:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2014, 9:41 pm

Folks should post usage of tools.
Made a bench from sched 40 scraps this week.
image.jpg

gas brainz

Postby gas brainz » June 29th, 2014, 11:17 pm

Not bad

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 30th, 2014, 10:26 am

silent_riot wrote:I want one of these.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007KZ ... PDKIKX0DER

I think I need one also!

searchingone

Postby searchingone » July 17th, 2014, 1:51 pm

Do local hardware stores sell these fruit picker heads?

Postby X_Factor » July 17th, 2014, 2:24 pm

yeah they do, prices vary
i got one for 35$ at super quality in trincity estate

searchingone

Postby searchingone » July 17th, 2014, 2:33 pm

good price. thanks!

Postby *KRONIK* » July 17th, 2014, 4:16 pm

I see they selling them with telescopic rods now(same painter roller extension)...so you dont have to cut no bamboo rod!
Lol

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 17th, 2014, 4:34 pm

^^^ Laughlin has with the rod. Can't remember the price

Postby *KRONIK* » July 17th, 2014, 4:45 pm

Seen it for around 120-140

Postby X_Factor » July 20th, 2014, 8:50 pm

whats a decent electric pressure washer to get these days fellas?

Postby X_Factor » July 20th, 2014, 9:45 pm

whats a decent electric pressure washer to get these days fellas?

Postby pioneer » July 20th, 2014, 9:56 pm

Got an AR Blue Clean from laughlin Oct 2012...workin bess...I think they have karcher in store now

I believe Southern Supplies Limited carry them also.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » July 20th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Laughlin have karacher in electric and aR still
Price a bit warm tho

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 20th, 2014, 10:20 pm

The Pricesmart Powerstroke 1700 psi looking real good for the price. Saw a car wash using one, said they had no problems with it. Anybody here have one and can give a review?
http://www.amazon.com/Powerstroke-PS171433D-Electric-Pressure-Washer/dp/B008BOW2OO

I bought an AR Blue Clean 388 1800 psi from Laughlin late 2012 after seeing some good reviews by Pioneer and others, but it gave out less than a year later. A lil while after I bought it I was at the store and heard a senior employee saying that a lot of customers were bringing them back for burnt out motors. I was real careful with how long I used mine for so I really dunno what happened to it. Warranty had expired by then.

Other than than that I think Karcher is really the best electric, but expensive.

Postby X_Factor » July 21st, 2014, 6:45 am

looking at this one
http://www.amazon.com/Joe-SPX3000-Elect ... ure+washer

i'll do some pricing maybe over the next 2 days to see whats sorta the bang for the buck
since after the initial use of cleaning the concrete it wont be used that often

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 21st, 2014, 8:54 am

NR8 wrote:The Pricesmart Powerstroke 1700 psi looking real good for the price. Saw a car wash using one, said they had no problems with it. Anybody here have one and can give a review?
http://www.amazon.com/Powerstroke-PS171433D-Electric-Pressure-Washer/dp/B008BOW2OO

I bought this weekend. Open it one time and use it. When I used it for a 20 min or so and then turn off to move it. It didn't want to start back. Left it for a while and then it started. Only thing I could see to cause this problem is that I used a 100 feet extension cord and the booklet only recommends a 25 or 50 feet extension. They gave me 3 months warranty, so ah go wuk it for the warranty and see.
I will test further, otherwise its does a great job on concrete.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 21st, 2014, 9:02 am

We using one of those Pricesmart units about 2 years now...
doesnt get much abuse, but its been great so far.

our only issue was that the hose is a bit thin walled and it burst due due to being worn down.
i had an industrial grade steel braided high pressure hose made for it after and it works awesome!
my recommendation would be to buy some hose protector and install it from new..so the hose wont damage.

Caribbeancarbon

Postby Caribbeancarbon » July 21st, 2014, 10:31 am

Had one of these at my old job, worked great considering that we always used it on boats and near the sea.
Pros: it's a bit on the cheaper side, It worked great, the two different heads came in handy and work better for different things, fell off a boat into the sea and still worked after flushing it out.
Cons: the wheels never really rolled and just ended up dragging it or lifting everywhere, the hoes is really stiff so winding it up nicely is hard.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004P5POC ... SY165_QL70

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 21st, 2014, 10:31 am

ADONI wrote:I bought this weekend. Open it one time and use it. When I used it for a 20 min or so and then turn off to move it. It didn't want to start back. Left it for a while and then it started. Only thing I could see to cause this problem is that I used a 100 feet extension cord and the booklet only recommends a 25 or 50 feet extension. They gave me 3 months warranty, so ah go wuk it for the warranty and see.
I will test further, otherwise its does a great job on concrete.

A lot of the electric ones has a warning to not use with extension at all.

One thing I noticed oniline about the Powerstroke, some people said the hose fittings are not the regular type and it was hard to get a replacement. But I guess Trinidad Hose could reuse your fittings on new hose.

How much did that steel braided hose cost you *KRONIK*?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 21st, 2014, 10:51 am

^^^^
Cost about 750
One of the fittings was reused

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 23rd, 2014, 10:34 am

Ok, used the power washer yesterday straight from a wall outlet and worked very well. The unit itself did not get hot at all unlike the first time I used it with the long extension cord.
I see my neighbours eye the power washer. Bracing for a borrow from them...

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 23rd, 2014, 1:25 pm

Any where locally sells horizontal band saws?

Postby X_Factor » August 17th, 2014, 11:20 am

anyone bought the milwuakee m18 3 piece combo set from pmart yet?
good deal for 2300 with the impact wrench and drill

Postby Morpheus » August 23rd, 2014, 6:19 pm

Hi fellas. Know anywhere that rents cordless impact wrenches?

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 23rd, 2014, 9:39 pm

Have not posted in a while, been busy.

Got some new shop toys recently.

This is my biggest addition.

Postby X_Factor » August 24th, 2014, 12:12 am

wow, nice!!

you should think about using those floor epoxy to coat the concrete under the frame

Postby Ted_v2 » August 24th, 2014, 6:09 am

Diy?

I did some work on a alignment ramp installation. I can see myself buying a rotary lift just for myself at home

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 24th, 2014, 12:25 pm

Assembly and installation was diy but then i do some pretty drastic things myself most people would never touch.

This is at my shop. I do have to get an industrial strength coating for below the lift. 75% of my customers cars leak something on the floor.

Postby Morpheus » August 24th, 2014, 12:39 pm

Morpheus wrote:Hi fellas. Know anywhere that rents/sells cordless impact wrenches?

A corded one self.....

May check A1 Tools tomorrow

Postby X_Factor » August 24th, 2014, 1:32 pm

pricemart has a decent M18 impact wrench combo for 2300
wrench, drill and light
about the best price i've seen locally