Narco Trafficking in Trinidad

Re: Drug Trade keeping Real Estate prices up...do you agree?

Postby Habit7 » March 23rd, 2013, 9:41 am

SQUATTING keeps real estate prices high

Postby Ted_v2 » March 23rd, 2013, 9:51 am

pioneer wrote:Ole indian people were wise, instead of buying benz and royal saloon back in de days...they bought parcels of land for a few hundred dollars with every bit of cash they had and continued riding donkey cart or bicycle to work.

Everyone laughed

Today that same land is worth millions

People who laugh now hadda beg bank for loan.

this man speaks sense.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 23rd, 2013, 3:43 pm

Habit7 wrote:SQUATTING keeps real estate prices high

How?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » March 23rd, 2013, 4:00 pm

Rooki3 wrote:all i saying nobody really have d right to complain, "hard times" only exist to those who wants to be there, property prices locally is "OK" esp for the kinda $$ that floating around

outside of laventille ...where in trinidad property prices are ok?

please define "OK"

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 5th, 2013, 12:27 pm

Theres currently a GLUT of town houses along the NW corridor that are empty, purchased years ago by mysterious buyers and recently formed companies.
To date many of these are STILL empty and prices are not coming down.

I truly do not know how young people on average incomes can afford 2 bedroom concrete town houses at 1.9-2.3 million without signing their life to the bank for the next 20 years

trailmaker

Postby trailmaker » April 5th, 2013, 12:38 pm

I think is all about real sacrifice. Unlike our forefathers some of us consider our selves to very comfortable and choose to not invest wisely.

On the other hand according to circumstance some people may have more hurdles to cross but I beleive with the right frame of mind we can acheive home owner ship.

Postby pete » April 5th, 2013, 1:11 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:Theres currently a GLUT of town houses along the NW corridor that are empty, purchased years ago by mysterious buyers and recently formed companies.
To date many of these are STILL empty and prices are not coming down.

I truly do not know how young people on average incomes can afford 2 bedroom concrete town houses at 1.9-2.3 million without signing their life to the bank for the next 20 years

You sure that "on paper" they're not being rented out for 10,20, 100k/month?

Stayed at a guest house in Mayaro last year, paying by the day. From one day to the next the receipt number went up by 7 and only one apartment was being rented. Went back the next week and it had jumped up by 50.

When I saw that I thought how easy it would be to wash money in an operation like that.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 5th, 2013, 1:19 pm

Yes Pete , one time we had some equipment storage /rental in a particular high income development. We visited several times over the period of 6 months . A particular house had changed "owners" at least 4 times in that period. The house was sometimes painted over but the price of the house had increased by a few hundred thousand , a few times over that period .
Last edited by cornfused on April 5th, 2013, 10:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby teems1 » April 5th, 2013, 1:32 pm

It all stemmed from the boom of renting of houses to expats in the last decade.

Rent overnight went from being quoted in TTD to USD. With all that extra money, persons were able to pay off their current mortgage and build/buy elsewhere at inflated prices.

The rest of the country is now catching up to the west.

Postby pete » April 5th, 2013, 2:40 pm

You *have* to pay PAYE on rent collected? Or it's like them doubles men, tax free income?

Re: Narco Trafficking in Trinidad

Postby pioneer » September 7th, 2014, 1:46 am

Even more reading here:

http://drugtrade.wordpress.com/

Postby pioneer » September 27th, 2014, 9:32 pm

politicians would deny this

Postby pioneer » September 27th, 2014, 10:06 pm

CoP responds

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » September 27th, 2014, 10:31 pm

Like tuner is a side work for you.

Postby pioneer » September 27th, 2014, 10:42 pm

Hobby.

Postby rfari » September 28th, 2014, 4:23 am

Good links OP

caglowe

Postby caglowe » September 28th, 2014, 5:18 am

Good read

Postby janfar » September 28th, 2014, 8:05 am

This here thread. I like how people keep themselves in denial

Postby pioneer » September 28th, 2014, 12:17 pm

That discourse with the gang members is as real as it gets. People would deny it and say it was staged and question the credibility of the journalist, it wasn't a real gun and we don't sell drugs here.

Man even mention no more lifesport...

