GATE - Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses

Re: GATE - Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses

Postby Habit7 » October 3rd, 2014, 4:12 pm

GATE should be contingent on first doing a year of national service.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 3rd, 2014, 4:22 pm

Chippy you ain't sheit. No degree and working uwi. You not making any money worth talking about. Get some ambition

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 3rd, 2014, 4:23 pm

Habit7 wrote:GATE should be contingent on first doing a year of national service.

To implement that you might need a slight dictator I suspect.

chippy

Postby chippy » October 3rd, 2014, 4:34 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:Chippy you ain't sheit. No degree and working uwi. You not making any money worth talking about. Get some ambition

And you must be some kinna crack_head psychic...
You predicted: I have no degree & and my salary is not substantial
Well my powers not as good as yours; but here's my prediction: metalgear2095, You iz an @$$...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 3rd, 2014, 4:49 pm

It is clear that education has thought you nothing. A lot of people here probably make your chump salary in a week
$7080 in fees. Must be a chump degree.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2014, 4:54 pm

zoom rader wrote:Pios what are your views on dem Costaatt public servants.

Fire all of them and hire people who really need the work and willing to work.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 3rd, 2014, 6:15 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
Habit7 wrote:GATE should be contingent on first doing a year of national service.

Not really. Of ppl want gate they do it if they don't want gate they dont do it. What ot will need is good management and enforcement from the start so you don't have people getting through with gate and then being surprised a couple years later when they being called back to fulfil their part of the contract and coming on tuner and making a thread about it.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 3rd, 2014, 6:30 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

Not really. Of ppl want gate they do it if they don't want gate they dont do it. What ot will need is good management and enforcement from the start so you don't have people getting through with gate and then being surprised a couple years later when they being called back to fulfil their part of the contract and coming on tuner and making a thread about it.

National service introduction would go over smoothly with the population?

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2014, 8:24 pm

From what I hear Cabinet put a freeze/hold on all new clerical (clerk, typists etc) and manipulative (driver, messenger, cleaner etc) appointments. So those who think they could barely pass CXC and expect ah permanent guvament wukk, think again. It have no wukk for dem anymore. Many people in the upcoming months will get send home cuz they would not be able to keep them on due to Cabinet's mandate. Those who determined to be clerks/drivers etc, would have to register with Ministry of Labor for short term employment.

It's the first phase in reforming the service. Clerk I-IV will no longer exist, the replacement positions would require a first degree from a recognized institution.

This is a good move, plenty free tertiary education and people not using it. It's time to get a return on the investment and cut off the waste. It's part of moving towards a technologically advanced and educated society. This 5 CXC ting would only be good for police and chips fryers.

PNM couldn't even think of that in 40 years.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2014, 8:33 pm

Send home gubment workers you saying dey yunno.

Now I see why they buying armored vehicles.

And now I see why it have no clerk I's

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2014, 8:35 pm

One's who inside already unaffected, but those who just come to replace man who gone on VL getting send back home.

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2014, 8:43 pm

People who in long term vacancies not affected, is if the person revert then you in chit.

And seein how is no longer automatic promotion/appointment, everything is exam/interview now so you could very well have people reverting back to clerk I eh.

Man jus hadda degree up and wait patiently.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2014, 9:48 pm

Steups, I say fossils going home.

But pios, some of those new ones coming in with bachelors degree. Had one doing her masters, is them self might be getting hired back.
Those fossils not even computer literate so no degreeing taking place in a hurry. Is them need to go!

Service com keeps saying they have no clerk I's

Postby Ted_v2 » October 3rd, 2014, 10:49 pm

Quick question.

If you don't pay back gate what would they do?

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2014, 11:11 pm

Nuffin

Postby Ted_v2 » October 3rd, 2014, 11:46 pm

Sweet Trinidad

Postby pioneer » October 3rd, 2014, 11:51 pm

Yeah nuffin, jus leave dat dey.

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2014, 9:40 am

Slartibartfast wrote:

National service introduction would go over smoothly with the population?

