W.T.K. RANGER OR NAVARA..

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Joshie23

W.T.K. RANGER OR NAVARA..

Postby Joshie23 » November 10th, 2014, 4:53 am

Good morning all..lols I intend to purchase a van for my birthday, March 2015, God spare life..(yeah its early but..I think I read somewhere that the ever wise Lighthammer took about 6 months to buy his van..lols)..so I've narrowed it down to the Ford Ranger ($239,000-4x4, manual, fabric, 2.2L) and the almighty Datsun ($222,000-4x4, manual, leather..the 2.5L goes without saying :lol: )..was in Massy the other day and I'm leaning towards the Navara..but hearing of Massy's not so hot after sales service plus their exorbitant servicing costs in addition to the fact that McE.M offers the 'In-One' package..which includes free servicing and insurance for 5 years..(need clarification on this because this might actually be better value for money)..but as I said that 6 Fwd Datsun calling meh..lols..now I know men are going to say 'I can't tell you how to spend money' but I've gained a lot of knowledge on vehicles that I don't own yet through these threads..and I know there are men who have driven and probably own both..so I'm asking for info as to why you all decided to go with the Navara..or why I should run far away from the Datsun into the arms of the Ranger..any and all assistance is greatly appreciated..thanks in advance..

Joshie23

Re: W.T.K. RANGER OR NAVARA..

Postby Joshie23 » November 10th, 2014, 2:18 pm

Paging Lighthammer..somebody..anybody..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 10th, 2014, 11:29 pm

Joshie23 wrote:Good morning all..lols I intend to purchase a van for my birthday, March 2015, God spare life..(yeah its early but..I think I read somewhere that the ever wise Lighthammer took about 6 months to buy his van..lols)..so I've narrowed it down to the Ford Ranger ($239,000-4x4, manual, fabric, 2.2L) and the almighty Datsun ($222,000-4x4, manual, leather..the 2.5L goes without saying :lol: )..was in Massy the other day and I'm leaning towards the Navara..but hearing of Massy's not so hot after sales service plus their exorbitant servicing costs in addition to the fact that McE.M offers the 'In-One' package..which includes free servicing and insurance for 5 years..(need clarification on this because this might actually be better value for money)..but as I said that 6 Fwd Datsun calling meh..lols..now I know men are going to say 'I can't tell you how to spend money' but I've gained a lot of knowledge on vehicles that I don't own yet through these threads..and I know there are men who have driven and probably own both..so I'm asking for info as to why you all decided to go with the Navara..or why I should run far away from the Datsun into the arms of the Ranger..any and all assistance is greatly appreciated..thanks in advance..

In-One is a scam buddy, cuz u end up paying more for the same kind of service that they usually offer. Do the maths and let's say one service is about $2000 for 5 years, and see how it adds up. Plus, Ford is notorious for not having parts, not changing certain consumables (filters belts etc) and still charging for it, blaming the consumer for stupid sheit that have no relation to the problem and therefore weaseling out of the warranty, etc.

Neal and massy does charge plenty too but they do have a slightly more robust service plan and parts are easier to come by cuz of their larger reserve (from motorist outlets and ROC).

for me, if you're on a budget and want absolute value for money, the Navara is better for my needs at the time when I was buying. Ranger mice and all, but in one plan not worth it unless your loaded with cash and don't care to spend money while the Syrians laugh and run to the bank... Plus the 2.2 Rangers now beginning to show up with problems like transmission, ecu, turbo solenoid problems, even suspension (broken leaf Springs, etc).

Best thing is to get all the details of whatever the dealers offering, listen to those with experience with the trucks u interested in, and make a decision based on your own needs (both current and future). Is u hadda drive it at the end of the day anyway....

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 10th, 2014, 11:41 pm

Is the leather really necessary in the datsun:smile:

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 11th, 2014, 12:26 am

kamakazi wrote:Is the leather really necessary in the datsun:smile:

Only if ur mammy or wifey driving it... And I don't like leather really, it does get hot in the sun and burn skin, and gets slip and slide when u take hard corners and wearing soft pants.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 11th, 2014, 1:01 am

Never knew Ford had a rep for parts..ok cool..well I spoke to a rep from Ford earlier..$289k for the In-One package..so no way..he also said Ford understands there'd be some teething issues so that's why they're offering 2 yrs/40,000 km free services (parts and labour)..I mean the Ranger IMO looks better..but wrt to practicality and what not..Nissan..

