trunk rattle

CleanAudio

trunk rattle

Postby CleanAudio » January 6th, 2012, 1:36 pm

fellas i have a nasty trunk rattle...meh padna tell meh to aim the sub to the front of the car...and i will get less trunk rattle(if i aim it that way it will touch the metal of the backseat frame) ...plus but i want it aimin the back... i was told dynamat wont help that because the rattle baddd....i dont knw if i cud double up or triple up on the layers..?
any other way? or will the layers of dynamat help?

***TRINISON***

Re: trunk rattle

Postby ***TRINISON*** » January 6th, 2012, 1:45 pm

Imho, i think you should pinpoint firstly exactly where the rattle is eminating from. Is it the actual trunk? or numberplate? or bumper? I have used Dynamat before, and it helps alot. My previous installer placed something like silicon between the ribs of the trunk, and the actual lid. That by itself helped with 50% of the noise.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 6th, 2012, 1:50 pm

what kind of car is it

it depends on how good of a job u do will determine how much it will still rattle , some ppl just put whatever brand of mat of d surface on top d trunk lid ribs without using expanding foam or putting mat inside d ribs if possible or using a seam\joint sealant between d ribs & d trunk metal

more than 1 layer of mat will def make a difference , imo 2 layers good : 3 seems like over kill ...

Postby nervewrecker » January 6th, 2012, 2:59 pm

what kind of car?

minimal dampening helped me alot but the plastic behind my trunk still rattled a lot, 2 beads of silicone in each corner stopped that (I am talking half inch movement of the back of my trunk). That was with a mere 600 watt mtx & a rockford p2d415 sub.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » January 6th, 2012, 3:42 pm

try tightnign yuh trunk lock and using dynamat it works ,,,expanding foam also but use very little amount and keep going

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » January 6th, 2012, 7:35 pm

We can assist with a solution for your rattling and vibrations. We offer sheets as well as other options in the Dynamat line i.e Dynaliner foam material ( used for linc. plate) and also liquid dampening for rear bumpers or other areas where it is difficult to add the sheets.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » January 7th, 2012, 12:55 am

Maybe we need a thread about what causes rattles in specific vehicles and how to address them, rather than the "shotgun" approach of dynamatting everything. Now that I've got 1.2KW feeding my subs, I'm hearing rattles from the trunk lid of my Hyundai Tucson, but I don't want to make it much heavier by dynamatting the whole damned thing in hope of fixing the rattle, when it might likely be possible to address it by applying damping or some other "fix" at the specific source of the rattle.

MONGO

Postby MONGO » January 7th, 2012, 1:31 am

imo dynamat not only helps reduce/eliminate rattles it also helps the bass, after i matted my entire trunk any sub in there i have tested even a single kicker cvr 8" the bass was stiffer and you can feel it more.
only minor rattle is the bumper..

Postby SR » January 7th, 2012, 6:23 am

look some simple technical articles here to read

http://www.dynamat.com/technical_sound_ ... intro.html

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » January 7th, 2012, 8:34 pm

i forgot what model car you told me last time you came,
a proper approach to this is to get the bass out of the trunk/car then dynamat the entire thing after if needed

dynamat like wow wont stop the shaking and flexing of panels, it will just make them shake and flex silently. When you look at this shake and flex in your car, you should think about what percentage of power coming out your amplifiers is being taken to flex all those panels, and what little is remained after to be appreciated as bass you can hear whilst standing outside your vehicle

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » January 7th, 2012, 11:30 pm

could be box too..(i tink)

had a round ported box already and trunk used to flex and rattle with a single 12" pioneer b4 which i hated and when i built a slot ported box majority of the rattling stopped.. both boxes were facing foward though.

not sure if u have a slot port box or using a round ported box

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » January 7th, 2012, 11:54 pm

mongo wrote:imo dynamat not only helps reduce/eliminate rattles it also helps the bass, after i matted my entire trunk any sub in there i have tested even a single kicker cvr 8" the bass was stiffer and you can feel it more.
only minor rattle is the bumper..

If I put a whole lot of dynamat on the trunk door for my Tucson, it's likely going to need to be propped up when I open it.

I want to avoid that from happening.

I have an idea on how to track down the rattles and other sources of distortion, so I will be able to use a "sniper" rather than "shotgun" approach in dealing with them . I'm going to try it out tomorrow, but basically it involves using HolmImpulse's distortion measurement capability to track down at exactly what frequencies the rattles start happening, then using TrueRTA in 1/24 octave mode and a continuous tone at the identified frequencies to identify at what level the rattles start, where the rattles are happening and how successful my attempts at fixing them are (should be reflected in a decrease in the overtones measured by TrueRTA).

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 7th, 2012, 11:57 pm

RAJIE wrote:could be box too..(i tink)

had a round ported box already and trunk used to flex and rattle with a single 12" pioneer b4 which i hated and when i built a slot ported box majority of the rattling stopped.. both boxes were facing foward though.

not sure if u have a slot port box or using a round ported box

Maybe you had a drop in output when you switch?

Jus saying :|

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » January 8th, 2012, 12:11 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Maybe you had a drop in output when you switch?

That would be my guess too. The trunk lid likely does not care what the origin is of the bass that's causing it to rattle.

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » January 9th, 2012, 11:59 am

how about lowering the bass? lol

What's the average cost to Dynamat a trunk ? (mazda 3)

Thanks

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » January 9th, 2012, 9:40 pm

You can give us a call for pricing and we also offer installation services.

DE AUDIO
652-6402
www.deaudiott.com

the_guy_you_need_to_know

Postby the_guy_you_need_to_know » January 29th, 2012, 10:21 am

Sometimes its just the simple things that may cause the rattle, in my case it was a spoiler that keptt flexing. that is if you have a spoiler

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » January 29th, 2012, 5:27 pm

Hello CleanAudio,

The noises you are currently experiencing could be those of your trunk lid,rear bumper,rear dash board and upholstery,number plate and side panels.They can easily be a combination of any of the above stated options as well, or can be singled out.

If it's your trunk lid, the spaces between the metal re-enforcing ribs and the metal skin of the vehicle's exterior is usually a main source.It usually takes some small amounts of work, but in most cases if done properly, you may need a minimal amount of sound dampening to the large metal areas of sheet metal, with some special filling in-between the ribs and skin.

If it's your number plate, some simple filling of the area between the plate and trunk lid would stop this quickly.No sound deadening sheets would be required, as there are many ways to solve this problem.There are two permanent methods we can offer only.

If it's your dashboard and upholstery, the underside with the ribs would be filled and matted, while the topside would have the upholstery removed ,acoustic foam would be placed on the metal,and then the upholstery would be replaced.This creates a form of "pressure" between the upholstery and metal, ensuring the upholstery is not moving.

If it's your side panels, it's more or less the same procedure as the trunk lid, but due to the much less re-enforcing of the panel, alot less filling is required, and usually one layer of matt solves this, in extreme cases, two layers are used.

If it's your bumper, a simple removal, and re-sealing usually gets the job done, however in extreme cases , you may end up with two layers of matt on the interior of the bumper itself.

We ourselves use a brand called second skin, which on many occasions has proven to be the best of all the other available auto based sound deadening products.Any reputable installer in this thread can testify, and usually where you would normally have the use of two layers or other brands, one layer of second skin gets the job done.It was also shown on a number of testes and the information is available, simply do a Google search.

We offer installation services as well as products, so please send a private message, or you can call us at 737-5890.

If you have any further questions concerning noise and sound control, feel free to ask,
Team ADT
Last edited by TEAM ADT on March 20th, 2013, 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mivec 126

Postby Mivec 126 » January 30th, 2012, 1:29 pm

my friend use concrete to solve his problem.... lol!!! serious... i have d same problem.. and its true wat u all said, my spoiler, number plate, ribs of the trunk was making d noise... i havnt use anything yet. i want someting gud......

Postby BrotherHood » January 31st, 2012, 12:00 am

Mivec 126 wrote:my friend use concrete to solve his problem.... lol!!! serious... ......

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby nervewrecker » January 31st, 2012, 11:31 am

concrete + fiberglass....looks sexy!

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » March 15th, 2013, 7:59 am

TEAM ADT wrote:Hello CleanAudio,

The noises you are currently experiencing could be those of your trunk lid,rear bumper,rear dash board and upholstery,number plate and side panels.They can easily be a combination of any of the above stated options as well, or can be singled out.

If it's your trunk lid, the spaces between the metal re-enforcing ribs and the metal skin of the vehicle's exterior is usually a main source.It usually takes some small amounts of work, but in most cases if done properly, you may need a minimal amount of sound dampening to the large metal areas of sheet metal, with some special filling in-between the ribs and skin.

If it's your number plate, some simple filling of the area between the plate and trunk lid would stop this quickly.No sound deadening sheets would be required, as there are many ways to solve this problem.There are two permanent methods we can offer only.

If it's your dashboard and upholstery, the underside with the ribs would be filled and matted, while the topside would have the upholstery removed ,acoustic foam would be placed on the metal,and then the upholstery would be replaced.This creates a form of "pressure" between the upholstery and metal, ensuring the upholstery is not moving.

If it's your side panels, it's more or less the same procedure as the trunk lid, but due to the much less re-enforcing of the panel, alot less filling is required, and usually one layer of matt solves this, in extreme cases, two layers are used.

If it's your bumper, a simple removal, and re-sealing usually gets the job done, however in extreme cases , you may end up with two layers of matt on the interior of the bumper itself.

We ourselves use a brand called second skin, which on many occasions has proven to be the best of all the other available auto based sound deadening products.Any reputable installer in this thread can testify, and usually where you would normally have the use of two layers or other brands, one layer of second skin gets the job done.It was also shown on a number of testes and the information is available, simply do a Google search.

We offer installation services as well as products, so please send a private message, or you can call us at 363-5897.

If you have any further questions concerning noise and sound control, feel free to ask,
Team ADT

:D
Last edited by RAJIE on March 20th, 2013, 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » March 19th, 2013, 6:11 pm

Guys... Sorry To Hijack This Thread But Ive Been Getting Alot Of Hood Noises... (Even Though I Matted My Entire Hood With Dynamat Extreme)... I Believe The Upholstery Around The Edges Of The Door Rubber Making A Kind Of Weird Rattle/Squeak (lolwut?).... When Pressed The Upholstery Itself It Kind Of Loose... Any Ideas On What To Use To Stick It Back So It Wont Be Loose?....

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 19th, 2013, 10:34 pm

I'm getting an interesting rattling/buzzing problem at the moment. It seems to be coming from, of all things, the door handles on my Hyundai Tucson. Not really sure how to go about dealing with that. It's not like I can fasten them into place...

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 19th, 2013, 10:53 pm

^^ I added dynamatt to mine, about 3 layers in strips to minimize the vibrations rather than just put 3layers across the entire thing which IMO would have just added mass.

devan100

Postby devan100 » August 15th, 2014, 7:19 pm

How much dynamat I need to to do a b14 trunk.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » August 15th, 2014, 7:35 pm

between 1 and 2 sheets. i say 2

CleanAudio

Postby CleanAudio » August 15th, 2014, 9:53 pm

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 1:36 pm

This is the thread alyuh bump back boy.