Unsecured Loans

Treason_001

Unsecured Loans

Postby Treason_001 » September 28th, 2014, 6:58 pm

I'm a Permanent worker. Other than Island Finance, where in Trinidad I can get an Unsecured loan?

Re: Unsecured Loans

Postby janfar » September 28th, 2014, 7:03 pm

Money lender.

nixonliketheprez

Postby nixonliketheprez » September 28th, 2014, 7:09 pm

Treason_001 wrote:I'm a Permanent worker. Other than Island Finance, where in Trinidad I can get an Unsecured loan?

Republic Bank

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » September 28th, 2014, 8:52 pm

courts

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 28th, 2014, 10:45 pm

venture Credit union

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » September 28th, 2014, 10:48 pm

Any bank, once you qualify

Postby 88sins » September 29th, 2014, 8:41 am

Any bank or financial institution
There will be a limit to how much you can get since its unsecured, & if you don't have a history with whoever you borrowing from brace yourself for a higher interest rate

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 29th, 2014, 12:02 pm

republic does bless yuh right up ..

kcgilll

Postby kcgilll » September 29th, 2014, 11:47 pm

Courts loan easy enough to get once your a regular with them max 15k cash for 2nd loan and you get it within an hour literally.

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 4th, 2014, 10:49 pm

Republic

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » October 5th, 2014, 11:28 pm

Anyone aware of the intrest rates banks charge for unsecured loans, less than 100,000.00?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 6th, 2014, 12:07 pm

republic gave me 12% on 90k unsecured

Postby 88sins » October 6th, 2014, 1:21 pm

that's about right for their end of year loan sale specials

pj15

Postby pj15 » October 6th, 2014, 3:28 pm

randolphinshan wrote:Anyone aware of the intrest rates banks charge for unsecured loans, less than 100,000.00?

I recently got an unsecured loan from Scotia for $75,000 at 10.5%.

Postby zoom rader » October 6th, 2014, 4:44 pm

uncle sam wrote:republic gave me 12% on 90k unsecured

What a ripp off

Postby 88sins » October 6th, 2014, 6:36 pm

What a ripp off

Interest rates will vary according to how long you have been with the bank, if you ever had a loan before, etc

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » October 6th, 2014, 9:00 pm

What a ripp off

used car loan is 17% and 33 % downpayment..

so 12 % for an unsecured loan from a bank for 90k... that damn good

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2014, 5:52 am

so zr

yuh lennin morney wit less intris dan d bank now owa?

syncrod

Postby syncrod » October 7th, 2014, 2:53 pm

Republic have loan sale going on til the end of Christmas i think, try yuh luck

Sugargul

Postby Sugargul » January 19th, 2015, 12:21 pm

Anyone know courts interest rate on cash loans???

Sugargul

Postby Sugargul » January 19th, 2015, 12:22 pm

Anyone know courts interest rate on cash loans???

Postby DFC » January 19th, 2015, 12:37 pm

This is republic bank for christmas.
10877745_10153022131775871_2031834442_n.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » June 22nd, 2015, 5:48 pm

Bumping topic. Any updates for June 2015?

Interested in a 60k unsecured loan. Checking out my options.

Postby tr1ad » June 22nd, 2015, 7:18 pm

Bank

Postby The_Honourable » August 3rd, 2023, 11:58 pm

Lenders hiding information from borrowers

IF YOU took out a loan to survive financially through the Covid-19 pandemic, you are not alone.

Although some borrowers have been able to keep up with their loan payments, according to recent data made public by the Central Bank, loan delinquency in Trinidad and Tobago has slightly increased over the last three years.

When a loan instalment isn’t paid by the due date, it becomes overdue. Loan delinquency in the country rose by 0.3 per cent from December 2019 to December 2021. The Central Bank refers to any loans that are 90 days overdue or more as “delinquent” or “non-performing” loans.

The Central Bank’s statistics indicate the total amount of consumer (household) loans made during the previous three years by the banking system, including commercial banks and non-bank financial institutions. Additionally, it displays the proportion of gross loans that are non-performing loans in the banking sector as a percentage.

According to Christine Nanton-Winter, assistant manager of external relations at the Central Bank, a non-performing loan ratio (NPL ratio) of 5 per cent or less is often seen as being within the low to acceptable range.

While there are many reasons a loan can become non performing, Express Business looked at a few of the loans provided by commercial banks and non-bank financial institutions.

It was discovered that while many employees of lending institutions were prepared to obtain information and sign people up for loans, many of them were unwilling to disclose the “final price” or the precise interest rate that would be paid toward the loan until approval for the loan was granted.

Many of the financial organisations Express Business visited employ language like “This is an estimate” or “This is not the final amount, you will know that once your loan is approved.”

