TRAFFIC TICKET QUESTION

psychocis

TRAFFIC TICKET QUESTION

Postby psychocis » December 2nd, 2014, 8:44 am

People, I was issued a ticket a while back, for driving up a one way.
No problem with that, but the court date is on the 21st December 2014...a Sunday..
My question is if i needed to go before the court to contest the ticket, how would this be done....?

10-01

Re: TRAFFIC TICKET QUESTION

Postby 10-01 » December 2nd, 2014, 8:58 am

carry the ticket to the said court and ask dem if u can pay it ............. dont fight up with the date that goes to show how the officers who "protect and serve" us how educated they are

Postby 1UZFE » December 2nd, 2014, 9:03 am

Go to court on that day...

Postby redmanjp » December 2nd, 2014, 8:25 pm

1UZFE wrote:Go to court on that day...

yeah if noone else shows up well u get away :|

TriP

Postby TriP » December 2nd, 2014, 8:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:yeah if noone else shows up well u get away

Postby 1UZFE » December 2nd, 2014, 8:45 pm

redmanjp wrote:
1UZFE wrote:Go to court on that day...

yeah if noone else shows up well u get away :|

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » December 2nd, 2014, 8:49 pm

i guess ur in the clear to get away man. even the officer would realise he made a boo boo when he sees on his copy what happened.

i highly doubt he would come looking for you to fix the ticket.

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2014, 8:57 pm

lawyers should start offering services to contest tickets
it is highly likely that cops would never make appearance to contest the ticket and matter
would keep getting put off and thrown out

konartis

Postby konartis » December 2nd, 2014, 9:01 pm

Project-JDM wrote:carry the ticket to the said court and ask dem if u can pay it ............. dont fight up with the date that goes to show how the officers who "protect and serve" us how educated they are

its a simple mistake, what is preventing you from paying the ticket before the court date?? this is why trinidad so facking lawless with these idiots like you always looking to make an excuse for breaking the law....pay the facking ticket and move on....

shougie

Postby shougie » December 2nd, 2014, 9:03 pm

Dem officers illiterate. I got a seatbelt one earlier in February this year. Stupid officer put court date 10th November 2013. I didn't even bother to question it. My advice: just go pay the ticket cause they would eventually put another date.

buckredan

Postby buckredan » December 2nd, 2014, 9:04 pm

partner of mine had a court day on sunday for a ticket the was serve a summons to appair in court ,he told the judge he came on said date court was close judge dismiss the case give the officer a good tongue lashing

Postby 1UZFE » December 2nd, 2014, 9:11 pm

PM Rolling Stock. srsly...

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » December 2nd, 2014, 9:11 pm

Project-JDM wrote:carry the ticket to the said court and ask dem if u can pay it ............. dont fight up with the date that goes to show how the officers who "protect and serve" us how educated they are

It also shows how educated the public is as well

The officer issuing the ticket dont come up with the date
TTPS usually check 74 days (if i remember correctly) after the ticket was issued to put for the court date

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 2nd, 2014, 10:08 pm

An offender has 2 months and 14 days from the date of issue (Date of Hearing) of the ticket to pay it. If the above happens and the date falls on a Saturday or Sunday it automatically goes to the Monday.

So it's not a mistake, the date just changes

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 2nd, 2014, 10:37 pm

learnt something new there....wow....

Postby 1UZFE » December 3rd, 2014, 5:10 am

Who to believe?? Buckredan or Pavin.
Not enough e cred...

Postby skylinechild » December 3rd, 2014, 7:49 am

psychocis wrote:People, I was issued a ticket a while back, for driving up a one way.
No problem with that, but the court date is on the 21st December 2014...a Sunday..
My question is if i needed to go before the court to contest the ticket, how would this be done....?

so let me see if i understand u correctly.
you admit fault...but asking what to do when faced with the ticket.- cause of a wrong date?

you can either
a) pay the fine. - you did admit youre wrong
b) go to court on a sunday
c)go to court on the nex day- hoping you get it dismissed - keep in mind you DID admit fault.

possible outcomes- based on the scenario listed

a) youre a few hundred poorer
b) see the court closed on a sunday
c.1) magistrate throws out case
c.2) magistrate imposes a stiffer penalty for wasting the courts time with trivial matters of court date when you did admit fault.

OP when you decide which route to take please let us know the outcome. :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » December 3rd, 2014, 7:53 am

Pay the ticket. You admit your wrong.

konartis

Postby konartis » December 3rd, 2014, 9:30 am

Parvin wrote:An offender has 2 months and 14 days from the date of issue (Date of Hearing) of the ticket to pay it. If the above happens and the date falls on a Saturday or Sunday it automatically goes to the Monday.

exactly......its 2months and 14 days, doesnt say anything about 74 days, the public always making up their own laws....

konartis

Postby konartis » December 3rd, 2014, 9:32 am

pugboy wrote:lawyers should start offering services to contest tickets
it is highly likely that cops would never make appearance to contest the ticket and matter
would keep getting put off and thrown out

so how much you paying to defend you in a court matter for a ticket?? stupes, allyuh does want lawyers to take a $200. to do matters in court? lol...anyways, if you don't know i cayh be vex....

psychocis

Postby psychocis » December 3rd, 2014, 10:14 am

Is no scene to pay it....i just wanted to know if this was a common practice by our dear law enforcemnet officers....
Its really my fault..didnt pay attention to the road signs that were there....
But the officer doesnt wanna hear nuttin...just "liscence and insurance please"
Got the ticket by the "one way " by don miguel hindu school..They apparently put up the signs over the weekend...and Monday morning...poor me passin and get stop....smalls...

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 3rd, 2014, 12:55 pm

They can amend any issues on the actual ticket.
If you don't pay your ticket and feel you getting away with a sitting magistrate, be prepared to pay 1.x-2 the ticket amount for trying to outsmart the system.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 3rd, 2014, 1:35 pm

psychocis wrote:Is no scene to pay it....i just wanted to know if this was a common practice by our dear law enforcemnet officers....
Its really my fault..didnt pay attention to the road signs that were there....
But the officer doesnt wanna hear nuttin...just "liscence and insurance please"
Got the ticket by the "one way " by don miguel hindu school..They apparently put up the signs over the weekend...and Monday morning...poor me passin and get stop....smalls...

Haven't there always been one way like a few years now??
Same time they made Ward Lane one way?

Used to use the back there as a shortcut till the humps on 12th Street, the imposition of one ways and just plain too much people in the roads there.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 3rd, 2014, 4:36 pm

Parvin wrote:An offender has 2 months and 14 days from the date of issue (Date of Hearing) of the ticket to pay it. If the above happens and the date falls on a Saturday or Sunday it automatically goes to the Monday.

:pwned: