Blubird Sylphy Owners club

Biggs3ne

Re: Blubird Sylphy Owners club

Postby Biggs3ne » November 26th, 2014, 6:52 am

I will, do you guys service on your own or do you go to mechanics to get the vehicle serviced.

I would usually do my own servicing when I had the CS Lancer, but I'm a bit afraid to do same with this car. Not sure why..

Any DIY Guys got any pointers for me about this car when changing oil, filters, plugs etc?

rane

Postby rane » November 26th, 2014, 6:57 am

Padna quick serv sando/ massy serv
Its better u go by the pro because if u clean throttle body or injector u have to recalibrate the learn (idle volume learn.

Or an when you guys changing your coolant change your thermostat an coolant temperature sensor as well.

blacklancer

Postby blacklancer » November 26th, 2014, 2:24 pm

rane wrote:Padna quick serv sando/ massy serv
Its better u go by the pro because if u clean throttle body or injector u have to recalibrate the learn (idle volume learn.

Or an when you guys changing your coolant change your thermostat an coolant temperature sensor as well.

Excellent advice and very accurate, cooling system in these cars need to be in ideal condition to prevent overheating and engine damage keep in mind no temperature gauge .

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » November 27th, 2014, 6:59 am

rane wrote:Padna quick serv sando/ massy serv

Thank you for the heads up Rane..any directions to the above places mentioned? Do you have to leave the vehicle overnight or is it a same day come first thing? What is the average service cost, parts & labour?

Excuse my questions because as I said before, I did my stuff on my own previously.

Is there a specific mileage interval for the coolant and thermostat to be changed?

The car came with 29,096 km (ohh btw, dais a big lie) and I was thinking to do a 5,000 km service, or should I service before?

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » November 28th, 2014, 6:39 am

I've done all dat and I still get that problem.... Those guys at work said its a problem with these cars... I've noticed that when I use premium it stops

richardk

Postby richardk » November 30th, 2014, 9:36 pm

my backlight in my instrument panel just keeps flickering. does anyone know how or where i can get a good electrician to fix it?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » December 2nd, 2014, 9:11 pm

Anyone... How often do you service your Sylphy?

Oil and filter change
Injector cleaning and throttle body servicing
Spark plug change
Coolant change

Please feel free to insert anything I may have left out.

trinimark

Postby trinimark » December 2nd, 2014, 9:18 pm

Oil and filter change every 10, 000 km, iridium spark plugs and genuine Nissan coolant change at 100, 000 km, air filter, tb and injectors as needed. Run a redline fuel system cleaner in your tank every 5000 km and you shouldn't have to touch you injectors often.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » December 3rd, 2014, 7:32 am

Thanks for the response, but isn't 10,000km alot between oil changes?

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » December 3rd, 2014, 7:33 am

Biggs3ne wrote:Thanks for the response, but isn't 10,000km alot between oil changes?

I got the MR20 Engine, not sure if it matters with respect to servicing

trinimark

Postby trinimark » December 3rd, 2014, 11:16 am

Advancement in engine materials and engine oil technology over the years has led to less contamination and slower break down, so the oil lasts much longer. Some manufacturers even recommend 2 filter changes and 1 oil change PER YEAR. I'll stick to 10,000km to 12,000km though.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » December 3rd, 2014, 12:20 pm

What oil do you use? Blue Bottle Shell? I can't remember off my head if that one is 10w 30 or 40...

My rough idle has gotten worse on Mornings..I think I read somewhere on the thread a guy said the problem is bad gas...I had the same issue wih my lancer

I really wasn't expecting it with the Sylphy

blacklancer

Postby blacklancer » December 5th, 2014, 6:52 pm

Guys if you are using Shell Helix H7 (blue bottle) change you oil every 5,000km and not 10,000km as I see some are doing, You don,t want to face the bamboo for an MR20 before your time. Maintain it and it will last.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » December 7th, 2014, 4:21 pm

Royal purple jus sayin

blacklancer

Postby blacklancer » December 7th, 2014, 6:38 pm

innovative audio wrote:Royal purple jus sayin

Great choice if you want to change every 10,000k

trinimark

Postby trinimark » December 8th, 2014, 7:30 am

Sorry I failed to mention that I use Mobil1 10W-30 or 5W-30 when I can get it, and the factory Nissan oil filter.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » December 8th, 2014, 9:24 pm

Guys I have a air conditioner speed module for sale Bnib original nissan

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » December 9th, 2014, 7:36 am

Do you guys experiencing any burning of oil? When I used the Shell in the Lancer I never had to top up the oil at all.

I tried mobil 1 once. 10w 30 and had to top up..where can I purchase the oem oil filter, at the Motorist?

Share your experiences guys..

blacklancer

Postby blacklancer » December 9th, 2014, 2:16 pm

"Biggs 3ne" I have noticed that I have to add oil between oil changes with the sylphy never had this issue with my other cars.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » December 9th, 2014, 4:07 pm

I have the same problem.... I was told that this occurs when u mash dong

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » December 9th, 2014, 4:08 pm

D hose from the top of d engine spits oil into the intake

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » December 9th, 2014, 8:10 pm

blacklancer wrote:
innovative audio wrote:Royal purple jus sayin

Great choice if you want to change every 10,000k

I using Mobil 10/30 an I loving it... :D :D :D :D

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » December 9th, 2014, 9:12 pm

trinimark wrote:Sorry I failed to mention that I use Mobil1 10W-30 or 5W-30 when I can get it, and the factory Nissan oil filter.

You should consider a better filter If you're changing your oil at 10-12000kms. Unless you're using two oems for that duration.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » December 10th, 2014, 6:36 am

innovative audio wrote:D hose from the top of d engine spits oil into the intake

I had the same issue with the lancer..I bought one of those cheap plastic gas filters and put it on the line...It helped alot

Junior ali

Postby Junior ali » December 12th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Looking for door visor for 08 model

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » December 13th, 2014, 8:14 am

^^^do a search in the classifieds panda..or the poweresellers classifieds

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » December 13th, 2014, 8:18 am

What size rims are you guys Rolling on?
I was browsing the malysia Sylphy forum and I saw some guys talking about having to buy coiloversonce using 17" rims...something about d ride being too high with stock suspension..others said no..

Any of you have coilovers installed?

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » December 16th, 2014, 10:58 pm

I see a guy working ph running 225/45/18 without touching... he say he jus buy an install

blacklancer

Postby blacklancer » December 17th, 2014, 11:33 pm

215/45/17 works great w/o affecting ride quality and no touching on fender.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » December 18th, 2014, 10:50 am

Some killjoy..... Talk about ride quality I'm like wow!!! #sarcasm
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1418914252.883000.jpg