Zero Tolerance for Alcohol Drinkers

Re: Zero Tolerance for Alcohol Drinkers

Postby 88sins » November 18th, 2014, 4:07 pm

if using traffic cams, with active monitoring, tickets issued to vehicle reg'd owner by mail & failure to pay gets vehicle siezed & sold & owner makes a 6 months at frederick st. hotel, I'd say yes

RFID? for who to know where I am at all times?
if you have no use for your security, your privacy or your freedom, go ahead & give it away.

jus doh ask me to do the same, unless yuh feelin to get some HD cussin

Postby pugboy » November 18th, 2014, 4:32 pm

they cant stop the rush hour shoulder drivers so how they doing this

Postby redmanjp » November 18th, 2014, 4:48 pm

i agree with all except the zero tolerance- i cyah even take ah sip now?

so a sip of say sacramental wine in church go have me arrested? why not reduce the BAC limit to half or something

Postby 1UZFE » November 18th, 2014, 4:50 pm

redmanjp wrote:i agree with all except the zero tolerance- i cyah even take ah sip now?

so a sip of say sacramental wine in church go have me arrested? why not reduce the BAC limit to half or something

Oh dear. Cummunion is ah scene now.

Postby A172 » November 18th, 2014, 4:50 pm

gd luck stopping orangutan taxi drivers and rastas in b13s

Postby j.o.e » November 18th, 2014, 4:54 pm

Lol..this is hilarious....a set of pie in the sky ole talk. Licensing still in a mess and there's no way to verify speeding...so let's ban alcohol completely (like that's gonna work). who thinks of this crap?!

Postby redmanjp » November 18th, 2014, 4:55 pm

the limitation on new drivers and seatbelts for all i agree with - d only thing is does that seatbelt requirement apply to everyone in maxis & buses too

Postby nervewrecker » November 18th, 2014, 4:58 pm

j.o.e wrote:Lol..this is hilarious....a set of pie in the sky ole talk. Licensing still in a mess and there's no way to verify speeding...so let's ban alcohol completely (like that's gonna work). who thinks of this crap?!

They does just need something to talk about. Gotta excuse them.

Postby Spitfir3 » November 18th, 2014, 5:26 pm

j.o.e wrote:Lol..this is hilarious....a set of pie in the sky ole talk. Licensing still in a mess and there's no way to verify speeding...so let's ban alcohol completely (like that's gonna work). who thinks of this crap?!

simple minded ideas for simple minded people and we all know Cadiz is a WOFT

with this act in place an officer can basically camp at any bar and wait for any person driving to pull in and buy something and charge them also im pretty sure a lot of those guys who drive reckless during the day are sober so i don't see how this applies to them

Postby Mark! » November 18th, 2014, 6:04 pm

Lol allyuh living here long enough to know this by now.

Most 'systems' in place in Trinidad are not in anyway done to be effective. Things are done, procedures are carried out or at least appeared to be carried out due to legislative requirements or what not. With the illusion that it is effective.

In other words. All this gum bumping is being done and measures may be put in place. But some inert component of the process will make the entire thing ineffective.

abbow

Postby abbow » November 18th, 2014, 6:50 pm

by comparison, can anyone say how much deaths on the road are caused by drunk drivers compared to deaths caused by speeding and reckless driving?

the revamp needs to start at the top first....

maybe from a ministerial position...you cant put square peg in round hole...eg...a minister who understands nothing about traffic and the management of it...then the social factors surrounding it..eg.man frustrated after sitting in traffic for four hours that we experience most days...then decides to make up for lost time by speeding..or decide to sit out the traffic in a bar then head home. how much ppl have kids to pick up from school and get into traffic only to have to call and beg someone to go get their kids for them....

then the police need to be hired and trained properly...is either they scared themselves to do the right thing...or they know doing the right thing will get them in trouble with the wrong people who have connections...most times the young officers will do the right thing when a senior officer is present which is hardly ever....

one set of pie in the sky talk from all of them until elections come around and they bring out the promise bag once more...

they dont really look for long term solutions only 3-5 year solutions to make them look good at the end of the 5 year with hopes of getting ah vote..

how long cadiz say LO getting new system and cleanup, jack said it before him....and i cant rem all who before...

people need to stop thinking in 5 year time spans and demand the long term solutions to work..throwing money at every problem will not work...

