Genetically modified mosquitoes

Re: Genetically modified mosquitoes

Postby nervewrecker » November 8th, 2014, 5:15 pm

toyota2nr wrote:Anyone ever saw the movie Mimic? This situation reminds me of that.

Caught piece of it a night, have to watch that movie yes. Was a good one

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2014, 6:11 pm

it appears that in other countries the bigger concern is not the impact to local insect ecosystems.

They fear that if a female modified mosquito bites a human it may introduce some other unknown effect.
They only take the males from the mosquito they hatch but say occasionally a few females slip through.

Postby Trini Hookah » November 8th, 2014, 6:49 pm

area

AREA

A R E A

Postby Dizzy28 » November 8th, 2014, 6:54 pm

I support this initiative. Innovation at its finest.

airuma

Postby airuma » November 8th, 2014, 8:25 pm

kamakazi wrote:You know what happens when you mess with nature. ..
Let's look at GM corn; you plant it, it grows but you will not get any corn from planting the grains from this plant. When insects cross pollinate this with natural corn it also significantly lowers the yield to near non existent.

Mosquitoes are pests; but they are part of a food chain for some other animal; birds.... fish....and killing of a food source might kill off a species. This species might be responsible for controlling some other pest. ...like grasshoppers.... and you start down this slippery slope

I would like less mosquito bites but messing with nature is never a good answer. Might work short term but the potential long term effect can be catastrophic

I fully agree, before you try to eliminate anything you should be certain that you would be better off without it first. To do that, you must understand the role/s it plays in the entire system of which it is a part of.

Postby UML » November 8th, 2014, 8:47 pm

People concerned about mosquitoes and the ecosystem which is a valid point. But recommending spraying, do you think spraying only kills mosquitoes? What about the affects of spraying on human health?

pugboy wrote:either way we need to do something
I got chik over month and half and still have serious pains in fingers, ankles

You do know chikV pains last for years right?

Postby pugboy » November 8th, 2014, 9:09 pm

^^you got it also ?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 8th, 2014, 9:53 pm

Still have ChickV pains in my knee and foot.

Postby UML » November 8th, 2014, 10:38 pm

Nope it doh bite UNC sheep :mrgreen:

Nah when I first heard about it I researched it and was shocked by that fact.

Cid

Postby Cid » November 9th, 2014, 8:26 am

killer bees all over again