T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Morpheus » September 11th, 2014, 5:18 pm

And that is still too much :|

Postby 1UZFE » September 11th, 2014, 5:24 pm

Wud have thought it wud be less than d Rav4 atleast.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 11th, 2014, 6:32 pm

Morpheus wrote:And that is still too much :|

And the budget hasn't touched the MVT, so expect even higher prices.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 11th, 2014, 9:04 pm

300k for a juke competitior?and the Japanese version in 1.5 direct inject engine.

The hybrid one can be had for 29k us just pay the duty 25% and bring it Down yourself

But who go fix and maintain de damn ting.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 14th, 2014, 11:58 am

Honda's strategy is not to give you affordable cars in T&T and sell 100 of them only to make Y profit instead they prefer to sell 50 of those vehicles to achieve same Y profit. So they basically positioned the brand as a quasi luxury brand locally hence once you profile those owners you realise they are from a certain class/community. Otherwise bland vehicle appliances I am sure Whirlpool and Kenmore had a part to play in its design/manufacture.

Toyota's strategy is one thing only. Appeal to a certain kind of people and the Govt and they will make their targets regardless the price only because its a Toyota and yes about the part with Whirlpool and Kenmore.

Nissan appeals to a people who believe in the availability of parts in the bamboo. They also appeal to people who think car ownership is a chore so its critical to while buying a Kiss bread by the parlour Sunday evening for the new work weak ahead, he/she should be able to price spark plugs, filters, shocks and bushings one time and maybe buy it all under the same shop. They also appeal to the alternative public transportation crowd and those who have a love affair with chromes, lots of ICE and the mandatory cut springs.

Mitsubishi appeals to those who believe in an alternative car to make you happy. Almost as cultish as the Honda fanboys who ride on the EVO fame and the true MIVEC engines from the past which is not what we have today ie. a simple VVT. Mitsubishi has not been appealing to anyone really lately and the overall sales numbers worldwide shows. I am not sure if Mitsubishi has any plans whatsoever to at least widen their line-up. It appears the world doesn't care about Mitsubishi anymore and they don't care about the world either.

Mazda. 14 yrs ago we associate some form of zoom zoom with them yet they axed the RX8 and the Mazdaspeed line and give us a new 3 with a MZR 1.6 engine with enough HP and torque to make a donkey cart blush. Now we are left with the newly developed 4th gen MX-5 Miata and the watered down 3 we get locally and a stunning 2.5 6 we get as an option. Mazda's has always been excellent handling and good looking cars only to distress owners with that ^&*%$#@! dealership.

Suzuki's stronghold has always been to be cheap. They are so cheap they'll make Hyundai/Kia feel like expensive European cars. At least they don't dig out the buyers eye because the cheapness is translated in its pricing strategy. Otherwise they're fun and zippy vehicles and sadly its true SUV would not be with us for long.

Subarus are similar to Mitsubishi and Mazda for making good looking and fun cars to drive. Lately, both Subaru and Mazda has been focusing on safety and the crash test results shows. Locally however, they appeal to a very niche buyer within the niche market and they're ridiculously priced and they sell slower than Caterpillar tractors.

I don't think those comments are approved by the T&T Japanese embassy.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » September 14th, 2014, 12:31 pm

^^ nice synopsis

Postby j.o.e » September 14th, 2014, 3:20 pm

Except the Mazda part about axing Rx-8 and Mazdaspeed......the Mazdaspeed line is always introduced a couple yrs AFTER the model change...and the Rx-8 was a failure because of its inability to keep up with emissions and poor reliability.....everything else falls on the local dealership shoulders. Also engine tax doesn't allow Mazda to be a performance option in Trinidad.....they still rely on displacement for power

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » September 14th, 2014, 8:23 pm

acesinghit wrote:Honda's strategy is not to give you affordable cars in T&T and sell 100 of them only to make Y profit instead they prefer to sell 50 of those vehicles to achieve same Y profit. So they basically positioned the brand as a quasi luxury brand locally hence once you profile those owners you realise they are from a certain class/community. Otherwise bland vehicle appliances I am sure Whirlpool and Kenmore had a part to play in its design/manufacture.

