New Navara vs V8 Boys

Re: New Navara vs V8 Boys

Postby Team Loco » June 25th, 2014, 6:26 pm

Every single day some jackass in a navara bdrives like an muffler bearing on the highway. Good truck but to me its a weapon in the hands of immature trinis

STREETFREAK

Postby STREETFREAK » June 25th, 2014, 8:37 pm

i looking out for the new
L200/TRITON

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 25th, 2014, 9:49 pm

Saw the concept a while ago. They say that their goal is to dominate the the 4x4 market....

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » June 25th, 2014, 10:23 pm

3.2 L200 > All.

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 26th, 2014, 8:24 am

the wingle 6 looking nice..

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 27th, 2014, 9:54 pm

Team Loco wrote:Every single day some jackass in a navara bdrives like an muffler bearing on the highway. Good truck but to me its a weapon in the hands of immature trinis

saw one passin tru st helena today front half burn down, any
info on this fellers ?

aidan

Postby aidan » June 27th, 2014, 11:49 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:the wingle 6 looking nice..

Yeah boy,looks aggressive.

rusty_turbo

Postby rusty_turbo » June 28th, 2014, 10:21 am

matthewmazda wrote:
Team Loco wrote:Every single day some jackass in a navara bdrives like an muffler bearing on the highway. Good truck but to me its a weapon in the hands of immature trinis

saw one passin tru st helena today front half burn down, any
info on this fellers ?

That wasn't any accident..

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 28th, 2014, 12:08 pm

rusty_turbo wrote:That wasn't any accident..

So what was it then?

rusty_turbo

Postby rusty_turbo » June 28th, 2014, 3:42 pm

Van was set ablaze in the owner's garage at their house.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 28th, 2014, 4:30 pm

rusty_turbo wrote:Van was set ablaze in the owner's garage at their house.

holy crap :shock:

Postby black start » June 28th, 2014, 5:53 pm

Too much geedem....

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 29th, 2014, 9:08 pm

Everyone pretty much made a lot of sense in this thread. All automobile manufacturers came a long way in the design and manufacture of vehicle in this case pickup trucks.

Truth is no one can beat the Americans especially when it comes to Trucks (as they call them up there vs pickups for us down here). The F150, RAM, Sierra/Silverado are the best. The Tundra is an excellent Japanese response made for the NA market. The Nissan Titan did well but never scored or made any impact worth noticing.

Then we have the Thailand made pickups for our market. We all pretty much agree that vehicles in TT are over-priced due to our archaic laws but that is for another discussion. Diesel fuel here is cheap and of little international quality. I personally don't see the sense in paying $200 - $300k TTD in a vehicle from its design was made to be a commercial method of transportation.

You could put big alloy rims, fake leather seats, fake wood trim, DVD players, add all sorts of power features and label it the luxury 4x4 model and price it at $275k and it'll sell like hot hops but I still won't be fooled. People don't care that the tray is really an open box with these silly inside hooks good for some boxes purchased from PriceSmart and you still have to hire transportation if you buy galvanize, steel or lumber. Even when it comes to crash safety a ladder frame chassis will never give you the ride quality, handling dynamics and overall efficiency as a unibody.

The luxury I can get from a $168k - $220k compact sedan far surpasses that of any pickup, but let's just say I am in the market for a pickup and of course it is highly impractical to import an American made LHD V8 powered monster, what locally can really satisfy that need?

The list:

Toyota Hilux
Nissan Navara
Mitsubishi L200 Sportero
Mazda BT-50
Ford Ranger
Isuzu D-Max
Chevrolet Colorado
Ssang Yong Actyon Sports
Great Wall Wingle 5
Mahindra Pik Up
Gonow Troy

The Hilux has been selling here since 2005 ie. 9 years now so we pretty much have a great deal of experience with it. The Navara has been here since 2007 ie. 7 years and it turned out to be very popular. The Sportero not so popular but here long enough since 2006 ie. 8 years. The BT-50 and Ranger twins only 3 years as we got them in 2011 and the D-Max and Colorado in 2013 only a year now. The Actyon came here since what 07-08 and it never really scored and the Wingle surprisingly got some market share due to good pricing, stock availability and marketing. The Mahindra came here only 2 years but sold a hand-full and some customers actually enjoy their purchase and gave the dealer a thumbs up! Lastly, the Gonow Troy is rare but can safely be mentioned as a market failure.

When you strip the top guns down to the chassis, you would realize that the top spots for strength would be the Hilux/Ranger/BT-50/Colorado/D-Max. Those pickups are ultra competitive. The Navara would then be rated with the Sportero.