Postby dougla_boy » September 28th, 2014, 12:52 pm

Dat was a cyaps gun Menace had in he hand ent?

Postby pioneer » September 28th, 2014, 1:54 pm

Is how dey take away de people lifesport

When man baby cya eat then de machine go rise.

Postby pioneer » September 28th, 2014, 2:13 pm

Some would remember the wajang reporter from this vid @2:00

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » September 28th, 2014, 2:27 pm

ironic, she son currently on gun charges

Postby pioneer » September 28th, 2014, 7:54 pm

Whaever come out ah dat?

He was ah good boy or sumn?

Postby Redman » September 29th, 2014, 7:30 am

pioneer wrote:That discourse with the gang members is as real as it gets. People would deny it and say it was staged and question the credibility of the journalist, it wasn't a real gun and we don't sell drugs here.

Man even mention no more lifesport...

Well the willful ignorance of a big section of the community allows them to continue their existence without accepting the reality -and therefore the responsibilities of the situation.

I had a chance encounter with a member of the biz community-large co 40+ years in business-almost a household name.

He recently sold some Real estate and was paid in 10+ cheques-drawn on difference company accounts all with the same signatory.

He says it never occurred to him that he might be part of the laundering system.

They cool in their enclaves in the west-detached from what driving the economy that supports their business.

Guardian Investigative series on local drug trade

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 13th, 2015, 2:56 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-01- ... ling-crime

Drug trade fuelling crime

Cracks in our Borders

Multi-media journalist Urvashi Tiwari-Ropnarine has been investigating T&T’s flourishing illegal drug trade for the past several weeks. That journey has taken her to several parts of the country for extensive interviews with several people involved in the trade, people who have been researching it and members of the law enforcement agencies charged with trying to prevent the activity. Today, she presents part one of a six-part series on the trade titled Cracks in Our Borders.

Trinidad and Tobago lies just north of the equator. It is a country known best for its pitch lake in La Brea and two-day carnival affair. It is also a major oil and gas exporter but did you know of its billion dollar drug industry?

Author and researcher Trevor Munroe, in his book Caribbean Security in the Age of Terror, wrote: “Close to 50 per cent of the cocaine introduced to this US$35 billion United States cocaine market in 2001 passed through the Caribbean.”

He documented then the increase in progressive crimes in T&T along with other transit hubs like Jamaica and the Dominican Republic.

Local author and drug researcher Darius Figueira, however, tells Guardian Media Limited (GML) that Trinidad has again been “switched on” as a major trans-shipment point.

The fact that T&T is pinned, almost strategically, between the producers and consumers of drugs in North America and Europe, and the fact that many of its borders are easily accessible, facilitates the flourishing billion dollar industry.

Figueira’s street research tells what authors have been documenting for decades: There is a known nexus between the narcotic trade and the gang culture associated with violence in T&T.

He is author of “Cocaine and Heroin Trafficking in the Caribbean,” a case study of the T&T drug trafficking trade.

Yet, despite his extensive research, Figueira says besides figures collected by law enforcement agencies from seizures, it is difficult to estimate the value of the drug trade in T&T.

“It varies. It’s dependent on the levels of interdiction present at any of the regional territories at any point in time,” he said.

The United Nations Drug Control Programme (UNDCP), however, estimates that US$50 billion is being laundered across the Caribbean annually.

According to the United Nations’ Office on Drugs and Crime’s Caribbean Drug Trends Report (2001-2002), the total drug GDP for the Caribbean was US$3.684 billion during that period.

Figueira says there is a price to pay for involvement in this activity, as blood is the preferred currency on T&T’s streets as rival gangs all try to squeeze into the closed community of the drug trade.

“They continue to be locked out, having little, continuously fighting over scraps,” Figueira told Guardian Media Limited (GML).

Link to violence

Gun violence and murders are the result of their activity.

According to gunpolicy.org’s country profile of T&T, in 1995 44 per cent of the 135 murders were committed with guns and in 2009, its latest tally, 72 per cent of the 506 murders were because of fatal shootings, almost double the percentage two decades ago.

The 2012 Small Arms Survey, an independent research project conducted by the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva, Switzerland, records the global average of proportions of homicides committed with firearms to be 42 per cent.

