axxed25

Buyers Beware-Fake M8s

Postby axxed25 » January 7th, 2015, 5:29 pm

Fake HTC M8s on sale.

I bought an M8 for the wifey.

Spent 3200 (what i thought was a deal) on an original HTC M8. Perfect condition
until using it days later and realizing it running outta memory (with barely any
apps installed) and the sense 6 is malfunctioning badly.

The below vid made me see the light!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3veaz9R5Rx4

Beware people...

Re: Buyers Beware-Fake M8s being sold on Tuner

Postby DVSTT » January 7th, 2015, 6:14 pm

This is why I buy my phones new from Amazon. Not prepared to deal with Trini smart men

Postby Redman » January 7th, 2015, 6:20 pm

DVSTT wrote:This is why I buy my phones new from Amazon. Not prepared to deal with Trini smart men

2 Iphone 4s never worked.

Bought 2 factory unlocked ...no issues.
Learned the hard way

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2015, 6:24 pm

fakes being sold on chuna, this is so new an exciting.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 7th, 2015, 6:25 pm

I doh trust anybody unless they have an established store really

When you shelling out more than $100 for anything, make sure it possible to return

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » January 7th, 2015, 6:26 pm

pioneer wrote:fakes being sold on chuna, this is so new an exciting.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 7th, 2015, 6:40 pm

shoulda have been able to name the conman...

Postby DVSTT » January 7th, 2015, 7:11 pm

pioneer wrote:fakes being sold on chuna, this is so new an exciting.

Lulz

alex jj

Postby alex jj » January 7th, 2015, 7:21 pm

why don't u contact the person u purchased it from and if they refuse to give u back ur money call the consumer affairs and make a big deal, and call them back every day to remind them and troll the living daylights out of the seller

Postby supercharged turbo » January 7th, 2015, 7:21 pm

What about all those people who selling gold jewelry.Whose not to say those items aren't stolen?

Postby DVSTT » January 7th, 2015, 7:32 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:What about all those people who selling gold jewelry.Whose not to say those items aren't stolen?

Or fake/plated stuff that they try to pass off as genuine.

axxed25

Postby axxed25 » January 8th, 2015, 7:08 am

alex jj wrote:why don't u contact the person u purchased it from and if they refuse to give u back ur money call the consumer affairs and make a big deal, and call them back every day to remind them and troll the living daylights out of the seller

Consumer affairs...Ian Alleyne....everybody!!!

Waaay too much damm smartmen in trini

Re: Buyers Beware-Fake M8s

Postby DVSTT » January 8th, 2015, 7:12 am

axxed25 wrote:
alex jj wrote:why don't u contact the person u purchased it from and if they refuse to give u back ur money call the consumer affairs and make a big deal, and call them back every day to remind them and troll the living daylights out of the seller

Ian Alleyne? Steups

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 7:25 am

axxed25 wrote:Fake HTC M8s on sale.

I bought an M8 for the wifey.

Spent 3200 (what i thought was a deal) on an original HTC M8. Perfect condition
until using it days later and realizing it running outta memory (with barely any
apps installed) and the sense 6 is malfunctioning badly.

The below vid made me see the light!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3veaz9R5Rx4

Beware people...

$3200 is mucho $$$ ... :shock:

Tuners should know who selling these fake stuff.

You know there is a Fraud Squad ... Corner of Park and Richmond, POS.

And there is no line to make a report .. : )

Postby TRAE » January 8th, 2015, 8:10 am

thats why you research the phone first man- if have rel fake S5s

Postby Trini Hookah » January 8th, 2015, 8:53 am

TRAE wrote:thats why you research the phone first man- if have rel fake S5s

Have alot of fakes in the local market on the whole. Cant buy phones blindly anymore, especially on 2nr.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » January 8th, 2015, 12:30 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

Have alot of fakes in the local market on the whole. Cant buy phones blindly anymore, especially on 2nr.

True fake powered speakers, colognes, phones the list goes on
Be careful pals 8-)

Postby DVSTT » January 8th, 2015, 3:25 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

Be careful pals 8-)

Some convincing fakes out there too.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2015, 3:45 pm

No fakes are convincing when you check what chipset its running.