Postby nervewrecker » November 18th, 2014, 6:59 pm

They need to bann tiidas

Postby pioneer » November 18th, 2014, 7:08 pm

That is all.

Pretty soon the public servant royal saloon (versa) will hadda get ah banments too.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » November 18th, 2014, 7:28 pm

A flat ban on alcohol is an idiotic idea. Any individual who would drink and drive in the first place won't now, not drink anything at all so they can drive. They'll do what they've always done like so many others. Do it anyway and take their chances.

Enforcement is the solution, plain and simple:

You over the limit you going to get lash. You think you'll get away with it? We (law enforcement) are going to be clamping down on anyone abusing the limitations you do have with regard to alcohol consumption. When you get caught, worse lash.

Trinis need to see the stick. Not be told it's a bigger stick now.

Postby pioneer » November 18th, 2014, 7:30 pm

So who charging le drunk police and army man?

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 18th, 2014, 7:34 pm

abbow wrote:by comparison, can anyone say how much deaths on the road are caused by drunk drivers compared to deaths caused by speeding and reckless driving?

the revamp needs to start at the top first....

maybe from a ministerial position...you cant put square peg in round hole...eg...a minister who understands nothing about traffic and the management of it...then the social factors surrounding it..eg.man frustrated after sitting in traffic for four hours that we experience most days...then decides to make up for lost time by speeding..or decide to sit out the traffic in a bar then head home. how much ppl have kids to pick up from school and get into traffic only to have to call and beg someone to go get their kids for them....

then the police need to be hired and trained properly...is either they scared themselves to do the right thing...or they know doing the right thing will get them in trouble with the wrong people who have connections...most times the young officers will do the right thing when a senior officer is present which is hardly ever....

one set of pie in the sky talk from all of them until elections come around and they bring out the promise bag once more...

they dont really look for long term solutions only 3-5 year solutions to make them look good at the end of the 5 year with hopes of getting ah vote..

how long cadiz say LO getting new system and cleanup, jack said it before him....and i cant rem all who before...

people need to stop thinking in 5 year time spans and demand the long term solutions to work..throwing money at every problem will not work...

Makes sense. Ministers just looking to score points and look as if they doing something to reduce the amount of begging they will have to be doing to get ah vote - based on the prospects of them being re-elected.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » November 18th, 2014, 8:41 pm

How about this...instead of proposing new laws.... how about.... attempting to enforce some of the existing ones first

Postby DFC » November 18th, 2014, 9:33 pm

i'm on that highway everyday and i see accidents happen all the time.

It sickens me to the point where i wish i was living walking distance from work.

ugh.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 18th, 2014, 9:36 pm

I wonder if the ministry has stats on how much drunk drivers cause/get into accidents as opposed to jackarse driving

Postby pioneer » November 18th, 2014, 10:25 pm

If drunk people caused accidents, how many were charged and convicted etc?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 19th, 2014, 2:00 am

n/a...1440 days sober

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 19th, 2014, 9:04 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:I wonder if the ministry has stats on how much drunk drivers cause/get into accidents as opposed to jackarse driving

I don't have any stats, but in recent times I have rarely heard of a driver who was drunk causing an accident. Most times it's just "driver lost control of vehicle" and no mention of blood alcohol level.

Postby crazybalhead » November 19th, 2014, 10:15 am

Heard Cadiz on he radio saying the zero tolerance will be for hire car drivers only, for now.

Postby j.o.e » November 19th, 2014, 10:18 am

crazybalhead wrote:Heard Cadiz on he radio saying the zero tolerance will be for hire car drivers only, for now.

