Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re:

Postby Slartibartfast » August 25th, 2014, 9:46 am

JBL wrote:
For now, the place after MTS plaza in aranguez take win, the flavour is down to the bone.

Halaal Kitchen
The chicken real bess and the sauces just make it better. The only thing I can't stand is the coleslaw. Thing sweeter than a red solo. Waaaaaaay too much sugar.

Re:

Postby Slartibartfast » August 25th, 2014, 9:56 am

SR wrote:worcestershire sauce
tomato paste/ tomato sauce /tomato
salt
black pepper
garlic
paprika
chili powder
maybe some cayanne pepper
as some basic ingredients
there are others

sauce needs to be simmered not jsut mixed in a pot and heated up

sauce needs to have a thick consistency so it stays on the meat and not just drip down but it can be too thick like a paste either

sauce should be applied when the meat is almost fully cooked
so it jsut needs to caramalise on the meat and then its done

sauce only needs to be applied once to the meat

if its a basting sauce then that needs to be thinner and applied to the meat at least 4 times during th cooking process

this can consist of the juices left back if the meat was steamed
Serious question to a man that clearly know his BBQ. Can we be friends? No homo. I'll be like one of those really good but distant friends that only come over to eat and then leave right afterwards. Good low maintenance friendship here. Just a couple pokes of fb every now and then to let me know you still alive and thing.

But seriously though, take a look people, this is the right way to BBQ

acesinghit wrote:^^actually........it is quite interesting that you would say that because there is a debate on the difference between grilled chicken and BARB-B-QUE chicken. Do you care to point out the difference for me?
If you use gas to cook then it's considered grilling. If you use wood/coal to cook then it's BBQ. With BBQ you get that smoky woody flavour if done properly that grilling just can't touch, no matter how good the cook is.

Most commercial BBQ places are actually grilled. Kind of annoying.

Re: BEST BBQ in tnt?

Postby K74T » August 25th, 2014, 12:06 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:i might get flame for this eh but.. i actually like "Eat It".

There's a place called Darryl's in Pepper village (near avocat/fyzabad). His food tastes good!

Yeah, Darryl's Homestyle good as well, nice vibes there.

Postby javishm » August 25th, 2014, 12:33 pm

Home made :D

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 25th, 2014, 12:34 pm

if ur really know what tastes good then it really eh make sense buying anything on d outside

best u make ur own home & not regret buying d crap ppl sell ....

Postby Chimera » August 25th, 2014, 12:35 pm

you know what it is to spend $50-$70 on a box of food and it so bad even the dog doh wanna eat it

rabiesebola

Postby rabiesebola » August 25th, 2014, 12:43 pm

original and bbq boys...both places in south. duncan village sauces are very water down. ketchup is not supposed to be like water. its very disgusting. there fries are very tasty as it is coated. if u buying from duncan village PUT YUH CONDIMENTS AT HOME

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 25th, 2014, 12:46 pm

lol @ aba ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

trust me i know , i even buy bbq without any salt it in , i cussing while i eating it , tasting like it boil

alot of bbq ppl does start up okish eh with good intentions but shortly after all they study is d profit , how much they go sell then d quality slides downhill , when less ppl start to buy or come back & they bust they want to know how dat happen ... :roll:

Postby javishm » August 25th, 2014, 12:49 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:if ur really know what tastes good then it really eh make sense buying anything on d outside

exactly

Postby black start » August 25th, 2014, 12:50 pm

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:alot of bbq ppl does start up okish eh with good intentions but shortly after all they study is d profit , how much they go sell then d quality slides downhill , when less ppl start to buy or come back & they bust they want to know how dat happen ... :roll:

Most food place tbh

rabiesebola

Postby rabiesebola » August 25th, 2014, 12:52 pm

its the phase (and sometimes fate) of all business. you start off good to get customers den wen tings nice u focus more on quantity than quality as u tink more supply more sales. doesnt always work. but food shud always be topper top. i mean is ppl belly u messing with. u know how many doubles ppl i salt cuz of shitttttttings?

Postby SR » August 25th, 2014, 12:58 pm

You can get a good bbq of a gas grill with smokey flavour. Its about a balance of cooking temperature turning frequently and use of smoking chips

Postby SR » August 25th, 2014, 1:02 pm

There is no commercially available bbq on the market in trinidad and tobago that tastes good mostly because its being done in bulk for profit while some places dont even have a clue as to how the meat is supposed to be cooked and seasoned......some use very little seasoning and others are over seasoned with green seasoning...some are too salty others lack salt some are undercooked and most over cooked there is a difference between having a slight char over beung bunup

Postby pete » August 25th, 2014, 1:51 pm

Also, Trinidadians have gotten accustomed to that style of BBQ so may not even like "real" BBQ flavour.

