PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Cross Blood

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Cross Blood » December 2nd, 2014, 9:40 pm

I believe the SSD is 12v. The sata power cables carry 2 grounds, a red wire (5v) and a yellow wire (12v). If ismithx said the USB powers @ 5v, I'm not sure how a USB is used to power it.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 3rd, 2014, 2:26 am

Hey guys. Putting together a little budget build..
So far I've ordered basically everything except monitor, keyboard/mouse and a case. The most necessary thing, the case.

The components are :

i5 4690k

Asus z97

EVGA Supernova 650G1

Cooler master hyper 212

Gigabyte GTX 970 G1

Crucial low profile 8gb DDR3 1600mhz ram

So now.. I'm looking to put this together very soon (all parts should arrive by Friday) but I wanna get a case locally due to extravagant shipping charges, having to wait etc.

Anyone knows a decent case I can get locally that's not too expensive (since I'm probably already crossing budget )? The GTX 970 is a bit on the large side so I know I'll need a big case.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 3rd, 2014, 7:17 am

^not really,had a gigabyte gtx 760 in a corsair 350d,which is pretty much the same sized card in a small case,raptor brought it in for me .Can only hold up to micro ATX board though

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 3rd, 2014, 8:34 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:Hey guys. Putting together a little budget build..
So far I've ordered basically everything except monitor, keyboard/mouse and a case. The most necessary thing, the case.

The components are :

i5 4690k

Asus z97

EVGA Supernova 650G1

Cooler master hyper 212

Gigabyte GTX 970 G1

So now.. I'm looking to put this together very soon (all parts should arrive by Friday) but I wanna get a case locally due to extravagant shipping charges, having to wait etc.

Anyone knows a decent case I can get locally that's not too expensive (since I'm probably already crossing budget )? The GTX 970 is a bit on the large side so I know I'll need a big case.

Wizz supposed to have this case:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 0007-00002

for $525, supports up to 12.5" long graphics cards.

A store in POS has this too which supports 12.4" gpus:

http://www.coempire.com/cooler-master-k ... mid-tower/

Amongst other models.

This guy has a nice Corsair case selling too:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=604155&hilit=corsair

Postby ismithx » December 3rd, 2014, 9:02 am

Cross Blood wrote:I believe the SSD is 12v. The sata power cables carry 2 grounds, a red wire (5v) and a yellow wire (12v). If ismithx said the USB powers @ 5v, I'm not sure how a USB is used to power it.

the one that I posted that I bought has an external power supply to deliver the 12v btw

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 3rd, 2014, 10:58 am

ru$$ell wrote:^not really,had a gigabyte gtx 760 in a corsair 350d,which is pretty much the same sized card in a small case,raptor brought it in for me .Can only hold up to micro ATX board though

I read somewhere that the card was around 16" so I figured it was a bit large but hey I'm glad that it's not.

HCCA wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:Hey guys. Putting together a little budget build..

The components are :

i5 4690k

Asus z97

EVGA Supernova 650G1

Cooler master hyper 212

Gigabyte GTX 970 G1

Wizz supposed to have this case:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 0007-00002

for $525, supports up to 12.5" long graphics cards.

A store in POS has this too which supports 12.4" gpus:

http://www.coempire.com/cooler-master-k ... mid-tower/

Amongst other models.

This guy has a nice Corsair case selling too:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=604155&hilit=corsair

Thanks a lot for those links man! That coempire place has some really nice cases but I'm eyeing the Obsidian the guy has. From the reviews I've read that should be an amazing case, that would be the best pick out the bunch, right? Don't mind spending a few hundred extra to get some quality stuff.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 3rd, 2014, 5:29 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Thanks a lot for those links man! That coempire place has some really nice cases but I'm eyeing the Obsidian the guy has. From the reviews I've read that should be an amazing case, that would be the best pick out the bunch, right? Don't mind spending a few hundred extra to get some quality stuff.

Yeh corsair makes some nice quality cases, u shouldn't be disappointed with that one.

Will last you through many builds as well. The top mounted sata dock is a big plus when you have external backup drives to use.

A lot of coolermaster mid sized cases and micro towers support long graphics cards, have an N200 microatx case which held my gtx 4602win card comfortably (11.5" long).

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 3rd, 2014, 5:57 pm

Bought a thermaltake commander ms-i earlier in the year.........had to mount cases on the outside due to my cpu liquid cooler, apart from that its pretty roomy

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 3rd, 2014, 7:27 pm

Guys i'm looking for a Dual Bay resrvoir...any suggestions???

Was looking at the Swiftech Maelstrom

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 3rd, 2014, 8:52 pm

Good choice, only one I know of with a coolant temp sensor built in which is a nice feature. Just make sure to buy a monsoon silver bullet along with it.