For power, the Navara is optionally equipped with a V6 turbo diesel with enough torque to probably pull a back-hoe but we don't get that here. Instead we get the 450Nm beast in a light van which gives its owners maniac powers hence we see them erratically on our nations roads. The other beasts would be the 3.2 twins and the new Colorado 2.8 with the Duramax Diesel that is just as powerfull. Mid-pack are the D-Max, Sportero, Actyon and Hilux. Last would be the Great Wall, Mahindra and Gonow etc...

Sadly Trinis portray to be experts in everything such as fighting crime and even designing an automobile. We decided that if it doesn't have a Japanese name-plate, it just aint good and that's why TTTL, NM, ANSA, Southern Sales etc.. are smiling their way to the Bank.

But left up to me I would buy the Ranger/BT-50 and the Colorado simply because they're above average in its intended design. They maybe worse than a Hilux wrt resale value but to me those pickups bring me closer to the true trucky spirit that embodies the American Silverado and F150 etc..not just for their power but mainly their strength.

Postby Team Loco » June 30th, 2014, 4:49 am

Nice writeup. I am biased towards hilux and its for good reason. Crashtest. Look on youtube for the crashtest vids and hilux beats all. I always put that first.

whiteknight1431

Postby whiteknight1431 » June 30th, 2014, 5:57 am

Great write up @acesinghit. I'm a not so proud owner of a navara, since I bought it from N&M it has choose to give me some hell. One thing I can say it that our diesel fuel isn't suited for any our the new pickups/suv's and the service departments aren't ready for these vehicles. They depend too much on the diagnosis computer. Since the new BT-50/Ford Ranger came out I was planning to upgrade, until a friend of mines bought a 3.2l limited edition for 336k minus insurance and within 300km (a week of driving) his engine went kaboom.

Postby Team Loco » June 30th, 2014, 6:14 am

All the talk about diesel fuel not suited. After half a million kms our d4d hilux going strong. No issues with diesel. Its all about timely service and sticking to a brand of oil. Also oem filters

Postby DVSTT » July 3rd, 2014, 6:49 am

Maska has this on order. They said its starting from 275k

rusty_turbo

Postby rusty_turbo » July 3rd, 2014, 7:31 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1404387068.100533.jpg
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1404387068.100533.jpg (35.41 KiB) Viewed 3990 times

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 3rd, 2014, 11:37 am

acesinghit wrote:Everyone pretty much made a lot of sense in this thread. All automobile manufacturers came a long way in the design and manufacture of vehicle in this case pickup trucks.

Truth is no one can beat the Americans especially when it comes to Trucks (as they call them up there vs pickups for us down here). The F150, RAM, Sierra/Silverado are the best. The Tundra is an excellent Japanese response made for the NA market. The Nissan Titan did well but never scored or made any impact worth noticing.

Then we have the Thailand made pickups for our market. We all pretty much agree that vehicles in TT are over-priced due to our archaic laws but that is for another discussion. Diesel fuel here is cheap and of little international quality. I personally don't see the sense in paying $200 - $300k TTD in a vehicle from its design was made to be a commercial method of transportation.

You could put big alloy rims, fake leather seats, fake wood trim, DVD players, add all sorts of power features and label it the luxury 4x4 model and price it at $275k and it'll sell like hot hops but I still won't be fooled. People don't care that the tray is really an open box with these silly inside hooks good for some boxes purchased from PriceSmart and you still have to hire transportation if you buy galvanize, steel or lumber. Even when it comes to crash safety a ladder frame chassis will never give you the ride quality, handling dynamics and overall efficiency as a unibody.

The luxury I can get from a $168k - $220k compact sedan far surpasses that of any pickup, but let's just say I am in the market for a pickup and of course it is highly impractical to import an American made LHD V8 powered monster, what locally can really satisfy that need?

The list:

Toyota Hilux
Nissan Navara
Mitsubishi L200 Sportero
Mazda BT-50
Ford Ranger
Isuzu D-Max
Chevrolet Colorado
Ssang Yong Actyon Sports
Great Wall Wingle 5
Mahindra Pik Up
Gonow Troy

The Hilux has been selling here since 2005 ie. 9 years now so we pretty much have a great deal of experience with it. The Navara has been here since 2007 ie. 7 years and it turned out to be very popular. The Sportero not so popular but here long enough since 2006 ie. 8 years. The BT-50 and Ranger twins only 3 years as we got them in 2011 and the D-Max and Colorado in 2013 only a year now. The Actyon came here since what 07-08 and it never really scored and the Wingle surprisingly got some market share due to good pricing, stock availability and marketing. The Mahindra came here only 2 years but sold a hand-full and some customers actually enjoy their purchase and gave the dealer a thumbs up! Lastly, the Gonow Troy is rare but can safely be mentioned as a market failure.

