The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Mr.Bollywood

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Mr.Bollywood » October 15th, 2014, 8:09 pm

Plus one beer to Stev for the great help he has provided with my phone!

Thanks again bro!

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2014, 8:18 pm

updated my s4 mini to latest Samsung 4.4
now the lock screen camera is no longer available and gmail does not autocheck for new mail.

updating a telephone number to an existing contact is a pain too,
it pulls up every phone contact AND email contact even ones I did not send but were cc'd in other peoples mail to me.

not good.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 15th, 2014, 10:06 pm

Yikes

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » October 15th, 2014, 10:40 pm

Samsung copying Apple too much. freaking up their updates constantly

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » October 15th, 2014, 11:05 pm

can't wait for nexus 6 :D

Postby nervewrecker » October 15th, 2014, 11:29 pm

Yesterday's news said Samsung found a way to increase data transfer over WiFi by about 4 times. I think was 3gb of data to be transmitted in seconds.

I see apple have some announcements tomorrow too (not bashing eh).

Postby stev » October 16th, 2014, 9:07 am

any of u guys ever try out aluminium cases? whats your take on them?

was gonna get this:

http://www.amazon.com/DevilCase-Z2-Alum ... B00LCTDABY

Postby Ted_v2 » October 16th, 2014, 9:14 am

Finally updated my tab. From ICS to jellybean.
Yay!

Postby M_2NR » October 16th, 2014, 9:33 am

if yuh have skins on with an aluminum case it can cause issues. More damage than protection. I have one for my nexus and i almost scratched a piece of the phone. Also, depending on the position of the antenna you can also suffer from signal issues. It also makes the device wider. I'd steer clear.

The nexus 6 looks sweet. Too bad Google is going the samsung way. I had the size and the cost. I'm definitely leaning more to the Z3 and Z3 compact now.

Postby nervewrecker » October 16th, 2014, 5:49 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:I got a $5 and a half Pack. Wwgd

Half pack sealed? :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » October 17th, 2014, 7:02 pm

I getting sucky battery life on the nexus 4 now.
Google play services is the culprit. How? Solutions?

Postby stev » October 17th, 2014, 8:29 pm

Google Play Services been sucking a bit more battery than usual over the past couple of days....just today i started noticing small differences in google now....for example u now have to option of seeing your parking location history and activity history.

Postby nervewrecker » October 17th, 2014, 9:01 pm

I don't have all that activated. Phone offline, normally I charge that and the 7 once a week, now the 4 has to charge everyday. By afternoon battery almost dead

Postby stev » October 17th, 2014, 9:46 pm

oh gad oye!!!

i never really was that successful trying to reduce the processor / memory / battery usage of google play services. :/

its very easy to replace the battery and it $12 - $20US online (if it comes to that)

consider the new Moto G / X or a nexus 5?

...wait. next thing u know your Google Play Services trying to connect / update but u probably have a dependent service disabled so it keeps retrying....u have any other background google services disabled? try enabling everything for a few hours then disabling again and see if it helps.

something similar happened to me very recently on my Z2 (not google play services though). the native Xperia gallery app was draining my battery a bit until i enabled a dependent service called photo analyzer......once enabled, the gallery updated and it stopped sucking battery.

Postby nervewrecker » October 17th, 2014, 9:55 pm

I don't think I've disabled anything. At least not to my knowledge.

You think it could be trying to update?

I'm playing the waiting game for the nexus 5. Highly doubt is the battery, the monitor says its google play services.

Postby stev » October 17th, 2014, 10:06 pm

maybe u can try clearing the cache and data from google play services and leave it on WIFI to do what it wants for a few hours. lol

see if that helps.

Postby nervewrecker » October 17th, 2014, 10:27 pm

I clear the cache already, it was online all evening.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 18th, 2014, 12:40 am

Disable location history, location reporting etc

Sinz

Postby Sinz » October 18th, 2014, 1:00 pm

Has anyone here in Trini ordered anything from the Google Play Store? If so, how did you go about it? Using a VPN? Looking to pre-order a Nexus 6 when it's available.

Postby M_2NR » October 18th, 2014, 1:56 pm

stev wrote:Google Play Services been sucking a bit more battery than usual over the past couple of days....just today i started noticing small differences in google now....for example u now have to option of seeing your parking location history and activity history.

u know that's because of location reporting and history right b?
that's when i was like OOOOO GOOGLE SO COOL a month ago :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » October 18th, 2014, 2:33 pm

I did some checking and it is in fact google location services.

Postby nervewrecker » October 18th, 2014, 5:05 pm

Did a restart, 3% battery use this afternoon.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 18th, 2014, 5:45 pm

Nerve I feel u hadda get a me2 inno king.

Postby nervewrecker » October 18th, 2014, 6:34 pm

Yuh har one to trade me? Still have the half pack and the $5.00? :lol:

So far so good, ain't even use 10% yet and I on the phone since evening.

Postby dougla_boy » October 20th, 2014, 7:46 am

so i leaving android for a while.....4th fone from TSTT and same problem with the HTC one.....i am sad tho....cuz i real love dis fone......dey giving me an iPhone 5s....wanted a note 3....but i get a hmmc....

Postby Ted_v2 » October 20th, 2014, 10:31 am

Bye!

:*

Postby S_2NR » October 20th, 2014, 1:12 pm

dougla_boy wrote:so i leaving android for a while.....4th fone from TSTT and same problem with the HTC one.....i am sad tho....cuz i real love dis fone......dey giving me an iPhone 5s....wanted a note 3....but i get a hmmc....

u went thru 4 defective phones from tstt?
and then took something that is completely different to what u had?

at that point you should have asked for all your money back

Postby Trini Hookah » October 20th, 2014, 1:16 pm

E hadda use cup and string

Postby dougla_boy » October 20th, 2014, 1:32 pm

S_2NR wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:so i leaving android for a while.....4th fone from TSTT and same problem with the HTC one.....i am sad tho....cuz i real love dis fone......dey giving me an iPhone 5s....wanted a note 3....but i get a hmmc....

u went thru 4 defective phones from tstt?
and then took something that is completely different to what u had?

at that point you should have asked for all your money back

taking the iphone na hmmc.....i have a yr warranty before i get back my money....so i go destress dem a little

Postby M_2NR » October 20th, 2014, 1:43 pm

Boy... That Z3 Compact realll tempting me :oops:

http://slickdeals.net/f/7258658-sony-xp ... -edu-works

$477 on sale :cry: