nervewrecker wrote:Jahagi bai
AdamB wrote:RB, this one for you...http://www.wikihow.com/Eat-Indian-Food-with-Your-Hands.
Don't blame muslims, hindu wrote the book.
Are you a Brahmin to rule that this is uncouth or as you say disgusting?
HSA wrote:nobody replying ......i am saddened....
Rovin's Audio wrote:IBTL
some interesting stuff here , all kinda ting bout eating with hand & nosehole i never heard about b4
i dont eat with my hands touching food unless its like a occasion with food served on a fig leaf then u dont have a choice , think its a habit i developed when i used to do welding yrsss ago or doing other manual labor type work , cant wash ur hands when its in heat from welding or sometimes no water around to wash hands or u so want to get back into d job u gulp down ur food fast & get back to work
still dont eat anything with my hands , no i doh eat bussup shot\roti with knife & fork, i put d food into d roti & fold it up & hold it with a napkin
, no its not a white ppl ting ...
AdamB wrote:Rovin's Audio wrote:IBTL
some interesting stuff here , all kinda ting bout eating with hand & nosehole i never heard about b4
i dont eat with my hands touching food unless its like a occasion with food served on a fig leaf then u dont have a choice , think its a habit i developed when i used to do welding yrsss ago or doing other manual labor type work , cant wash ur hands when its in heat from welding or sometimes no water around to wash hands or u so want to get back into d job u gulp down ur food fast & get back to work
still dont eat anything with my hands , no i doh eat bussup shot\roti with knife & fork, i put d food into d roti & fold it up & hold it with a napkin
, no its not a white ppl ting ...
was there any scientific / medical evidence in there to support your opinion? oh ho, thought so....
RBphoto wrote:.
We have shown the disgusting act of licking the fingers and the plate has been rationalized thus:
1. aids digestion how does it?
2. produces more saliva that kill first level germs does it really produce more saliva? saliva levels are increased during a meal either way. What "first level" germs does it kill, and also aren't you introducing more bacteria into your GI system by licking all your fingers?
3. food is not wasted How much food remains on your fingers and plate to be quantified as being "wasteful"?
4. taste of food is heightened. Not seeing the rationale here. I thought the flavour of food was determined by the food itself (taste, aroma, texture, temperature). Is taste heightened by licking a fork? Or is it limited to fingers? What about licking someone else's fingers.
Up next.... Devil lives in your nose hole during the night. Is this metaphorical or literal. If literal.. lets see the proof. Can the devil be in multiple nose holes at a time? Does he have multiple copies of himself which are of the same significance of the real satan? Does This tie into the way Hindus have many names for god and see god manifest in many forms for a specific purpose, but all considered the same god?
I really am bracing for the spitting after a bad dream rationalization because that one just disgusts me. Sorry, really have to wait for Adam for this one.
abbow wrote:lol....Adamb you clearly dont have a clue about other religions within our multi-cultured society...i dont think anyone blames you for not knowing better because it is what you were taught..
rem...this is not the middle east...
RBphoto wrote:http://mrgrteckart.wordpress.com/2012/12/09/a-hindu-jhandi/
A Hindu Jhandi
December 9, 2012 at 7:50 pm (Uncategorized)
This past weekend I was excited and grateful to experience a Hindu jhandi (prayer service) at one of my friend’s homes for it’s dedication to the gods Hanuman and Shiva and the goddess Lakshmi. The preparations started early in the morning, and when I arrived at her house I found all the aunts in the yard cooking in huge pots over open fires. My friend and her cousins were busy stringing freshly picked flowers to put around the images of the gods/goddess during the service, so I helped with that.
