however its partially blocked so it will get wet when rain blows in

budget is about 10-12k for the project

what options do i have?

Re: Concrete floor re-surfacing options

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 1:53 am

Wood grain porcelain tile

Looks like real wood, water resistant and maintenance free, adds property value, non-skid, available locally.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1416635630.736105.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 1:55 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1416635705.060357.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1416635705.060357.jpg (29.87 KiB) Viewed 5092 times

Postby X_Factor » November 22nd, 2014, 6:27 am

wow, that is nice

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 22nd, 2014, 6:34 am

Where have you seen that locally Duane?

Postby X_Factor » November 22nd, 2014, 6:35 am

anyone knows the present price for a meter cube of sharp sand mix?

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2014, 7:35 am

tile warehouse chase village have those tiles

probably a couple hundred or so delivered for sharp sand

is floor level, try and get it with a good grade so if you want to wash down with hose etc it runs off nice

Postby X_Factor » November 22nd, 2014, 8:10 am

its not totally level, has a slight lean to one side so i know a little filling will have to be done

someone pm'ed me about concrete grinding/polishing so waitin for a response to have him come and view the area and advise accordingly

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 8:32 am

NR8 wrote:Where have you seen that locally Duane?
almost every tile place has them. Interior Harmony has some nice ones in modern muted wood tones

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1416659542.795110.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 8:33 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1416659585.109229.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1416659585.109229.jpg (42.7 KiB) Viewed 4966 times

Postby 1UZFE » November 22nd, 2014, 8:50 am

Do they have Cork flooring here yet? I have seen it in the US and it was really nice. Looked like wood flooring and was cheap for the person who had it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 8:59 am

1UZFE wrote:Do they have Cork flooring here yet? I have seen it in the US and it was really nice. Looked like wood flooring and was cheap for the person who had it.
we stopped using that word since the early 90's.

Postby X_Factor » November 22nd, 2014, 9:08 am

that tile flooring looks nice, but i am wondering if it will hold up.....

tile warehouse just quoted me for 24x24 porcelain non skid tile with all material is $8500
so that is an option, providing the floor is good enough to put tile as is..
at 900 sq. ft 5$ a sq. ft for labour will bring the total to 13k which is ok

if i have to re-plaster the floor then its over budget for sure

the concrete grinding/polishing and even self epoxy coating might be the way to go for now

Postby SMc » November 22nd, 2014, 10:00 am

1UZFE wrote:Do they have Cork flooring here yet? I have seen it in the US and it was really nice. Looked like wood flooring and was cheap for the person who had it.

That statement wont be understood by most...

Postby 1UZFE » November 22nd, 2014, 10:13 am

Cork flooring.
Yea duane. It cork n cheap.
1416665648175.jpg
1416665648175.jpg (27.72 KiB) Viewed 4844 times

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 22nd, 2014, 10:23 am

Dem tiles rell cork dan. Wondering the same as X Factor though concerning how it would hold up to fading and maintaining it's finish without scratching like some porcelain tiles do.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 22nd, 2014, 10:44 am

OP shud post up some pics of floor so ppl can see condition in order to advise

hahha :lol: :lol: :lol:

for those who dunno wha uncle duane talkin bout , back then d term was used like : yea boi dat song rel cork , dat car lookin rel cork , dem sneakers lookin rel cork .... :lol:

that wood tiles flooring looking very nice , kinda like what u see on HGTV when they say hardwood floors , floors have to smooth & level though + d installer have to do a good job for it to look like what in those pics ...

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2014, 11:10 am

yeah, have to be real level since they tend to be long and any slant will show up badly

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 11:24 am

I did a bathroom about 10 years ago with the wood grain porcelain tile and it hasn't scratched or faded at all.
There are many commercial places that have it on their floor and it is 10x stronger than wood or laminate floors. It is porcelain tile after all.

I'm planning to do an open outdoor patio with that same porcelain wood grain tile instead of a higher maintenance, less resilient and probably more expensive greenheart or teak wood deck.

For the uneven floor you can call Atech.
I had a very porous, uneven garage floor and they came in, grind it, applied a polymer, used a isonem waterproofing self leveling screed and then applied a polyaspartic coating on top. Looks like epoxy but stronger than the one you apply yourself.