It is also interesting to note that while guns are not manufactured in the Caribbean, the Association of Caribbean Commissioners of Police estimates there are over 1.6 million illegal firearms circulating in the region.

Figueira says the low-level traffickers in the game account for T&T’s high levels of gun violence and skyrocketing murder rate.

But it is when the drug gangs target each other’s supplies that things become critical.

“When one gang has its stash ready for export one day, another gang will attack, take and go by any means necessary,” he said.

And is there a consequence for the perpetrators of this violence?

The 2012 Small Arms Survey concludes that since few gun homicides are solved in T&T, impunity for gun violence may also be a factor in the rising numbers of gun crimes and homicides in particular.

Gun runners and drug pushers on the streets say with the right connections, one can order an assassination for TT$6,000 and if that’s too much for your pocket, as little as $2,000 can get you your own personal firearm.

The cost of these illegal guns varies according to the type, make and of course its level of use. The guns, sources told GML, are coming in alongside the drugs being transhipped through T&T.

One North Coast fisherman with knowledge of the illegal drug trade said: “What you finding now is guns coming in. I have heard from fellows who does take work to go for drugs, say sometimes to move drugs they does put a little bag of guns in your boat too.”

On the economic side of things, the United Nations estimates the narcotics trade in the Caribbean generates an annual US$3 billion, almost one third of our country’s fiscal budget.

Mexican cartel link

Figueira says the trade is decades old with T&T being a transit hub since the 1960s.

On the ground, stories are still being told of notorious drug lord Dole Chadee being a major pin in notorious Colombian drug lord Pablo Escobar’s ring.

Asked why it is beneficial to transit cocaine through various countries, head of International Relations at The University of the West Indies, Professor Andy Knight, said:

“First of all you don’t want to have drugs sent directly from Colombia to the USA. Sometimes it’s easier to have it passed through a third party state like Trinidad to disguise where it comes from.”

After 1990, T&T had been abandoned as a trans-shipment destination, the then active Colombian cartel instead opting for Puerto Rico and Dominican Republic.

Time and convenience, Figueira says, navigated them back to a more logical route through the Caribbean.

“The eastern Caribbean is being switched on as a trafficking point and what that means is that T&T is also being switched on with greater volumes passing through T&T,” he said.

But there has also been a change in management.

“In the Caribbean today the illicit drug trade is dominated by Mexican transnational organised crime,” he said.

Two of the top crime syndicates in Mexico—the Sinaloa and Los Zetas gangs—mean local drug traffickers are immediately linked to international criminal organisations wielding a lot of power.

“Mexicans work though affiliation. Affiliates are part of the organisation, affiliates are traffickers, retailers, wholesalers traffickers. And the number one recruits for Mexicans come from gangland,” he said.

Affiliates, he says, are well taken care of.

“You get product that you can extensively retail. You get product that you can wholesale. You get product that you can traffic. You get to tap into a stream of weaponry and become part of trans-national organisation,” he added.

Figueira says they live by one rule: Execute orders with efficiency.

“Failure to carry out orders and that’s it for you,” he added.

shotta 20

Re: Guardian Investigative series on local drug trade

Postby shotta 20 » January 13th, 2015, 2:59 pm

RIP Urvashi..

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 13th, 2015, 3:29 pm

But she hasn't said anything new here, all of this has been 'revealed' before in different sections of the media.

I don't put too much stock in what these criminologists have to say, they have their own agendas to advance. Posturing yourself to claim that you have the inside scoop on crime is one way to stay relevant.

If this is real investigative journalism then I want to read something that is new,
- show hard evidence that the foreign cartels are operating here,
- follow the money all they way,
- identify some new route or concealment method,
- show me a valid link between trafficking and corrupt law enforcement,
- don't quote anecdotal evidence, the man on the street can do that.
- don't make excuses that it is too dangerous to reveal this information, if that is the case then don't even bother to write on this issue.

I await the rest of this 'investigative' piece.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 13th, 2015, 3:33 pm

Good points. I was thinking the article is a bit all over the place and been there done that but it's part 1 of 6 so I'll wait for the rest as well.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 13th, 2015, 3:40 pm

Awaits the reveal on who the local big boys are?? If this isn't part of the series then this is just another investigative piece with no real purpose.
Clearly the street gangs mentioned are not the ones behind it all.