Singapore's national service goes over quite well because they had an autocratic leader since independence. We need a govt that would sacrifice themselves not for advantageous constitution reform, but nation building changes.

Postby pioneer » October 4th, 2014, 11:14 am

Trinidad needs a dictator for at least 15-20 years to fix the dotishness here.

I have no problem if KPB is that dictator.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 4th, 2014, 11:21 am

From what I hear Cabinet put a freeze/hold on all new clerical (clerk, typists etc) and manipulative (driver, messenger, cleaner etc) appointments. So those who think they could barely pass CXC and expect ah permanent guvament wukk, think again. It have no wukk for dem anymore. Many people in the upcoming months will get send home cuz they would not be able to keep them on due to Cabinet's mandate. Those who determined to be clerks/drivers etc, would have to register with Ministry of Labor for short term employment.

It's the first phase in reforming the service. Clerk I-IV will no longer exist, the replacement positions would require a first degree from a recognized institution.

This is a good move, plenty free tertiary education and people not using it. It's time to get a return on the investment and cut off the waste. It's part of moving towards a technologically advanced and educated society. This 5 CXC ting would only be good for police and chips fryers.

this makes al ot of sense feel doing bare minimum guarantees a job for life
too many ple feel they can get buy in life without hard work...govt job , hdc house, and food cards etc.

make ple work for jobs make it worthy for studying and getting the results.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 4th, 2014, 11:34 am

Habit7 wrote:We need a govt that would sacrifice themselves not for advantageous constitution reform, but nation building changes.
This may only be possible if the entire government was thrown out. Because any honest person that goes in will either made corrupt or kicked back out.

Also, politicians have it backwards down here, they supposed to minister first and then govern after.

Postby 1UZFE » October 4th, 2014, 2:44 pm

Persons should be made to repay 1/4 or 1/2 of there GATE fees within 5yrs of acheiving the degree..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 4th, 2014, 2:47 pm

1UZFE wrote:Persons should be made to repay 1/4 or 1/2 of there GATE fees within 5yrs of acheiving the degree..

I think you are supposed to work in Trinidad after getting your degree for 3 years at least as a form of payment. That's how it was for me using GATE for my 1st degree.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » October 4th, 2014, 2:57 pm

i have to pay back 6500 :|

Postby 1UZFE » October 4th, 2014, 3:20 pm

1UZFE wrote:Persons should be made to repay 1/4 or 1/2 of there GATE fees within 5yrs of acheiving the degree..

I think you are supposed to work in Trinidad after getting your degree for 3 years at least as a form of payment. That's how it was for me using GATE for my 1st degree.

How much persons are actaully doin that. Also if the financial burden is the problem then there should be financial repayments to fill the void.
Then again is poor management overall.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 4th, 2014, 3:23 pm

1UZFE wrote:

How much persons are actaully doin that. Also if the financial burden is the problem then there should be financial repayments to fill the void.
Then again is poor management overall.

I wouldn't assume most run away either without looking at figures.

If I had to guess based on the graduates from my class I would say most actually stayed in Trinidad.

Postby nervewrecker » October 4th, 2014, 3:59 pm

TheOwnerPO wrote:i have to pay back 6500 :|

How?

Postby dougla_boy » October 6th, 2014, 7:40 am

u know u cud call GATE and speak to them inno....they eh so harsh with regards to repayment.....

Postby zoom rader » October 6th, 2014, 9:05 am

It's good that they raised the bar. The public service even with non pnm governments had a habit of only employing PNM ppl into positions that they don't fit.
PNM made sure and created an entire PNM institution for PS and armed forces.
Slowly this is eroding away and better equal opportunities are coming on stream with a highly educated population.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 6th, 2014, 9:23 am

dougla_boy wrote:u know u cud call GATE and speak to them inno....they eh so harsh with regards to repayment.....

Spent awhile trying to call GATE. was advised to go to the office physically. Their line was always busy. Or inundated with calls.