chikungunya spreading like crazy

Corn Bird

Re: chikungunya spreading like crazy

Postby Corn Bird » October 26th, 2014, 8:44 pm

heard this also. a friend and his family members got this virus with symptoms similar to chikungunya. he had pain in his joints and neck. got a red rash. also he had swelling of his lymph nodes.

the doctors at mt hope told him that it was not chikungunya but a virus.

he recovered after about two weeks.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » October 26th, 2014, 9:09 pm

Realtalk wrote:this is what I'm saying I think the virus is chik but now transferring from human to human, I could be talking BS but it's jus a hunch
it is not chikungunya. It is suspected to be a flu that has similar symptoms

Yes I have it right now.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » October 26th, 2014, 9:39 pm

Boil young paw paw leaf an drink it. It helps dengue an chick v..

Postby rfari » October 26th, 2014, 9:40 pm

There isn't any virus like chikv. It is chikv

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » October 26th, 2014, 10:10 pm

rfari wrote:There isn't any virus like chikv. It is chikv

there is moderate joint pain with this virus. if it really was chikv then the joint pain is more extreme -- people would be bawling with pain

Postby Habit7 » October 26th, 2014, 10:21 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:U didnt go get tested?
Waiting for Monday to go to health centre, I can't sit down in triage and wait for my turn to come around.

Postby rfari » October 26th, 2014, 10:24 pm

Corn Bird wrote:

there is moderate joint pain with this virus. if it really was chikv then the joint pain is more extreme -- people would be bawling with pain

Can it be mind over matter?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 26th, 2014, 10:26 pm

Too much people assuming, best thing to do is get tested and know for sure. I couldn' t handle the public institution bs so i did it private.

Postby 1UZFE » October 26th, 2014, 10:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:U didnt go get tested?
Waiting for Monday to go to health centre, I can't sit down in triage and wait for my turn to come around.

U should know that the goverment have made it mandatory that all heath centres are opened everyday.
D irony..

jm3

Postby jm3 » October 27th, 2014, 1:53 am

i have just gotten over this my girlfriend also had it.
My symptoms started as pain in my right foot which i ignored for 2 days,
Then one night driving home from work (11pm) i started getting pain in both my ankles which again i ignored,
the next morning driving to work (5am) my ankles were very painful around my achilles tendons i intended to just go to work and fight through it.
as i neared work i noticed some red dots on my right hand i rolled up my shirt sleeve to find i had a rash all over my arm.
i decided to go back home at this point,
by the time i got home the rash had spread all over both my arms up to my shoulders and the entirety of my legs from thigh to ankle.
i got 7 days sick leave from the doctor after she confirmed it was chikv.
Basically i didnt feel ill as such and was able to work at home just fine,
i had a fever for 2 nights my ankles were seized up so i had great difficulty walking and i felt extremely tired even up to now i am still extremely exhausted.
i am at 10 days from first symptom i still have some joint pain but its manageable.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 31st, 2014, 10:30 am

jm3 wrote:i have just gotten over this my girlfriend also had it.
My symptoms started as pain in my right foot which i ignored for 2 days,
Then one night driving home from work (11pm) i started getting pain in both my ankles which again i ignored,
the next morning driving to work (5am) my ankles were very painful around my achilles tendons i intended to just go to work and fight through it.
as i neared work i noticed some red dots on my right hand i rolled up my shirt sleeve to find i had a rash all over my arm.
i decided to go back home at this point,
by the time i got home the rash had spread all over both my arms up to my shoulders and the entirety of my legs from thigh to ankle.
i got 7 days sick leave from the doctor after she confirmed it was chikv.
Basically i didnt feel ill as such and was able to work at home just fine,
i had a fever for 2 nights my ankles were seized up so i had great difficulty walking and i felt extremely tired even up to now i am still extremely exhausted.
i am at 10 days from first symptom i still have some joint pain but its manageable.

damn it hit you hard boy. get well soon bro.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 31st, 2014, 10:38 am

