Full AC Installation Cost , for old model Vehicle

newrider1200

Full AC Installation Cost , for old model Vehicle

Postby newrider1200 » October 24th, 2014, 11:34 am

Want an avergae for an AC Install for a Mark V cortina , have no AC components car has SR20 engine tho. want a good estimate to get AC blowing cold , along with a good place to do the work.

Re: Full AC Installation Cost , for old model Vehicle

Postby MG Man » October 24th, 2014, 11:41 am

prolly upward of 10k

newrider1200

Postby newrider1200 » October 25th, 2014, 5:12 pm

Keep getting that number alot , may have to buy some dash fans and call it a day yes

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 25th, 2014, 8:04 pm

Installing "cold breeze" in an older car posses a few difficulties that you may not encounter with newer more modern ones. But let me break it down for you as I have done quite a few on older cars....like a Mk 2 1974 Corona, a 1983 Nissan 260c, a 1984 L200 Pick up, a 1964 Ford F-100 and a few others over the years.

The newer the components the colder the breeze, so stay away from the "foreign used compressors, condensors and evaporators"....UNLESS you have no choice or trust the guy you're getting them from,.

If your sr20 has a compressor on already you are 20% there... but a new Chinese imitation 508 comp at Maraj Ac in Aranguez will cost about $1200 IF< you go to the counter & and $800 if you dont...(I'll explain later) But the 508's are more for older engine types and require a lot of space and also draw on your motor's power more.

A new 26x13 or larger condenser about $260 and then the drier bottle $110 the underdash evaporator about $1800 and the lines (high, medium an low) about $500 with the hose clamps and fittings. A 14-16" condnsor fans about $175.

Now that comes to about $3,400. the comp, cond, evap, lines, drier and the fan

Then for the "dig out eye part". Most of the "Established" places...like Coolair, Ultracool and Arctic Air will hit you for 6 when they see you with an ol car and new parts. Prob about $3500 labour. That's where guys like Tony come in...689 1209

But here's where I've learnt the ropes. First, I would go by Tony's Spring Cool, just before you go thru the Grand Bazaar ent opp Nestle...you turn left.
He is one of the nicest most sincere and honest men in the business. He set up the ac in my Mk 2 4 years ago...and it's still coolin like a champ in the hottest of days...I get a kick out of ppl staring at her when they see me cruising at 12 in the hot sun and the glasses up and NO tint. Haha.

He helped me get a bracket, then the compressor..A USED ORIGINAL 508, a new condenser, fan, lines, drier and he fabricated an evaporator under my dash using the original blower....DAT TING DOES WOK DRED!

When he showed me how to run the lines. the fittings, and how to mount the comp, and the condenser, all I would do with the vehicles after that was to bring them to him and he would just vacuum, charge with Freon and it was jus a $400 for me. But that was when I did all of the plumbing and the install.
He has done some for me for $1500 and up...he would do the evap, the wiring, and the Freon.

I suggest you get your stuff/parts together...go look at a few older cars and their installations, do what you can, then go by Tony and he can show you what to do. Tell him I sent you...he'll treat you like family! Recently, the comp on our new Jimny failed and he got me a good used one for $600....he's good like that. And he can get you ALL those new parts from the dealers at HIS price IF you guys hit it off well.

newrider1200

Postby newrider1200 » October 25th, 2014, 8:27 pm

Thanks alot V8 Boys , i think i know that mark 2 well lol , betsy ! , lovely machine , well i was more or less thinking of puttin my induvidual parts together as well.

But one question concering condessor mounting places i know in front the Rad is ideal but any where else i could get away with in front there is a tight squeeze for me as my Intercooler is there and some piping and i just spent cash on those parts , so was tryna get a clever ideal to place condesor somwhere else that is just as effective. other wise might have re route IC piping or place condessor outside and say is ah OIL cooler lmao

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 25th, 2014, 10:03 pm

yeah ah hear yuh....you could squeeze the condenser in dey yuh know....but all dem tie straps go have to come into play. But yes....you can mount the condensor in the trunk and all once it getting ventilation...watch the L200 Vans and the H100s ...many other cars and vans have them just nea the battery below the tray. Once you have a dedicated fan blowin thru it. And Betsy doh have cold breeze...is the yellow one...
1607109_771522279543564_211717016_n.jpg
1607109_771522279543564_211717016_n.jpg (19.46 KiB) Viewed 2454 times

madmaxz

Postby madmaxz » October 27th, 2014, 3:31 pm

Mr. V8 wat compressor did u use in the Mark 2

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » October 27th, 2014, 4:07 pm

originally Tony got me a used (original) 508 compressor. When we were restoring the car 2years ago, we took out the engine and when we were putting back the ac....the compressor was installed by one of my guys THE WRONG WAY and it cracked fight along the bracket support...ruining a good compressor. I took the car to Tony when we were done the body and he got me another used 508. Tat ting does wok jed!

I installed a new Chinese imitation 508 in a 260c we restored this year and it just isn't cooling like an original 508. And that 260 we bought EVERYTHING brand new. Down to the evaporator, condenser, drier....everything. Cant beat those 508s cous'!

newrider1200

Postby newrider1200 » October 27th, 2014, 6:51 pm

great Info there v8boys , having alot of issues with my condessor moutning at the moment , trying the other method to mount else where