The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby RASC » July 4th, 2014, 12:57 pm

Right so Kill them as a result.
In more moderate Islam states... Sunni and Shia share the same mosque, educate their children build homes and do business thus progressing.

The rest of Islam and these fundamental extremists ESPECIALLY the Sunni of the gulf are out to drag Islam back into 7th century.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 4th, 2014, 1:25 pm

Also, something remaining unchanged since inception is not normally a good thing. I give you a quick list of examples of things that are better off now because they have undergone change/innovation. Feel free to shoot me a list of your items that prove sometimes it's best for things to stay the same.

1) Computers

2) Cars

3) Houses (buildings in general)

4) Telegraph -> Telephone -> Cell phone

5) Networks -> internet

6) Medicine

7) Basically everything that uses electricity (except washing machines...F#%K those. I rather the old one with the dial over the new one with the buttons any day)

8) Clothes (performance and durability like with under armour)

9) Water and sewage infrastructure (No wells or cesspits here)

10) Our understanding of the world around us (i.e. science)

Postby MG Man » July 4th, 2014, 4:00 pm

AdamB wrote: just like christianity was re-invented and very little a semblance exists of the actual religion taught by Jesus.

that line of thinking always cracks me up
anyone with a semblance of objectivity can see islam is a rehash of the creepiest bits of the old testament...yet you kids beatup over christianity being reinvented.....y'all cut, paste and edit to suit the desired status quo of the time, and then turn and say your own source material is flawed...smh

Postby RASC » July 4th, 2014, 6:18 pm

Islam needs a SERIOUS rehash on the direction they want to move forward.
They need to stop bombing and killing one another (shia vs Sunni).

There is no single Islamic voice right now. The super conservatives are pushing this extremist rhetoric that is not being counterattacked by the more secular progressive Muslims.

Not even in Trini-no official statement by any of the leaders of Islam on the state of Isis.

Dead Silence.

Backwardness!

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 4th, 2014, 7:20 pm

IMO those people you are referring to are not any part of Islam but simply terrorists or just people using religion as an excuse to kill just as Christians did

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 4th, 2014, 7:45 pm

1404517504487.jpg

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 4th, 2014, 11:46 pm

kerwinishere wrote:IMO those people you are referring to are not any part of Islam but simply terrorists or just people using religion as an excuse to kill Just as Christians Did

The first objective statement I've seen in a long time on this thread!
The highlighted part being something conveniently and frequently overlooked when making general judgments about a religion.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 5th, 2014, 1:44 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Also, something remaining unchanged since inception is not normally a good thing. I give you a quick list of examples of things that are better off now because they have undergone change/innovation. Feel free to shoot me a list of your items that prove sometimes it's best for things to stay the same.

1) Computers

2) Cars

3) Houses (buildings in general)

4) Telegraph -> Telephone -> Cell phone

5) Networks -> internet

6) Medicine

7) Basically everything that uses electricity (except washing machines...F#%K those. I rather the old one with the dial over the new one with the buttons any day)

8) Clothes (performance and durability like with under armour)

9) Water and sewage infrastructure (No wells or cesspits here)

10) Our understanding of the world around us (i.e. science)

Sorry, not meant to be applied to what you have listed. Rather, to be applied to who GOD is (His essence, names and attributes) and how man has been instructed to worship GOD.

GOD was one, now HE is three in one.

GOD was self-sufficient, now HE "needs" a son to be the Lord. Well the question that should be asked here is not HOW but WHY.

Manner of Worship has been changed not by GOD and His prophets but by man and his desires.

Who is qualified to change/innovate/improve the laws of worship set out by GOD? Is it the Pope or the UN or Sai Baba or the latter's reincarnation?

Postby meccalli » July 5th, 2014, 2:45 pm

JF.K wrote:
kerwinishere wrote:IMO those people you are referring to are not any part of Islam but simply terrorists or just people using religion as an excuse to kill Just as Christians Did

The highlighted part being something conveniently and frequently overlooked when making general judgments about a religion.

So, if an atheist goes on a killing spree claiming its for God, I guess we can just blame it on that religion despite its teachings? I'll say it again, Roman Catholicism is pagan/ babylon worship bound in a fuzzy 'christian' wrapper. The popes have constantly pressed for a single global religion and openly state their wideness and acceptance for all religions that apparently lead to the same thing. In fact, you can turn on tbn and listen to the so called greatest, most *annointed* (whatever that means today) ministers spew the same blasphemous material in sweet deceptive terms.

