What's the best shutdown story you have

Knight Rider

What's the best shutdown story you have

Postby Knight Rider » January 6th, 2015, 8:12 pm

So I have had a few fun stories when I shutdown a few times. Usually more funny when you think about it afterwards.

Most fun Story: me and my 'uncle' were working on a mini for an event. Went for gas late at night. Accelerator cable broke and we didn't walk with tools. Pulled the cable through the passenger window. I operated the throttle and he did everything else as usual. Was pretty fun.

uncle sam

Re: What's the best shutdown story you have

Postby uncle sam » January 6th, 2015, 9:59 pm

11:59 an Old Years night many years ago I was driving westbound in Mausica... near where pricesmart is now. A Ramco truck's driveshaft broke out and burst its back tyres... with that the chain "securing" the gas cylinders broke free. Gas cylinders are now falling off the truck and people are dogging cylinders like some kinda mario kart game. The broken chain was dragging on the roadway, so sparks on the road and fireworks in the sky... not to mention cylinders bouncing coming towards you...

My car and several other cars got damaged, some worst than others. While on the shoulder waiting for assistance, a passenger from another damaged car was checking out the wreckage . She was too sweet... she is now my wife.

Tork nah

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 6th, 2015, 10:21 pm

Got a call from a bunch of pals about 11PM one night, they shut down in Mc Bean for gas.
Grudgingly/Sleepily/Stale drunkily I left home at Pt Lisas, to go Couva for gas, when my civic shut down by KC factory. Coil module went kaputski.

Police passed and asked if everything good, when I told them I shut down they laughed and left.

A random guy who was a mutual friend (barely my own pal) was happened be walking by that time of night, went to the gas station for me, travelled to Mc Bean, got them the gas and they towed me home.

While I was waiting a wrecker passed and left his card.

Anyhoo. Thanks Rennie. You know who you are.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 6th, 2015, 11:07 pm

Some years ago in Tobago, we rented a Jimny from a "guy" (who told us that the steering wheel dont lock with the key....ok..no worries...) to go "galavanting"... midway through our jaunt (4 of us... two couples), The van shut down so no reason at all. tumbling slow but not starting.... so we decide to kick-start it..and put one of the chicks to do "jump the clutch duty"...

We spent the next 40 mins pushing the van and trying to jump start it....it was only during one of our rests that i looked up from the back of the van.

No dash lights on. Ergo. Ignition was off.

THE WHOLE FACKIN TIME!!!

Postby Morpheus » January 6th, 2015, 11:17 pm

^^Aahahhaha

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 6th, 2015, 11:21 pm

Too many....

Postby DVSTT » January 7th, 2015, 7:44 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Some years ago in Tobago, we rented a Jimny from a "guy" (who told us that the steering wheel dont lock with the key....ok..no worries...) to go "galavanting"... midway through our jaunt (4 of us... two couples), The van shut down so no reason at all. tumbling slow but not starting.... so we decide to kick-start it..and put one of the chicks to do "jump the clutch duty"...

We spent the next 40 mins pushing the van and trying to jump start it....it was only during one of our rests that i looked up from the back of the van.

THE WHOLE FACKIN TIME!!!

Bwahahaha

Postby RBphoto » January 7th, 2015, 7:59 am

I have TTAA card.... many adventures avoided. :|

But there was this one time my bluebird shut down by Skinner park lights (I did not know of cleaning throttle body and thing back then... young punk with a car business) mother and brother in car. I tell them to stay inside and decide to push the car for myself. Locked wheel left and pushed toward the median, road slope made the car start to decelerate down slope... no power steering so I could not lock over to stop the descent....brother pulled hand brakes milliseconds before the car was destroyed.

Another time my car stalled just before Besson street police station and I nearly shat my pants.... After a few tumbles it started tho... Jockey pulley bearing seized up. Was squeaking a few day before but thought it was just the belt and bought a replacement.

Postby DFC » January 7th, 2015, 10:19 am

me and my cousins driving on the highway one monday morning close to pasea lights when we heard a thud and a loud grating noise and then a bump and we looked back to see the gas tank of our car behind us. Momentum carried us to the middle of the intersection where we cut off causing a huge traffic pileup.

one cousin ran to pick up the gas tank, while me and the other pushed the car out of the intersection, into the shoulder.

btw the gas tank was full, and my cousin struggled to move it out of the way.

Later that day the wrecker came and towed the car and my cousin lit up a cigarette and his clothes caught on fire. he forgot he got gas all over him when he moved the tank.

