T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Ted_v2 » September 22nd, 2014, 4:37 pm

Still too much around 195k would be a pretty decent introduction for the Prius in Trinidad market

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 22nd, 2014, 4:44 pm

Just called toyota for my tuner peeps!
Prius c (baby Prius) 239k
Prius 395k
Camry hybrid 390k

These prices are laughable at best...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » September 22nd, 2014, 4:49 pm

Less than a corolla? Lol.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 22nd, 2014, 4:58 pm

Have no idea why people think hybrid and electric vehicles magically going to be cheap just cuz government removed a couple taxes

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 22nd, 2014, 5:19 pm

Wait 4 years for local mechanics to catch up to the tech and then bring in your own foreign new.

Postby Morpheus » September 22nd, 2014, 5:27 pm

drchaos wrote:Wait 4 years for local mechanics to catch up to the tech and then bring in your own foreign new.

Wha?

They catch up to GDi yet?

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » September 22nd, 2014, 8:13 pm

Actually the new mazda 3 has a hybrid option which is widely available online which when you take off the applicable taxes brings it in at under 200k. I'm seriously looking at one.
Mazda were pretty smart in that they just lifted the best hybrid tech currently available (the prius) and dropped it in to a mated skyactiv 2.0 shifter and all.
http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/mazda/3/84 ... rid-review

The goo net exchange website has quite a few and tradecarview has one or two
Please nobody buy it before I make up my mind lol

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » September 22nd, 2014, 8:18 pm

On hindsight I shouldn't have posted anything lol.
On topic though, those prius prices are ridiculous not to mention I find the car to be one of the ugliest things ever conceptualized

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 22nd, 2014, 10:41 pm

Is either the Camry price from page one need updating or something terribly wrong.

Camry
$399,000.00 2.5

Postby DVSTT » September 22nd, 2014, 11:15 pm

drchaos wrote:Just called toyota for my tuner peeps!
Prius 395k
Camry hybrid 390k

Guess we won't be seeing much local hybrids

Postby Dizzy28 » September 23rd, 2014, 9:29 am

drchaos wrote:Just called toyota for my tuner peeps!
Prius 395k
Camry hybrid 390k

The VAT and MVT off was with immediate effect? If so what were those prices looking like pre budget??

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 23rd, 2014, 11:19 am

Yes those prices had the mvt and vat off.
Confirmed when I spoke to the sales rep.

Postby janfar » September 23rd, 2014, 11:24 am

Looking at a Lexus CT 200h to bring in FU. Doubt I would ever take it to some local mech.

200k looks like the price landed. That's pretty good I think

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 23rd, 2014, 11:44 am

Remember car has to be less than 2 years old to benefit from vat and mvt removal.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 23rd, 2014, 12:38 pm

Anyone have any idea as to the lifespan of the battery packs in these hybrids. .. and who is going to recycle them after they no longer hold a proper charge.

I like to think that VW's approach of reducing engine size, reducing internal friction and charging to increase volumetric efficiency is the way to go right now. (Still not a believer in their DSG; there are reasons the traditional torque converter is being used in the amarok)

Top Gear's not so scientific test with the Prius and the M3 also shows that driving style is a major factor in saving fuel

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 23rd, 2014, 1:41 pm

DSG gives up to 15% fuel efficiency than a regular torque converter automatic. Lock up torque converters like the one mazda's have are a good compromise.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 23rd, 2014, 3:43 pm

those cars are awesome.

ill really bend when i have to do some work with the transmissions, normal cedia lancer transmission costing almost 7k to rebuild fully, i could imagine those. Then again i heard its just the clutch pack that needs changing Not a entire rebuild.
Do your research first

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 23rd, 2014, 5:12 pm

A mechatronic unit isn't just a clutch pack. ..:smile:

Have they considered bringing the 1.2 tsi or the other small tdi (1.6).... and with manual as an option.
I believe these cars are excellent with the only Achilles heel being the transmission.
I would have seriously considered one if it came in manual

Back to the batteries. .. How are we going to deal with it when it no longer properly retains a charge

Postby cinco » September 23rd, 2014, 6:00 pm

pack them in the beetham

Postby j.o.e » September 24th, 2014, 6:42 am

Sell the whole car to the man who does pass buying battery and ole iron

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 24th, 2014, 1:20 pm

Not worth it for car companies to bring in manuals.

aidan

Postby aidan » September 24th, 2014, 2:31 pm

drchaos wrote:Not worth it for car companies to bring in manuals.

So true, and so sad. If they brought some of those tdi manual VW,s that would be awesome. My last trip to the UK, i had a TDI VW Polo manual for a week, and was getting 55mpg according to the trip computer :shock:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 24th, 2014, 2:31 pm

:cry:
Such a shame

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 24th, 2014, 2:31 pm

Yep.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 24th, 2014, 4:45 pm

(Post updated). They have arrived in TT. The 2015 X-Trail. The CVT tranny killed it for me though.

$275,000.00 2.0 4x2 CVT Sense
$365,000.00 2.0 4x4 CVT Advance
$376,000.00 2.0 4x4 CVT Exclusive
$410,000.00 2.0 4x4 CVT Exclusive w/3rd Row seating (7 seater)
2014-Nissan-X-Trail-Front-Fascia.jpg
2014-Nissan-X-Trail-Front.jpg
2014-Nissan-X-Trail-Front-Side.jpg
2014-Nissan-X-Trail-Side.jpg
2014-Nissan-X-Trail-Rear.jpg
2014-Nissan-X-Trail-Interior.jpg

trishala

Postby trishala » September 24th, 2014, 6:08 pm

Very interesting

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » September 24th, 2014, 6:14 pm

if am not mistaken I saw a black today....looked about the same size as a turson

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 24th, 2014, 6:21 pm

The coming roro and new from japan already.....massy sticking

Postby DVSTT » September 24th, 2014, 6:24 pm

NorStar2K wrote:This should be in TT very soon. The CVT tranny killed it for me though.

The 2.0l 4x4 is $365,000.00

telfer

Postby telfer » September 24th, 2014, 7:00 pm

Saw it yesterday the new xtrail looks good