The floor kinda dirty in this photo. But you get the idea.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1416669840.128991.jpg

You said your surface is not a garage and more than likely you won't have oil, gas, brake fluid and other chemicals on it so you don't need the polyaspartic coating. But the isonem self leveling screed can definitely help.
Call David at Atech at 354-5509.
They usually do commercial (eg. KFC, Govt, RBC, industrial) but they do residential by reference.

Postby 1UZFE » November 22nd, 2014, 11:51 am

D tiles lookin cork to...

Postby X_Factor » November 22nd, 2014, 11:54 am

the area wont have to deal with the rigors of vehicle grime and fluids but will have to be tough enough to handle lil dirt, occasional stuff falling etc

i actually have the wood grain tile in my living room and it looks really good but tile only looks if someone with the patience and skill lays them down

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 12:29 pm

X_Factor wrote:the area wont have to deal with the rigors of vehicle grime and fluids but will have to be tough enough to handle lil dirt, occasional stuff falling etc

i actually have the wood grain tile in my living room and it looks really good but tile only looks if someone with the patience and skill lays them down
pic?

the porcelain tiles are also square edged and will be harder to lay down. But it looks 100% better than square non-rectified chamfered edge tiles.

Postby X_Factor » November 22nd, 2014, 1:01 pm

its regular 17x17 ceramic tiles, but i will still put a pic later

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 1:44 pm

X_Factor wrote:its regular 17x17 ceramic tiles, but i will still put a pic later
those dont look the same and the method of applying the wood grain finish is very different as there is a lot of variation and almost no two tiles in the porcelain or ceramic planks have the same pattern, so it gives that real wood floor look, especially if you use no spacers or no more than 1/16th spacers and a dark grout

square tiles with spacers and grout lines will look like tiles even though it has a wood finish on it, wheras the planks with squared edges look more like real wood especially since they don't have repetitive patterns.

ModMania

Postby ModMania » November 22nd, 2014, 3:49 pm

Now looking at the pics...I feeling real dotish now. Im 90% finished tiling my place in white high gloss 24x24 porcelain tile. Wish I saw this b4 :(

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 22nd, 2014, 5:59 pm

Duane that garage floor looks really good. Was thinking of doing the epoxy finish as well but diy. What was the cost per square foot inclusive of grinding, application of polymer and the other 2 finishes, if you don't mind me asking?

Postby shogun » November 22nd, 2014, 7:11 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Wood grain porcelain tile

Looks like real wood, water resistant and maintenance free, adds property value, non-skid, available locally.

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1416635560.380091.jpg

Damn! I'm loving this.

Postby SMc » November 22nd, 2014, 7:41 pm

NR8 wrote:Duane that garage floor looks really good. Was thinking of doing the epoxy finish as well but diy. What was the cost per square foot inclusive of grinding, application of polymer and the other 2 finishes, if you don't mind me asking?

I would expect there will be multiple factors affecting the cost of the application as current floor condition etc needs to be taken into account so

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Call David at Atech at 354-5509.
They usually do commercial (eg. KFC, Govt, RBC, industrial) but they do residential by reference.

may be a good idea

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2014, 8:35 pm

SMc wrote:
NR8 wrote:Duane that garage floor looks really good. Was thinking of doing the epoxy finish as well but diy. What was the cost per square foot inclusive of grinding, application of polymer and the other 2 finishes, if you don't mind me asking?

I would expect there will be multiple factors affecting the cost of the application as current floor condition etc needs to be taken into account so

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Call David at Atech at 354-5509.

may be a good idea
correct.

it is almost impossible to quote per square foot without seeing the floor and doing some tests first. It can depend on how porous the concrete is, if it is breaking up, how uneven it is, how much grinding needs to be done, how much waterproofing polymer needs to be applied, how much screed is required etc etc

The ISONEM self leveling screed can be a few mm thick and still be strong enough to drive your car or van on for years.

Postby X_Factor » November 22nd, 2014, 8:38 pm

i suppose to get a call on monday for a quote on the flooring, when i do i will post what they say
as well as some before and after pics of the concrete grinding/polishing/epoxy coating