nerve have a tech check it before you buy, cpu liquid coolers radiators are usually large

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 13th, 2015, 6:54 pm

nervewrecker wrote:How do I know if it will fit?

What processor/case you using?

If you could, post a pic of the PC nah.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 13th, 2015, 6:58 pm

Had to mount some fans outside to accommodate my cooler
1421189877801.jpg

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 13th, 2015, 7:00 pm

nervewrecker wrote:How do I know if it will fit?

Most people put the radiator/fans on the rear exhaust port to the back of the case. If not there then most anywhere that has a 120mm fan port.

But if it can fit even a lil bit i the case then mod it! (rotary tool bizniz).

But yeah post some pics of the case for a more solid solution.

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2015, 7:49 pm

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2015, 7:53 pm

Case in question, have to get the 120mm exhaust fan still. I thinking the liquid cooling should be the shizz.
Do ignore the SSD sitting there, have to buy another as a primary and get rid of the current HD. Already have the rack just didnt mount it *shame*

leme know if pics showing.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 13th, 2015, 7:54 pm

nervewrecker wrote:http://products.amd.com/pages/desktopcpudetail.aspx?id=627&AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1

amd athlon (tm) x2 255

Errr....pics of the case the system in.

Anyhow u doh need liquid cooling for that nah, stock cooler or even the ones that come with the hex/octa core cpus would work.

Like these:

Had the 245,250 versions of that cpu already. Plus it kinda hard to kill a cpu nowadays, boards and processors have many failsafes in case of cooling failures.

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2015, 8:03 pm

See if the images in the above post showing.

I always thought those cpu coolers were classed as liquid cooling too.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 13th, 2015, 8:31 pm

nervewrecker wrote:See if the images in the above post showing.

I always thought those cpu coolers were classed as liquid cooling too.

Well technically most of the heatpipe coolers supposed to have a liquid in them but half of them don't. A sorta phase change liquid nah. The ones without the liquid still do a great job at cooling though.

Now seeing the pics, if the fan at the rear of the case is a 120mm then u shouldn't have any major issues mounting a liquid cooler. You could still buy one and use it in case u want to upgrade the cpu later on, no harm in that.

SSDs can mount pretty much anywhere in a case due to its design. Would recommend keeping the existing mechanical hdd as storage though. When ssds now come out the manufacturers recommended that u don't use them for long term storage, dunno if their reliability regadring that issue improved since then.

I have a mechanical hdd alongside my ssd for storage in both my systems, can't be too careful nah.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 13th, 2015, 8:35 pm

What Ive noticed is that plenty liquid cpu coolers the radiators are about 130mm-140mm making the space too small. Thats why I got rid of my generic and bought a thermaltake

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2015, 8:39 pm

I'd prefer get something that I know I can recycle when I have to upgrade as board and RAM getting cheaper. Are all universal or what should I look at when looking for a bolt on for my processor?

rear fan is 120mm and the SSD is really a back up. Read of rapid boot up times with SSD as opposed to mechanical. Transfer rates are pretty good on it. Hopefully it serves as a good backup.

Might buy another SSD and drop in windows on that.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 13th, 2015, 9:36 pm

All modern liquid coolers are compatible with both amd/intel sockets, they come with both sets of brackets.
As Hcca say ya really doh need the 620 for your current cpu, stock cooler good.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » January 13th, 2015, 10:02 pm

The stock cooler works great with those processors. Liquid cooling might only be needed if you decide to overclock. Also those processors don't die easily.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 13th, 2015, 11:22 pm

The new age dust buster. . When those amd heatsink fans get spinning.... well its hard to not notice the extra whirring in the background

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 13th, 2015, 11:26 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I'd prefer get something that I know I can recycle when I have to upgrade as board and RAM getting cheaper. Are all universal or what should I look at when looking for a bolt on for my processor?

rear fan is 120mm and the SSD is really a back up. Read of rapid boot up times with SSD as opposed to mechanical. Transfer rates are pretty good on it. Hopefully it serves as a good backup.

Might buy another SSD and drop in windows on that.

Well most of these liquid coolers can support a wide range of socket types, u can just check their compatibility on their websites. In some cases a bracket is all that is needed to adapt to the particular board. The manufacturer usually has them for sale via their own online stores or aftermarket sellers.

If you're unsure of compatibiity with ur new board u can just post here and someone can verify for u.

I have samsung 256gb ssds in two desktops. 2 128gb partitions on it. 1st partition has the os and main apps on it, 2nd partition has some games installed. Games run virtually flawless ('smooth like butter') in that setup. Mechanical 250gb hdd serves as storage for other files. But due to space constraints on the ssd, i delete any unused apps or games i finish play. Boot up time for my configuration is abt 30 seconds.

