$100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trinidad

mars

Re: $100M Cocaine bust at Port of Norfolk, VA linked to Trin

Postby mars » September 4th, 2014, 10:56 pm

brams112 wrote:Most narco subs travel close to the surface because the drug lords are yet to get guys to build a submarine to make the full journey up to now.Recently a fully built submarine was discovered in a jungle almost ready for its maiden trip.

Find this hard to believe - if anyone has the $$$ to build or buy proper sub its the drug guys! In the '90s the Colombian cartels were making more money that the defense budgets of the US and Russia COMBINED!

Postby S_2NR » September 4th, 2014, 11:04 pm

mars wrote:
brams112 wrote:Most narco subs travel close to the surface because the drug lords are yet to get guys to build a submarine to make the full journey up to now.Recently a fully built submarine was discovered in a jungle almost ready for its maiden trip.

Find this hard to believe - if anyone has the $$$ to build or buy proper sub its the drug guys! In the '90s the Colombian cartels were making more money that the defense budgets of the US and Russia COMBINED!

Umm..where did he even mention money? :|

Postby zoom rader » September 4th, 2014, 11:06 pm

Habit7 wrote:
eliteauto wrote:actually radar had nothing to do with that bust, what is the status of the radar system now?
it probably didnt, who knows...

The only reason we got here is UML's attempt to deflect from the PM's error in policy in stating that the war is on land and not on sea. If Mervin Cordner is right, drug subs operating here with impunity for a while now.

Not even the mighty USA can detect these semi subs. They only found one by luck and chance on the high seas. What makes you think TT can finds these. They are very hard to find as they are made from fibreglass and and not really submarines. They skim the surface of the sea and no Radar can pick them up.
There was a National Geographic documentary on this a while back . They estimate they have been in operation for 10 years now and its a one time use only semi sub. They sink these subs after a drop off.

Postby eliteauto » September 4th, 2014, 11:09 pm

AYE!!!!! look a good man reach dey, a knowledgeable fellow with knowledge about the inner workings of the political parties
Zoom help out a non-degreed fella nah.... shine some light on the downtrodden (ah now look up that word eh so I eh know if it correct)

eliteauto wrote:
UML wrote:
Habit7 wrote:"The country is not at war out in the seas; the country is at war on the ground..."

MP SC Kamla Persad-Bissessar

Griffith: OPVs useless against drug subs
National Security Minister Gary Griffith said T&T had the capability to track and intercept drug submarines in its territorial waters. However, he said, he could not divulge the technology available to local security forces. Griffith added that offshore patrol vessels (OPVs) would not have been able to deal with incursions by drug submarines.

“It emphasises my point about the illogical comments made by a few that if we had three defective OPVs it would stop the flow of illegal drugs and weapons. One hundred OPVs would be useless. The critical operational policies required are not defective 90-metre vessels in deep waters but exactly what we have done, reigniting the security co-operation agreement with Venezuela and Colombia,” he said.

“There is now better sharing [of] information being turned to intelligence upon which heavier deterrents are implemented and national security resources can be streamlined in the appropriate position.”

my question is, has this co-operation netted any tangible results? What about the promised/proposed boats from
a) Colombia-
http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,169339.html
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gov ... 31441.html
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Col ... 03701.html

b) China-
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Chi ... 51311.html

given that boats are known to transport narcotics and the firearms that come with it what is our status re: naval border protection?

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 4th, 2014, 11:33 pm

mars wrote:

many subs make the full trip to the US

also the cartel drug subs were designed by russian naval engineers

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 5th, 2014, 5:43 am

kjaglal76v2 wrote:. . .also the cartel drug subs were designed by russian naval engineers

If that were so, then they would be equipped with caterpillar drive propulsion systems.

Postby zoom rader » September 5th, 2014, 6:57 am

eliteauto wrote:AYE!!!!! look a good man reach dey, a knowledgeable fellow with knowledge about the inner workings of the political parties
Zoom help out a non-degreed fella nah.... shine some light on the downtrodden (ah now look up that word eh so I eh know if it correct)

eliteauto wrote:
UML wrote:
Habit7 wrote:"The country is not at war out in the seas; the country is at war on the ground..."