After awhile, the Pandit (teacher/leader) arrived and began to lead the jhandi upstairs with the father of the house. The images of each god/goddess were displayed and the Pandit invoked each one separately. After a series of prayers to each god/goddess, a lit fire was placed in front of its image, food (rice, fruits, prasad) was offered to each and incence was burned. Kumkum (a red paste used to mark the forehead) was applied to the images and the flowers that had been prepared were draped around them as well. I didn’t quiet follow everything that was happening, but one of the aunts that I sat next to was gracious in explaining some of the things. At one point I heard the granny call to the cooks downstairs, “Hanuman is wanting prasad,” [color=#0000FF]how did hanuman say he was wanting prasad?[/color]and I was amused with myself when I realized she was referring to the god present. During the ceremony, the Pandit blessed flags that were later erected in the yard outside the house (this is the main purpose for the jhandi). It is custom for Hindu homes to have flags in their yards. Four flags were blessed – one each for Shiva and Lakshmi, and two for Hanuman. The Pandit explained that Hanuman had to get two (one more than the others) because he is still ruling the earth at this time. Yet he cyah eat the food, etc?At the end of the ceremony the father of the house offered a lit fire to each person present as a kind of blessing that we motioned over our heads. To finish the ceremony, each person was given prasad and fruits as a kind of offering, imitating what was given to each of the gods/goddess.and d ppl better than the gods 'cause they can eat the food, sorry for the gods but they cyah even taste the food offered to them. damn idiots and they simmy dimmy![color=#0000FF] [/color]
Following the prayer service, the aunts served everyone the traditional seven curry and rice. Seven curry is seven different kinds of curries – pumpkin curry, channa (chick pea) curry, mango curry, calaloo curry, catahar curry, potato curry, and dhaal - and it is usually served with achar. This is traditionally served in a giant lotus leaf. So I got to practise eating like the East Indians, eating out of a leaf with my fingers! In a way, I kind of felt more connected to my food/the earth using my hand to eat from the leaf. what a thing!The granny kept asking me if I wanted a spoon to eat with, but I managed through the meal without one. Seven curry is probably my favourite food here in Guyana. After seven curry, we ate sweet rice, which is also a traditional Indian food at major functions here.
During the prayer service, the Pandit offered some teachings, and I will share one of his main points which I found to be a helpful reminder. As a kind of “right living,” the Pandit emphasized that it is not what we do, but how we do it. He explained that prayer and work are not simply the motions, but more importantly how the motions are done. I thought this was a good message not just in the context of the worship service, but also for me as a Christian. I am always reminding myself in my work in the orphanage that it is not what I “do” for the boys, but rather how I am present to the boys and how I love the boys. In terms of my Christian spirituality, it is not how many prayers I say or how many times I go to mass, but rather it is how I offer my prayers and do my work so that my entire being is showing gratitude towards God. It is said that people don’t remember us for what we do, but for who we are and how we treat others. Thus, my experience at my friend’s home was a great reminder for me to focus on my “being” and to be a little less concerned with my “doing.”
shotta 20 wrote:Not condemning, but what's up with the black stone Muslims go to? Is that idol worship?
What is a jhandi ? what is the reason for one ?
like what is the purpose for it , ? i want to have one for my 15th birthday and i need help with knowing what to do and what is done
Best Answer
Gr8 Defender of Islam answered 5 years ago
Jhandi is a spiritual devotion done by Hindus and is very popular in Guyana and Trinidad though it's practiced by some communities in India also but not very popular there.
It is generally performed by a Pundit and there are singing of devotional songs and blessings asked for the one who initiates the ceremony.....and oh, yea. delicious puri and halwa (prasad) must be served after.
I have given you a link here where you can find out lots of details on this particular ceremony. You have to become a member first (free - no charge). Hope this helps.
http://www.cwanswers.com/8921/jhandi
RBphoto wrote:https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090721152122AAnmSoZWhat is a jhandi ? what is the reason for one ?
like what is the purpose for it , ? i want to have one for my 15th birthday and i need help with knowing what to do and what is done
Best Answer
Gr8 Defender of Islam answered 5 years ago
Jhandi is a spiritual devotion done by Hindus and is very popular in Guyana and Trinidad though it's practiced by some communities in India also but not very popular there.
It is generally performed by a Pundit and there are singing of devotional songs and blessings asked for the one who initiates the ceremony.....and oh, yea. delicious puri and halwa (prasad) must be served after.
I have given you a link here where you can find out lots of details on this particular ceremony. You have to become a member first (free - no charge). Hope this helps.
http://www.cwanswers.com/8921/jhandi
Notice how Muslims can be cordial and talk about religious issues while still being open, non bigoted and respectful. Not that I know any belligerent bigots in Trinidad.. nope, not one.