AdamB wrote:Who is qualified to change/innovate/improve the laws of worship set out by GOD? Is it the Pope or the UN or Sai Baba or the latter's reincarnation?

I guess Muhammed?

Postby Chimera » July 5th, 2014, 3:29 pm

What kinda pen or pencil did GOD use to write the koran or bible? Seeing as it apparently isnt man made

Postby Slartibartfast » July 5th, 2014, 9:48 pm

Also, you're going to have to prove that the original modes of worship and and the original scriptures were in fact written by God.

Also, is it possible to make an imitation of something 700 years before the original.

(For comparison sake, that's like someone having a imitation iPhone at the start of the Ming Dynasty (ChiPhone anyone?) and gaagling (imitation google) the cures for the bubonic plague in the 1300s.)

JF.K

Postby JF.K » July 5th, 2014, 10:33 pm

meccalli wrote:
JF.K wrote:

So, if an atheist goes on a killing spree claiming its for God, I guess we can just blame it on that religion despite its teachings?

What I was actually trying to point out is that, many people use the "Present Day" terrorism to make a general statement about a particular religion - but they all conveniently forget and ignore the fact that all religions have a (large) group of "members" who are fanatics and use their religion and belief to justify their barbaric and terrorist behavior.
Just because these other terrorist activities are not broadcasted via the international media it doesn't mean that it don't exist.
And just because these (groups) people claim that their religion/belief told them to do so, it doesn't mean that it really did.
It's all about justifying their native terrorist behavior, temperament and ways.

In other words... no one should judge an entire religion or people based on the group/s of terrorist fanatics that abide within them.
I am speaking generally from a Christian, Hindu and Muslim point of view.

QG

Postby QG » July 6th, 2014, 4:04 pm

Advent wrote:This christian god is so incompetent eh, he needs humans to convince other humans he (it) exists pfffffffff

You have that part misunderstood!

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 6th, 2014, 4:40 pm

Advent wrote:This christian god is so incompetent eh, he needs humans to convince other humans he (it) exists pfffffffff

As said above you are wrong. Where does it say that?
God suggests to us that we should tell people about him and contrary to popular belief he didn't say to force religion on people and to kill because of it.
Even the Muslim religion says Allah wants Muslims to be like prophets and tell non Muslims about the religion and culture

Postby Chimera » July 7th, 2014, 8:12 am

^^^ where does God suggest that btw?

Please don't quote the man-made bible when you're answering.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » July 7th, 2014, 9:45 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:^^^ where does God suggest that btw?

Please don't quote the man-made bible when you're answering.

LOL true dat.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 7th, 2014, 9:57 am

kerwinishere wrote:

As said above you are wrong. Where does it say that?
God suggests to us that we should tell people about him and contrary to popular belief he didn't say to force religion on people and to kill because of it.
Even the Muslim religion says Allah wants Muslims to be like prophets and tell non Muslims about the religion and culture

Still though. You should ask yourself the question "What would you believe if no human you ever came in contact with ever mentioned God or religion"
You will realise the humans have a hell of a lot more to do with your beliefs than God does (assuming he exists)

Postby MG Man » July 7th, 2014, 12:25 pm

why was it ok for the god of the old testament to condone slavery?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 7th, 2014, 12:38 pm

MG Man wrote:why was it ok for the god of the old testament to condone slavery?

MG Y yews ask hard questions???

Postby bluefete » July 7th, 2014, 8:33 pm

HMMMMM

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 7th, 2014, 8:45 pm

bluefete wrote:Image

HMMMMM

yup, last sunday that happen dong by me... I think everyone should listen to what they have to offer... about the chosen path called logic....

Postby meccalli » July 7th, 2014, 9:11 pm

MG Man wrote:why was it ok for the god of the old testament to condone slavery?

It's pretty simple if you understand the difference in culture. Slavery* as a concept was completely different thing in biblical times. I'll exclude the oddities expressed by modern judaism that added their own stuff in their talmud and other tradition laws.

First of all, God of the old testament= same God in the new. So we have this in peter, 'To those who are Servants among you: Submit to your masters in reverence, not only to the good and to the meek, but also to the severe and to the perverse.' And in the old, ' Anyone who kidnaps another and either sells him or still has him when he is caught must be put to death.' in Exodus. So is OT the good one now? Seems that years of atrocities to innocents could have been extant if we just followed this.

