PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Spitfir3 » August 29th, 2014, 11:52 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Anyone can tell me what's the best deal on a monitor now?

Still looking for one. Rebuilt my pc and used back a old screen.

you can get monitors all over pretty cheap wizz/supertech
they stock mostly aoc which imo works really well, from what ive seen most monitor brands work well the only bran i'd say to stay away from is Hp

from my own experience HP monitors have the highest failure rate/shortest life span

Postby Ted_v2 » August 30th, 2014, 12:40 am

Looking for 17-24"
hdmi and VGA inputs.

actually looking at some tvs right now, seems like the better buy.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 30th, 2014, 12:49 am

Nowadays a monitor feels ancient without HDMI

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 30th, 2014, 1:09 am

That long tedious process of installing updates after you Re-install windows :/

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 30th, 2014, 1:25 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Nowadays a monitor feels ancient without HDMI

Not really unless you plan on using it to display for another device that supports it or your monitor has speakers(hardly anyone ever uses the speakers on their monitor because they tend to suck)

Only used the HDMI port on my monitor like once :lol: All the other times I use a DVI cable

HCCA wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:^Have you benched it and seen any differences as opposed to it @ stock in terms of performance???

From what I saw it was really Gigabyte users complaining of OCing issues

What kinda board you ordered btw???

I think so, will have to power up d pc and check the links/screenshots.

Got this one ebay via auction (was playing d a$$ and actually won):

http://www.asrock.com/mb/intel/z77%20pro3/

Basic features but i eh into sli/xfire again, just wanted a z77 chipset to see where the overclocking problem lies.

Was looking for a cheap cpu on ebay too and won this board in d auction(was a combo):

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77%20Pro4-M/

So i have two test boards now :lol:

Nice.Heard that those Asrock boards perform really well 8-)

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 7th, 2014, 11:55 pm

guys i bought 2 r9 280x vapor x gpus but after doing some reading i think it may actually be a little overkill you think i should keep both or sell one of them?
http://www.amazon.com/Sapphire-VAPOR-X-PCI-Express-Graphics-11221-02-40G/dp/B00FLMKR32/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=undefined&sr=1-2&keywords=r9+280x+vapor-x

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 8th, 2014, 11:23 am

^ Well considering that 1 R9 280X can run basically every game out for PC right now, you won't need a second. But if you want to future proof your PC for the next 5 years or so, you should keep the both.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » September 8th, 2014, 11:29 am

It's not overkill if you plan to go to 4k in the near future. It might not even be overkill for some games @1440p.

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 8th, 2014, 2:30 pm

Hmmmm well I'll wait till they arrive probably next week and see how one performs and then decide I guess so heads up if anyone is interested if I sell it. I'm very excited lol last cards I bought was my 2 5870s

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 11th, 2014, 4:13 pm

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 11th, 2014, 7:53 pm

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 11th, 2014, 10:46 pm

Nice little motherboard. But if you going DDR4, 4GB modules is a waste of time and space.

Although seeing the Kingston 16GB modules, I wouldn't mind doubling my RAM to 128Gigs.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 12th, 2014, 11:16 am

The max RAM that motherboard can hold is 64gb (8gb x 8 ). :(
Last edited by Cross Blood on September 12th, 2014, 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » September 12th, 2014, 12:23 pm

Fellas looking to build a custom BUDGET rig..i dont have time to play games alot due to work and school..but when i on vaca does be real bored...looking to build one from scratch any guidance would be nice, place to get parts, prices, and any other tips.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 12th, 2014, 12:32 pm

Cross Blood wrote:The max RAM that motherboard can hold is 64gb (8gb x 8). :(

Mine is a Asus P9X79 WS. The BIOS that is currently in beta allows 128GBs.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 12th, 2014, 12:58 pm

moses_boss12 wrote:Fellas looking to build a custom BUDGET rig..i dont have time to play games alot due to work and school..but when i on vaca does be real bored...looking to build one from scratch any guidance would be nice, place to get parts, prices, and any other tips.

What games you play?

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 12th, 2014, 1:25 pm

moses_boss12 wrote:Fellas looking to build a custom BUDGET rig..i dont have time to play games alot due to work and school..but when i on vaca does be real bored...looking to build one from scratch any guidance would be nice, place to get parts, prices, and any other tips.

