A New Clothing Line

Postby bluefete » July 10th, 2014, 6:55 pm

SMH.

A children's clothing line is under fire after this T-shirt featuring a monkey's body was seen paired with the face of an African-American boy.

Clothing line controversy after monkey’s body is matched with African-American boy’s face
The controversial combination seen in a photo uploaded to Twitter Wednesday has prompted a quick defense by the company, Just Add A Kid, which is chalking it up as 'a total misunderstanding.'

BY Sasha Goldstein , Nina Golgowski
NEW YORK DAILY NEWS
Published: Wednesday, July 9, 2014, 9:23 PM
Updated: Thursday, July 10, 2014, 12:18 AM

A children's clothing line is coming under fire after a T-shirt featuring a monkey's body was paired with a cardboard cutout showing an African-American boy's face.

The controversial combination seen in a photo uploaded to Twitter Wednesday is now creating ire and has prompted a quick defense by the company, Just Add A Kid, which is chalking it up as "a total misunderstanding."

"We are looking into all the situations that occurred around this little incident," company co-creator Lowell Cohen told the Daily News by phone. "We're looking at the vendor, we're speaking to our employees."

The T-shirts designed by the clothing line feature cartoon character bodies ranging from surfers, cowboys, princesses, angels and various animals and occupations. In a later statement, the company said the pairing was "not authorized, condoned or tolerated" by the company.

"The head shots on our hangers are intended (to) reflect the different cultures of our happy customers, and are distributed separately to our shirts," the company said in the statement. "In this particular case, one of our retailers paired a particular hanger with a shirt without consideration for how it may appear to many consumers.We are taking steps to prevent this from happening again."

It appears to ultimately be each vendor's decision in how they pair the cardboard faces — featuring various ethnicities — to the designs.

"Our designs feature multicultural skin tones and appropriately matching header cards (to) showcase children of the world," the company posted on Twitter Wednesday.

Just Add A Kid is one of the lines owned by the San Diego-based Thanks a Million, Cohen said.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/nationa ... -1.1861138

Re: A New Clothing Line

Postby 1UZFE » July 10th, 2014, 7:31 pm

stueps. how dey bad so? Put a white kid face with a army suit...

Postby pioneer » July 10th, 2014, 7:36 pm

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » July 10th, 2014, 8:18 pm

this is gold

Postby BrotherHood » July 10th, 2014, 8:26 pm

Just contributing to the ting man. That is no misunderstanding. Seeems very blatant.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » July 10th, 2014, 9:36 pm

Hmm .. ( beating chest .. eating a banana )

orangefox

Postby orangefox » July 10th, 2014, 9:37 pm

Hmm .. ( beating chest .. eating a banana )

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 10th, 2014, 10:32 pm

FUBU.

Postby Spitfir3 » July 11th, 2014, 12:07 am

im sorry eh but LOL
Last edited by Spitfir3 on July 11th, 2014, 1:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » July 11th, 2014, 12:12 am

I want to believe that this is a mix up, cuz in this day and age nobody eh so dotish to show that overt tye of racism.

Postby pete » July 11th, 2014, 3:21 am

People offended by this probably don't have kids.

Postby Morpheus » July 11th, 2014, 4:09 am

For real....cause goats have kids...

LoL :|

It just kinda outta timing but I dunno nah.....

LalChun

Postby LalChun » July 11th, 2014, 7:40 am

Hahahaha

Postby pete » July 11th, 2014, 7:40 am

From how they put these on the rack, usually it's the same shirt all the way back right? So you could assume the one behind is a Caucasian child head with the same shirt. People really look for racism wherever because that's all they see. Hate.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » July 11th, 2014, 7:52 am

ent we all evolved from apes?
are you still an ape?
you think you are an ape?
what is the offense really?

Postby K74T » July 11th, 2014, 8:23 am

pete wrote:People really look for racism wherever because that's all they see.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 11th, 2014, 9:48 am

LOL!!!

Postby A172 » July 11th, 2014, 1:33 pm

lookin normal

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » July 11th, 2014, 10:58 pm

seems legit

Postby SMc » July 12th, 2014, 5:13 am

Halfbreed07 wrote:ent we all evolved from apes?
are you still an ape?
you think you are an ape?
what is the offense really?

I think you misunderstood that part of evolution..it is more like people and apes shared a common ancestor ie evolved from the same thing rather than one evolved from the other.

fanks

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » July 12th, 2014, 5:27 pm

Lol @ cocktards who put science > god.... Carry on.

Postby DFC » July 12th, 2014, 5:49 pm

Lol @ this sheit.

Postby shogun » July 12th, 2014, 9:44 pm

INHUMAN wrote:Lol @ cocktards who put science > god.... Carry on.

Lol @ faith-based > proven/tangible.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 12th, 2014, 10:14 pm

Um.

Postby Spitfir3 » July 13th, 2014, 2:43 am

lettuce not go der guise

nemesis

Postby nemesis » July 13th, 2014, 3:42 am

K74T wrote:
pete wrote:People really look for racism wherever because that's all they see.

True. If those two headpieces were switched I'm sure people would then complain about something to do with Af. American kids and the army. Oh well.

Postby pioneer » August 18th, 2014, 9:17 pm

More than a month later I still don't see the issue, why do people get all offended anytime a monkey/primate is referenced?

Is it that anytime a monkey is mentioned in a sentence, it automatically means black person?

pluggie

Postby pluggie » August 19th, 2014, 2:05 am

thats crazy ... a monkey is better looking ...

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 19th, 2014, 4:57 am

That a racist t-shirt.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » August 19th, 2014, 4:58 am

That a racist t-shirt.