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 11th, 2014, 1:04 am

lighthammer wrote:

Only if ur mammy or wifey driving it... And I don't like leather really, it does get hot in the sun and burn skin, and gets slip and slide when u take hard corners and wearing soft pants.

Lols I always said I didn't want leather eh..but the one in the showroom had it..and it felt so comfortable..a little more so than expected/usual..lols then again..thats the trick I guess..and that soft pants/hard corners thought too.. :shock:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 11th, 2014, 5:41 am

I am a ranger owner and gonna agree with lighthammer. But dont be mistaken, if it was me that looking for a new pickup- I am going toyota all the way.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 11th, 2014, 9:24 am

civic minded wrote:I am a ranger owner and gonna agree with lighthammer. But dont be mistaken, if it was me that looking for a new pickup- I am going toyota all the way.

I thought about the Hilux eh.. 3.0 4x4 manual is $247k which isn't bad either..the face lift is aggressive which is good..its a Toyota so reliability is second to none..i think..so you're right..thats a good option as well..

Postby sliderz1 » November 11th, 2014, 9:25 am

Joshie23 wrote:
lighthammer wrote:

Lols I always said I didn't want leather eh..but the one in the showroom had it..and it felt so comfortable..a little more so than expected/usual..lols then again..thats the trick I guess..and that soft pants/hard corners thought too.. :shock:

i have the leather that's taking a surprisingly good amount of beating ....6yrs of it. it works for me post gym sweat and for quick cleanups. i do think the fabric seats are softer and hold the driver better though.

Postby sliderz1 » November 11th, 2014, 9:26 am

btw 2.2 is a dead horse no matter how you swing it

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » November 11th, 2014, 4:52 pm

since it's going to be a birthday gift, and not something you need immediately, why not wait until the new set of Navaras come in? That way you either end up an updated model with more features/ power, or you get the current model, which you like already, at a reduced cost :idea:

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 11th, 2014, 4:52 pm

sliderz1 wrote:btw 2.2 is a dead horse no matter how you swing it

For real?? I have a partner with a 4x2 Automatic..and he claims it's pretty powerful..

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 11th, 2014, 5:30 pm

tourniquet wrote:since it's going to be a birthday gift, and not something you need immediately, why not wait until the new set of Navaras come in? That way you either end up an updated model with more features/ power, or you get the current model, which you like already, at a reduced cost :idea:

While they are pretty, the new Navara thus far only tickles my fancy to read about..maybe when it comes in but I think that might be out of my price range..

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 11th, 2014, 10:16 pm

Lols I just remembered..I'm already qualified to drive the Ranger..i have my Heavy T License..

Postby tr1ad » November 12th, 2014, 12:05 am

Seems you already know what you "want" but not ready for the plunge.

For me after all the vehicles I have, I'd quicker get a hilux

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 12th, 2014, 5:55 am

tr1ad wrote:Seems you already know what you "want" but not ready for the plunge.

For me after all the vehicles I have, I'd quicker get a hilux

I do, to a point..but as a long term serious purchase, I'm looking for the advice of current owners..not to here of their downfalls (as will exist with anything..) but their joys of their respective vehicles..I (sadly) read every page of each thread concerning the Hilux, Ranger and the Navara..(on my phone to boot :shock: ) lols so yk..I'm really looking for info..but.as someone said earlier, test drives are best..but hey..as a mod, just a suggestion..how about reopening the 'I eh know what van to buy' thread..especially as almost all the pickups have revamped versions on the market now..?? That'd be cool..

droppa

Postby droppa » November 12th, 2014, 8:03 am

seems like you have your mind pretty much made up on the Navara, not a bad choice...

the ranger isn't so bad as well, it has a higher stance and is taller than the Navara out the box, all vans have issues, some owners may face problems in their first years while other may never see, had a panda (TCY) recently change injector pump and radiator, countless rotors and pads, where I know for a fact Lightahmmer van (TCR still on the original, haven't heard much Ranger owners complain, either that or they don't say....

but im a Hilux man, I will choose the hilux any day, better ride and great quality interior imo, as opposed to the Navara, the 2.5 Hilux clutch is like butter, the navara clutch is like a Bedford, Hilux and ranger comes with stock LSD, navara doesn't, wheel spin like crazy, two navara owners TDB and TDD recently told me their vans slide easily, stock geolanders, also with navaras wheel choice will be limited to their close 6 bolt pattern, Ranger and Hilux have wide array of wheels to choose from...

