:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2014, 2:42 pm

Any difference compared to to two post lifts with arms which swing under car?

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 24th, 2014, 3:04 pm

Depends on your intended application. I use this for alignment so a 2 post is not feasible for that.

A 2 post gives a lot more access to the bottom of the vehicle as well as has a smaller footprint on your shop floor.

I will get one of those eventually as well as a midrise.

Postby pioneer » August 31st, 2014, 1:00 pm

pioneer wrote:Got an AR Blue Clean from laughlin Oct 2012...workin bess...I think they have karcher in store now

I believe Southern Supplies Limited carry them also.

Well I talk too soon, now gone to wash car...the motor keeps running no matter how many times I reset it...no water coming out either.

Also the trigger is very stiff as if pressure is built up in the system...I removed all hoses etc and still no luck.

brb heading to pricesmart

Postby pugboy » August 31st, 2014, 2:15 pm

that blue washer is sold under a multitude of brand names
look like a single factory making it and any and everybody rebranding it.

most likely bypass/overloader switch malfunctioning

Postby X_Factor » August 31st, 2014, 3:29 pm

pioneer wrote:Got an AR Blue Clean from laughlin Oct 2012...workin bess...I think they have karcher in store now

I believe Southern Supplies Limited carry them also.

Well I talk too soon, now gone to wash car...the motor keeps running no matter how many times I reset it...no water coming out either.

Also the trigger is very stiff as if pressure is built up in the system...I removed all hoses etc and still no luck.

brb heading to pricesmart

if you can wait, check hadden &co
got a karcher 1850psi for 2000.00
1yr warranty and they always stock parts

Postby pioneer » August 31st, 2014, 4:45 pm

Ok I got it sorted out...turns out there was one more hosing leading to the trigger. I tried releasing it but no luck.

End up hittin it a lash and some wd40 and it popped out and water fly everywhere.

It now works again.

Postby M_2NR » August 31st, 2014, 5:42 pm

X_Factor wrote:if you can wait, check hadden &co
got a karcher 1850psi for 2000.00
1yr warranty and they always stock parts

nice!

Guys,
need some advice, was looking for a karcher to wash the car (will get the foaming lance after) and to also clean the yard. The yard is mainly concrete and some asphalt. Would a 1500psi karcher (like the one posted earlier by Caribbeancarbon) work or should i just step it up and get this 1850psi hadden has?

I remember speaking to someone earlier about the lower end 1500psi ones and they mentioned about the construction of it limiting it to an hour or 2 usage at a time which is enough for me really. I wash the car more often that I'd clean my yard per say.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 31st, 2014, 5:55 pm

I have one of those karcher units. Several problems but Duncan village tool house always handle me up.

Still holding on a string.
I say next time I'll it konk out .I'll go with one of those Subaru gas units.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 31st, 2014, 5:57 pm

Yep. One or two hour limited. The unit is built decent. But for what you want it would work fine.

Postby M_2NR » August 31st, 2014, 6:08 pm

Nah no gas unit scene here. Looking for a simple cost effective electric. I don't want to spend more than $2000 to be honest. Thanks though.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 31st, 2014, 6:30 pm

Yeah. Well that's the best bet. I does really abuse my machine so if I had to do it again I'll buy something a bit more powerful. But for your need it seems like it's perfect. Price range seems in with ur budget

Postby X_Factor » September 1st, 2014, 1:08 am

my mistake, its the 2000psi
http://www.amazon.com/Karcher-X-Series- ... 5ZA2SJYWVB

also bought the foaming gun and liquid which costs 300
but got 100.00 off

really put it through some work today and it worked well, the foaming gun reduces car washing time to approx 20mins or less

Postby Gladiator » September 1st, 2014, 1:30 am

X_Factor wrote:my mistake, its the 2000psi
http://www.amazon.com/Karcher-X-Series- ... 5ZA2SJYWVB

also bought the foaming gun and liquid which costs 300
but got 100.00 off

really put it through some work today and it worked well, the foaming gun reduces car washing time to approx 20mins or less

Where did you get the foam gun and liquid to buy?

