US Network Channels blocked in T&T

Postby S_2NR » September 30th, 2014, 11:08 am

Sometime last week it was announced that Directv, flow, etc were ordered by TATT to block US network stations (abc. nbc, cbs, etc) during primetime hours as local stations have purchased the rights to a number of shows.

Directv plans to remove those channels from their lineup permanently in the near future.
I cut cable years ago so I couldnt be bothered but Im curious what other tuners think of this..
Are you disconnecting your service?

Re: US Network Channels blocked in T&T

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2014, 11:48 am

What's the alternative?
This is irritating as fark, especially since local tv has piss poor resolution, best viewed on a 20" CRT tv.

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » September 30th, 2014, 11:52 am

not to mention they premier the blocked shows at alternative time slots. Some days its almost 10 hours of accumulated blocked prime time content per night between CNC3, TV6 and CNMG i think. Why should Flow still charge ppl the same amount per month, when all this content is blocked? And TATT is useless, they never do anything to protect customers

Postby tr1ad » September 30th, 2014, 12:02 pm

cancelled since last week due to disconnect tomorrow i hope.
they keep calling me every day with offers to keep the service active

i'll utilize one of those sites and stream right after it's aired

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » September 30th, 2014, 12:06 pm

i think i gonna cancel service this week. Will try Directv and see how it goes. They have a HD package for 250 a month, basic channels plus 15 HD channels, and also any of the basic channels that have a HD show listed, is shown in HD. Flow isnt suited for LCD/LCD tvs.

I made peace with getting the sitcoms that are blocked from torrents. So i wont mind if i lose those channels. But i heard Directv also has some movie channels being part of that package, so alteast there will be some benefits.

Any reviews for those who have it>?

Postby tr1ad » September 30th, 2014, 12:09 pm

movie channels are ok with Dtv, but the ppv is better, believe jack reacher is on dtv movie channels now, cant remember whats on ppv.
the only channels i can recall are two hbo and one movie city with basic.... not sure as i had the full movie package with them

Postby Ted_v2 » September 30th, 2014, 12:35 pm

Won't mind swapping to direct but I got 3 boxes. Direct would be rape. As last I heard it was 120 additional per month.

So 250+240$.
Need to check it out better. That seems unreal no?

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » September 30th, 2014, 1:45 pm

nah man, when i called yest they said it was about $30 a month for another HD DVR. I have to go into Trincity Mall Directv kiosk. Will update if necessary when i do with info

Postby Ted_v2 » September 30th, 2014, 1:51 pm

Awesome

Postby redmanjp » September 30th, 2014, 2:10 pm

didn't know it's WHOLE CHANNELS as opposed to certain shows which are bought by local broadcasters that are blocked? Directv sure about this?

and what about Blink, greendot, etc? dem does block anything?

Postby skylinechild » September 30th, 2014, 2:12 pm

nothing wrong with buying the "rights" for the show.

problem is they buying old season rights. ie seasons that already showed on cable 1-2 yrs ago. they not up to date like cable- every week/2 weeks have a new episode- or in some cases two 30 mins new eposides

why must i be forced to re-watch an old episode which i can buy on DVD from amazon, stream on amazon prime...stream on pirate sites....buy from the dvd vendor down d road...

if i watching i want to be able to watch the NEW episode.

then again...i dont look at Tv...local or cable

/not affected

roadhog

Postby roadhog » September 30th, 2014, 2:22 pm

This is complete bull crap and i hope someone from directv, flow, cnc3, tv6, cnmg and TATT read this.
As a paying consumer of a premium service i believe my rights are being infringed upon by the actions that have been taken. In no form or fashion can the service provided by channels obtained via an antenna compare to that delivered via satellite or fiber optics. It should be my right to view shows in HD where applicable, and not be forced to watch an inferior broadcast of such shows. Further more when such shows are broadcast on a delayed schedule it leaves less desire to watch the shows on that channel. Living is a technologically advanced world, where the synopsis of show can be obtained via social media, almost instantaneously as if there was live commentary.

rights should be given to broadcast at different levels of resolution.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2014, 2:34 pm

roadhog wrote:This is complete bull crap and i hope someone from directv, flow, cnc3, tv6, cnmg and TATT read this.
As a paying consumer of a premium service i believe my rights are being infringed upon by the actions that have been taken. In no form or fashion can the service provided by channels obtained via an antenna compare to that delivered via satellite or fiber optics. It should be my right to view shows in HD where applicable, and not be forced to watch an inferior broadcast of such shows. Further more when such shows are broadcast on a delayed schedule it leaves less desire to watch the shows on that channel. Living is a technologically advanced world, where the synopsis of show can be obtained via social media, almost instantaneously as if there was live commentary.