Corn Bird wrote:heard this also. a friend and his family members got this virus with symptoms similar to chikungunya. he had pain in his joints and neck. got a red rash. also he had swelling of his lymph nodes.

the doctors at mt hope told him that it was not chikungunya but a virus.

he recovered after about two weeks.

the symptoms also match ebola apparently lol. but yeah this chicken gunya is a strong virus to reach me. major joint pain all joints and achilles, headache, fever, lymph nodes pain. lasted about 12hrs. then i got the rash on my arm for a day but energy levels were returning. pretty sure i could hear the screams of the virus saying... "aahhhh we entered the wrong mofo today" lol

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » October 31st, 2014, 10:14 pm

for the many misinformed and craving public panic...

reality is that it doesn;t matter if its chik v or any other influenza virus - the treatment is all the same...adequate analgesia and hydration and let it run its course...its self-limiting and there's nothing you can do to make it seemingly disappear faster other than the usual symptomatic remedies...even dengue falls into this category as long as its not hemorrhagic

what we really check for with the blood tests are patient's platelet values...if thats dropping too far below normal or the patient is symptomatic, i.e. dehydrated, bleeding etc, then we step in, as then its likely to be hemorrhagic dengue...

Word to the wise for all of you rushing privately and spending tons of money getting all these fancy tests - stop wasting your time - do a regular CBC (should cost less than $100, or free at your local District Health Facility), and once Dengue hemorrhagic is ruled out then go home and take your analgesia (please avoid aspirin based drugs), eat your fruits and vegetables and keep yourself hydrated.

Postby Habit7 » November 1st, 2014, 7:01 am

I'm not much of a homeopathic guy but the pawpaw leaves really help break the fever. The joint and muscle soreness eventually went away but getting over the fever was tremendous help.

Postby pioneer » December 15th, 2014, 6:38 pm

This.

Dunno why Fuad fooling people.

Fete hadda happen.

eitech

Postby eitech » December 21st, 2014, 9:44 am

Monday 15th I had joint pains especially in my right wrist and shoulder. No fever or cold like symptoms. Went and did a CBC and chick v test. chick v negative. cbc showed I had some sort of viral infection. I was advised to retest in 3 days. By Thursday all joint pain was gone, I felt good but then started itchin all over. I aint take it on and did not go to get re-tested. By Friday morning, my lymph nodes were swollen. Saturday I went and got re tested. chick v negative. cbc showed my platelets dropped by 20 since Monday. was advised to get plenty fluids, and re-tested. So I still don't know what is wrong and that "facility" I went to jus like taking my money.

Postby pioneer » December 21st, 2014, 10:10 am

lol@ negative chik v

Son you got the V

Postby Kenjo » December 21st, 2014, 10:34 am

Lol platelets dropping? You ever heard of dengue too?not all tests 100% so it still could be chick v. Main thing is to continue to treat it symptomatically

Postby pioneer » December 21st, 2014, 11:34 am

Dengue have rash/itch?

Jus askin

Postby Kenjo » December 21st, 2014, 3:55 pm

"Dengue and Chikungunya: Making the Diagnosis

Clinicians evaluating patients with acute febrile illness need to collect a travel history from the patient. Both chikungunya and dengue should be considered in the differential diagnosis if the patient traveled to any region of the tropics, particularly the Caribbean and Americas, where chikungunya has recently emerged, in the 14 days before the illness began.

