Re: ISIS in T&T?

Postby Habit7 » November 20th, 2014, 11:28 am

src1983 wrote:
AdamB wrote:
src1983 wrote:If a man needs a book to teach him how to treat his fellow man, that man can never be saved

who makes the rules? Or is it that we all have it built in there?

I never saw a Lion attend church yet, and they do just fine

They instinctively kill their male competition for breeding and rape females.

What if a man instinctively does the same, should we put him in prison?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 20th, 2014, 11:35 am

Habit7 wrote:
src1983 wrote:
AdamB wrote:
src1983 wrote:If a man needs a book to teach him how to treat his fellow man, that man can never be saved

its obvious he didnt really think that position thru before placing it in words. living in the jungle, sleeping with insects = fine lol

want to go live with the cannibals in south america bro?

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 20th, 2014, 12:21 pm

Missing the point

Lets look at the middle east

Since I was born they are constantly fighting (using religious teachings as the basis) disagree all you want but that what it is.

Now look at NatGeo, a plain on Africa, nature co-exisits with each other yes lions fight for territory and mating preference as you said, but I have never seen a group of lions decide lets go wipe out all the other lions and animals for their territory yet, I never seen them decide to kill ALL the zebras, ALL the antelopes

If you ask me Lions are more civilised than your middle eastern friends

Postby Rainman » November 20th, 2014, 12:56 pm

Top 5 terrorist organizations are

Islamic State
Boko Haram
Taliban
Al Qaeda
Hamas

No particular order but guess what they all have in common.
my source is the BBC btw

Postby Slartibartfast » November 20th, 2014, 12:58 pm

All of them have the letter "a" in their name?

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2014, 1:00 pm

Rainman wrote:Top 5 terrorist organizations are

Islamic State
Boko Haram
Taliban
Al Qaeda
Hamas

my source is the BBC btw

Eh PNM support dem and vex the PM took a stance at the UN convention against dem

src1983

Postby src1983 » November 20th, 2014, 1:02 pm

Ironically though I was watching this series called Cosmos, where Neil Tyson, said if it weren't for some people in the middle east all since would be lost due to religious sects at the time trying to destroy science because of their beliefs

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 20th, 2014, 1:15 pm

src1983 wrote:Missing the point

Since I was born they are constantly fighting (using religious teachings as the basis) disagree all you want but that what it is.

Now look at NatGeo, a plain on Africa, nature co-exisits with each other yes lions fight for territory and mating preference as you said, but I have never seen a group of lions decide lets go wipe out all the other lions and animals for their territory yet, I never seen them decide to kill ALL the zebras, ALL the antelopes

lions arent the only things there. suppose u incarnated as a gazelle, 'coexisting' with the lions as u put it. i just think it's a really bad analogy to use.

in that ONE aspect, perhaps yes, lions are more civilized, and they hardly kill eachother too theyd fight until one yields and then thats that. it's obvious they run on a code, and there are laws the animal kingdom functions on as well. but civilization doesnt mean just that. civilization means being able read, write, do math, agriculture and build housing etc. living in the wild is not being civilized.

Postby sMASH » November 20th, 2014, 2:36 pm

Islamic State
Boko Haram
Taliban
Al Qaeda
Hamas

my source is the BBC btw

Put in America

*watches out for ah bellars from rasc *

Postby RASC » November 20th, 2014, 7:55 pm

I'm not a jihadist like you, so they'll be no violence from me.

List of most giving nations in the world was released. Charities etc

Trinidad and Tobago are in the top 10 :)

Guess which Middle East nation made the top 20?

Iran-second to last.
If it were up to ISIS , they'd flatten Iran because they're Shia. None of the Sunni middle east nations appeared in the top 20, Surprised?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 21st, 2014, 8:56 am

src1983 wrote:
AdamB wrote:

no seeing or witnessing something is not proof of it's non-existence...

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 21st, 2014, 9:00 am

bluesclues wrote:
src1983 wrote:Missing the point

lions arent the only things there. suppose u incarnated as a gazelle, 'coexisting' with the lions as u put it. i just think it's a really bad analogy to use.

in that ONE aspect, perhaps yes, lions are more civilized, and they hardly kill eachother too theyd fight until one yields and then thats that. it's obvious they run on a code, and there are laws the animal kingdom functions on as well. but civilization doesnt mean just that. civilization means being able read, write, do math, agriculture and build housing etc. living in the wild is not being civilized.

incarnated...lol

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 21st, 2014, 9:03 am

RASC wrote:I'm not a jihadist like you, so they'll be no violence from me.

Iran-second to last.
If it were up to ISIS , they'd flatten Iran because they're Shia. None of the Sunni middle east nations appeared in the top 20, Surprised?