Postby tr1ad » November 12th, 2014, 10:00 am

every single navara i've had has sliding problems... yea you all know where i work, so much so that we've stopped using them altogether for safety reasons ( we had about 45 total )
hell even HSSE here in MWG recommends against them because of the sliding

save yuh money ... buy meh B2500 lol

mcj12831

Postby mcj12831 » November 12th, 2014, 1:37 pm

for the guys who could handle power sliding the navara is good at it.
slides way to easy.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 12th, 2014, 2:43 pm

Damn..that Navara so dread..?? Well guys..I think I'm convinced..maybe I'll rule out the Navara..Ranger or 3.0 Hilux for it..more leaning towards the Ranger though..I know about he lack of an LSD in the Datsun..i don't plan on doing any off-road driving..but you never know :D ..ik LH said it's not the be all of OR'ing but..I'm purchasing for long-term as I said..and I'm extremely impressed by the safety features of the Ranger..active and passive..and I'm going manual so transmission issues won't affect me..

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 12th, 2014, 7:11 pm

Men is comedy yes. ... is it so hard to control your right foot. .. the van won't slide by itself.
If you know the limits of the vehicle drive within them.... Don't drive past the limits and then complain about sliding.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 13th, 2014, 9:28 pm

OK guys well I think I've settled..spoke with the Ford rep today, as well as a few people who own the van (ironically) and insurance quotes look quite promising, considering my age..now just to put my ducks in a row..w.r.t. down payment and what not..gonna request a specific number..heard you can pay and do that or something so..thanks for the assistance guys..i look forward to more info, regardless as well as sharing..

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 13th, 2014, 10:13 pm

Please don't become a bad ranger driver.
The new Ranger has a way of turning people into bad drivers :|

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » November 14th, 2014, 8:34 am

Call Marcus @ 349-5289 he's a ford sales rep in pos that'll go the extra mile.

Personally with my experience im staying far from the Navara's. A friend went through a minor flood and water entered his cab thus fugged is electronics (mud behind door panels etc), low clearance, lack of a lsd, etc etc.

I've owned a BT-50 for 8 years now and only had minor issues, most self imposed. If i were to upgrade and fund's allowed it i'd go Hilux, ford secondly. But that said im very happy with my little mazda and have no intention of "upgrading" any time in the foreseeable future.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 14th, 2014, 10:51 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Call Marcus @ 349-5289 he's a ford sales rep in pos that'll go the extra mile.

Personally with my experience im staying far from the Navara's. A friend went through a minor flood and water entered his cab thus fugged is electronics (mud behind door panels etc), low clearance, lack of a lsd, etc etc.

I've owned a BT-50 for 8 years now and only had minor issues, most self imposed. If i were to upgrade and fund's allowed it i'd go Hilux, ford secondly. But that said im very happy with my little mazda and have no intention of "upgrading" any time in the foreseeable future.

Lols @ Kamakazi..i have no intentions of doing such..but thanks for the heads up..

@ drunken master- I'm from south so that's out of it..i already spoke to a guy, Marc, ironically :D and he seems to be knowledgeable and helpful thus far..soo we'll see..but yep..Ranger for it..I've Navaras before and the power is amazing so that's why it was an option..but the Rangers technology and safety..i love too bad..

trini_darkside

Postby trini_darkside » November 14th, 2014, 12:04 pm

toyota all the way buddy. got my hilux over two years now,,, no problem, no worries
heard some horror stories about the ford automatic transmissions.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » November 14th, 2014, 5:56 pm

good luck with the purchase, and congrats on your decision!

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » November 14th, 2014, 6:18 pm

OP, if you're leaning towards the Ranger, why not check out the new BT-50 too? Traditionally the Mazdas come in at a lower price, and with more features than its Ford sibling.
Regardless of what you end up with, just take time to learn your vehicle.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 14th, 2014, 6:54 pm

Thanks much LH..i look forward to it..and I thought about the BT-50 and ik about the features and what not..but I wasn't moved by the sales rep at SSL..and even if..lawd..that smile bro..takes some getting used to.. :shock:

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”