Kinda like ketchup.

snatman

Postby snatman » August 25th, 2014, 2:20 pm

Boil-B-Q

Postby Slartibartfast » August 25th, 2014, 2:30 pm

Places I don't understand how ppl could put ketchup

1. BBQ Chicken (This is actually a sin to use ketchup when BBQ sauce present, it in the commadments)
2. Pizza
3. Any kind of pasta
4. Eggs
6. Rice... yes you heard me... f$*%in' rice. Everytime I go to a chinese place I see people dousing their oil rice with ketchup and I only wondering why I never see anybody put ketchup on rice at home.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 25th, 2014, 2:53 pm

dont get me started on "ketchup" , NONE of d local ketchup :sick: is anything near what ketchup is supposed to be like

its artificial watered down food coloring crap that runs out of d bottle or worst yet ah bag without any effort

anytime i buy food outside i deliberately dont use any of their "ketchup" but wait til i reach home & use my heinz which at least resembles ketchup

got to admit yrssss ago i used to put a lil ketchup on chinese food :oops: :oops: :oops: then i get sense & realized it tastes alot better without it .... 8-)

Postby black start » August 25th, 2014, 2:54 pm

iirc it had a ched about trinis and condiments, I think it boiled down (like many a bbq I've tasted) to freeness!

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » August 25th, 2014, 5:15 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Places I don't understand how ppl could put ketchup

1. BBQ Chicken (This is actually a sin to use ketchup when BBQ sauce present, it in the commadments)
2. Pizza
3. Any kind of pasta
4. Eggs
6. Rice... yes you heard me... f$*%in' rice. Everytime I go to a chinese place I see people dousing their oil rice with ketchup and I only wondering why I never see anybody put ketchup on rice at home.

1 and 2 PREACH!!!
3... i dunno, i do it sometimes if I have no pasta sauce
4 and 5* who does dat??? never heard that one before

there is something called banana ketchup i tasted from a friend who was island hopping, believe me as weird as it sounded, that thing tasted good

Darryls are good indeed, I buy from them when down that side, has a place in san juan opposite the priority where maxis stop, cah remember the name. They don't taste bad

Postby brams112 » August 25th, 2014, 5:47 pm

javishm wrote:
- Rovin's car audio - wrote:if ur really know what tastes good then it really eh make sense buying anything on d outside

exactly

Cost cheaper too,plus you can make your own side of your likening.Buy food is a once in awhile thing,not to be a every weekend thing in my view.

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 25th, 2014, 6:46 pm

Forgot to mention...it have a guy who sells on the road behind KFC in Montrose.. Allyuh need to taste his food!

Back in the day it used to have a fella obliquely opposite gateboys in Uwi. I think it was Smokey's barbeque. His bbq was divine. Is that the same gateboys bbq that ppl speaking of now?

Postby black start » August 25th, 2014, 6:51 pm

Smokey's still there opposite gateboys

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2014, 7:09 pm

Commercial bbq places typically simmer the chcken in a pot with seasoning and sauce then
Grill on demand until carbonization is achieved.

Ali's used to be ok, the old guy would have the chicken on the grill longer than most and not burnt.
Their potato salad was pretty good too. Havent been there in a while though.

Hoseins requires a dcarbonizing kit.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 26th, 2014, 12:49 am

black start wrote:Smokey's still there opposite gateboys

Smokeys does lash dan. His mac salad does be lil warm sometimes doe lol

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » August 26th, 2014, 2:08 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
black start wrote:Smokey's still there opposite gateboys

Smokeys does lash dan. His mac salad does be lil warm sometimes doe lol

Is that someone in one of those food caravan sort of things? I could give him a try. I always desperate to find GOOD food. Once I could avoid the kfc/subway crap I all for it. Mac salad musbe aint get time to cold yet, food selling out so fast maybe lol.

What days and times he comes out?

Postby Ted_v2 » August 26th, 2014, 4:41 am

K74T wrote:
SmokeyGTi wrote:i might get flame for this eh but.. i actually like "Eat It".

There's a place called Darryl's in Pepper village (near avocat/fyzabad). His food tastes good!

Yeah, Darryl's Homestyle good as well, nice vibes there.

Grill hut on the top of the hill is very consistent with their food. They don't use chicken parts. Just breast. Very tasty.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 26th, 2014, 7:12 am

Grill on the hill...marabella
Original bbq boys cipero...but dey quality dropping.

Andd...an unknownn place...there is a bbq place up hardbargain...sellin bbq chicken pork pigfoot souse chicken foot souse..dey have a reall cool bar and lounge set up now..d food bess..u hadda take d road to go to triveni temple..and they are close to d junction..

gundelero

Postby gundelero » August 28th, 2014, 8:37 pm

what's Grill on the Hill opening hours? every time i pass, i see the place closed....

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 29th, 2014, 7:39 pm

BBQ boys selling pigeon these days... Small no arse pieces of meat

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » August 29th, 2014, 7:47 pm

There's this place in Cocoyea, a little after Aquarium restuarant on the left. Taste good.