Postby X_Factor » September 1st, 2014, 8:31 am

at hadden & co in san juan
they sell the gun($200.00) and the foam liquid ($100.00)

i am not sure if its a universal foam gun, so you may wanna carry your trigger part to see if it works with your machine

this is it here
http://www.amazon.com/Karcher-2-641-848 ... r+foam+gun

Postby M_2NR » September 1st, 2014, 12:30 pm

X yuh mean 1800 psi. The one you just posted is the 1800psi one :lol: will check it out. Thanks!!
Using your own solution in the foam gun shouldn't be an issue I assume?

Postby pioneer » September 1st, 2014, 12:55 pm

This is prolly the best foam gun ever

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004GN ... d_i=507846

Valentines escourts

Postby Valentines escourts » September 1st, 2014, 1:05 pm

looks simple an clean unlike my heavily used rottn uns

Postby pioneer » September 8th, 2014, 10:42 pm

Anyone know where I can get a vertical storage cabinet like this locally?

Garage use

Postby *KRONIK* » September 9th, 2014, 6:56 am

excellent stores usually has the sterilite versions...

is around 900 for 1....assembly required

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 9th, 2014, 11:07 am

iirc think i saw those at 'fair & square' near to food basket chaguanas ....

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2014, 10:12 pm

Yeah is a sterilite self in the pic...will check excellent and fair n square when next I in south.

Postby nervewrecker » September 29th, 2014, 11:26 am

Looking to buy a multimeter, something decent.

What brands should I be looking at and does it make sense to buy here or online, if here where has a good price?

Postby black start » September 29th, 2014, 11:30 am

nervewrecker wrote:Looking to buy a multimeter, something decent.

What brands should I be looking at and does it make sense to buy here or online, if here where has a good price?

What kind of use? Just car audio? Manual ranging Or auto?

If its just basic and car audio, you could get a manual ranging Klein tools for about 25us on amazon! Had one and it works well but lent it to a padna who ummm now owns it. For more intense use get a fluke!

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » September 29th, 2014, 11:37 am

Fluke > all. If not get Greenlee

Postby nervewrecker » September 29th, 2014, 11:39 am

Yip, car audio. Would be nice if I can sick it in the wall and get voltage too (120 - 220v).

Other than that basic 12V, resistance and if possible current too.

I borrow kurpal own last year to wire the van and that worked well but not for hell I can remember what brand it was. Seeing the craftsman on amazon, they any good?

Fluke pwns all but way out of my price range right now and is something i'll use once in a blue moon.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 29th, 2014, 11:41 am

d us$30 or so klein on amazon works well ...

Postby black start » September 29th, 2014, 11:48 am

Yes the craftsman and the klein would be able to measure the ac voltages by changing the range. I used a craftsman as well and it worked fine at first but after about a year or so it started to read incorrectly. I just assumed the calibration went off and got the klien tools. To be fair though, the craftsman unit, I got used from a friend so I did not know the age or how it was used.

I used these multimeters for basic diy projects like car audio, car electrical, house electrical and even a solar build (still needed to borrow a fluke for this though....true rms yada yada yada:lol:)

Postby black start » September 29th, 2014, 11:49 am

Voltage, current, resistance and continuity check is standard on most if not all multimeters

Postby nervewrecker » September 29th, 2014, 12:16 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Klein-Tools-MM100 ... uctDetails

That one you guys talking about?

or this:

http://www.amazon.com/Klein-Tools-MM200 ... multimeter

Dont see the need for auto

Seeing this one from craftsman:

http://www.amazon.com/Craftsman-34-8214 ... multimeter

but it dont look like the one I borrowed. Anyone seen kurpal anyways?

Postby supercharged turbo » September 29th, 2014, 12:27 pm