By charity, you mean money spent on war on muslims and securing oil assets of the middle east?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 21st, 2014, 9:06 am

sMASH wrote:

Islamic State
Boko Haram
Taliban
Al Qaeda
Hamas

my source is the BBC btw

Put in America

France (most oppressive)
Britain
Israel

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » November 21st, 2014, 9:09 am

AdamB wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Islamic State
Boko Haram
Taliban
Al Qaeda
Hamas

my source is the BBC btw

Put in America

France (most oppressive)
Britain
Israel

just because they want to ban the burqa in their own country right?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » November 21st, 2014, 9:28 am

Rainman wrote:Top 6 terrorist organizations are

PNM
Islamic State
Boko Haram
Taliban
Al Qaeda
Hamas

my source is the BBC btw

Postby Dizzy28 » November 21st, 2014, 9:33 am

No answer will be given but I will still ask AdamB (still haven't answered the question asked about whether Arabs would have been accommodating to everyone else had they kept control of Temple Mount)

He puts Israel in that list up there. However there are 1.5m Arabs living in Israel. They are almost 70% Muslims. Are they not treated better than non Muslims in countries such as Pakistan, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, UAE Qatar, Malaysis etc??

Several Israeli politicians have suggested the Triangle should be transferred to Palestine in exchange for Israel gaining sovereignty over settlements in the West Bank. In a July 2000 survey conducted by Kul al-Arab among 1,000 residents of Umm al-Fahm, 83 percent of respondents opposed the idea of transferring their city to Palestinian jurisdiction. The idea is a major plank of the Lieberman Plan put forward by Yisrael Beiteinu leader Avigdor Lieberman but is largely opposed by Israeli Arabs

Even Muslims prefer to live in Israel.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2014, 9:46 am

Habit7 wrote:
src1983 wrote:
AdamB wrote:

where'd they get that instinct from?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2014, 9:49 am

AdamB wrote:
src1983 wrote:
AdamB wrote:

so you believe leprechauns exist?

Postby Habit7 » November 21st, 2014, 9:57 am

Habit7 wrote:
src1983 wrote:
AdamB wrote:

where'd they get that instinct from?

Do you really want to start this here?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2014, 9:59 am

src1983 wrote:Ironically though I was watching this series called Cosmos, where Neil Tyson, said if it weren't for some people in the middle east all since would be lost due to religious sects at the time trying to destroy science because of their beliefs
yup,
0123456789 are called Arabic Numerals.

Read up on Al-Andalusia. The area now known as Spain and Portugal.

"It is noted that under the Caliphate of Córdoba, al-Andalus was a beacon of learning, and the city of Córdoba became one of the leading cultural and economic centres in Europe and throughout the Mediterranean Basin and the Islamic world. A number of achievements that advanced Islamic and Western sciencecame from Al-Andalus including major advances in trigonometry (Geber), astronomy (Arzachel), surgery (Abulcasis), pharmacology (Avenzoar), and other fields. Indeed al-Andalus became a major educational center for Europe and the Mediterranean region as well as a conduit for culture and sciencebetween the Islamic world and the Christian world."

Of course that advancement was not an extension of religion, but perhaps of human endeavour.

And it was an area of conflict:

"For much of its history, Al-Andalus existed in conflict with Christian kingdoms to the north. After the fall of the Umayyad caliphate, Al-Andalus was fragmented into a number of minor states and principalities, most notably the Emirate of Granada. Attacks from the Christian Castillians intensified, led by Alfonso VI. The Almoravid empire intervened and repelled the Christian attacks on the region, deposing the weak Andalusian Muslim princes and including Al-Andalus under direct Berber rule. In succeeding centuries, Al-Andalus became a province of the Berber Muslim empires of the Almoravids and Almohads, both based in Marrakesh.

Ultimately the Christian kingdoms of the north overpowered their Muslim neighbors. In 1085, Alfonso VI captured Toledo, starting a gradual Muslim decline. With the fall of Córdoba in 1236, the Emirate of Granada was the only Muslim territory in what is now Spain. The Portuguese Reconquistaculminated in 1249 with the conquest of the Algarve by Afonso III. In 1238, the Emirate of Granada officially became a tributary state to the Kingdom of Castile, then ruled by King Ferdinand III. Finally, on January 2, 1492, Emir Muhammad XII surrendered the Emirate of Granada to Queen Isabella I of Castile"

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 21st, 2014, 10:00 am

AdamB wrote:
src1983 wrote:
AdamB wrote:

so you believe leprechauns exist?
i didn't say it existed either.

muslims give many charities in their own communities but many "don't see it". It doesn't mean that they don't give or are not charitable because you don't see it on a top 20 list.

does any other religion have compulsory charity like islam does (2.5% of annual savings called zakaat)?

have any of you given in charity to victims of flood in the last week or so? have you cooked food and taken to them or assisted with something material that they need? - for them to take the money and go buy a mattress for example would be a real hassle on them.

