The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 10th, 2015, 8:41 am

No duties on my phone cases with WS 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

Postby Spitfir3 » January 10th, 2015, 9:35 am

Nightshield wrote:You all referring to WS, right? I will try them out then. Thanks for the info.

USPS - I getting worried about my package coming from Amazon with USPS...No update from CSF after Jan 8th.
When you say you getting issues with USPS, what exactly? Huge time delays? Or loss of packages etc

3\4 the time its mostly time delays....but even with usps its not ALWAYS bad, i bought something about a week ago and it shipped with usps and the delivery date was almost spot on

Postby pioneer » January 10th, 2015, 9:43 am

So all de time allyuh suckin WS cork now cuz pios sign up they suddenly give problems? :?

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » January 10th, 2015, 9:45 am

Okay, I get the fair idea now. It's just 50/50 then.
Cool, well I can deal with that.

Will try out WS, CSF, Aeropost...since I skim through some of these pages and nobody mentioned Laparkan, will forget about them.

Postby S_2NR » January 10th, 2015, 2:09 pm

Nightshield wrote:I was with IBC for about 3 years. Excellent service. Orders from Amazon Prime with 2 day shipping on a Monday, delivered to me on a Friday. Very customer friendly too. Back then they charged $150 annually though. I left them after I noticed a huge hike in clearing average items. Things they cleared in the past, my total charges would have tripled. Regardless their service was impeccable in terms of delivery, time frame for packages.

Does anyone have any update on their charges now? Is it reasonable again?

charges are always less than what the estimator gives

Postby S_2NR » January 10th, 2015, 2:19 pm

NR8 wrote:^^ You started using IBC/ZipX yet? Any reviews?

Yup.
Had about 7 packages come in already. Two more in transit.

Free sign up was a plus, no annual fees also a plus.
Charges strictly on weight. Never have to worry about big boxes from amazon anymore.
Prompt customer service every time I call or email about any questions.
Cut off time for packages leaving on a certain day is 3pm which is an improvement over Caribbean Express' 12pm.
I get an email when the package is in trinidad stating whether i need an invoice and another email the day of delivery stating charges.
Online tracking is excellent and detailed
So far charges have been comparable to previous company, no raping from customs.
Drivers are courteous and pleasant.

Only thing i did not like and still getting used to is that drivers cant call customers directly. So you cant liaise with the driver about what time to deliver a package or find out what time to be home. Someone has to be home all day on the day of delivery or you can email to request to pick it up in el socorro.
Also, they dont operate like a typical trini company. Dont expect a bligh for anything. They are sticklers for protocol. That may be a con for some.

So far im loving them. Nothing overly special from my last company but they are very consistent. They work like a well oiled machine and i wont mind paying a renewal fee if/when this special is over.

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » January 10th, 2015, 6:10 pm

^That sounds just like the IBC I knew. However not being able to be in touch with the driver is new.
Once you call them by or before 7:00 AM the morning of your expected delivery, you can change the location of it. They'll just swap it to the respective vans, etc, or hold it.

Sounds about right, they are very strict in terms of protocol.

Will try them back sometime, I do recall when things started changing, they were charging using whichever was more in terms of volumetric weight or actual. First time, I noticed the hefty fee, I ordered a jacket from Amazon using Prime, the box was about 4.5 feet in height, a crap load of bubble wrap and charges were close to $700.00 TTD. They refused to look recheck or anything, and that was bit disappointing. Things seemed to have gotten better though.

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » January 10th, 2015, 11:05 pm

searchingone wrote:With USPS when it says delivered, it's delivered to the nearest post office to the skybox location. It can take up to 5 days or more before it is picked up by a CSF rep. Only then will you see it come up under warehouse transactions. If you want things faster use Prime. This usually goes through UPS who delivers directly to the skybox address.

I agree with being wary of your bills from them, especially in this busy season. Wait until they bring out the packages and then line up to pay.

The CSF rep told me they dont pick up from the post office and I need to contact USPS. Like wtf???!

Postby Spitfir3 » January 11th, 2015, 1:55 am

^^dai rel failure

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 11th, 2015, 2:55 am

Nightshield wrote:Okay, I get the fair idea now. It's just 50/50 then.
Cool, well I can deal with that.

Will try out WS, CSF, Aeropost...since I skim through some of these pages and nobody mentioned Laparkan, will forget about them.

i was with laparkan. they are great for sea freight, but its too much hell to query over charging. they do provide package consolidation though which is awesome. wish websource would. i have to pay $40 to take out an envelope with a screen protector inside it that cost $5 usd because it arrived seperate from everything else. i have no complaints about anything else with websource, even lil issues that may come up that need querying, but consolidation is one thing i miss laparkan for.

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » January 11th, 2015, 9:55 am

That was one of my issues with IBC as time passed, I noticed small negligible items arriving at different times, I'd have to pay a strict fee of about $48.