Yet customers, nevertheless, agree to the terms of the loan without fully realising how much money they would actually have to pay back. Consumers have a right to know what the bottom line is, even if many in the financial industry go to great lengths to conceal this information.

Express Business recently went to six lending institutions to find out the total amount that would be due, including interest, if someone borrowed $50,000 for 36 months. All of the banks provided an estimate of the monthly payments, and this publication utilised that data to determine the expected interest rates. See below.

Note that all of the data are estimates that were provided by the corresponding institutions. However, based on the information shown above, the choice of the institution to take a loan from is just as crucial as the actual amount.

While some customers may find themselves paying just under $10,000 in interest plus the loan amount, others may find themselves battling to pay back almost double the loan amount. Some of the lending institutions acknowledged the existence of a processing fee, while others claimed that other fees had been added to the loan amount that had altered the final total. None of the financial representatives, however, was eager to reveal the amount of the processing fees or other charges.

While Express Business has averaged Island Finance’s annual interest rate at 29.04 per cent, we spoke with two clients who recently borrowed money from the financial institution and produced documents proving that Island Finance’s interest rate was substantially higher.

Brenda (not her real name) said she just obtained an unsecured loan for $50,000 for 60 months from Island Finance and was prepared to discuss the specifics of her financial transaction with the Express Business. With an extra fee of $1,527.50 for administration, a monthly payment of $1,330, and an interest rate of 45.93 per cent per year, Brenda will have paid Island Finance a total of $79,761.60 over the course of five years. She would pay $29,761.60 in interest alone.

If Brenda makes a late payment on her loan, Island Finance may assess a late fee equal to 5 per cent of the regularly scheduled monthly instalment.

According to the Island Finance document, missing a payment deadline would result in the accumulation of extra interest as well as a possible impact on the final instalment amount, interest charge, finance charge, total payments, and overall cost of borrowing.

If Brenda’s income declines and she is unable to make her monthly payments, her $79,761.60 total payment might increase dramatically.

Brenda told the Express Business that she applied for the loan with Island Finance this year in order to settle her outstanding debts and raise money to launch a small business that would enable her to better support her family and herself.

She acknowledges that the lack of a down payment or collateral requirement, along with Island Finance’s rapid approval process, led her to choose them as her lender.

“This was my first loan with Island Finance,” she said. “I needed the money quickly, and they made it happen with little fuss. With hindsight, I would have opted for a different financial organisation that offered a far lower interest rate.

Her sister Susan (not her real name), who had previously borrowed money from Island Finance, concurred that the loan approval process took just a few days. But after giving her decision more thought, she also agreed that Island Finance’s interest rate is simply too high.

The Express Business tried to get in touch with Duane Hinkson, the CEO of Massy, to learn more about its borrowing policies, but he did not respond in a timely fashion.

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... fbb3f.html
Chart.png

Postby 88sins » August 6th, 2023, 2:23 pm

So, is only hindsight they figured out island finance is a predatory lender? They eh think to ask for / demand information BEFORE signing in agreement? They eh study the thousands of ppl before them that borrowed money from island finance that will openly tell you and anyone with ears that will hear them, that they will NEVER under any circumstances borrow money from them again and why?

What the article not saying, is that many ppl does fack their credit with better institutions in their early life, and later on get blank from damn near all the better financial institutions, and thereby have little to no alternative than to engage with predatory lenders like island finance later on, and screw themselves.

Make better choices ppl. It that easy

trini47

Postby trini47 » August 7th, 2023, 8:22 pm

Anyone knows where you can obtain an unsecured loan if employed on "contract" terms?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 7th, 2023, 11:24 pm

Your regular bank, but they will likely want your loan term to stay inside your job contract length. So hard luck if you have less than a 3 year contract with most of the time remaining.

If you are older with a substantial job history and good history with the bank, it will be easier but not easy. If you are young, on your first job contract and have never taken a loan/credit card before, it will be difficult.

Postby 88sins » August 8th, 2023, 8:30 pm

trini47 wrote:Anyone knows where you can obtain an unsecured loan if employed on "contract" terms?

Banks, some will, some won't.
The term will no longer than a month before the end date of your contract, and you will have to convince them.

This is something of an oversimplification l
You are going to have to convince them, because they see contract workers as unreliable. Who's to say that your contract won't terminate 3 months after you get the loan and you say eff them? Gotta understand, the bank eh come out to take unnecessary risk or lose $$. Depends on of you can show that you are at least somewhat financially responsible for your age. Proof of savings will help.

As an aside, if you want to gt, and you sure you looking at unsecured, start with a small amount. 5-10k, pay it off on time or early, then try for more. But for your first loan, as a contract worker, having some form of possible collateral will be better. Gets you at least a better interest rate.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 25th, 2023, 6:12 pm

Is it possible to navigate life without taking huge loans?.
That's the question.