When? Where? How much?

DJ Q

When? Where? How much?

Postby DJ Q » July 11th, 2014, 11:31 am

Inspiration to this thread comes from an experience yesterday.

I recently downloaded a this app:
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/auto-ca ... 58809?mt=8

It really helps me to keep track of what needs to be done on my vehicle.

Anyway, I went to the tyre shop yesterday as I've never rotated or aligned the car since I have it, and they told me I needed to "Camber" it as well. Now I believe I understand what camber is, the angle of the tyre, but I've never had this done. The decision was to align, balance, camber & rotate.

This cost me $650.
Now I find that was a lot.

What I'd like to know is... was I robbed?

ALSO
This is all I have so far:
image.png

I want to ensure I stay on top of everything with this vehicle.
Can you guys help me to add to the list and I'll update this first post?

My LIST:
Change Oil & Filter - 7,000km or 3 months
Rotate & Balance - 10,000km or 6 months
Align & Camber - 10,000km or 6 months
Flush engine coolant - 20,000km or 12 months

Need to add:
Change A/C belt - ?????km or ???? months
Change Air & Fuel Filter - ????km or ???? months
Change Tyres - ????km or ???? months
Engine Wash - ????km or ???? months
Under Wash - ????km or ???? months

I'm hoping this thread will help others as well :)
Love this car and want to keep it at it's best.

Aside from helping us know what to do, help us know where to do it!

Re: When? Where? How much?

Postby A172 » July 11th, 2014, 2:43 pm

u geh rob pal did a rotate, balance, and align yest for 200 by mano's in warren

in terms of competence thats where all boost factory cars do their wrk

Postby 1UZFE » July 11th, 2014, 2:54 pm

Where was this??

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 11th, 2014, 4:36 pm

A172, according to them, it wasn't just alignment, it was camber as well. Not exactly sure if they're one and the same.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 11th, 2014, 8:12 pm

alignment and cambering is done at a cost of $250 in Sangre Grande by the ole skool latchman...cost of speed balancing would depend on how much weights were used,at most $100 for all four tires.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 11th, 2014, 8:14 pm

Okay well I guess that sums it up... I overpaid by a lot.

What about the rest of the info:

Change A/C belt - ?????km or ???? months
Change Air & Fuel Filter - ????km or ???? months
Change Tyres - ????km or ???? months
Engine Wash - ????km or ???? months
Under Wash - ????km or ???? months

What else do I need to add?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 11th, 2014, 8:19 pm

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/under-the ... ligned.htm

take a lil read there..

as far as I understand air filter is usually changed along with oil/oil filters,that's about every 5000km.

when doing an engine wash cater for changing plugs as well imo wash when it real stink. when doing under wash people usually cater for shock oil as well.Brand new tires usually give at least 2 solid years(distance covered was grande-piarco with the odd drive on a saturday,more or less 6 days a week) with the necessary rotation etc etc

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 12th, 2014, 10:24 pm

They probably installed a camber kit?

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » July 13th, 2014, 12:27 am

650 pal...where them ppl located?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 14th, 2014, 9:47 am

They didn't install anything.
This is the tyre shop just after Cost Cutters, El Dorado on the main road on your right heading east.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 14th, 2014, 10:02 am

DJ Q wrote:They didn't install anything.
This is the tyre shop just after Cost Cutters, El Dorado on the main road on your right heading east.

That's boyies. I'm sorry pal but that's one of the worst tyre shops I've heard about. Only horror stories. My brother's gf went there for a suspension check and they said everything was good. When mechanic check shocks bad and rubbers burst.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 14th, 2014, 2:48 pm

Passed not too long ago.
It's not Boyie's. Never noticed that place.
I'd never take my car to somewhere looking like that :?

It's Frank's 4 wheel alignment.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 14th, 2014, 3:17 pm

Or well he's just generally really expensive.

Postby BrotherHood » July 14th, 2014, 3:25 pm

When the camber on a vehicle is really off, camber bolts are needed. You sure they did not put new camber bolts on your car?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 15th, 2014, 12:08 am

According to the screen I saw it was off by about 2 degrees.
They went under that car so fast I can't imagine them changing anything.

