Seen in a pharmacy that selling phonecard on Tragarete Road

Postby Pantos » December 3rd, 2014, 8:38 pm

Since when this is a thing now?

trinihub

Re: Seen in a pharmacy that selling phonecard on Tragarete R

Postby trinihub » December 3rd, 2014, 8:43 pm

The profit is almost nothing on these cards....either they sell at that price or don't sell at all...you decide.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » December 3rd, 2014, 8:44 pm

Not affected...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 3rd, 2014, 9:16 pm

trinihub wrote:The profit is almost nothing on these cards....either they sell at that price or don't sell at all...you decide.

correct

some companies did cut back on d commission so its almost like doing d public a favor , resellers had to resort to this ...... :|

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » December 3rd, 2014, 9:25 pm

true that is why when my company phone credit done whwn i call meh betis, i purchase from via outlets when i go to play meh markk, u pay the face value for the card, nothing more nothing less :evilbat:

Postby Chimera » December 3rd, 2014, 9:32 pm

yeah even with the online service to sell phone cards, they cut back commission to something like 1%

Postby S_2NR » December 3rd, 2014, 9:32 pm

Not affected.
Prepaid sufferers haffi suffer

Postby skylinechild » December 3rd, 2014, 9:42 pm

still dont understand how this is the buyers problem though..if the price is $10...i paying $10 not a cent more. is NOT my problem you as a seller making no markup. that is a problem between wholesaler and retailer.
if you not makin a profit then simply dont sell.

prepaid but NOT affected btw

Postby 1UZFE » December 3rd, 2014, 9:47 pm

skylinechild wrote:still dont understand how this is the buyers problem though..if the price is $10...i paying $10 not a cent more. is NOT my problem you as a seller making no markup. that is a problem between wholesaler and retailer.

does bmobile outlets sells cards??
How much they sell the cards for??
Do they have the mark up aswell?

Postby Chimera » December 3rd, 2014, 9:56 pm

skylinechild wrote:still dont understand how this is the buyers problem though..if the price is $10...i paying $10 not a cent more. is NOT my problem you as a seller making no markup. that is a problem between wholesaler and retailer.

yes its your problem if you decide you want to buy from a store that it selling it at a markup

you can easily go to a lotto machine and get it for regular price

many retailers only sell phone cards because it brings customers into their store and they may buy something else

carholics

Postby carholics » December 3rd, 2014, 10:18 pm

A shop in golconda charging $23 for a digicel $20 dollar card :cry:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 3rd, 2014, 10:50 pm

You can report them though......or switch to postpaid

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 3rd, 2014, 10:53 pm

dem not making any kinda money on the card...I have seen this and yeah either yuh buy it or leave it....

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » December 3rd, 2014, 10:58 pm

A sufferer's plight

Postby Chimera » December 3rd, 2014, 11:00 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:You can report them though......or switch to postpaid

Lol report to who? Bmobile n digicel don't care because the merchant has already purchased the card anyway. Whether it's sold to a end user or not

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 3rd, 2014, 11:33 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:
trinihub wrote:The profit is almost nothing on these cards....either they sell at that price or don't sell at all...you decide.

correct

some companies did cut back on d commission so its almost like doing d public a favor , resellers had to resort to this ...... :|

They are wrong in doing as such. Digicel cards starts at about 20 cents profit per card, bmobile is around $1.10 per card with hard cards. There's a increase in percentage as you buy more within a price range. In order to really make a significant profit, $500,000+ must be invested.
With the electronic top up machine the percentage is higher.
On the cards printed is the price. And many ads and digital billboards shows ads with the standard price.

Also, with the distributor's prices raised due to a commission cut, they had no choice.

What retailers are doing is in fact wrong. Those who are businessmen or business oriented here will not may not see it as such.

Everything people expect to maximise profits on, to get the highest dollar. But sometimes a small profit can benifit into a bigger one.

Two shops on the same street. One sells cards a dollar more. Obviously the customer will buy the card at the shop selling it at the fixed price.
The customer may also buy other items seeing as they are already within the shop, may it be drinks, snacks, etc. Every sale counts. Tactics in business. I've witnessed this personally by me. Cards are a necessity now. A sale on a card, that 20 cents can bring in $3.08, a bottle of water. There's the wisdom. Serve the public, honest business and a nice return.

The public have been made aware of this many times. Even to report it. Me, I'm not wasting time or money, I'll buy it elsewhere.

Eventually people do call. A shop owner even got death threats to get bullets for that one dollar more. The public is aware. So why bother to acknowledge it. Just go elsewhere and get it at the fixed price.

Postby javishm » December 3rd, 2014, 11:41 pm

This going on long time now......ppl now getting so accustom to paying more for cards now.....

its all up to the seller and the buyer.....

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 4th, 2014, 6:01 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

Lol report to who? Bmobile n digicel don't care because the merchant has already purchased the card anyway. Whether it's sold to a end user or not

https://www.facebook.com/digiceltt/app_143522609190971

link

Postby link » December 4th, 2014, 6:56 am

Richard Marshall wrote:........ The public is aware. So why bother to acknowledge it. Just go elsewhere and get it at the fixed price.

WHY give up your consumer rights ???
call Bmobile (or whoever) & report it !!!! do a cnc3 news report & publicise the injustice..........too many ppl, ESPECIALLY those who perceive "it doh affect mih', advocate we, as consumers, give up our right to fair participation in business (at any level).
rgds

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 4th, 2014, 7:32 am

This might be the last year I sell phonecards. Makes no sense even at the amount I buy.

The business sense just not there. I already directed people to the lotto machine across the road

aka

Postby aka » December 4th, 2014, 9:08 am

#postpaidmuddaphuka!

Postby maj. tom » December 4th, 2014, 9:10 am

but seriously, who does still buy scratch phone card in 2014?
and how come Digicel doesn't charge VAT for their credit but TSTT does? So either Digicel accepting massive losses every year or TSTT just doing some nasty corporate profit there.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » December 4th, 2014, 9:19 am

Recently tstt (not sure about digicel) raised their prices silently on phone cars to the retailers. They never let the public know, only to suffer the reseller. Instead of people hating on tstt, they go hate on the reseller, they smart yes

Postby Chimera » December 4th, 2014, 9:25 am

many many people still buy scratch phone cards

people rather buy a scratch phone card from a parlour or grocery than a printed phone card

Postby supercharged turbo » December 4th, 2014, 9:26 am

maj. tom wrote:but seriously, who does still buy scratch phone card in 2014?
and how come Digicel doesn't charge VAT for their credit but TSTT does? So either Digicel accepting massive losses every year or TSTT just doing some nasty corporate profit there.
Because tstt is a locally registered business

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » December 4th, 2014, 10:37 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

So true...

Postby DFC » December 4th, 2014, 10:42 am

everyone has a choice.

there is $2 doubles in penal, directly opposite is a doubles man that sells for $4.

No-one forcing you to buy.

btw that $2 doubles and pie real bess.

Postby Les Bain » December 4th, 2014, 10:55 am

No big deal. Wifi+Whatsapp+Hangouts= $30.00 does last for months.

Postby Stephon. » December 4th, 2014, 11:02 am

You can report the pharmacy to the respective mobile service providers and it will be handled you know Image

Postby nervewrecker » December 4th, 2014, 11:12 am

You can report it to digicel. there is a place on their site I think.

Bought it to their attention once and they expressed concern, bought it to my attention that there is a link online too.