Tell Cadiz stfu...they can't even get a handle on PH

AKI

Postby AKI » November 19th, 2014, 1:22 pm

bummp

Postby shogun » November 19th, 2014, 6:43 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Heard Cadiz on he radio saying the zero tolerance will be for hire car drivers only, for now.

Electioneerings ftmfw.

Postby brams112 » November 19th, 2014, 6:49 pm

DTAC wrote:A flat ban on alcohol is an idiotic idea. Any individual who would drink and drive in the first place won't now, not drink anything at all so they can drive. They'll do what they've always done like so many others. Do it anyway and take their chances.

Enforcement is the solution, plain and simple:

You over the limit you going to get lash. You think you'll get away with it? We (law enforcement) are going to be clamping down on anyone abusing the limitations you do have with regard to alcohol consumption. When you get caught, worse lash.

Trinis need to see the stick. Not be told it's a bigger stick now.

Best post so far out of the other sour meows.

krb4788

Postby krb4788 » November 19th, 2014, 7:17 pm

moving wrote:Reasons for road fatalities in no special order

Driver faults:
Speeding and Reckless driving
No regard for traffic lights
Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs
Bald and/or cheap tires
Poor maintenance of cars

Government faults:
Poor road conditions
No crash barriers
Random potholes and objects on Highways
No shoulder lanes
High taxes on cars therefore more cheaper made cars on roads
Accident response times. Police, fire and ambulance

The problem lies both ways in our driving and the condition of our roads
The government should expect accidents with the amount of cars on the road.
of course some accidents are going to be worse than others but in order to prevent accidents a proactive approach needs to be taken.. the drivers are only half to blame
the inability to survive a crash on the highway is completely in my opinion the government's fault.
instead of crash barriers we are met with ditches, ravines and other crazy obstacles..

Example
a tire blow out .. driver going 120kmph.. runs off road hits a ditch then flips onto oncoming traffic.. kills 3 ppl including himself
the blow out might not be the fault of the driver.. he may of hit a nail. or some object on the road..
the inability to survive such a episode because of road hazards is definitely the governments fault.. the chance of surviving an accident is slim.. sometimes i think we may never have a chance of surviving if all the blame is always put on us

All that you said makes no sense. Ifthere are poor road conditions we all have to know to take we time. The blame must fall on us because infrastructure from day 1 was a mess! We all know the hazards and consequences of our actions yet we still drink and drive like asses! It IS us to be blamed!

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 20th, 2014, 12:00 am

moving wrote:Reasons for road fatalities in no special order

Driver faults:
Speeding and Reckless driving
No regard for traffic lights
Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs
Bald and/or cheap tires
Poor maintenance of cars

Government faults:
Poor road conditions
No crash barriers
Random potholes and objects on Highways
No shoulder lanes
High taxes on cars therefore more cheaper made cars on roads
Accident response times. Police, fire and ambulance

The problem lies both ways in our driving and the condition of our roads
The government should expect accidents with the amount of cars on the road.
of course some accidents are going to be worse than others but in order to prevent accidents a proactive approach needs to be taken.. the drivers are only half to blame
the inability to survive a crash on the highway is completely in my opinion the government's fault.
instead of crash barriers we are met with ditches, ravines and other crazy obstacles..

Example
a tire blow out .. driver going 120kmph.. runs off road hits a ditch then flips onto oncoming traffic.. kills 3 ppl including himself
the blow out might not be the fault of the driver.. he may of hit a nail. or some object on the road..
the inability to survive such a episode because of road hazards is definitely the governments fault.. the chance of surviving an accident is slim.. sometimes i think we may never have a chance of surviving if all the blame is always put on us

i would also like to add the high cost of importing tires so people are forced to use the likes of nangkang. the government should reduce or even remove the tax on tires.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 20th, 2014, 6:13 am

So I can't drink while having a driver that isn't under the influence?

Strange. I thought this was the idea?