Especially since they gave me that price before the car even went up on the ramp.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 16th, 2014, 8:04 am

honestly I never did an alignment with the new technology around.The people I go by still old school with the ole arse machine to check toe-in and out..but for sure when you done you don't have to go back.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » July 16th, 2014, 8:30 am

I had a lot of bad experience by Frank's. over priced, telling me i needed to fix parts that were good, the guy who was doing the alignment and camber was a mute so interacting with him was a horror story. i just went there after buying tires across the road but never again.

I tried a couple of places already and ended up where i started. Mustaifars, Sangre Grande. More than 10 tens and never any serious complaints with reasonable prices.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 16th, 2014, 8:58 am

OP what about fuel filter change interval?

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » July 16th, 2014, 9:01 am

transmission fluid?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 16th, 2014, 10:00 am

Well I've added a few.
Since I can't find any manual for my car in English, I've just used some general based on Google.

Check Tyre Pressure - 1 month
Change Oil & Filter - 7,000km or 3 months
Change Fuel Filter - 30,000km or 24 months
Change Air Filter - 10,000km or 6 months
Align & Camber - 10,000km or 6 months
Rotate & Balance - 10,000km or 6 months
Flush Coolant - 20,000km or 12 months
Change Tyres - 60,000km or 60 months

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 17th, 2014, 8:42 am

ruff neck chicken wrote:I had a lot of bad experience by Frank's. over priced, telling me i needed to fix parts that were good, the guy who was doing the alignment and camber was a mute so interacting with him was a horror story. i just went there after buying tires across the road but never again.

I tried a couple of places already and ended up where i started. Mustaifars, Sangre Grande. More than 10 tens and never any serious complaints with reasonable prices.

people always rate mustafar but he does not do the job himself..also he learned the trade by latchman,so i go directly to the source.

Postby cinco » July 17th, 2014, 8:48 am

Merchant tyre montrose are the best in central.
There is a good place up arima on the easternmain road a lil corner tyre shop wid a new alignment machine dont know the name though

Postby crazybalhead » July 17th, 2014, 9:36 am

Q, yuh around here long enough to do some research man. 650 was plenty. Understand what has to be done and make a decision.

I go by mileage mack and take note of the readout etc. Those guys actually know what they are doing. A lot of these technicians don't take the time to do things properly.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » July 17th, 2014, 10:15 am

What about ramcharitar in tunapuna?

Postby MG Man » July 17th, 2014, 2:51 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:http://auto.howstuffworks.com/under-the-hood/diagnosing-car-problems/body/car-realigned.htm

take a lil read there..

as far as I understand air filter is usually changed along with oil/oil filters,that's about every 5000km.

when doing an engine wash cater for changing plugs as well imo wash when it real stink. when doing under wash people usually cater for shock oil as well.Brand new tires usually give at least 2 solid years(distance covered was grande-piarco with the odd drive on a saturday,more or less 6 days a week) with the necessary rotation etc etc

people still doing that?
O_O
There's absolutely no need to spray any sort of oil under a modern car....that went out when cars stopped using leaf springs

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 18th, 2014, 4:45 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:http://auto.howstuffworks.com/under-the-hood/diagnosing-car-problems/body/car-realigned.htm

take a lil read there..

people still doing that?
O_O
There's absolutely no need to spray any sort of oil under a modern car....that went out when cars stopped using leaf springs

Buh without lube she makes weird noises

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 18th, 2014, 7:08 am

take a lil read there..

people still doing that?
O_O

yup people still do it...

Hdmivision

Postby Hdmivision » July 18th, 2014, 7:20 am

Yep you got robbed ! that's like triple the normal cost.

Postby cinco » July 18th, 2014, 9:12 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:

take a lil read there..

people still doing that?
O_O

Buh without lube she makes weird noises

Kurps your van different considering where you take it.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » July 21st, 2014, 4:35 pm

bossmann wrote:What about ramcharitar in tunapuna?

sent my dad there after i read some reviews from another thread. he said that was the most honest guy he ever dealt with and he was thankful for me sending him there.