PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

fouljuice

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby fouljuice » August 13th, 2014, 9:10 pm

I think they said sometime between 3 weeks and mid september.
Some foreign sites and newegg already had some on sale, but out of stock now.
OverclockersUK have some models available for preorder.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 13th, 2014, 9:38 pm

Nice

Postby DVSTT » August 14th, 2014, 12:05 am

To buy ps4 or not?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 14th, 2014, 12:16 am

Nah doh waste yuh $$$ on dat

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 14th, 2014, 2:36 am

I'd love to see a comparison between a machine running DDR3 and an exact specs machine running DDR4 memory and increases are.

Postby ismithx » August 14th, 2014, 5:33 am

wow, ddr4, the future is here. but seriously tho, it doesn't really pay off to be an early bandwagonist. wait for the tech to mature a bit and the prices to drop?

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 14th, 2014, 7:10 am

ismithx wrote:wow, ddr4, the future is here. but seriously tho, it doesn't really pay off to be an early bandwagonist. wait for the tech to mature a bit and the prices to drop?

Yep wait by this time next year will be a nice time to upgrade .

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 14th, 2014, 2:31 pm

daai good talk, I go chill meh stones till then

Postby DVSTT » August 14th, 2014, 3:37 pm

I never had a ps3 so I'm bit upgrading lol. But I'm also due to start school so i m not sure if I'll have the time. Ps3 and a few games is also an option

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 14th, 2014, 6:34 pm

Unless there is a game that you want to play that is exclusive to the console. ..I see no reason in getting one. Just my $0.02.
I wanted God of War.... so guess what console I got :-)

Postby DVSTT » August 14th, 2014, 7:45 pm

kamakazi wrote:Unless there is a game that you want to play that is exclusive to the console. ..I see no reason in getting one. Just my $0.02.

Guess I'll wait until ps4 price drops I suppose...

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » August 15th, 2014, 10:18 am

fouljuice wrote:They fix the store-language $hit as yet?

No they haven't but I use Chrome to purchase my game, there translation widgets works great

Postby Spitfir3 » August 15th, 2014, 10:53 am

DVSTT wrote:
kamakazi wrote:Unless there is a game that you want to play that is exclusive to the console. ..I see no reason in getting one. Just my $0.02.

Guess I'll wait until ps4 price drops I suppose...

its up to what you play, but imo if you don't care to much for the major ps4 titles i'd say just go with a ps3 because they can be had for cheap now and they finally have stable "working" mods for it that's if you want to go down that route

doesn't really make sense you f0rq out one set of money for the ps4 then another set for games only to be using it one time for the month

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 23rd, 2014, 6:22 pm

is there anywhere locally i can get a UPS with voltage regulation? like this:

http://www.amazon.com/APC-BR1500G-BACK- ... 003Y24DEU/

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 23rd, 2014, 8:46 pm

You could check supertech.
I not sure if the 1500VA is the same model you looking for so you could give them a call.
http://www.supertechtt.com/download/pricelist.pdf

I think Pricesmart used to have these a few years now for about $900 or $1000
http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-SMART1000LCD-1000VA-Outlets/dp/B000B651DO

I never used it and the amazon reviews don't look too good.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 24th, 2014, 12:33 am

Supertech sell them...using one myself from them....not sure if they have the 1500 tho

C & C Trading

Postby C & C Trading » August 24th, 2014, 12:49 am

Wrd

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 24th, 2014, 1:03 am

I now get a serious voltage dip there, good thing I Have a voltage regulator ^_^

hadda invest in a UPS battery now
Found one at the side of the road with a dead battery, people does cho way good ting sometimes

Swisha

Postby Swisha » August 24th, 2014, 1:18 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Supertech sell them...using one myself from them....not sure if they have the 1500 tho

Which one did u get and how much u paid if u don't mind me asking?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 24th, 2014, 3:45 am

Got the 1000VA version

$1165

Jet

Postby Jet » August 24th, 2014, 8:25 am

Last edited by Jet on August 29th, 2014, 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 28th, 2014, 10:33 am

This came in today from Frozen :D

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 28th, 2014, 11:12 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:This came in today from Frozen :D

Nice block. What u cooling with it?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 28th, 2014, 9:13 pm

Using it on the Z68 board in the trooper...staying Ivy...wanted to try my hands on a custom loop...nothing extravagant.

Doing the CPU and the Motherboard

Using Primochill Bloodshed red tubing as well 8-)

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 28th, 2014, 10:29 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Using it on the Z68 board in the trooper...staying Ivy...wanted to try my hands on a custom loop...nothing extravagant.

Doing the CPU and the Motherboard

Using Primochill Bloodshed red tubing as well 8-)

SO ah ivy bridge cpu on a z68 board, cooling the vrm/chipset/cpu? WHy u didin't get ah z77 board (yes i know u in luv with that evga board)? I using ah msi z68a-gd65 with ah i5-3570k cpu rite now with ah liquid cooled gtx 570 (was suppose to be a pair but one dead, got a next working one but i lazy rite now to put it back in d loop).

In d bios the oc showing up as 4.7ghz even in windows but coretemp and cpuz showing stock clocks. :S Read up on z68 chipsets and ivy bridge and most reviews state they oh oc well together.

Ordered a real z77 board to try meh luck, actually two z77 (an atx and a micro atx).

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 28th, 2014, 11:57 pm

^Have you benched it and seen any differences as opposed to it @ stock in terms of performance???

From what I saw it was really Gigabyte users complaining of OCing issues

What kinda board you ordered btw???

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 29th, 2014, 8:52 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:^Have you benched it and seen any differences as opposed to it @ stock in terms of performance???

From what I saw it was really Gigabyte users complaining of OCing issues

What kinda board you ordered btw???

I think so, will have to power up d pc and check the links/screenshots.

Got this one ebay via auction (was playing d a$$ and actually won):

http://www.asrock.com/mb/intel/z77%20pro3/

Basic features but i eh into sli/xfire again, just wanted a z77 chipset to see where the overclocking problem lies.

Was looking for a cheap cpu on ebay too and won this board in d auction(was a combo):

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z77%20Pro4-M/

So i have two test boards now :lol:

Postby Ted_v2 » August 29th, 2014, 10:44 pm

Anyone can tell me what's the best deal on a monitor now?

Still looking for one. Rebuilt my pc and used back a old screen.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 29th, 2014, 11:23 pm

Nah boi you have to supply more info than that.

What is the main use/price range/size/resolution you looking at?

Postby maj. tom » August 29th, 2014, 11:47 pm

you getting nice HDMI monitors at The Wizz in POS. Check if their website is up for a price list, or call. Got a 23" LG there and no regrets.