For a budget rig, I would recommend these parts:

Generic ATX case: $175
Thermaltake TR2 600W Power Supply: $525.00
Gigabyte GA-970A-D3P: $600 after shipping from Amazon
3 x 2gb DDR3 Kingston Ram: $600
AMD FX-6300: $750 after shipping from Amazon
TOSHIBA 500GB SATA 3.5 HDD: $375.00
Nvidia GTX 660: $1350 after shipping from Amazon
$100 on accessories like fans, etc.
Total: $4475

The parts without the "shipping from Amazon" can be sourced at either Supertech or The Wizz Computers.
When you finish, you sure to run Battlefield 4 on high flawless with manageable FPS.
If you can't afford it, you can source used similar parts on the misc. forum to save some cash.

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » September 12th, 2014, 1:25 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:

What games you play?

It has been awhile i actually played a game..but things like cod, bf, nfs,halo, crysis,devil may cry, assains creed..lolz i guess you get the kinds i am into..not so much a sports man per say will occasionally play a lil fifa

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 12th, 2014, 1:27 pm

DTAC wrote:

I guess they might release a BIOS for this board to run 128gbs then.

Postby Spitfir3 » September 12th, 2014, 3:08 pm

DTAC wrote:

and here i am thinking 16gb is overkill :|

moses_boss12 what is your budget?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 12th, 2014, 8:39 pm

Just did a match on the Fifa 15 Demo

Gfx is a pos even on maxed.

Next gen aint even all that

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 12th, 2014, 11:56 pm

Cross Blood wrote:

Gigabyte GA-970A-D3P: $600 after shipping from Amazon (Cheapest board you can find in supertech that can suppo)

The parts without the "shipping from Amazon" can be sourced at either Supertech or The Wizz Computers.
When you finish, you sure to run Battlefield 4 on high flawless with manageable FPS.
If you can't afford it, you can source used similar parts on the misc. forum to save some cash.

for the games he now list there, that might be a lil overkill lol

he is an occasional gamer so it doh make sense buying GTX 660 an ting
supertech have a GT400 series for $500 or sumn, that good enough

They have some good CPU/motherboard combos too

Postby Spitfir3 » September 13th, 2014, 1:35 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Cross Blood wrote:

Gigabyte GA-970A-D3P: $600 after shipping from Amazon (Cheapest board you can find in supertech that can suppo)

thats a decent build but since the guy didn't state a budget in case hes looking for something cheaper i would make these small changes

Gigabyte GA-970A-D3P: $600 after shipping from Amazon
3 2x 4gb ddr3 kingston ram its the bess cheapest ram you can get
AMD FX-6300: $750 after shipping from Amazon- any amd quad core processor should suffice
r7 260x best card for the $$ right now and it can be had for $125us

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » September 13th, 2014, 2:32 am

You could even go with a integrated graphics and coming down to holidays when you going to run game, you could get a discrete graphics card.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 13th, 2014, 3:24 am

I have run into reliability problems with AMD systems lately.
My Intel budget suggestion would be to get an
Intel Core I3-4150 CPU with a H81 or B85 board (processor is like $10 US more expensive than the Fx-6300 and you can pick any LGA 1150 board to use it with)
8Gb Ram (2 x 4GB sticks)
The suggestions for the other components above are decent, and your budget will dictate which parts you get.
whatever you decide...please get at least 8GB of RAM.

Tomshardware has good articles regarding System Component selection for Budget systems and above
Have a read :)

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 13th, 2014, 9:34 am

Amd has never failed me.....both laptop and desktop and im an uncertified builder

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » September 13th, 2014, 10:29 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Cross Blood wrote:

Wow thanx fellas would check supertech...my budget was around $4000 but I guess I could make that push. ..already have a case from my previous set up.a 4gb ddr3 ram a dvd drive..hard drive I had not working I think. .so wanted to get a ssd drive anybody could quote the price of one...and if I swapped out the amd and got intel core i5 what would be the cost of that. ....already have the fan and sata cords from my old system. ..have a next board when I go home will post a pic to see what if you guys could shed some light on it..

Thanks alot again

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 13th, 2014, 10:54 am

Ssd prices locally are plain and absolute robbery, if you dont have a skybox have someone order it for you

Postby Spitfir3 » September 13th, 2014, 11:19 am

add another 4gb ddr3 to your rig for 8gb total

cheapest you might get an ssd for locally is around $650 for a 120gb-supertech..you can get it for cheaper on amazon

if you intend to go the intel route be prepared to spend more an i5 is like $1500 processor alone..an intel board for it would be around $400

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 13th, 2014, 12:33 pm

@moses_boss12 .. So far everyone gave you excellent advice. I suggested the AMD CPU because it was a one of the "best bang for buck" CPUs. But if you can spend some more, the Intel would fit in nice.