The car was a daihatsu charmant. the gas tank was damaged after that incident so we placed a oil gallon in the trunk and used that as a temporary replacement. ( which lasted years)

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » January 7th, 2015, 10:49 am

Mine is similar to Knight Rider, 8 months after getting my permit left movietwone at 1a.m. stopped at the Sealots lights by the market heading East first gear grinded going in (GSR Box Lancer), stepped on the clutch to go into second and nothing stopped a little after CCC (stupid I know) called pops turns out clutch cable burst. Then some folk appeared, long story short learned how to match gears that night over the phone.

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 7th, 2015, 11:46 am

My friend shut down heading west into pos by sea lots. Old model blue bird his family had since new. The ignition switch was worn out so it just would not start. Had to disassemble the steering column and switch and wire the car to start. Never did it before so it was no gone in 60 seconds feat, more like 30 minutes lo

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2015, 11:47 am

Knight Rider wrote: Accelerator cable broke and we didn't walk with tools. Pulled the cable through the passenger window. I operated the throttle and he did everything else as usual. Was pretty fun.

my version of this was the gas pedal broke, so we used the wire for one of the cooling fans to pull the throttle linkage

Best / worst was breaking down on the northbound after Claxton Bay in the MGB, back when there was the single lane diversion and no shoulder....we backed up traffic on both sides until the wrecker came :-/

Postby stev » January 7th, 2015, 12:01 pm

heading east one afternoon (before overpass was finished by grand bazaar) in rel traffic

put the car in neutral at the traffic lights (right lane in front of UWI)

just b4 the lights changed, i put it back in drive only to realize its stuck in neutral :shock:

needless to say i got rel cus cuz i cause even more traffic....had to push my car to the shoulder (BY MYSELF) in traffic.

after the shame passed, i had the courage to investigate the problem....the shifting cable broke loose so i had to manually pull or push it to move in to drive / park etc. :(

another time and day:

shutdown in the middle of the gas station entrance (St. Mary's) :lol: cuz i was out of gas

one of the pump attendant was kind enough to help me push my car to the pump though. lol

Postby black start » January 7th, 2015, 12:13 pm

Proceding west along the rivulet and Tired AF so padna jivin le sunny. Sunny carb previously giving trouble and car stalling while driving. Had that problem "fixed" by mech week before. Padna decide to overtake truck and trailer on the stretch (e15 having pace so np there) and about halfway into overtake car stall :lol: . Lo and behold ah next truck and trailer coming down the next lane and approaching quick.....what to do, what to do? Men start to pray, boxers start to soil/spoil....and old faithful le sunny catch back sheself and we gt with milliseconds to spare and 5 boxers less....thanked god that day....sad thing is.....I'm an atheist! :lol:

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2015, 12:17 pm

^^^a buddy's Focus got stranded in Valpark for a similar issue....when they shifted the car out of D and into Park, the shift linkage broke, so the car wouldn't start....took us a while to diagnose the problem....we called the dealership mechanic, who asked if we were sure the car was really in P....this was after swapping battery etc

Postby Bizzare » January 7th, 2015, 12:18 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Some years ago in Tobago, we rented a Jimny from a "guy" (who told us that the steering wheel dont lock with the key....ok..no worries...) to go "galavanting"... midway through our jaunt (4 of us... two couples), The van shut down so no reason at all. tumbling slow but not starting.... so we decide to kick-start it..and put one of the chicks to do "jump the clutch duty"...

THE WHOLE FACKIN TIME!!!

Lol, this happened on work the other day. I realize minutes after bawling at d fellas behind to "push faster".

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 7th, 2015, 12:33 pm

Toyota crown, just had the head rebuilt and machined. Decided to horseplay on a corner in Grand bazaar. Tyres lose traction I grin then all of a sudden smoke starts coming out the dashboard. I quickly tell Everyone get out and run to disconnect the battery. Didn't have any electrical testers/meters so I disconnected the harness one section at a time in the engine compartment. When I did each one I touched the battery terminal. Everytime I got a big spark I know the short was still there. Did this until I got no spark. Reconnected the battery and the engine started. Dropped friends in tunapuna, st Joseph and diego martin. Thankfully there was no rain as the power windows were stuck down.

Another time, I was driving with my sister. In traffic I see the rpm Guage go dead. I realise nothing inside the car getting 12v. Wondered if I should switch off, I do so and unsurprisingly the car is unable to start. Find a burnt 100amp fuse. Check the auto place at the time, no similar fuse. Cut a piece of the wire to my mitsubas and bridge the fuse until I got a replacement. Sister was shopping all this time.