Or another way to go is use the mechanical drive in an external enclosure for backup and use only ssds in the main pc.

bolo23

Postby bolo23 » January 14th, 2015, 1:17 pm

Just looking for some info from you guys, looking at the Lenovo y50 with these specs: just want opinions...thanks

• 4th Generation Intel Core i7-4710HQ Processor (2.50GHz 1600MHz 6MB)
• Windows 8.1 64
• 15.6" FHD LED AntiGlare Backlight (1920x1080)
• NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 4GB
• 16.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3L SDRAM 1600 MHz
• Hybrid 1TB 5400 RPM+8GB SSHD
• None
• Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 3160
• Bluetooth Version 4.0
• One year
• 4 Cell 54 Watt Hour Lithium-Ion

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 14th, 2015, 1:24 pm

bolo23 wrote:Just looking for some info from you guys, looking at the Lenovo y50 with these specs: just want opinions...thanks

• Windows 8.1 64
• None
• Bluetooth Version 4.0
• One year

I was considering buying one of these but it's to much money to spend on a lappy, I would rather invest in a liquid cooled beast desktop. Went and bought a basic laptop for the time being and intend to build the desktop at a later date. The y40 and y50 were some of the best laptops for 2013 under $1000 usd. Hope this helps.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 14th, 2015, 2:50 pm

bolo23 wrote:
Just looking for some info from you guys, looking at the Lenovo y50 with these specs: just want opinions...thanks

• Windows 8.1 64
• None
• Bluetooth Version 4.0
• One year

Have one, great laptop for the $, the stock display is horrible tho, it's washed out and pretty dull even on the brightest setting. It is easily replaceable tho, I swapped it for an ips panel which is miles better in terms of color reproduction and picture quality. If you end up buying msg meh & I'll let you know where to get it, cost about $100US so you could add that to the overall cost.

Next thing you want to do is to swap out the HDD for an SSD, you could get a cheap 120gb and use the HDD as your backup storage. Makes a world of difference cause the included drive is slow.

Battery life is disappointing, looking @ <4hrs per charge so if that is very important to you, skip buying this.

Build quality is amazing, it looks very sleek and is pretty lightweight. The speakers are also great for a laptop, very loud & the sound quality is good imo.

Plays the latest games on med-high settings just fine, it gets really hot by the wasd keys cause apparently lenovo had the bright idea to place the processor right under there. Another small gripe is the keyboard, the keys need to pressed dead center for them to register, so if you type lightly and hit a key on the edge you may miss a keystroke from time to time. Small ting tho.

Other than those issues I still think it's a good buy.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 14th, 2015, 3:30 pm

There's a version of the lenovo with these specs on amazon for $1000US (point form for easier reading):

Product Description
The Lenovo IdeaPad Y50 features:
* a brilliant Ultra HD 15.6" touchscreen display featuring a 3840 x 2160 native resolution.. The resolution supports up to 2160p UHD content without upscaling.
*The 4K resolution is supported by a dedicated NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M graphics card with 2GB of discrete memory.
*This powerhouse Windows 8.1 ultrabook is powered by a Quad-core 4th generation Haswell 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7-4700HQ CPU.
*It also boasts a massive 16GB of DDR3L RAM
* a speedy 256GB solid state drive
*4-in-1 media card reader, 10/100/1000 Mbps Gigabit Ethernet, 802.11ac Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.0, Intel Wireless Display (WiDi) support, Backlit Keyboard
*an integrated webcam and microphone for staying connected with family and friends.
*There are also built-in JBL speakers with Dolby Advanced Audio v2 technology for truly immersive sound.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00LT1 ... BZJPDRWARS

Postby ismithx » January 14th, 2015, 9:07 pm

hmm I wanna buy it but those complaints about the display turning me off

Postby skylinechild » January 18th, 2015, 12:00 pm

pc looks clean there nerve just get your case fans..an a video card..and you'll be fine... if you want a processor upgrade - finding a processor upgrade for it- like a quad core CPU- going to be expensive - I checked out one for you - its $63USD on ebay - used -and that's just the CPU alone you'll still need a cooler for it.

heres what....if you want to upgrade the CPU..let me know and i'll link you with le cooler I have :twisted:
and INSTALL THE DAMN SIDE PANEL and BRACKET FOR THE SSD - I tired tell yuh dat... :lol:

tuners I need some advice - I have some DDR1 memory and a Athlon 3700+ processor - socket 754 (this is the HIGHTEST socket 754 processor offered) and a good casing - and a hard drive. just need a new board.- already found one on ebay-

u think it makes sense to rebuild a tower and sell on tuner..or just junk the items for parts.
your thoughts

this is the processor
http://products.amd.com/en-gb/DesktopCP ... &f12=False

CPU fan - thermaltake - already have
http://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-A4022 ... cessor+fan

casing is in new condition with power supply and case fans - already have didn't buy it
case is already rust proofed since day 1 - had the case 4+yrs now - still looks new :lol:

motherboard - have to buy - old MB died and went to heaven (I hope)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Asrock-Motherbo ... 43d207518e

SSD drive - already have one - thanks to a tuner :oops:
http://www.amazon.com/Silicon-Power-120 ... +power+SSd

RAM - already have 2Gigs of DDR1- board only hold 2 GB anyway

video card - have to buy - might not be this exact same unit it may be better
http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-PCI- ... video+card

Optical drive - dvd writer / blu ray ROM combo drive- have to buy - it may just be a DVD burner drive- depending

so u tuners think it make sense to build and sell or just junk what I got for parts.
if I build I'm askin $1200 for the complete unit.

tuners you thoughts and comments welcome.