looking for kitchen cupboards.

zaria

looking for kitchen cupboards.

Postby zaria » November 19th, 2014, 9:18 pm

Remodeling and want someone to build new kitchen cupboards.
Prefer teak,but open to advise.
Also if ready made is available,pls direct me.
Been to Maraj in Caroni industrial estate $60,000 avg OAk
Home store $20,00 small set,can't remember wood type
Delta glass $11,000 but not very nice.

Saw some by a friend in teak,custom made,$40,000 very nice.
But the builder can't start till Feb next year,and it will take abt 6-8 weeks to complete.

Thanks for any advise.
If you have pics and want to share pls feel free to upload here,i need some ideas.

Re: looking for kitchen cupboards.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 19th, 2014, 9:48 pm

I remember MYM Interiors had some great ultra modern kitchen cabinet systems

https://www.facebook.com/pages/MYM-Home ... 0563090521

Postby skylinechild » November 19th, 2014, 10:22 pm

teak is very expensive. iirc its $5 /sqft.
try using other types of wood to offset the cost a little. ex mahagony

around your kitchen sink area use purple heart instead of the mahagony.reason i'd is it's water resistant. to retain its natural color of purple after installing use a finish containing a UV inhibitor

keep in mind this is a very hard wood to work with and a good deal of "woodworkers" dont know how to properly work with this type of wood.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » November 19th, 2014, 10:30 pm

Teak is an excellent choice !

Make sure it is dry. There are different grades BTW.

Find a good carpenter and it should cost about $35,000 labor & materials.

Stay away from those high price retailers.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2014, 7:19 am

expect around $600-800/sq ft finished price

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » November 20th, 2014, 7:24 am

Dansteel has ranging from 35 to 55. they are on display instore. they ok and you have to pay or diy to install.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2014, 7:42 am

does it make a difference if the internals are also made of the desired teak etc ?
many prefer the melamine inside as it is white and easier to clean and see stuff in the cupboard

shash

Postby shash » November 20th, 2014, 11:17 am

You can check Agostini also...i saw some nice stuff on their page.

https://www.facebook.com/agostiniinteriors

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » November 20th, 2014, 2:26 pm

zaria wrote:Saw some by a friend in teak,custom made,$40,000 very nice.
But the builder can't start till Feb next year,and it will take abt 6-8 weeks to complete.

this is not unusual. i did my kitchen using a (relatively) large woodworking company; they started late and took about 8 weeks to complete. it's a good idea to remember that your job isn't the only one the company will be doing. at least the builder in this case seems to be honest about his time frame.

and you're seeing an example of his work.

skylinechild wrote:teak is very expensive. iirc its $5 /sqft.

teak is a very good choice as it is water *and* termite resistant. i don't think that mahogany is that much cheaper than teak. as far as i know, mahogany is more used for special items like desks -- not really for cupboards. i know that teak is available locally -- there are local teak plantations. don't know if there are local mahogany plantations.

pugboy wrote:does it make a difference if the internals are also made of the desired teak etc ?
many prefer the melamine inside as it is white and easier to clean and see stuff in the cupboard

it is probably unusual that the internal/core of the cupboards to be made of teak. more likely what will happen is that the doors will be made of teak; the exterior frame will be made of teak veneer (mdf with a thin veneer of teak) and the interior of the cupboards will be made of melamine coated mdf.

cupboards made entirely of teak would be very expensive; your estimate would probably jump from $40000 teak doors/exterior to about $100000 solid teak

by the way melamine is the thin coating of the mdf; so the correct term is melamine coated/faced mdf

http://www.davidsonsboards.co.za/melamine-faced-mdf

ModMania

Postby ModMania » November 20th, 2014, 5:33 pm

pugboy wrote:does it make a difference if the internals are also made of the desired teak etc ?

