Re: Neal & Massy re-branding exercise?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 1st, 2014, 9:00 pm

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 2nd, 2014, 1:21 pm

Seems like that eh, but the logo splits to give the N&M apparently...

Postby tr1ad » July 2nd, 2014, 1:30 pm

Postby S_2NR » July 2nd, 2014, 1:54 pm

tr1ad wrote:Image

HAH :lol:

Postby zoom rader » July 2nd, 2014, 1:57 pm

Nothing wrong with re-branding,

Ent PNM re-branded theyself

Postby Morpheus » July 2nd, 2014, 2:56 pm

*groan...

blacklight

Postby blacklight » July 2nd, 2014, 3:01 pm

Postby bluefete » July 2nd, 2014, 4:22 pm

Do we have a case of plagiarism here??? No wonder thiefing cud never done in T&T.

Where is Kevin Baldeosingh when you need him?

No wonder Sidney Knox was upset!!

eliteauto wrote:Image

Postby Dizzy28 » July 2nd, 2014, 5:28 pm

Millions spent on a re brand, but heavy similarities to a logo found elsewhere in the world...priceless!!!
They probably insulated anyhow cuz the colour and the intersection of the 4 lines different but still eerily close.

spanish

Postby spanish » July 3rd, 2014, 8:25 am

Look ting now. LOL

Postby A172 » July 3rd, 2014, 11:19 am

now geh ah email dey from tracmac sayin is nw massy machinery

like cat wasnt cuttin it

20inchstrong

Postby 20inchstrong » July 3rd, 2014, 2:00 pm

A172 wrote:now geh ah email dey from tracmac sayin is nw massy machinery

like cat wasnt cuttin it

Massy CAT still exist. If you look at the flyer, there is a separation between the CAT & Non CAT lines of the business now.

Postby A172 » July 3rd, 2014, 2:06 pm

k

Postby skylinechild » July 3rd, 2014, 6:53 pm

any chaguanas tuners could link meh a pic of the sign at they put up on the side of the highway...my co workers doubting me when i tell them they name the thing massey cat... :lol:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » July 3rd, 2014, 7:20 pm

Postby skylinechild » July 3rd, 2014, 10:32 pm

^^ what i wanted is an actual pic of the sign at the sign of the highway.... the big & bold sign they put up for everyone to see....

Postby tr1ad » July 3rd, 2014, 10:42 pm

I'll see if i get one tomorrow

Postby tr1ad » July 4th, 2014, 9:08 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business ... 69091.html

By \\\\\ Carla Bridglal carla.bridglal@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jul 3, 2014 at 8:10 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 3, 2014 at 8:10 PM ECT
It’s the case of independent work that looks similar.
Ever since the Massy Group, formerly Neal & Massy, launched its rebrand—complete with a new logo—on Monday night, the company has been facing a barrage of criticism on social media from loyalist customers annoyed that some of their iconic local business places have been corporately renamed, but also an allegation that the Massy Group may have plagiarised its new look.
But group chief executive and president Gervase Warner has dismissed any claims that Massy’s new design is a rip-off of any other.
“This is something where two designers came up with similar designs around the same time. The infinity or butterfly design (on which the company’s new logo is based) is something that will occur naturally when you combine N and M—and it was important to us that we incorporate the N from Neal in this new look,” Warner told the Express yesterday in a telephone interview.
The new logo was designed by Canadian firm Blammo, and Warner said the Massy Group has trademarked it in the territories in which it operates.
“Our logo has been trademarked and when we did the search during that process, nothing came up. We are convinced that any similarity with this and another logo is a genuine case of two people coming up with a similar concept independently. Now what we have to do about it is we have to make sure ours is protected,” he said.
The logo in question is a prototype presented as an option for the National Museum in Warsaw, Poland. The similarities were first highlighted in a blog post by local designer Nicholas Huggins, which has been making the rounds on social media. Both logos feature that straight-lined infinity/butterfly effect from the N and M combination. Huggins also noted that the logos have similar fonts.
“Our research suggests our designers did have working designs of this logo before that one was presented,” Warner said, although he noted that Massy’s logo was presented late 2013, around the same time as the Warsaw Museum option; that logo is, however, not the official logo of that organisation. Warner said Massy was “pretty convinced this is independent work that looks similar”, although they were “quite aghast” as well to see the comparisons.
“We are doing research legally and otherwise. We most certainly don’t believe it is plagiarised and plan to do a more global registration and will protect our design in other territories. We did not copy anybody and we actually prefer our design,” he said.
The logo is not the only thing Warner has had to defend since the company took the bold step of rebranding one of the most well known and biggest corporations in the region.
“The four questions I keep getting since Monday are: Why rebrand? How could you drop Neal? How dare we drop HiLo? And did you plagiarise the logo? We will continue to answer all these questions through the mainstream and social media,” he said.
Regarding HiLo, Warner said he understood the attachment people had to the iconic brand, and other territories also had similar issues.
“We in Trinidad are thinking about HiLo; in Barbados it’s Supercentre; St Lucia, SuperJ’s—everybody is attached and for a long time we stayed away from touching it. We wanted, however, to pick an independent name (represented throughout the region). We know that it will be controversial so we’ve gone out of our way to make sure shoppers enjoy more benefits. We also have the Massy card that they can use to get in-store credit and points throughout the group,” he said.
Massy hasn’t changed HiLo, he said, but has now added a whole new set of offers that the company hopes customers will enjoy, and eventually come to appreciate.
“It’s so great the fact that (customers) are so connected to the brand. We are not messing with it, but doing something to deliver more value,” he said.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 4th, 2014, 9:43 am

tr1ad wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business/Massy-No-plagiarism-in-new-logo-265769091.html