Griffith: OPVs useless against drug subs
National Security Minister Gary Griffith said T&T had the capability to track and intercept drug submarines in its territorial waters. However, he said, he could not divulge the technology available to local security forces. Griffith added that offshore patrol vessels (OPVs) would not have been able to deal with incursions by drug submarines.

“It emphasises my point about the illogical comments made by a few that if we had three defective OPVs it would stop the flow of illegal drugs and weapons. One hundred OPVs would be useless. The critical operational policies required are not defective 90-metre vessels in deep waters but exactly what we have done, reigniting the security co-operation agreement with Venezuela and Colombia,” he said.

“There is now better sharing [of] information being turned to intelligence upon which heavier deterrents are implemented and national security resources can be streamlined in the appropriate position.”

my question is, has this co-operation netted any tangible results? What about the promised/proposed boats from
a) Colombia-
http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,169339.html
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gov ... 31441.html
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Col ... 03701.html

b) China-
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Chi ... 51311.html

given that boats are known to transport narcotics and the firearms that come with it what is our status re: naval border protection?

Trini can have the best boats, ships and equipment for protecting out shores but at this stage our work culture stinks.

Having all these things means jack chit when you have a workforce that don't care to put out 100% in being productive.
To many lazy arse ppl just looking for a pay check and who can pay them higher.

The US has the best equipment to fight drugs and crime but are they successful.
What makes you all think that TT can do any better with our current work force.
The Royal Navy patrols the caribbean seas for drug opps with regional authorities and their detection rate is still low.

You all on here speak as if having all these toys will put a dent on drug crime.

Trinis are nasty, rotten and corrupt ppl. This drug business did not happen overnight it was allowed to fester and grow since the early 1980s because the higher up needs to make money.

Having boats means jack chit when the workforce is corrupt .

Postby Habit7 » September 5th, 2014, 7:33 am

brams112 wrote:
pete wrote:Why does the helicopter need to land and refuel on a vessel? Why not make an arrangement with /build a heliport in galeota to do refuelling? How far offshore do you think they should go?

I am sure he can't answer that one,the coast guards need to do their jobs properly that is all,anyways we don't have a huge maritime border to warrant a ship capable of servicing or transporting a chopper ent?Most narco subs travel close to the surface because the drug lords are yet to get guys to build a submarine to make the full journey up to now.Recently a fully built submarine was discovered in a jungle almost ready for its maiden trip.

Helicopters have a limited range and speed when compare to a fixed wing aircraft. The benefit comes with hovering and maneuverability. While our western borders are near, our eastern borders extend up to 150nm. Therefore with a Sikorsky S-76's range of 411nm, in order to perform a sortie at the fullest extend of our boundaries, 75% of the fuel is getting there and back from land based fuel station. A mobile fueling platform tremendously improves operation time and reduces mobilization. Furthermore we can't just patrol our house alone we need to secure the neighbourhood otherwise the drugs will just be transshipped.

While most narco subs are really semisubmersibles, it is easier to spot it from the air and use helicopters to rappel in and stop them from scuttling it http://www.reuters.com/article/2008/07/ ... 8420080718

I remember on an radio interview, Subhas Panday now removed from Cabinet secrecy revealed that Brig. Sandy demanded at least one OPV, but Mr. Griffith convinced the PM not to. Now Griffith goes around saying the S-76 bought for the OPVs not good and they can't operate in blackouts. Nevertheless, after 4 of the nations biggest budgets ever, we are yet to improve out fleet.

Postby pioneer » September 7th, 2014, 1:42 am

If I posted this on UNC fb group they would delete it so fast

http://drugtrade.wordpress.com/

Postby Redman » September 7th, 2014, 3:29 pm

If we are a TRANSSHIPMENT POINT then the drugs that do come in are for mainly export the US /Euro

We have 1 airport,and a couple ports that handle that type of outgoing cargo.

We dont have to patrol the high seas looking for the subs,go fasts etc-we know where they coming.