Installed 1g gze engine in crown. Mechanic was terrible. Took my first long drive to chaguanas. Coming back from lessons just as I'm leaving chaguanas I smell fire I assumed it was one I passed by. By the caroni fly over temperature begins to shoot up. Low Guage wire installed by mechanic whose main profession is electrical burnt out. Again salvage mitsuba wires and connect fans direct to Battery. Cool down engine and drove home. Promptly cussed mechanic

Postby stev » January 7th, 2015, 12:45 pm

feddup of overheating issues :(

i even had to get a wrecker to bring my car home once cuz of overheating...

the radiator fan was......well, melted. lol :

IMG_20130209_131901.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » January 7th, 2015, 12:55 pm

Clearly I either lucky or drive the correct cars. Never shut down.

However once in Tobago rented a Proton Wira. Gone Charlotteville and on the way back the car started bucking. This is before the days where everybody had cellphone and we must have pass 3 cars on the entire way. My pardner who was driving somehow got us back to Scarborough with plenty revving and coaxing and we shut down close to Orange Hill. Had to push it the rest of the way which luckily wasn't very far.

Knight Rider

Postby Knight Rider » January 7th, 2015, 1:00 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Clearly I either lucky or drive the correct cars. Never shut down.

However once in Tobago rented a Proton Wira. Gone Charlotteville and on the way back the car started bucking. This is before the days where everybody had cellphone and we must have pass 3 cars on the entire way. My pardner who was driving somehow got us back to Scarborough with plenty revving and coaxing and we shut down close to Orange Hill. Had to push it the rest of the way which luckily wasn't very far.
What cars have you owned?

Postby Habit7 » January 7th, 2015, 1:15 pm

uncle sam wrote:11:59 an Old Years night many years ago I was driving westbound in Mausica... near where pricesmart is now. A Ramco truck's driveshaft broke out and burst its back tyres... with that the chain "securing" the gas cylinders broke free. Gas cylinders are now falling off the truck and people are dogging cylinders like some kinda mario kart game. The broken chain was dragging on the roadway, so sparks on the road and fireworks in the sky... not to mention cylinders bouncing coming towards you...

My car and several other cars got damaged, some worst than others. While on the shoulder waiting for assistance, a passenger from another damaged car was checking out the wreckage . She was too sweet... she is now my wife.

Tork nah

Nice 8-)

Postby supercharged turbo » January 7th, 2015, 1:17 pm

Proceeding southbound down the highway in the fast lane just before the turn off by the nagar in the 323,when de wire jump out from de electronic coil and the car cut off.Had to come out and chook in back de wire yes

Postby nervewrecker » January 7th, 2015, 1:23 pm

I shut down once, was in my yard.

Seems the battery was hafd dead and nobody knew, went and drive all over, came home, park like a kant, take out all what i buy. Time to start and reverse into my park....nuffin. Clack clack from some thingamaj in engine bay, dashboard lights like they going mad, door actuator like he loosing it.

Called alarm tech, as asked to check horn, light and put alarm into valet mode. realized the headlight real dim so it was diagnosed as a dead battery. Got some help on facebook from some tuners too. By this time was night and we struggle all how to push that vehicle into le garage and again, kant parking parked with steering locked one side. Pressure

Postby Dizzy28 » January 7th, 2015, 1:37 pm

Knight Rider wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Clearly I either lucky or drive the correct cars. Never shut down.

Owned by me - A CS and a CY Lancer
Pops ones I used probably even more than mine in my early driving days - Bluebird and Corolla

Postby Chimera » January 7th, 2015, 1:38 pm

Bizzare wrote:Lol, this happened on work the other day. I realize minutes after bawling at d fellas behind to "push faster".

yuh big homo

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 7th, 2015, 2:21 pm

Knight Rider wrote:

Pops ones I used probably even more than mine in my early driving days - Bluebird and Corolla

Owned a CS lancer and it never shutdown?? :shock:

Postby Dizzy28 » January 7th, 2015, 2:48 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Knight Rider wrote:

Owned a CS lancer and it never shutdown?? :shock:

Nope bought it RORO and kept it for 2.8years. In that time only ever change tyres, battery and a fan control unit.

Postby black start » January 7th, 2015, 3:06 pm

Beefordeen owners have no shut down stories...

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » January 7th, 2015, 3:09 pm

What d fcuk i reading here, oil price falling daily and men telling odda men about dey car stalling ?
The gov't should opsn back caroni livestock section and aulluh should mind some bison yea cus you all clearly have nothing to do

Postby ismithx » January 7th, 2015, 3:23 pm

in before randolph get jump