By \\\\\ Carla Bridglal carla.bridglal@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Jul 3, 2014 at 8:10 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 3, 2014 at 8:10 PM ECT
It’s the case of independent work that looks similar.
Ever since the Massy Group, formerly Neal & Massy, launched its rebrand—complete with a new logo—on Monday night, the company has been facing a barrage of criticism on social media from loyalist customers annoyed that some of their iconic local business places have been corporately renamed, but also an allegation that the Massy Group may have plagiarised its new look.
But group chief executive and president Gervase Warner has dismissed any claims that Massy’s new design is a rip-off of any other.
“This is something where two designers came up with similar designs around the same time. The infinity or butterfly design (on which the company’s new logo is based) is something that will occur naturally when you combine N and M—and it was important to us that we incorporate the N from Neal in this new look,” Warner told the Express yesterday in a telephone interview.
The new logo was designed by Canadian firm Blammo, and Warner said the Massy Group has trademarked it in the territories in which it operates.
“Our logo has been trademarked and when we did the search during that process, nothing came up. We are convinced that any similarity with this and another logo is a genuine case of two people coming up with a similar concept independently. Now what we have to do about it is we have to make sure ours is protected,” he said.
The logo in question is a prototype presented as an option for the National Museum in Warsaw, Poland. The similarities were first highlighted in a blog post by local designer Nicholas Huggins, which has been making the rounds on social media. Both logos feature that straight-lined infinity/butterfly effect from the N and M combination. Huggins also noted that the logos have similar fonts.
“Our research suggests our designers did have working designs of this logo before that one was presented,” Warner said, although he noted that Massy’s logo was presented late 2013, around the same time as the Warsaw Museum option; that logo is, however, not the official logo of that organisation. Warner said Massy was “pretty convinced this is independent work that looks similar”, although they were “quite aghast” as well to see the comparisons.
“We are doing research legally and otherwise. We most certainly don’t believe it is plagiarised and plan to do a more global registration and will protect our design in other territories. We did not copy anybody and we actually prefer our design,” he said.
The logo is not the only thing Warner has had to defend since the company took the bold step of rebranding one of the most well known and biggest corporations in the region.
“The four questions I keep getting since Monday are: Why rebrand? How could you drop Neal? How dare we drop HiLo? And did you plagiarise the logo? We will continue to answer all these questions through the mainstream and social media,” he said.
Regarding HiLo, Warner said he understood the attachment people had to the iconic brand, and other territories also had similar issues.
“We in Trinidad are thinking about HiLo; in Barbados it’s Supercentre; St Lucia, SuperJ’s—everybody is attached and for a long time we stayed away from touching it. We wanted, however, to pick an independent name (represented throughout the region). We know that it will be controversial so we’ve gone out of our way to make sure shoppers enjoy more benefits. We also have the Massy card that they can use to get in-store credit and points throughout the group,” he said.
Massy hasn’t changed HiLo, he said, but has now added a whole new set of offers that the company hopes customers will enjoy, and eventually come to appreciate.
“It’s so great the fact that (customers) are so connected to the brand. We are not messing with it, but doing something to deliver more value,” he said.

jussayin
the MNW logo concept you posted was around since sept 2012

Postby Les Bain » July 4th, 2014, 10:09 am

Too bad he didn't justify Messy Cyat.

Postby ronsin1 » July 5th, 2014, 7:48 am

skylinechild wrote:^^ what i wanted is an actual pic of the sign at the sign of the highway.... the big & bold sign they put up for everyone to see....

here you go dude

Cid

Postby Cid » July 5th, 2014, 10:10 am

Saw dis on fb

uploadfromtaptalk1404569412480.jpg

Postby S_2NR » July 5th, 2014, 10:51 am

Why would the average consumer want hilo back

Postby bluefete » July 5th, 2014, 10:55 am

S_2NR wrote:Why would the average consumer want hilo back

The average consumer cannot afford to shop at hi-lo.

Havoc

Postby Havoc » July 5th, 2014, 11:12 am

Hi lo only good for d occasional buy one get one free deal and d bucket ah ice cream

Postby S_2NR » July 5th, 2014, 12:32 pm

When u shop at hilo u don't just pay for the goods, you pay for the ambience, better service, better facilities, grocery layout and diversity of goods. I'll shop hilo or tru value over xtra foods and food basket any day. I just feel more comfortable

Postby Morpheus » July 5th, 2014, 1:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:When u shop at hilo u don't just pay for the goods, you pay for the ambience, better service, better facilities, grocery layout and diversity of goods. I'll shop hilo or tru value over xtra foods and food basket any day. I just feel more comfortable

Dem be Premium Grocery bai. Honestly they do feel and look that way as S_2NR said...

Postby Ted_v2 » July 5th, 2014, 1:54 pm

Yeah what you said

Postby RASC » July 5th, 2014, 2:48 pm

bluefete wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Why would the average consumer want hilo back

The average consumer cannot afford to shop at hi-lo.

Brrrr