The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

speedist

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby speedist » August 19th, 2014, 9:12 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Blu is the only good budget android. The ones that went for $200 in the sale ftw

Name of model in question? Seeing a blu dash Jr for 400 from a guy on fb.

@Stev: she very new to touchscreen and smartphones on the whole. Her phone looks like them old TDMA Nokia but smaller. :|
Seriously leaning to a moto g. Debloated goodness. Mmmmmm.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 19th, 2014, 9:14 pm

You get what you pay for basically.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 19th, 2014, 9:15 pm

speedist wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Blu is the only good budget android. The ones that went for $200 in the sale ftw

Name of model in question? Seeing a blu dash Jr for 400 from a guy on fb.
@Stev: she very new to touchscreen and smartphones on the whole. Her phone looks like them old TDMA Nokia but smaller. :|

The Blu Dash Music 4.0 was the one on sale for $200 when bmobile had the massive sale, the one for $300 was the Blu Dash 5.0 both phones are very very good for the price, my mother has no complaints with the 4.0, she has gotten to love it soo much she can't put it down.... Just imagine I have to tell her it's rude to play on your phone while having a conversation with other people now :/

speedist

Postby speedist » August 19th, 2014, 9:28 pm

Lol. Wonder where I could get now?

Postby Morpheus » August 19th, 2014, 9:29 pm

I agree BLUs are good budget phones. They are great phones to buy for your parents who won't have need/use for an expensive S4, S5, Z1, iPhone, etc.

Brought in a BLU Dash 4.5 for my mom for US $130. She is satisfied with that.

Postby pete » August 19th, 2014, 10:34 pm

Anyone else getting notification cards on their lock screen now? Getting them on my moto g

Postby RASC » August 19th, 2014, 10:45 pm

speedist

Postby speedist » August 20th, 2014, 1:30 am

Holy slim bezels, batman! Love the design of the crystal.

Postby RASC » August 20th, 2014, 7:35 am

I tired tell ppl.
I not paying more than $300usd for no phone!
Days for that done...the specs on the mid to lower end are becoming so compelling. This is the sector fueling all the growth in the market place now.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 20th, 2014, 7:56 am

Here i was thinking RASC wasn't a sufferer too :'(

Postby RASC » August 20th, 2014, 8:24 am

Postby RASC » August 20th, 2014, 8:39 am

Bargain hunting is just more fun...

For example colognes- everyone knows I had (have) a decent collection. From buying on release day at Saks Fifth Ave or Nordstrum-It quickly dawned on me that, that is utter foolishness.

Started basement shopping at Marshalls-
Finding a Thierry Mugler deep in the pile at $15usd is a lot more enjoyable. Whole time in your head you thinking "WTF how nobody saw this??"

Same thing with phones now... Find those rare budget gems that can hold their own against the big boys for a 1/3 of the cost is more fun to me.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 20th, 2014, 8:55 am

Yup understandable.

I like to try some of the lesser known phones, but my main is always a mainstream for purposes of custom development and roms.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » August 20th, 2014, 10:00 pm

pete wrote:Anyone else getting notification cards on their lock screen now? Getting them on my moto g

Getting that a few weeks now

Postby stev » August 20th, 2014, 10:06 pm

what notification cards allyuh talking bout? it started appearing on the lock screen jus so?

i know u can manually put / remove it by adding the google now widget to the lockscreen.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » August 20th, 2014, 10:12 pm

Basically its like iPhone lock screen notifications in the except you can swipe them off. I didn't have to add the lock screen widget. Think its a feature with 4.4.4 Image

Postby pete » August 20th, 2014, 10:25 pm

I realized it's just Facebook..

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » August 20th, 2014, 10:27 pm

I have for everything lol

#customromFTW

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » August 21st, 2014, 12:57 am

RASC wrote:I tired tell ppl.
Days for that done...the specs on the mid to lower end are becoming so compelling. This is the sector fueling all the growth in the market place now.

would be interested in hearing your recommendations for a good android phone below U$300. a colleague was suggesting s4 mini or htc mini

AdmissionBAned

Postby AdmissionBAned » August 21st, 2014, 1:18 am

I got my s3 for 1800

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » August 21st, 2014, 1:52 am

AdmissionBAned wrote:I got my s3 for 1800

Postby ismithx » August 21st, 2014, 4:35 am

Corn Bird wrote:
RASC wrote:I tired tell ppl.

would be interested in hearing your recommendations for a good android phone below U$300. a colleague was suggesting s4 mini or htc mini

s3 is a bargain nowadays, but it's so old. I would recommend the xperia m2, it's big, snappy, and has an awesome battery life.

oSaRi.

HTC One M8

Postby oSaRi. » August 21st, 2014, 8:18 am

Anyone got the Kitkat 4.4.3 upgrade yet on HTC One M8.

Re: HTC One M8

Postby stev » August 21st, 2014, 9:06 am

oSaRi. wrote:Anyone got the Kitkat 4.4.3 upgrade yet on HTC One M8.

well i see u finally found the android thread but u seem a bit impatient buddy. :lol:

u sure u dont wanna start trying out custom roms? its the fastest way to get the latest version of android on your phone.....with a few extra tweaks.

var

Postby var » August 21st, 2014, 9:31 am

Hey! Super new to the Android scene.. Was purely apple but that went downhill..

Bought the M8 yesterday, works like a gem but I'm not picking up on the custom things? Help? Any tricks of the M8 you guys can suggest?

Postby Trini Hookah » August 21st, 2014, 9:33 am

You want someone here to copy and paste the exact words from xda? A solely development forum?

var

Postby var » August 21st, 2014, 9:44 am

What did you not understand by I'm so new to this.. Just seeking friendly advise. All you had to say was to visit the forum pal :)

Thanks tho!

Postby stev » August 21st, 2014, 10:55 am

var wrote:What did you not understand by I'm so new to this.. Just seeking friendly advise. All you had to say was to visit the forum pal :)

Thanks tho!

everything u need to know is here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-one-m8

u have a lot of reading to do if u wanna get in the custom rom scene.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 21st, 2014, 11:09 am

XDA is your friend

oSaRi.

Postby oSaRi. » August 21st, 2014, 12:35 pm

I know that there is alot of customizations for android. If I don't get the update soon will have to root. Don't have experience with using custom roms but I can do some research into it.
One other thing don't know why my phone is only picking up edge.