Boy, 17, murdered outside his school - Success Lavantille

Re: Boy, 17, murdered outside his school - Success Lavantill

Postby Slartibartfast » November 11th, 2014, 9:07 am

Slartibartfast wrote: Try to lessen the amount of dumbfacks having kids.

If two black people have a child, the child will be black. If two indian people have a child, the child will be indian. If two white people have a child, the child will be white. If a white person and an indian person have a child, the child will be black cuz the man get horn. So what you expect the child to be if two dumbfacks have a child.
^^^ Yeah but this is what I call proof that boredom does not necessarily produce something of value^^^

Postby Spitfir3 » November 11th, 2014, 9:45 am

Slartibartfast wrote:RB have the right idea. Don't the less prestigious schools teach more technical subjects as well? I don't know how well they teach it but I think it would be a good idea to make it good enough so that they are qualified for an apprenticeship or something once they leave form five. Some people just not meant to learn from books... and there is nothing wrong with that.

What I would say we really need is proper sex education. Teach all these youths how big of a responsibility and inconvenience having a child is. Try to lessen the amount of dumbfacks having kids.

If two black people have a child, the child will be black. If two indian people have a child, the child will be indian. If two white people have a child, the child will be white. If a white person and an indian person have a child, the child will be black cuz the man get horn. So what you expect the child to be if two dumbfacks have a child.

agree with u fully dey starts
i know some youths who struggle with books but give them something practical to do like build x,y,z or have them carry out a certain task and you would be surprised how handy they are....not everyone has to have an office job or become a business analyst despite what the general consensus is

Postby RBphoto » November 11th, 2014, 10:07 am

The social stigma starts from parents pushing their kids to go to prestiege schools.. for what? To do science and math? What about arts, literature, trades, or even sporting academies (I really wished lifesport would have worked.. I mean seriously).

Once Craftsmen are seen as professionals we can start changing our attitudes. I came out of UWI Engineering thinking that I would have all of the answers on a job site, but I learned quickly that I better humble myself to pipefitters and people in the field who actually do the installation if I was going to learn to do anything practical.

Postby Slartibartfast » November 11th, 2014, 11:37 am

Yup. A double shift in the current stigma is needed.

We need to start to view carpenters, masons and mechanics as the professionals that they are, but they also need to view themselves as professionals and hold themselves to the higher standards required to call themselves that (as opposed to just puttin down a wuk).

RB if you come from engineering, you know that warm fuzzy feeling when you come across a true professional in the field. I remember the first time I come across a real team of masons. These fellas specialise in concrete block walls. about 10-15 fellas doing nothing but putting up blocks 8hrs a day everyday. Just... amazing. More manual workers have to take pride in their work they way those guys did.