When you strip the top guns down to the chassis, you would realize that the top spots for strength would be the Hilux/Ranger/BT-50/Colorado/D-Max. Those pickups are ultra competitive. The Navara would then be rated with the Sportero.

For power, the Navara is optionally equipped with a V6 turbo diesel with enough torque to probably pull a back-hoe but we don't get that here. Instead we get the 450Nm beast in a light van which gives its owners maniac powers hence we see them erratically on our nations roads. The other beasts would be the 3.2 twins and the new Colorado 2.8 with the Duramax Diesel that is just as powerfull. Mid-pack are the D-Max, Sportero, Actyon and Hilux. Last would be the Great Wall, Mahindra and Gonow etc...

Sadly Trinis portray to be experts in everything such as fighting crime and even designing an automobile. We decided that if it doesn't have a Japanese name-plate, it just aint good and that's why TTTL, NM, ANSA, Southern Sales etc.. are smiling their way to the Bank.

But left up to me I would buy the Ranger/BT-50 and the Colorado simply because they're above average in its intended design. They maybe worse than a Hilux wrt resale value but to me those pickups bring me closer to the true trucky spirit that embodies the American Silverado and F150 etc..not just for their power but mainly their strength.

thanks man

good piece here
a lot of sense

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 4th, 2014, 12:26 am

I'm workin on some new info and vids for the thread but in the meanwhile, hold this!

10462641_688466204559291_380335353691684554_n.jpg

All look the same to me...

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 9th, 2014, 12:27 am

40yrs old and still cooler than your Plastic Thailand/Singapore "Van"....

Ooooh I love tuh chook fyah!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 9th, 2014, 1:54 am

V8 Boys, serious question here. How many fat mampies, the average mass of a fat mampie being taken as 120kg, can you load up in the tray of your American iron pickup truck before you reach the payload capacity for the vehicle?

Postby j.o.e » July 9th, 2014, 7:18 am

I'm not a van guy generally but definitely not going to roll around in a old LHD van...nothing cool about that to me...sorry

Postby cinco » July 9th, 2014, 7:28 am

Lol ALL dem us pickups look the same every 20 years the body style changes and then they have a different shape. But for 20 years they all look the same.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 9th, 2014, 7:54 am

hahaha Rory! Well with a mgw of almost 5000lbs and a tare wght of about 2500 that's a lot of mampies.

j.o.e, you're a funny guy too. But for drivers with poor judgement who aren't able to negotiate turns and spaces in everyday driving in a lhd vehicle, there's the plethora of new "slim" comfy easy to drive ones.....for a qtr of a million dollars for you to drive. Haha, and I bet, the "van" you drive has nicks and scratches all over the front and back bumpers AND its rhd! Haha!

Don't bother me one bit what a handful of plastic lovers say, feel or think....my "ol iron" go be around for another 40 yrs with the same engine in it long after your Navaralala get traded, resold, re-engined, rotted out and DUMPED. Lol!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 9th, 2014, 9:06 pm

V8 boys you need to stop now buddy...

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 9th, 2014, 9:41 pm

^ why? I'm havin a good time and I haven't even showed you guys the vids of the scores of Navaralalas that I come across at the mechanics, bodyshops and alignment centres yet.

Hey...I wasn't the one who changed the thread title...so suck it up! I've only now started!

Postby A172 » July 9th, 2014, 11:02 pm

v8boys dem old vans have ac?

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » July 9th, 2014, 11:50 pm

A172 wrote:v8boys dem old vans have ac?

eh.....dis is ah van>

imagesvannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.jpg
imagesvannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.jpg (10.24 KiB) Viewed 3797 times

Doh be putting my Ol Ting in dat category nah.

BTW....they both "had" ac but that stop work 20yrs ago...but I regularly pass them "cool breeze Lala Vans" regularly with 15 sheets ah ply, 15 bag ah cement, 20 sheets ah galvanize, a bbq pit on my 8' tray and a cold Carib in meh plastic drink holder ah screw dong on meh dashboard.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » July 10th, 2014, 12:05 am

This discussion is as controversial as a religious debate... everybody feel they right