Yes it does...ppl use melamine on the inside and use hardwood on the outside....the problem with that is when u screw two different pcs of wood together hard into soft the weight is on the screw and melamine and seeing that melamine is soft...u eventually end up with tracks coming off...the faces separate etc...it looks good initially and will last a few years.

Postby supercharged turbo » November 20th, 2014, 6:11 pm

As we on the topic,on average how much does a teak plantation earn?Lets say you have a 5 acre parcel of land with only teak...approximately how much teak trees will it hold,how long will it take before it can be cut and how much so will it earn?

Postby brams112 » November 20th, 2014, 6:33 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:As we on the topic,on average how much does a teak plantation earn?Lets say you have a 5 acre parcel of land with only teak...approximately how much teak trees will it hold,how long will it take before it can be cut and how much so will it earn?

Hoss even if you plant teak,it will take upwards of 30years to fully mature,once bush fire don't pass,ur grandkids may benefit if the time is right,plus government have dibs on all trees being cut for lumber.

Postby ismithx » November 20th, 2014, 6:54 pm

eh, buy some stuff from betahomes (http://betahomesyhic.com/) and fix up. they sell lots of cupboards in kit form, you buy it and assemble it

Postby X_Factor » November 20th, 2014, 7:13 pm

skylinechild wrote:teak is very expensive. iirc its $5 /sqft.

around your kitchen sink area use purple heart instead of the mahagony.reason i'd is it's water resistant. to retain its natural color of purple after installing use a finish containing a UV inhibitor

keep in mind this is a very hard wood to work with and a good deal of "woodworkers" dont know how to properly work with this type of wood.

the last price i heard for dry teak was 18-22 a ft and not many ppl have dried teak presently

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2014, 7:51 pm

Other options are to use a plain wood like pine and apply a finish,
A professionally done finish can be very impressive compared to a
Natural wood finish.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » November 20th, 2014, 8:44 pm

pugboy wrote:Other options are to use a plain wood like pine and apply a finish,
Natural wood finish.

i had exactly the same idea when doing my cupboards -- go with pine and then use a nice finish

the problem with pine is that it tends to have termite eggs in it. this is perhaps more true of white pine vs yellow pine.

a friend of mine put in some pretty pine entrance doors. after about five years, the inside of the doors rotted away because of termites.

teak is 'prestigious' and everyone likes to boast that they have teak furniture/cupboards. however, this prestige came about for a good reason -- teak (heartwood) has the termite resistance and the water resistance.

cedar also has termite resistance but not the water resistance

maybe appamat could be considered; i don't know exactly how termite resistant that is though

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2014, 8:55 pm

termites will eat either pine, even cedar.
the completed doors should be treated before finishing.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » November 20th, 2014, 9:11 pm

pugboy wrote:termites will eat either pine, even cedar.

you're being naive and assuming that the woodworker is giving you good quality pine to start with

how is a typical consumer going to treat completed doors which have already been varnished? put rentokil on it?

this is what termites do to white pine

2014-11-20 20.57.03.jpg
2014-11-20 20.57.03.jpg (18.6 KiB) Viewed 7621 times

i had to get some teak 2 x 4 to replace it

2014-11-20 20.59.21.jpg
2014-11-20 20.59.21.jpg (25.39 KiB) Viewed 7621 times

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 20th, 2014, 9:45 pm

finally zaria makes a post about the kitchen

zaria

Postby zaria » November 20th, 2014, 9:59 pm

speedmelter wrote:finally zaria makes a post about the kitchen

Post was going good.

Anyway's went to Beta Homes(young sing) They have some ok stuff
25,000 teak,inner material is MDF,under sink is "flood wood"some kind of synthetic material.termite and water proof.
I have to pay for the stain and varnish +labour
Just hate the idea of the MDF,kinda feels like driving the 1.6 ts with the impreza badges.
Will check the posted links.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2014, 10:10 pm

I went that way earlier this year, it is much less headache.

The flood wood is good, it is some kind of plastic type material.