The fakes cannot provide the same snapdragon chipset found in the genuine HTC phones.

I always install CPUZ on the phone or ask that it is done before I buy it. Also tilting the screen at different angles can show if the phone is fake. HTC screens are top notch

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 3:49 pm

Can you install CPUZ on an iPhone 6 ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2015, 3:55 pm

No I do not think ios will allow for that. Its a very closed platform, though I am not 100% certain.

But I have my doubts since iphone cannot do a lot of basic things that android can do.

When buying android phones people need to request CPUZ be installed on it, then check for Qualcomm's snapdragon chipset or samsung exynos and ensure its the current one being used on the model its very very easy that info can be found on GSM ARENA.

Its extremely easy to know fakes from originals. People who get scammed while they don't deserve to be scammed, they have themselves only to blame.

99% of fake phones carry the Mediatek chipset or the other chinese chipset. Its also on a different node process, they do not have the finances and technology to do a die shrink like Qualcomm.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 8th, 2015, 4:02 pm

For example the Snapdragon 810 chipset carries the Adreno 430 GPU and an A57 cortex cpu micro architecture built on a 20 nanometer semiconductor fabrication process.

CPUZ reveals all of this, Qualcomm is also capable of fitting the 4G LTE modems integrated on the same SOCs

Its relatively easy to spot for even the most novice users.

The work of Qualcomm and Apple is vastly superior to what the rest of the industry has to offer. Its easy to spot. So you tell me how can you get scammed from an industry like this when all this knowledge is so easily accessible? Everyone is supposed to have this information on the top of their heads. This is the point of upgrading a smartphone.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on January 8th, 2015, 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby TRAE » January 8th, 2015, 4:06 pm

DVSTT wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

Be careful pals 8-)

Some convincing fakes out there too.

take a few pics with it or drop it in water ---- lets see how the salesman react

alex jj

Postby alex jj » January 8th, 2015, 4:27 pm

i hear it hav a place with fake b&c speakers

Postby DVSTT » January 8th, 2015, 7:13 pm

alex jj wrote:i hear it hav a place with fake b&c speakers

Read some online forums where someone said fake beats sounded better than originals. Lulz

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 9th, 2015, 2:58 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:For example the Snapdragon 810 chipset carries the Adreno 430 GPU and an A57 cortex cpu micro architecture built on a 20 nanometer semiconductor fabrication process.

CPUZ reveals all of this, Qualcomm is also capable of fitting the 4G LTE modems integrated on the same SOCs

Its relatively easy to spot for even the most novice users.

The work of Qualcomm and Apple is vastly superior to what the rest of the industry has to offer. Its easy to spot. So you tell me how can you get scammed from an industry like this when all this knowledge is so easily accessible? Everyone is supposed to have this information on the top of their heads. This is the point of upgrading a smartphone.

Effect thanks for the answer ! Highly informative :)

Take a win !!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 10th, 2015, 11:56 am

^ no problem. I will also guess that the fake M8 does not support 1080p screens aswell in which case it would be relatively easy to see by just looking at the screen first glance. 720P PPI density should be less sharp and real life, than a 1080p screen

Its always great to go with a friend who has the same HTC phone and compare it side by side aswell.

You can also install a GPU/CPU benchmark software on the phone a relatively small one and run the benchmark. You will see the scores will stink in comparison to a real M8

Postby Chimera » January 10th, 2015, 12:17 pm

first time ever effectic ever say something useful

never heard about the CPUZ app
downloaded it after reading the thread
seems to be a great indicator of if a phone is legit or fake (without looking at physical differenceS)

here is a pic of a b14 to keep you warm at night

Postby ismithx » January 10th, 2015, 7:16 pm

"to keep you warm at night"

men dying over here yes

Postby supercharged turbo » January 10th, 2015, 9:18 pm

axxed25 wrote:

OP on Crime Watch:Well ian ah gone tuh buy ah phone ah see on chuna.De man had it for ah rel bess price so ah had tuh move quick.De man was in ah hurry cuz he say he had a car waiting for him so ah pay him and gone home.Only when i reach home and decide to check out de phone ah realise is ah fake.Ah try calling to tell him ah wah ah refund but SheScreams Starboi eh want to answer he phone.