If we were to lock down the export points...screening ALL containerized cargo and flights leaving
-it wouldnt make sense to bring coke/guns in...

Pretty soon the coke bypassing us..cuz it cant get out.

I dont really care if the coke passing around, away from or over TnT on its way to the end user.

We dont have to spend money to interdict coke that ent landing on our shores.

If the coke cant leave ...they wouldnt send it here in the first place.

So search the bottle neck that the 5000 sq KM island is.

Since the technology to indeed screen ALL cargo entering and leaving through the legitimate see and air ports has been locally available since about 2010/11 the reason that we still fighting this problem is not one of capability...but one of political will......

Like it make a difference which party in power-THAT business remains un affected.

Postby pioneer » September 7th, 2014, 3:31 pm

Read the blog above and understand how deep-rooted this chit is. The system is rotten to the core, which customs officer gonna blow ah whistle on a large shipment?

Anyhow congrats trinidad, the mexicans runnin tings now.

Robbie would be proud.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 7th, 2014, 4:38 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:. . .also the cartel drug subs were designed by russian naval engineers

If that were so, then they would be equipped with caterpillar drive propulsion systems.

cool story bro

Postby RASC » September 7th, 2014, 5:36 pm

Islamic State is to Moderate Muslims as The illegal Drug Trade is to UNC members.

/Fin

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 7th, 2014, 7:03 pm

yet golden grove filled with tribe members

Postby UML » September 7th, 2014, 8:56 pm

Habit7 wrote:
brams112 wrote:
pete wrote:Why does the helicopter need to land and refuel on a vessel? Why not make an arrangement with /build a heliport in galeota to do refuelling? How far offshore do you think they should go?

I am sure he can't answer that one,the coast guards need to do their jobs properly that is all,anyways we don't have a huge maritime border to warrant a ship capable of servicing or transporting a chopper ent?Most narco subs travel close to the surface because the drug lords are yet to get guys to build a submarine to make the full journey up to now.Recently a fully built submarine was discovered in a jungle almost ready for its maiden trip.

Helicopters have a limited range and speed when compare to a fixed wing aircraft. The benefit comes with hovering and maneuverability. While our western borders are near, our eastern borders extend up to 150nm. Therefore with a Sikorsky S-76's range of 411nm, in order to perform a sortie at the fullest extend of our boundaries, 75% of the fuel is getting there and back from land based fuel station. A mobile fueling platform tremendously improves operation time and reduces mobilization. Furthermore we can't just patrol our house alone we need to secure the neighbourhood otherwise the drugs will just be transshipped.

While most narco subs are really semisubmersibles, it is easier to spot it from the air and use helicopters to rappel in and stop them from scuttling it http://www.reuters.com/article/2008/07/ ... 8420080718

I remember on an radio interview, Subhas Panday now removed from Cabinet secrecy revealed that Brig. Sandy demanded at least one OPV, but Mr. Griffith convinced the PM not to. Now Griffith goes around saying the S-76 bought for the OPVs not good and they can't operate in blackouts. Nevertheless, after 4 of the nations biggest budgets ever, we are yet to improve out fleet.

You talking out ur ass....u ever watch an open ocean from the air and see something in the water? Steups shut up and let ppl tink yuh chupid and not know yuh chupid nah.
Redman wrote:If we are a TRANSSHIPMENT POINT then the drugs that do come in are for mainly export the US /Euro

We have 1 airport,and a couple ports that handle that type of outgoing cargo.

We dont have to patrol the high seas looking for the subs,go fasts etc-we know where they coming.

If we were to lock down the export points...screening ALL containerized cargo and flights leaving
-it wouldnt make sense to bring coke/guns in...

Pretty soon the coke bypassing us..cuz it cant get out.

I dont really care if the coke passing around, away from or over TnT on its way to the end user.

We dont have to spend money to interdict coke that ent landing on our shores.

If the coke cant leave ...they wouldnt send it here in the first place.