If you are paranoid about roaches, you should have a good fitting concrete base installed and do away with the hollow bases the units come with as roaches can and will find a way even if your place is clean.

after units installed use the spray expanding foam to fill any cracks, crevices, cut off dried excess with a knife and seal with silicone.

Our previous kitchen had a concrete base and in some units there was a 1/8" space between the floor of the units and the concrete, when we ripped them out we found some roaches living there,
hence the use for expanding foam.

amarmoonasar21

Postby amarmoonasar21 » November 21st, 2014, 12:08 am

Big man use teak rite thru it will cost ah Lil extra but in the long run is everlasting an 1 more thing make the builder use epoxy glue to join the wood my cousin does this type of work if ur interested message me for more information

zaria

Postby zaria » November 21st, 2014, 5:20 am

amarmoonasar21 wrote:Big man use teak rite thru it will cost ah Lil extra but in the long run is everlasting an 1 more thing make the builder use epoxy glue to join the wood my cousin does this type of work if ur interested message me for more information

I am interested.
But all in this thread was very helpful and would be a shame to exchange info without sharing.
Would it be ok for you to post his details here(free advertising),if no then pls pm me his details Thanks!

zaria

Postby zaria » November 21st, 2014, 5:24 am

pugboy wrote:I went that way earlier this year, it is much less headache.

The flood wood is good, it is some kind of plastic type material.

If you are paranoid about roaches, you should have a good fitting concrete base installed and do away with the hollow bases the units come with as roaches can and will find a way even if your place is clean.

after units installed use the spray expanding foam to fill any cracks, crevices, cut off dried excess with a knife and seal with silicone.

Our previous kitchen had a concrete base and in some units there was a 1/8" space between the floor of the units and the concrete, when we ripped them out we found some roaches living there,
hence the use for expanding foam.

Great advise!I planned on sealing but was not sure abt the expanding foam.I;ve seen roaches take a liking to materials like that.But being synthetic they may leave it alone?

ModMania

Postby ModMania » November 21st, 2014, 7:21 am

pugboy wrote:Other options are to use a plain wood like pine and apply a finish,
Natural wood finish.

Ive seen this b4 and it looks good....the person used automotive clear coat and applied a heavy layer over all the cabinets and countertops

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2014, 7:24 am

well one of its uses is to seal holes to keep out vermin, it is made of polyurethane so I doubt insects will eat it just so, but as I said after cutting it flush, a bead of silicone should be passed over to give a final seal for moisture etc.

Use masking tape so it won't stick to the surfaces of units.

the advantage of a good flat concrete base is the units sit flat so the tops more likely to be flat
and will support a heavy counter(stone) better and not shift down the road.

counter installers will shortcut and shim with little pieces of wood between the stone and cabinet top but that likely to sag later on.

Cabinets from young sing will appear flimsy and flexy but once they are installed and sit properly they stay put.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 21st, 2014, 8:53 am

pugboy wrote:after units installed use the spray expanding foam to fill any cracks, crevices, cut off dried excess with a knife and seal with silicone.

do you have a brand name of this product and where it can be bought (south or central preferable)?

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » November 21st, 2014, 9:13 am

Corn Bird wrote:
pugboy wrote:termites will eat either pine, even cedar.

you're being naive and assuming that the woodworker is giving you good quality pine to start with

how is a typical consumer going to treat completed doors which have already been varnished? put rentokil on it?

This happened to us. Contractor did some cupboard and ceiling installation for us some years ago. Assured us that the wood was treated etc. Few months after, all the wood he used/ installed had weevil/ termites. We had to do after installation termite treatment to try and save the wood.

Postby SR » November 21st, 2014, 1:06 pm

Mdc um has sone good options

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2014, 1:21 pm

SR wrote:Mdc um has sone good options
yup
http://www.mdc-um.com/page15.html

but many trinis like old style kitchens with teak and curly routing etc. and not the more modern euro style kitchens that MDC UM has