Have you dropped your provider as yet?

If all everyone ever does is gripe about it on internet forums but when the month end reaches the number of subscribers remains the same well then there is no incentive for Flow or Direc TV to do anything. Take a look at the Trini Bad Service Group on Facebook and see how much this topic has been beaten out. But it would be interesting to note how much people showed their disgust with their wallets as opposed to their mouths and keyboards.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 30th, 2014, 2:48 pm

Feel ill drop the cable and upgrade net....hopefully with Blink later on.

Postby tr1ad » September 30th, 2014, 2:51 pm

as S_2NR pointed out, i was calling on those that were "outraged" on FB to show me that thei did cancel....

out of 120 + comments.... seems i was the only one that actually did

Postby Les Bain » September 30th, 2014, 3:07 pm

Haven't had cable for a year now. Barely used it since the jump to digital brought with it the WOFT packages and the basic package still too expensive to watch a handful of stations.

Now we use a combination of them net TV boxes a tech pardnah set us up with, and torrenting TV episodes the day after they aired. What used to be a bill for ok net and basic cable now pays for good net. The contemporary viewing model makes these local TV-forced blackouts even more ridiculous.

Watching regular TV when we visit people feels odd now.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2014, 3:09 pm

To show my outrage I will take cable just to drop it!!!!!

Postby Trini Hookah » September 30th, 2014, 3:33 pm

Side note, anyone know the price on the Blink Ultralink packages?

Postby Mark! » September 30th, 2014, 4:42 pm

So does Directv make any attempt to purchase the rights in our region first, before these local chicken sh!t stations?

roadhog

Postby roadhog » September 30th, 2014, 5:24 pm

roadhog wrote:This is complete bull crap and i hope someone from directv, flow, cnc3, tv6, cnmg and TATT read this.

If all everyone ever does is gripe about it on internet forums but when the month end reaches the number of subscribers remains the same well then there is no incentive for Flow or Direc TV to do anything. Take a look at the Trini Bad Service Group on Facebook and see how much this topic has been beaten out. But it would be interesting to note how much people showed their disgust with their wallets as opposed to their mouths and keyboards.

As a reasonably intelligent individual of the human species, I would opt for consultation with my provider and expression of my dissatisfaction as well as with tatt before I drop my service. These services also provide other channels for my viewing pleasure. Should there not be an amicable outcome of value for money I would then opt to drop the service.
I hope this bit of information might enlighten you.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 30th, 2014, 5:38 pm

Third world mentality cyah done. Sorry but I doubt all this "buying rights from the content owner" BS is legit.

Can you really see TV6 or whoever spending the money required to buy the rights to the current season of The Big Bang Theory; given that a 30-second commercial spot costs over $300,000USD in the US.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2014, 5:43 pm

roadhog wrote:

If all everyone ever does is gripe about it on internet forums but when the month end reaches the number of subscribers remains the same well then there is no incentive for Flow or Direc TV to do anything. Take a look at the Trini Bad Service Group on Facebook and see how much this topic has been beaten out. But it would be interesting to note how much people showed their disgust with their wallets as opposed to their mouths and keyboards.[/quote

As a reasonably intelligent individual of the human species, I would opt for consultation with my provider and expression of my dissatisfaction as well as with tatt before I drop my service. These services also provide other channels for my viewing pleasure. Should there not be an amicable outcome of value for money I would then opt to drop the service.
I hope this bit of information might enlighten you.

Well continuing consulting whilst simultaneously paying for things you not getting. It is your money after all.

kaviman

Postby kaviman » September 30th, 2014, 6:39 pm

Same blocking happening on blink entertainment tho..... Utter nonsense

Postby ismithx » September 30th, 2014, 6:56 pm

and then they wonder why people pirate....

Postby Ted_v2 » September 30th, 2014, 7:44 pm

Loving the bay

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » September 30th, 2014, 8:29 pm

1080p stream unaffected

Last edited by dean_spleen09 on September 30th, 2014, 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » September 30th, 2014, 8:31 pm

Ah whe yuh affi get the stream fadda?

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » September 30th, 2014, 8:31 pm

lulz, i remember a few years ago they started blocking the EPL/BPL....then i disccovered live streaming on the internet, never looked back since

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » September 30th, 2014, 8:32 pm

isn't this illegal though ? How does the foreign networks get people to view their advertisements ?....idk

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » October 1st, 2014, 7:23 am

Some people may get more upset..........