Since the technology to indeed screen ALL cargo entering and leaving through the legitimate see and air ports has been locally available since about 2010/11 the reason that we still fighting this problem is not one of capability...but one of political will.....
Like it make a difference which party in power-THAT business remains un affected.

I cudnt read all dat nonsense nah.

Coke passes through leaves guns.

U guarding the border who guarding icacos cedros Mayaro down the islands Carli bay felicity caroni etc? U don't have to be a port to bring in and export drugs costatt grad!!!
Last edited by UML on September 8th, 2014, 5:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » September 7th, 2014, 9:10 pm

Who laundering the money?

Has FIU charged anyone since inception?...or are they just highly paid coffee sippers?

Postby Redman » September 8th, 2014, 7:34 am

I cudnt read all dat nonsense nah.

Coke passes through leaves guns.

U guarding the border who guarding icacos cedros Mayaro down the islands Carli bay felicity caroni etc? U don't have to be a port to bring in and export drugs costatt grad!!!

[/quote]

You havent read it but you comment on it?

That would explain the crap that you post.

As I said.

Last I checked the areas you called are part of the island.

Postby Habit7 » September 8th, 2014, 8:09 am

UML wrote:You talking out ur ass....u ever watch an open ocean from the air and see something in the water? Steups shut up and let ppl tink yuh chupid and not know yuh chupid nah.

We'll most times I see water from air, and I'm sure you can attest to this, we are 35000ft above it.

I would like to believe with good sense the governments of Malaysia and Australia sent planes the look for the wreckage of flight MH370 chose not to fly at the altitude of commercial jetliners but from an altitude where you can see a partially floating piece of fuselage, much like a semisubmersible.

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 8th, 2014, 9:23 am

Only people who have the power to stop laundering is the BIR, but they so corrupt and disorganised that laundering will continue to flourish.

Both governments know this and still will not reform the Tax authority. Good ole Patrick called an election right before he was about to do it

The FIU has 1000s of cases for review but I think is the DPP who has to give the go for investigation some one may need to clarify

Postby UML » September 8th, 2014, 10:58 am

“It will accommodate an additional seven berths which will enable T&T to participate in logistics activity in the wider Caribbean region,” the minister said. He added that it has already become a “dedicated berth for the T&T Coast Guard” and will benefit energy companies.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-09- ... nal-growth

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 8th, 2014, 1:03 pm

actually the coast guard getting 2

Jahflame

Postby Jahflame » September 9th, 2014, 9:02 am

There is one constant element that will always conquer any and every system that was or will be implemented. The human element. As long as there are individuals in our protective services that can be bought, we will never see an end to the drug trade.

Postby brams112 » September 9th, 2014, 6:56 pm

Jahflame wrote:There is one constant element that will always conquer any and every system that was or will be implemented. The human element. As long as there are individuals in our protective services that can be bought, we will never see an end to the drug trade.

Nah flame,opv's equipped with firepower and a helipad,alone will stop the trade,ent some men on this topic saying so.As I said the ones who are supposed to do their jobs not doing it.

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2014, 7:58 pm

We could have 10 OPV's with all kinda helipad, when CG get orders from above to stand down during an interception, what they supposed to do?

Postby brams112 » September 9th, 2014, 8:13 pm

pioneer wrote:We could have 10 OPV's with all kinda helipad, when CG get orders from above to stand down during an interception, what they supposed to do?

Put their tail between their legs and push off the man who they suspect will talk overboard in the middle of the night in the gran bocas and leave him there.

Postby pioneer » September 9th, 2014, 8:16 pm

You clearly don't understand military protocol.

Jahflame

Postby Jahflame » September 10th, 2014, 10:51 am

To make a long story short, crime will NEVER end. The flaw in all systems will always be the human element. We are largely corruptible and I believe 99% of us have a price, whether we like to admit it or not.

Postby UML » September 26th, 2014, 2:34 pm

$1,000,000,000TT in cocaine seized by Irish navy on yacht from Trinidad via Venezuela.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... -crew.html

Postby Habit7 » September 26th, 2014, 3:08 pm

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » November 22nd, 2015, 4:35 pm

Over a year later and nothing, Not surprised....