Chikungunya and dengue are both acute febrile illnesses characterized by fever, myalgia, and lethargy. Some patients may also have maculopapular rash, nausea, vomiting, and headache. Distinguishing features of chikungunya include potentially debilitating bilateral polyarthralgia and, in some cases, arthritis. Although these signs and symptoms may assist in differentiating dengue and chikungunya, clinicians should include both illnesses in their differential diagnosis of patients with acute febrile illness and recent travel to the tropics. Such patients should also be evaluated for other serious conditions, such as malaria, leptospirosis, and other bacterial infections."

http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/831523
i believe a lot of presentations of patients are different but both conditions share a lot of vague symptoms

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 22nd, 2014, 9:55 am

Its been 2 months and i still have joint pains in my thumbs and ankles.... what you guys using for the pain i'm using olfen 100. it kinda works.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » December 22nd, 2014, 12:40 pm

i wanda wah dis chik v ting feel like dan, and how come I aint get eet yet. (fingers crossed)

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » December 22nd, 2014, 2:59 pm

In for the chikv.
Hit me hard Friday, started of with shoulder pain, then back pain, then my ribs, then in the night I realised like all my previous injuries from gym came back :shock: . Saturday morning about 2 am, woke up with a serious fever. Went to the health centre that same morning, they did ecg, xrays, and a blood test. Told me to come back Tuesday to do another blood test. Everything seemed normal the doctor said, just my temperature was real high. It was too early to determine if was chikv.

Told me take panadine.
Today I'm feeling slightly better still have joint pains fever almost gone, haven't eaten properly since Friday, all my gains dissappear :cry::cry::cry:

Postby pioneer » December 22nd, 2014, 6:49 pm

lol@ these public sector doctors

Telling people they don't have chik V, yet people have every single symptom. They treating for chik V, while saying it isn't chik V but have no idea what it is.

Fuad teachin dem good.

People doin medical degree online these days?

Postby pugboy » December 22nd, 2014, 8:10 pm

I also did a test on second day and both were negative
from my amateur research they say the tests only effective after 6 or 7 days for these viruses

I got it exactly 3 months ago, foot/hand pains eased in last couple weeks but
got some nagging knee pains now and I aggravated hand pains doing some work this weekend.

good info here
http://www.rheumatologist-chennai.in/ab ... ritis.html

Postby meccalli » December 22nd, 2014, 10:41 pm

It isn't chikv, the viral mimic has all the symptoms but it isn't as bad. I fought my fever in a single day with papaya leaves, don't take any panadol unless your pain is terrible, it extends your fever, let your body do its job if you can bear it and monitor your temps. My entire family got it, thankfully there's a doctor down kelly, he gave them 2 shots each and the fever broke within an hour and they don't experience the full symptoms after that. I ran out the full course without medicine in 3 days which ended with swollen feet and nodes- fruits, papaya leaves and water did the trick for me.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 23rd, 2014, 12:30 am

pioneer wrote:lol@ these public sector doctors

Telling people they don't have chik V, yet people have every single symptom. They treating for chik V, while saying it isn't chik V but have no idea what it is.

Fuad teachin dem good.

Lmao...ur ignorance rely knows no bounds yes...public sector Drs are prolly the same ones u see privately anyway, so go pay ur money and let those that can't afford get thru a lil bit faster...

Maybe u can educate us in the meantime as to the "treatment" for chik v vs dengue vs other viruses oh knowledgeable one

Postby pioneer » December 23rd, 2014, 5:15 pm

worksux101 wrote:
pioneer wrote:lol@ these public sector doctors

Fuad teachin dem good.

Lmao...ur ignorance rely knows no bounds yes...public sector Drs are prolly the same ones u see privately anyway, so go pay ur money and let those that can't afford get thru a lil bit faster...

Maybe u can educate us in the meantime as to the "treatment" for chik v vs dengue vs other viruses oh knowledgeable one

Easy there Doogie.

Does dengue (and other viruses) have a rash/itch and severe long-lasting joint pain?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 24th, 2014, 2:59 am

If you're asking it means you don't know, and thus should revisit your online medical degree before criticising public sector Drs no so?

And fyi, yes dengue can have both. Everything you see now with ?chik we have seen for many years with the more unfortunate dengue cases.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 24th, 2014, 6:02 pm

chikv is like a mosquito bite an ebola victim and then bite someone else. the ebola virus gets morphed in the mosquito body to be less dangerous. all symptoms the same.. except death.