Weight loss, stories, progress,advice

inter_elegance

Weight loss, stories, progress,advice

Postby inter_elegance » July 14th, 2014, 2:53 pm

Ok guys i‘m starting this thread for all who has lost weight and is willing to share advice and thier experience in doing so. Maybe also a weekly weigh in for those of you who are in the process of losing or who may want to start can benifit from this thread.

I‘ll go first. I was always chubby growing up. I reached my highest at 250 in 2009 . In 2012 a couple months before my son was born i started working out and dieting. i also used a pill called oxy elite pro which worked great. After about 4 months i was at 189lbs.. i maintained this weight until january of this year. I began eating junk and snacks again. My wife was at sando for 3 weeks and everyday i would eat 8 caramel. Im now at 238lbs and i am disgusted and ashamed of what i did. Its very hard to get back on track and not eat snacks..

If anyone else has done this or found a way to stay away from snacks plz share.

Re: Weight loss, stories, progress,advice

Postby Trini Hookah » July 14th, 2014, 3:08 pm

~168 caramel yuh put down dey big man

Supplement your snack craving with fruit if you can.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 14th, 2014, 3:15 pm

Was 255
Now 170

3 1/2 years of hard work, dieting and exercise is probably the only two things you need. firetruck supps.
Hardest in the beginning to give yourself the discipline to eat clean and then sweat daily.

I eh going back down that road to fatness nah.

In the beginning, aim to cut out snacks/junk/softdrinks completely. Build the discipline.
Then aim to clean up your regular food and aim for a caloric deficit. Reduce and measure portions, use high protein, lotsa veggies to help you along.

Try to get 30 mins of steady state cardio at least 5 times per week. Later on, weight/resistance training would be more useful.

Set realistic goals and reward yourself as to not make a tortous existence.
Aim for 1-2 lbs weight loss per week. If you made it, reward yourself with a little cake or ice cream or something ONCE PER WEEK. If you did not hit your goal, SALT.

Good luck, check the bodybuilders thread for more info.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » July 14th, 2014, 3:34 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Was 255
Now 170

3 1/2 years of hard work, dieting and exercise is probably the only two things you need. firetruck supps.
Hardest in the beginning to give yourself the discipline to eat clean and then sweat daily.

I eh going back down that road to fatness nah.

In the beginning, aim to cut out snacks/junk/softdrinks completely. Build the discipline.
Then aim to clean up your regular food and aim for a caloric deficit. Reduce and measure portions, use high protein, lotsa veggies to help you along.

Try to get 30 mins of steady state cardio at least 5 times per week. Later on, weight/resistance training would be more useful.

Set realistic goals and reward yourself as to not make a tortous existence.
Aim for 1-2 lbs weight loss per week. If you made it, reward yourself with a little cake or ice cream or something ONCE PER WEEK. If you did not hit your goal, SALT.

Good luck, check the bodybuilders thread for more info.

This.

Was 290lbs.
Lowest I ever dropped was 210lbs.

Lost about 60lbs in one year.... No Supps. Just cardio everyday on the threadmill at Incline and arc trainer.
I also had cut out all junk food.

My problem was I never did much weight training within that year. The weight went to fast, skin started sogging.

Following year I decided to embark on the weight lifting regime. Went up to 225 lbs, and got real muscle... With only protein supplements and plenty chicken.

This is my third year in the game and it working out good so far.

Like Hookah said, buy fruits.. And eat that instead of the snacks. Bananas and golden apples are my favourite, also baby carrots.

inter_elegance

Postby inter_elegance » July 14th, 2014, 3:36 pm

My biggest problem is when i eat snack after a while. Doh talk bout cake i use to buy birthday cake from kiss and it wasnt even anyone birthday

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » July 14th, 2014, 3:38 pm

inter_elegance wrote:My biggest problem is when i eat snack after a while. Doh talk bout cake i use to buy birthday cake from kiss and it wasnt even anyone birthday

Had that same problem too, but it's all a mind set.

I just ate a cup of hagen Daz, but that gonna burn out in the gym later.

Don't cut out everything one time.... Start slowly. And always do cardio.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » July 14th, 2014, 3:40 pm

290 vs 225

Still struggling slight with the belly fat. But I'm getting there.
1405366775538.jpg

Postby UML » July 14th, 2014, 3:48 pm

inter_elegance wrote:My biggest problem is when i eat snack after a while. Doh talk bout cake i use to buy birthday cake from kiss and it wasnt even anyone birthday

sorry but dat seriously made me laugh

good luck!

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » July 14th, 2014, 3:48 pm

Just kickstarting my program. Started off at 245.5lbs about 5 weeks ago. Decided initially to go with a low calorie diet with cardio. After 3 weeks lost only 3lbs which was a bummer for me. Then decided to do the Atkins diet...no carbs. After 2 weeks, a further 9lbs came off so far. I am also doing weight training as well.

The next few weeks gonna be hard, cause started fasting, and to maintain a low carb diet without eating meat, and trying to ensure it tastes good is gonna be balls!...looked at a salad this morning and got sick.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » July 14th, 2014, 3:51 pm

I hope Alyuh men don't fall off after a while eh.

inter_elegance

Postby inter_elegance » July 14th, 2014, 4:01 pm

I will try and get at least half hour brisk walking every day from now on.