Reservoirs just serve one purpose and that is to hold the water, just choose the one you like basically.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 3rd, 2014, 9:14 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Guys i'm looking for a Dual Bay resrvoir...any suggestions???

XSPC does make some nice ones.

http://www.amazon.com/XSPC-506017558080 ... c+dual+bay

Wouldn't ah mind having this one since i have two laing ddc pumps:

http://www.amazon.com/XSPC-Acrylic-Dual ... c+dual+bay

But i find these nicely suited for the micro atx cases i have:

http://www.amazon.com/Swiftech-MCRES-Mi ... +reservoir

How much that swiftech running u?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 6th, 2014, 6:03 pm

So I went with the advice given and got the Corsair Obsidian 650D listed with the previous components and completed the build, as my first ever build last night. Now I have to purchase a monitor but I'm wondering if like a 32" TV would be the better route so I can also use it as a TV in my room. Thoughts/advice on this ?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 6th, 2014, 11:00 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:So I went with the advice given and got the Corsair Obsidian 650D listed with the previous components and completed the build, as my first ever build last night. Now I have to purchase a monitor but I'm wondering if like a 32" TV would be the better route so I can also use it as a TV in my room. Thoughts/advice on this ?

Well if is a 1080p it can do. Anything lower will be a waste of your system's power. Have 4k tvs available locally at reasonable prices which would be more awesome. Price is also a factor, seen 27" and up 1080p lcd tvs for less money than a similar sized pc monitor.

Was considering putting my 32" tv in my room for that purpose but i don't watch tv/cable again so i leaving it outside for the odd movie or two in combination with my HT setup.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 7th, 2014, 5:06 pm

Have a EK Bridge that I ordered in error if anyone interested. Will give a good price.

Jonathan_337

PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 7th, 2014, 5:09 pm

HCCA wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:So I went with the advice given and got the Corsair Obsidian 650D listed with the previous components and completed the build, as my first ever build last night. Now I have to purchase a monitor but I'm wondering if like a 32" TV would be the better route so I can also use it as a TV in my room. Thoughts/advice on this ?

Well if is a 1080p it can do. Anything lower will be a waste of your system's power. Have 4k tvs available locally at reasonable prices which would be more awesome. Price is also a factor, seen 27" and up 1080p lcd tvs for less money than a similar sized pc monitor.

Was considering putting my 32" tv in my room for that purpose but i don't watch tv/cable again so i leaving it outside for the odd movie or two in combination with my HT setup.

Yeah I wasn't going anything less than 1080p for sure. 4k tvs might burst my budget [FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY] but is there any noticeable quality difference In a 1080p TV vs a 1080p monitor ? Let's say 32"TV vs a 27" monitor ? Reason I ask is that the desktop is currently hooked up o a 50" Samsung 1080p TV and I can't get any resolution to show crisp and clear or even fit properly other than 1024x768

Postby nervewrecker » December 7th, 2014, 5:48 pm

Cross Blood wrote:I believe the SSD is 12v. The sata power cables carry 2 grounds, a red wire (5v) and a yellow wire (12v). If ismithx said the USB powers @ 5v, I'm not sure how a USB is used to power it.

Did some reading and HD can work on 12 or 5. Difference is the current they pull.

SSD have no moving parts ie motors that have high start up power requirements so they can do fine on 5. From what I read the 12V is connected to nothing in the HD.

The 80prs can power up to 1A through its USB ports but still an external power source is a good idea. Mine does 5V 2A through the CIG lighter adapter so I have power on tap.
Our cable at work has one gnd wire BTW.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 7th, 2014, 5:55 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
HCCA wrote:

Yeah I wasn't going anything less than 1080p for sure. 4k tvs might burst my budget [FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY] but is there any noticeable quality difference In a 1080p TV vs a 1080p monitor ? Let's say 32"TV vs a 27" monitor ? Reason I ask is that the desktop is currently hooked up o a 50" Samsung 1080p TV and I can't get any resolution to show crisp and clear or even fit properly other than 1024x768

Noticed something like that where my 720p hdtv (1366 x 768 max res) could only show properly by turning down th pc's output to 1280 x 720, anything higher caused the edges of the image to stretceh out beyond the viewable are of the screen. Realised it was because of two things:

1) different graphics cards have issue with that kinda of display scaling on auto mode (you have to manually set the resolution your diplsay can handle properly)

2) the pc runs through an HT receiver first and then from the reciever to the tv so that messes up the uncommon resolution settings.

WIth RGB in put straight from the pc to the tv i get the proper 1366 x 768 resolution but i want my digital surround sound as well which is why i use the hdmi.

Another issue i had a time using a samsung 27" monitor/tv is that when using hdmi all the text was blurry. Did some amazon review research and saw they saiad to rename the dvi input to hdmi and it worked.