Toyota's strategy is one thing only. Appeal to a certain kind of people and the Govt and they will make their targets regardless the price only because its a Toyota and yes about the part with Whirlpool and Kenmore.

Nissan appeals to a people who believe in the availability of parts in the bamboo. They also appeal to people who think car ownership is a chore so its critical to while buying a Kiss bread by the parlour Sunday evening for the new work weak ahead, he/she should be able to price spark plugs, filters, shocks and bushings one time and maybe buy it all under the same shop. They also appeal to the alternative public transportation crowd and those who have a love affair with chromes, lots of ICE and the mandatory cut springs.

Mitsubishi appeals to those who believe in an alternative car to make you happy. Almost as cultish as the Honda fanboys who ride on the EVO fame and the true MIVEC engines from the past which is not what we have today ie. a simple VVT. Mitsubishi has not been appealing to anyone really lately and the overall sales numbers worldwide shows. I am not sure if Mitsubishi has any plans whatsoever to at least widen their line-up. It appears the world doesn't care about Mitsubishi anymore and they don't care about the world either.

Mazda. 14 yrs ago we associate some form of zoom zoom with them yet they axed the RX8 and the Mazdaspeed line and give us a new 3 with a MZR 1.6 engine with enough HP and torque to make a donkey cart blush. Now we are left with the newly developed 4th gen MX-5 Miata and the watered down 3 we get locally and a stunning 2.5 6 we get as an option. Mazda's has always been excellent handling and good looking cars only to distress owners with that ^&*%$#@! dealership.

Suzuki's stronghold has always been to be cheap. They are so cheap they'll make Hyundai/Kia feel like expensive European cars. At least they don't dig out the buyers eye because the cheapness is translated in its pricing strategy. Otherwise they're fun and zippy vehicles and sadly its true SUV would not be with us for long.

Subarus are similar to Mitsubishi and Mazda for making good looking and fun cars to drive. Lately, both Subaru and Mazda has been focusing on safety and the crash test results shows. Locally however, they appeal to a very niche buyer within the niche market and they're ridiculously priced and they sell slower than Caterpillar tractors.

I don't think those comments are approved by the T&T Japanese embassy.

You Sir have won the internet today! :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 14th, 2014, 9:41 pm

Honda strategy has failed hence the fact that their prices have fallen across their whole line up.

Dred insight :)

aidan

Postby aidan » September 14th, 2014, 10:45 pm

acesinghit wrote:

gotta disagree with you there, my ole basic 2004 grand vitara more reliable and less rattly than meh 2011 company maintained santa fe (or as i like to call it, santa flee, since you should flee from buying one)

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 14th, 2014, 10:51 pm

^those vitaras are strong imo..its also RWD unlike most other suv in its class

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 14th, 2014, 11:17 pm

Honda...Agree with above
Toyota...If it ain't broke don't fix it
Nissan...If it is broke, fix it for cheap
Mitsubishi...Glory days are passing by
Mazda...Setting the benchmark in design for Econoboxes currently
Suzuki...Very good small vehicles
Subaru...Most bland styling of any car, until recent
Hyundai/Kia...Has come a long way in the last ~10yrs

Now RWD is fun; I don't see it as an advantage in SUVs though.
A driveshaft to the back and the diff are extra service items. It also costs cabin space as a hump is needed to clear the shaft.
Car control is up to the driver but it is easier, for me, to control the front end with the gas pedal than the rear currently. :)

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 14th, 2014, 11:50 pm

aidan wrote:
acesinghit wrote:

gotta disagree with you there, my ole basic 2004 grand vitara more reliable and less rattly than meh 2011 company maintained santa fe (or as i like to call it, santa flee, since you should flee from buying one)

There's only 2 SUVs I'll buy in that class and it will be the sgv 2.4 for 339k and the xtrail 2.5 for 360k. Rofl on the Santa flee though :lol:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 15th, 2014, 12:02 am

What problems are you experiencing with the santa fe.
I have driven the turbo diesel and that suv moves; the current model that is.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 15th, 2014, 12:39 am

Calor wrote:^those vitaras are strong imo..its also RWD unlike most other suv in its class

Only the drivetrain on the base 5-door 2WD model is RWD, all the other models including the 3-door are full-time 4WD.