Postby MG Man » July 14th, 2014, 4:06 pm

virus / diarrhea, followed by surgery...lost 20lbs :)

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » July 14th, 2014, 4:19 pm

MG Man wrote:virus / diarrhea, followed by surgery...lost 20lbs :)

Better remedy... Get ah girl, develop strong feelings /love for her. Then wait for it...

Postby Rainman » July 14th, 2014, 4:24 pm

205 down to ~153

Eating clean, working out hard (not so much these days because of work)....no silver bullet

A calorie is a calorie is a calorie is a calorie is a calorie

Postby MG Man » July 14th, 2014, 4:27 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:
MG Man wrote:virus / diarrhea, followed by surgery...lost 20lbs :)

Better remedy... Get ah girl, develop strong feelings /love for her. Then wait for it...

tried that, the wife found out, got beat up, swelled up more than before

axe

Postby axe » July 14th, 2014, 4:43 pm

no exercise....went gluten free and lost 20 lbs within 3 months...keep taking my pants waist ever since

inter_elegance

Postby inter_elegance » July 14th, 2014, 4:53 pm

I too went gluten free and lost about 10lbs

Postby Rainman » July 14th, 2014, 4:54 pm

Oh and OP, stay away from anyone who uses the term "gluten free" they don;t know a damn thing about nutrition.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 14th, 2014, 5:01 pm

random motivation

http://imgur.com/r/motivation
some mo shiz

------------------------

Just remember to get the ball rolling for now, something small as going for a walk will do, even for 5 mins a day. Then gradually work your way up , you go get thru!

Once the ball rolling, it hard to stop, so doh worry if you start slowing down, ball still rolling.
Although, if for some reason it stop, you made it roll once before, you have the strength to get it moving again.

Go forth and conquer da pum pum

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 14th, 2014, 5:11 pm

Hope this thread doesn't get merged....

Started on 2014-07-01 @ 231
Want to drop to 185.....realistically might be 200.

Trying for 30 mins - 1hr cardio everyday.
Gonna try to add in some push-ups and sit-ups as well.

inter_elegance

Postby inter_elegance » July 14th, 2014, 5:34 pm

I wanna start today half hour walking. Tonight i have a 100 lb home gym setup so hopefully i can lift light also

Postby pugboy » July 14th, 2014, 5:59 pm

your problem is largely mental, you admit eating all the junk and watched your weight increase with the tunnocks and kiss cake.

so once you stop, the weight should come off just as easily if you not cheating.
after you reach a plateau of weight loss then it becomes a serious challenge to lose more.

Of course losing the taste for sugar is not easy,
sugar caused nations to search for more land in the new world and caused the slave trade

there should be an official biggest losers thread here with pics, lol

inter_elegance

Postby inter_elegance » July 14th, 2014, 6:39 pm

Nah is trini men will laugh at other ppl

Postby Trini Hookah » July 14th, 2014, 6:43 pm

I could vouch for rainman and djBee, them fellas different

Postby nervewrecker » July 14th, 2014, 8:28 pm

Wheyyyyy Dj_Bee! That is some good work there man!

My weight loss story:

ate an entire cheese cake and box of donuts from pricesmart in one week and lost 3 pounds.

out of starvation with work and school for another week....gained 2.9 pounds.

Thought the scale whack so tried it again, same scenario. Seems more I eat more weight I loose while less I eat more weight I gain.

Eating like a hog lately and down 2 pounds again.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » July 14th, 2014, 8:54 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Wheyyyyy Dj_Bee! That is some good work there man!

My weight loss story:

ate an entire cheese cake and box of donuts from pricesmart in one week and lost 3 pounds.

out of starvation with work and school for another week....gained 2.9 pounds.

Thought the scale whack so tried it again, same scenario. Seems more I eat more weight I loose while less I eat more weight I gain.

Eating like a hog lately and down 2 pounds again.

Try eating some solid food, like meat, provision, rice, veggies.
Lots of complex carbs and protein

Postby nervewrecker » July 14th, 2014, 9:05 pm

My diet is rice, meat (chicken, fish, pork, tuna, sardine) and vegetables. When is not that is fish broth and stuff or steam fish and vegetables, crab and dumpling, boil and fry yam / cassava with saltfish with the occasional doubles, kfc, pizza, spaghetti or chinese. Weight stays one place.

Just buss up a 8" x 2" x 4" bowl of fry rice, potato salad, steam vegetables and a bake chicken leg and thigh.
Had fish and rice for lunch. Ate half the fish.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » July 14th, 2014, 9:23 pm

nervewrecker wrote:My diet is rice, meat (chicken, fish, pork, tuna, sardine) and vegetables. When is not that is fish broth and stuff or steam fish and vegetables, crab and dumpling, boil and fry yam / cassava with saltfish with the occasional doubles, kfc, pizza, spaghetti or chinese. Weight stays one place.

Just buss up a 8" x 2" x 4" bowl of fry rice, potato salad, steam vegetables and a bake chicken leg and thigh.
Had fish and rice for lunch. Ate half the fish.

Wtf and still you ain't putting on weight.
I wish I had it like that lol.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » July 14th, 2014, 9:59 pm

subscribed ....

Postby Redman » July 15th, 2014, 3:41 pm

Finally a fatman thread I can contribute to

260lbs - relatively clean diet-not obsessive about it but its relatively clean. Ive cut out most of the crap due to seeing my old man go through some chit

Started walking/running 5km takes about 50-55 minutes.

Im not worried about my weight as opposed to my fitness (or lack there of).

Dont merge this thread-