That entire concept is pretty much detailed early on and you can read all the laws pertaining to this 'slave stuff. So what's the confusion about if this book is clearly against man capture and selling etc?
If you notice the aramaic translation of peter above, you see it states servant. The translators considered this synonymous with slave*. You'll also find similar context and meaning attached to the words bondsman/woman or bondservant. Paul referred himself as a bond servant of God. In essence, ebed, the hebrew word does mean slave or servant according to context, but regardless, the concept was black and white contrasted to slavery as we know it today and as highlighted in exodus.

Abraham made his slave' swear with his hand on his inner thigh to choose a righteous wife for his most precious son. Yeah, that's the responsibility, you send your only son with some slave in a foreign land and have the power to choose a wife for him. Sounds more like he was more of a brother than a slave. But apart from that, we see that there are rules in the OT that dictate how criminals- either from local stuff like thieves or war based- could be made slaves under the regular 7 year period and jewish history tells us how economics played a role in that, people who could not support themselves would pretty much become slaves for money and sustenance.

Just some final verses to bring the point home, it should be obvious after this.

If your brother becomes poor beside you and sells himself to you, you shall not make him serve as a bond-servant: he shall be with you as a hired servant and as a sojourner. He shall serve with you until the year of the jubilee”

“You shall not give up to his manager a slave who has escaped from his manager to you. He shall dwell with you, in your midst, in the place that he shall choose within one of your towns, wherever it suits him. You shall not wrong him.”

“If your brother, a Hebrew man or a Hebrew woman, is sold to you, he shall serve you six years, and in the seventh year you shall let him go free from you. And when you let him go free from you, you shall not let him go empty-handed. You shall furnish him liberally out of your flock, out of your threshing floor, and out of your winepress. As the LORD your God has blessed you, you shall give to him.”

“For he who was called in the Lord as a slave is a freedman of the Lord. Likewise he who was free when called is a slave of Christ. You were bought with a price; do not become slaves of men. So, brothers, in whatever condition each was called, there let him remain with God.”

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 7th, 2014, 9:46 pm

1404783961881.jpg

twisstted

Postby twisstted » July 7th, 2014, 10:00 pm

Question for all those who dont delieve in god : if knowledge is power then explain to me who give man knowledge and y cant man make blood and body parts ag man and others ur misconseption of life is a manifeistation of ur ignorance to accept wat gave life and takes life ! Hence the reason y u all are the fool and weak ones hope when ur batteries die u can change it and come talk on this forum

Daran

Postby Daran » July 8th, 2014, 6:16 am

twisstted wrote:Question for all those who dont delieve in god : if knowledge is power then explain to me who give man knowledge and y cant man make blood and body parts ag man and others ur misconseption of life is a manifeistation of ur ignorance to accept wat gave life and takes life ! Hence the reason y u all are the fool and weak ones hope when ur batteries die u can change it and come talk on this forum

Good grief, god did not give man knowledge. In fact human beings are born with very little instinctive knowledge when compared to other animals.

And I see you're totally ignorant of the field of bioengineering.

Postby janfar » July 8th, 2014, 6:45 am

twisstted wrote:Question for all those who dont delieve in god : if knowledge is power then explain to me who give man knowledge and y cant man make blood and body parts ag man and others ur misconseption of life is a manifeistation of ur ignorance to accept wat gave life and takes life ! Hence the reason y u all are the fool and weak ones hope when ur batteries die u can change it and come talk on this forum

Looks like neither god nor science helped you with Grammar and spelling at school.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 8th, 2014, 7:26 am

Question for everyone : why allyuh can't just accept that not everyone believe in the same thing.....

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 8th, 2014, 7:42 am

kerwinishere wrote:Question for everyone : why allyuh can't just accept that not everyone believe in the same thing.....

Most people claim their way is the only and right way. And as long as it have folks who believe and say so, there will always have folks to say otherwise.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 8th, 2014, 7:43 am

1404819798715.jpg
1404819798715.jpg (54.88 KiB) Viewed 3731 times

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 8th, 2014, 7:53 am

[url]HATE SPEECH: http://youtu.be/mmXpJuEnNnw[/url]