T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: New Vehicle Prices In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 20th, 2014, 9:02 pm

tdavies wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:Paddle shifters like F1 is how I roll. Manual is for the mid life crisis guys

That statement hadda be a joke rite......

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 20th, 2014, 9:58 pm

U iz jive uh cyar in tipchonic mode in chaffic and main road fadda?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 20th, 2014, 10:12 pm

tdavies wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:Paddle shifters like F1 is how I roll. Manual is for the mid life crisis guys

That statement hadda be a joke rite......

Doh beat up brah....
Manual is more fun but I'd sacrifice fun for the reduced work. Weekend car only for manual.

Postby DVSTT » December 21st, 2014, 7:31 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Men really bigging up AT over MT???

:? :? :?

Tan yuh body dey bmx banton.

Ahahahahhaha

Postby cinco » December 21st, 2014, 7:56 am

I feel d men who beat in up bout manual never drive manual.
Newer manuals so easy to drive it not even funny. And by newer I mean anything post 1990

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 21st, 2014, 8:36 am

Hydraulic Clutch + Power Steering + Hydraulic Braking System

why people complain :?:

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » December 21st, 2014, 10:18 am

Every driver has a preference, I drive what I feel it's just unfortunate that locally manual has now become something you have to special order in certain segments but then again companies will always appease the masses. However Auto boxes have improved in most cases can't deny that.

Postby Morpheus » December 21st, 2014, 12:01 pm

Not just locally...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 21st, 2014, 8:17 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Hydraulic Clutch + Power Steering + Hydraulic Braking System

why people complain :?:

Because everyone is different. Drove manual for four years in college. It was fun. Hardly any traffic. On newer vehicles Eg the jetta I find manual would be a waste. Sport mode is good enough for a little extra excitement when needed.

HSA

Postby HSA » December 22nd, 2014, 8:55 am

try driving a 1973 land rover 109 series 3....original manual 4 forward..yes 4 forward....very little steering lock and you need POWER to turn the steering...no gym needed after a short drive....

Postby Dizzy28 » December 22nd, 2014, 10:13 am

Went into Classic last week.
CRV has three variations as opposed to two indicated on Pg 1.
All are 2.0l with AWD
Basic Fabric - $299,000
Mid Spec Fabric - $379,000 (Inone only)
Leather - $410,000

Major difference between the Basic Fabric and Mid Spec are that the Mid Spec has
1. Blue Tooth Integrated head unit with steering controls
2. More Airbags (the basic has standard two)
3. Reverse Camera

Postby Morpheus » December 22nd, 2014, 10:46 am

Damn. All that money for that? Heck

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 22nd, 2014, 11:54 am

410k for a Honda? :lol:

Postby honda hoe » December 22nd, 2014, 12:55 pm

If u in the market for a brand new vehicle, manual transmission options are very limited

Very soon u won't get them at all

Postby nervewrecker » December 22nd, 2014, 1:28 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Went into Classic last week.
CRV has three variations as opposed to two indicated on Pg 1.
All are 2.0l with AWD
Basic Fabric - $299,000
Mid Spec Fabric - $379,000 (Inone only)
Leather - $410,000

Major difference between the Basic Fabric and Mid Spec are that the Mid Spec has
1. Blue Tooth Integrated head unit with steering controls
2. More Airbags (the basic has standard two)
3. Reverse Camera

I'd always opt to gut the lame arse head units those vehicles come with and put in an aftermarket with a dash kit.
I can understand the air bags but cam and BT?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 22nd, 2014, 2:34 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:410k for a Honda? :lol:

The first model within the Rav4 range that is 4x4 is $356,000
Think about that!!!

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 23rd, 2014, 6:06 pm

Where are people planning to use the 4x4 in these SUVs to go. ..
For that kinda money I would seriously consider a diesel santa fe.
That vehicle does cruise nice on the highway, with enough power to surprise the unsuspecting
2wd though, cause 4wd to me is a waste if you keeping it on a sealed surface 99% of the time

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » December 24th, 2014, 1:36 am

^^^^ its nice to have that extra security on a rainy day tho

Postby j.o.e » December 24th, 2014, 2:10 am

whyteliver wrote:^^^^ its nice to have that extra security on a rainy day tho

2wd copes fine with rain

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 24th, 2014, 5:39 am

extra security....
4wd does not equate to stability control
They are different. 4wd on suvs only help when you are accelerating.... No assistance is provided to help cornering or braking.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 24th, 2014, 7:36 am

I have 4x4 mode in my vehicle.....thing is....I never used it.....never had the reason to.....hmm....
so its not really worth the extra $..IMHO

Postby Dizzy28 » December 24th, 2014, 8:16 am

But SUVs like the Subaru Forrester, Honda CRV and Ford Kuga are not 4wd but AWD.
That must be of some benefit even on asphalt??

AFAIK the Tucson, Sportage, RAV4, Viatara have 4x4s which can be switched on and off as needed.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 24th, 2014, 9:07 am

Honda CRV is AWD on demand. Normal operation is FWD.

Stability control is more important than AWD for everyday safety imo which is why vehicles with AWD still have stability control systems. If you let off the throttle and aquaplane AWD is not going to do a damn thing.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 24th, 2014, 10:00 am

So if you get an AWD with Traction Control and Stability control??
Supposedly according to the brochure for the Ford Kuga the Trend and Titanium models have both.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 24th, 2014, 10:14 am

Good for you I guess if powering around a corner in the mud.

Awd is more for slushy conditions like snow or mud where you can't get traction to even move properly. Summer tyres and you good to go with rwd or fwd.

Off-road n ting then awd/4x4

Postby DVSTT » December 24th, 2014, 10:16 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Honda CRV is AWD on demand. Normal operation is FWD.

Stability control is more important than AWD for everyday safety imo which is why vehicles with AWD still have stability control systems. If you let off the throttle and aquaplane AWD is not going to do a damn thing.

The xtrails that Massey brought 2.5, were also awd on demand but they have traction and stability control as well. They also have the 4 lock setting. Best of both worlds Imo.

The 2 door vitara is full time awd.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 24th, 2014, 10:20 am

Speaking of Xtrails I have seen quite a few of the newest shape ones and they have hubcaps :? :?

Toyota got blasted many times in here for offering Corolla with hubcaps and I guess Nissan offering the Xtrail with it is even worse given the starting price of the vehicle!!

Postby cinco » December 24th, 2014, 10:51 am

Why are u driving unsafely in the rain in the first place? Everybody in a yaris/rio/accent should crash and die as soon as rain falls then.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 24th, 2014, 11:14 am

Rain cyar out the Fyahz!!!

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » December 25th, 2014, 1:14 am

wow..