Intel graphics gave me the issue you talked about, haven't had issues with most nvidia or amd cards.

Prob these guys could figure it out better for u.

The Tom's Hardware forums are very useful for most of these issues too, u can check them out and register and ask.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » December 7th, 2014, 7:24 pm

Did some reading and HD can work on 12 or 5. Difference is the current they pull.

SSD have no moving parts ie motors that have high start up power requirements so they can do fine on 5. From what I read the 12V is connected to nothing in the HD.

The 80prs can power up to 1A through its USB ports but still an external power source is a good idea. Mine does 5V 2A through the CIG lighter adapter so I have power on tap.

Yes I think using an external power source like the lighter adapter would be a better idea.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 8th, 2014, 9:39 pm

HCCA wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:
HCCA wrote:

Noticed something like that where my 720p hdtv (1366 x 768 max res) could only show properly by turning down th pc's output to 1280 x 720, anything higher caused the edges of the image to stretceh out beyond the viewable are of the screen. Realised it was because of two things:

1) different graphics cards have issue with that kinda of display scaling on auto mode (you have to manually set the resolution your diplsay can handle properly)

2) the pc runs through an HT receiver first and then from the reciever to the tv so that messes up the uncommon resolution settings.

WIth RGB in put straight from the pc to the tv i get the proper 1366 x 768 resolution but i want my digital surround sound as well which is why i use the hdmi.

Another issue i had a time using a samsung 27" monitor/tv is that when using hdmi all the text was blurry. Did some amazon review research and saw they saiad to rename the dvi input to hdmi and it worked.

Intel graphics gave me the issue you talked about, haven't had issues with most nvidia or amd cards.

Prob these guys could figure it out better for u.

The Tom's Hardware forums are very useful for most of these issues too, u can check them out and register and ask.

Okay I realized exactly what was happening. The 1080p resolution was fine but because it was so blurry I assumed something was wrong but stupid me didn't take into consideration it's a TV. TVs have larger pixels and are meant to be viewed from far hence it won't show as crisp and clear with things like text.. I'm assuming.

So from this, I've decided I'll get a monitor. Can anyone gimme some prices of monitors locally ? Looking for the biggest I can get a reasonable price. I don't rly buy things locally so idk places :/

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 8th, 2014, 9:45 pm

Check wizz and supertech for monitors

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 10th, 2014, 4:24 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Check wizz and supertech for monitors

Got an AOC 27" LED IPS for $1700 at supertech. Thanks bro, don't think I could have gotten a much better deal.

knthprks

Postby knthprks » December 10th, 2014, 10:11 am

Anybody interested in some pc watercooling radiators? i have a phobya 200mm, xspc ex 120 + 240. Cheap

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » December 16th, 2014, 9:32 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:

Got an AOC 27" LED IPS for $1700 at supertech. Thanks bro, don't think I could have gotten a much better deal.

Is you is d man gone and buy d last one i was eyein :evil:

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 16th, 2014, 10:02 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:

Is you is d man gone and buy d last one i was eyein :evil:

Yes. That would be me ! [FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY][FACE WITH TEARS OF JOY]sorry man :P

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » December 17th, 2014, 2:35 pm

looking for a used gaming system to buy, max budget is 2500. let me know what alyour have to offer.

HSA

Postby HSA » December 17th, 2014, 2:42 pm

lost to all wrote:looking for a used gaming system to buy, max budget is 2500. let me know what alyour have to offer.

gaming and 2500 doesnt go together........you would be luckier searching the forum for used parts and building it yourself..the key word is searching

Postby ismithx » December 17th, 2014, 3:19 pm

HSA wrote:
lost to all wrote:looking for a used gaming system to buy, max budget is 2500. let me know what alyour have to offer.

gaming and 2500 doesnt go together........you would be luckier searching the forum for used parts and building it yourself..the key word is searching

2500 will not even get you close to a gaming system... even if you buying the tower alone.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 17th, 2014, 3:26 pm

HCCA wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Guys i'm looking for a Dual Bay resrvoir...any suggestions???

$80 for the swiftech...was looking at the XSPC as well....will see how things go.

running this rad in the loop as well with the primochill bloodshot red tubing

knthprks

Postby knthprks » December 17th, 2014, 9:02 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:
HCCA wrote:

$80 for the swiftech...was looking at the XSPC as well....will see how things go.

running this rad in the loop as well with the primochill bloodshot red tubing
i have some rads to get rid of cheap just want to change the case but going with different rads as well link meh

Postby nervewrecker » December 17th, 2014, 9:19 pm

Cross Blood wrote:

Yes I think using an external power source like the lighter adapter would be a better idea.

Its 5V, 1A