Back to what was really the point here:

who determines what is good and bad, acceptable and unacceptable?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 21st, 2014, 10:05 am

src1983 wrote:Ironically though I was watching this series called Cosmos, where Neil Tyson, said if it weren't for some people in the middle east all since would be lost due to religious sects at the time trying to destroy science because of their beliefs

yup,

Only because they were the ones who introduced it to Western Civilization after learning of it from the Hindus of India.
(AdamB look away now)

Arabic numerals or Hindu numerals or Hindu-Arabic numerals are the ten digits (0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9). They are descended from the Hindu-Arabic numeral system developed by Indian mathematicians, in which a sequence of numerals such as "975" is read as a whole number. The Indian numerals were adopted by the Persian mathematicians in India, and passed on to the Arabs further west. They were transmitted to Europe in the Middle Ages. The use of Arabic numerals spread around the world through European trade, books and colonialism. Today they are the most common symbolic representation of numbers in the world...........http://www.princeton.edu/~achaney/tmve/ ... erals.html

I highly doubt this system would have been lost whether or not the Arabs spread it as the Indians have a good track record in the scientific realm which didn't go against the prevailing Dharmic religions of the time.

Postby Habit7 » November 21st, 2014, 10:06 am

A compulsory charity, isn't charity

Postby RASC » November 21st, 2014, 10:58 am

Habit7 wrote:A compulsory charity, isn't charity

!!!
Charity means willingly giving of your time, energy or financially-which ever most suits your current situation.

Postby sMASH » November 21st, 2014, 11:27 am

THe middle east back In the day, FACILITATED much of the sciences, and the preservation of works from earlier societies... As well as doing some work themselves and adding to science.

Back then the Christian extremists sought to demonize science as witchcraft and use that label as grounds on which they can persecute people. But that persecution on religious grounds was facade. It was just used as pretext to get rid of people in order to confiscate lands and wealth and power... Much like becoming a minister today.

And today, we have radicals, under the banner of islam carrying out the same persecution that went on in the times past.
These people would not preserve history or science, but would destroy it for their own style.

Postby sMASH » November 21st, 2014, 12:00 pm

RASC wrote:I'm not a jihadist like you, so they'll be no violence from me.

Iran-second to last.

You know which else does 'give' people ting?
Drug men. They does handle Yuh ah sample. When Yuh like it and get hooked for whether ever reason... Yuh hadda go back for more. cause you can't do without it.
If you can't pay them back, well they would find a way somehow to get something from you .

Who else does 'give'you something ? The bank.

They does lend u some money and u hadda pay them back. But by the time you done pay them back, you give t t them more than what they had given you initially.
So, a net depreciation. Unless you were able to use that loan to generate a profit .
But if that loan was for a social cause which would bit generate a profit like food or infrastructure, then you are at a net loss.

Not all times is 'giving' intended to help.
The devil rarely comes with horns, tail and a pitchfork.

I am not condemning all countries and all organizations t t that give.

Only America, generally speaking. They give only to remain in oil soaked lands and to perpetuate wars to keep their war economy afloat.

China gives too, but to make political inroads to further economic interests.

The middle east countries don't give as much, because they have oil wealth for the while, so they don't need to pretend to be anybody's savior.

Look are how America is treating their foreigners. A big address b the president about Mexicans and their networks don't care to broadcast it.

They overall don't care aoubt their own neighbours bit finder their arms and military halfway around the world in the oil soaked lands.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2014, 12:07 pm

yup,

Only because they were the ones who introduced it to Western Civilization after learning of it from the Hindus of India.
(AdamB look away now)

Arabic numerals or Hindu numerals or Hindu-Arabic numerals are the ten digits (0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9). They are descended from the Hindu-Arabic numeral system developed by Indian mathematicians, in which a sequence of numerals such as "975" is read as a whole number. The Indian numerals were adopted by the Persian mathematicians in India, and passed on to the Arabs further west. They were transmitted to Europe in the Middle Ages. The use of Arabic numerals spread around the world through European trade, books and colonialism. Today they are the most common symbolic representation of numbers in the world...........http://www.princeton.edu/~achaney/tmve/ ... erals.html

I highly doubt this system would have been lost whether or not the Arabs spread it as the Indians have a good track record in the scientific realm which didn't go against the prevailing Dharmic religions of the time.
of course

Postby sMASH » November 22nd, 2014, 12:20 am

Tyt with some numbers

[youtube]sRZbiyvdAas&[/youtube]

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 22nd, 2014, 6:33 am

Habit7 wrote:A compulsory charity, isn't charity

I said there are MANY charities. Zakaat is only one that is legislated by GOD. It is charity, ppl still have the free choice to give or not, they are not forced. Everyone will have to account on the day of judgment for this, non-muslims also.

Can you honestly say how much (%) you gave in charity from that which you love (your wealth $$$) in the last year?

Is there anything (at all) compulsory in Christianity like maybe worship? So by analogy, your worship is not worship.