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 15th, 2014, 8:06 am

@acesinghit...parts for the T31 xtrail aint cheap...$5k for a cradle at the dealership...mine needed changing at 40k kms..was told the cause being faulty subframe bushings...also with the QR25 the pulley had to be changed which cost another couple thousand..then the some part in the steering.

Since renault took over nissan..things seem to have gone downhill imo

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » September 15th, 2014, 10:39 am

and Renault is a big brand in Europe :?

lancerboss22

Postby lancerboss22 » September 15th, 2014, 11:19 am

Anyone know whats the installments u will pay for a new corolla for 6 or 7 years??

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 15th, 2014, 2:03 pm

lancerboss22 wrote:Anyone know whats the installments u will pay for a new corolla for 6 or 7 years??

It would depend on the model's cost (GLi/XLi), down-payment, interest rate, whether the monthly instalments are calculated on the reducing balance (amortization), banks charges, loan duration, legal fees and the financing entity's policies (bank, credit union, finance company).
If you know the cost, DP and interest rate, I can give you a ball-park figure.

Postby MG Man » September 15th, 2014, 2:19 pm

lancerboss22 wrote:Anyone know whats the installments u will pay for a new corolla for 6 or 7 years??

why would you straddle a car loan for 6-7 years??? I really don't understand the logic here

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 15th, 2014, 2:26 pm

why would you straddle a car loan for 6-7 years??? I really don't understand the logic here

Agreed MG, but for many its the only option. Some financial institutions are offering up to 8 years.

Postby noshownogo » September 15th, 2014, 3:40 pm

I better be living in it if I paying for it for 96 months

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » September 15th, 2014, 7:16 pm

A 6 yr loan as opposed to a 5 year loan makes perfect sense for some people. For a 150k loan it's a difference of 500 a month which could be used for more everyday expenses.

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2014, 7:43 pm

the fact is that some people can only afford 6-7 year loans

same way allyuh want to know why they taking 6-7 year loans, other people are looking at you and wondering why you buying a car on the whole if you need to take a loan to buy it

lancerboss22

Postby lancerboss22 » September 15th, 2014, 11:04 pm

A new car worth 190k what will be the installments rate true the credit union?j

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » September 16th, 2014, 5:07 am

lancerboss22 wrote:A new car worth 190k what will be the installments rate true the credit union?j

Are you borrowing all 190? How long are you taking the loan for? Stop asking stupid questions and use this-
http://www.bankrate.com/calculators/aut ... lator.aspx
Use this

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 16th, 2014, 7:15 am

Heard it on the radio this AM

BMW X6 and 1 series have a special offer 5 year/100,000 Km warranty and 5 years free maintenance. Sounds like a steal of a deal since the service and parts are pretty expensive.

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » September 16th, 2014, 7:25 am

drchaos wrote:Heard it on the radio this AM

BMW X6 and 1 series have a special offer 5 year/100,000 Km warranty and 5 years free maintenance. Sounds like a steal of a deal since the service and parts are pretty expensive.

What's the price of a regular service for the X1 and X6? As in the service for a regular oil and oil filter change.

kidcamby

Postby kidcamby » September 16th, 2014, 1:43 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:the fact is that some people can only afford 6-7 year loans

same way allyuh want to know why they taking 6-7 year loans, other people are looking at you and wondering why you buying a car on the whole if you need to take a loan to buy it

Well Said Buddy......ppls financial circumstances differ......what they supposed to do? Give up on owning a vehicle?!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 16th, 2014, 2:37 pm

They can buy roro ... No shame is going foreign used, had only good experiences.