Doesn't CSF offer package consolidation though? I think they provided me with 2 different addresses and said one is for that. Correct me if I'm wrong, still new to these companies.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 11th, 2015, 11:09 am

yes they do. the Miami address is for consolidation or ocean shipping.

There's a fee of $20 per consolidation...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 11th, 2015, 12:04 pm

Nightshield wrote:Once you call them by or before 7:00 AM the morning of your expected delivery, you can change the location of it. They'll just swap it to the respective vans, etc, or hold it.

Was hoping I would be able to do this with IBC and websource since their offices aren't close to me to pick up my packages.

Websource ppl, can I request delivery to another address on the morning of my expected delivery?

Postby S_2NR » January 11th, 2015, 12:10 pm

Nightshield wrote:^That sounds just like the IBC I knew. However not being able to be in touch with the driver is new.
Once you call them by or before 7:00 AM the morning of your expected delivery, you can change the location of it. They'll just swap it to the respective vans, etc, or hold it.

Good info. Did not know this. Didn't even think they would answer phones outside of working hours lol. Impressed again to say the least.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 11th, 2015, 9:20 pm

Any ever shipped an item using Amazon Global to trinidad?Any feedback on this?

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2015, 6:35 pm

WS emailed me my login credentials since last week tues, up to today I can't log in saying wrong u/n or password.

I called today, they reset it, still can't log in. I need to log in to do prealerts cuz none of my packages have an invoice.

What next?

Postby Spitfir3 » January 12th, 2015, 6:42 pm

are you copying and pasting the password? if so remove everything from the field and type it in manually, it was doing me the same thing and i did as mentioned and it worked

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 12th, 2015, 6:59 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Any ever shipped an item using Amazon Global to trinidad?Any feedback on this?

Would like to know this as well. Always wondered what the total would be like.

Postby mero » January 12th, 2015, 7:03 pm

Not sure if mentioned before but a friend of mine is sending something from abroad. Is customs gonna charge whatever they want or is there a way me or the person abroad can provide information?

Item is not new btw

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2015, 7:20 pm

Could ask the friend to rub some dirty on the J's, mero.

No Spitfir3, I am entering the password manually. Both in caps and common, nothing works.

Postby mero » January 12th, 2015, 7:32 pm

Nah J's touch down safe long time Frank

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2015, 8:07 pm

new bran sealed

Nightshield

Postby Nightshield » January 12th, 2015, 8:47 pm

mero wrote:Not sure if mentioned before but a friend of mine is sending something from abroad. Is customs gonna charge whatever they want or is there a way me or the person abroad can provide information?

Item is not new btw

Cousin mailed me 2 used iphones from London in October, I didn't use my skybox address, as I didn't want it going to a US address.

Strangely, TTPost collected it and sent me an invoice for $270. They said anything electronic has a maximum charge of $300 used or not, which I understand. They said most items there are no charges, unless you wait more than 7 days to collect.

I don't know if that is solid info, but it's what they said.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 12th, 2015, 10:02 pm

Package suppose to be delivered since friday.When i called today,they said the driver wasn't down on my side and go deliver tomorrow.Just have to wait and see now

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 12th, 2015, 10:34 pm

Nightshield wrote:
mero wrote:Not sure if mentioned before but a friend of mine is sending something from abroad. Is customs gonna charge whatever they want or is there a way me or the person abroad can provide information?

Item is not new btw

Cousin mailed me 2 used iphones from London in October, I didn't use my skybox address, as I didn't want it going to a US address.

Strangely, TTPost collected it and sent me an invoice for $270. They said anything electronic has a maximum charge of $300 used or not, which I understand. They said most items there are no charges, unless you wait more than 7 days to collect.

I don't know if that is solid info, but it's what they said.
got a blackberry a few years ago. Got charged through my rukungatungtun for it. It's charged the usual taxes, no exemption.

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 12th, 2015, 10:36 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Any ever shipped an item using Amazon Global to trinidad?Any feedback on this?
This far the Global sites don't deliver to Trinidad, well at least the items I wanted to get. Shipped them to my websource address no problem. Got the attached last week
1421116573658.jpg

Postby M_2NR » January 13th, 2015, 8:49 am

pioneer wrote:WS emailed me my login credentials since last week tues, up to today I can't log in saying wrong u/n or password.

I called today, they reset it, still can't log in. I need to log in to do prealerts cuz none of my packages have an invoice.

What next?

AFAIK just email them the invoice directly. That prealert thing is failure. They normally set a value though.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 13th, 2015, 8:56 am

way sah, csf charged me 80 ttd for four bottles of my "medication" , decided to ship in 2 bottles with WS, they charge me 105 ttd yes. have some more "medicine" coming in with WS, ah bracin for it.

Postby javishm » January 13th, 2015, 9:07 am

is vat being charged on it?

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » January 13th, 2015, 9:25 am

nah no vat charged, me eh lie doh, is level email notifications from WS yes, you does get an email notification when the package reach in miami, and then another one to collect the package with invoice.