Digicel Mulls Banning VOIP in Jamaica (Coming soon to T&T?)

2WNBoost

Re: Digicel Mulls Banning VOIP in Jamaica (Coming soon to T&

Postby 2WNBoost » July 1st, 2014, 10:10 pm

TRDGUY wrote:Na I on Lime all now and was using viber in Jamaica last week and in Barbados today . Something in the making perhaps. However that's total dew dew

They started it in Jamaica
http://www.digiceljamaica.com/en/about/news/public-advisory-digicel-blocks-voip-services
June 29th 2014 - PUBLIC ADVISORY- DIGICEL BLOCKS VOIP SERVICES

Digicel is announcing that, effectively immediately, unlicenced phone number based VOIP services are blocked on its network.
Unlicenced phone number based VOIP operators such as Viber and Nimbuzz use telecoms networks to deliver their services, but do not pay the requisite money for the privilege. Digicel believes that this unauthorised use of its network amounts to illegal bypass activity.

With these unauthorised VOIP services putting enormous pressures on bandwidth – and customers’ data usage experience being negatively impacted as a result – the company has been forced to take firm action.

This is about getting the VOIP operators to agree to pay a reasonable price for the services that, at this point, they are taking from us for free. Just as a consumer would not expect to go to a supermarket and take the goods off the shelves for free, so the VOIP operators must be forced to pay their dues so that our customers can feel the benefits of our investments

With discussions with the VOIP providers ongoing, Digicel is hopeful that these measures will only be temporary and that mutually beneficial commercial relationships can be agreed with them on an individual basis.

Digicel is taking this action to protect its business, its customers and its service integrity. We would like to thank customers for their understanding and patience and hope to have a positive result to communicate in the near future.

Meanwhile Youtube accounted for 18.69% of internet traffic for Nov 2013 in North America
http://www.cnet.com/news/netflix-youtube-gobble-up-half-of-internet-traffic/

IdleMind2504

Digicel to block VOIP

Postby IdleMind2504 » July 4th, 2014, 8:25 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1404519930.227960.jpg

Madness I really hope TATT puts an end to this

Postby M_2NR » July 4th, 2014, 9:36 pm

Still works for me. But I never liked Viber to be honest. Feels like a 5 year old designed it. Plus, there is always a 5 second delay between persons. Once Skype, Whatsapp and Facebook is still supported (and the latter 2 free) we in a gear.

Postby nervewrecker » July 4th, 2014, 9:39 pm

Only Viber and Nimbuzz?

Hangouts included I wonder?

Postby S_2NR » July 4th, 2014, 9:50 pm

this would affect me if i had a data plan :lol:
lord help allyu if they block whatsapp.

Postby pete » July 4th, 2014, 10:41 pm

Magic jack still works

Postby M_2NR » July 4th, 2014, 11:00 pm

S_2NR wrote:this would affect me if i had a data plan :lol:
lord help allyu if they block whatsapp.

they would actually breach silver and gold smartplan contracts if they do so since it is established in the terms:
Smart Plans (Silver and Gold) will also have the EXTRA ADDED VALUE of Unlimited Social and Messaging Add-On built into the Data bundle at no additional cost to the subscriber. Therefore subscribers can use Facebook, Twitter, Chat-On, Imessage and Whatsapp free without depleting their data bundle. This is only available to customers on Non-BlackBerry Smart Plans and will NOT be available for the Smart Plans Bronze.

Postby S_2NR » July 5th, 2014, 6:00 am

I think WhatsApp is planning on adding voice calls in the future. That's why I said that

Postby maj. tom » July 5th, 2014, 6:03 am

The issue of Net Neutrality finally hits home.

Postby skylinechild » July 5th, 2014, 7:12 am

UPDATE - it is here

see attached pic- came from todays express - page 19

wonder if TATT can do anything about this.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 5th, 2014, 8:56 am

TATT may not do anything about this. This is not our company we can not force digicel to allow VOIP if they don't want to.

If we don't like something we just don't support it.

Also the market in the US is huge compared to here I think digicel is taking a massive hit on profits thanks to VOIP and with the tiny population of the Caribbean they might just be right to do what they are doing

How quickly we forget what TSTT did to us when Digicel was never around how quickly we forget. You cant done count the amount of money they spent to put a network in this country and VoIP is making that infrastructure worthless and money wasted.

Just remember its only thanks to digicel that tstt's monopoly was crushed.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 5th, 2014, 9:33 am

Viber is the main target, all others not affected.

Carry on

Postby rfari » July 5th, 2014, 10:17 am

uploadfromtaptalk1404569801750.jpg

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » July 5th, 2014, 10:19 am

Just got the text too -_-

Postby M_2NR » July 5th, 2014, 10:23 am

Meh. And texting 819 to 247 eh doing anything.

want2liqur

Postby want2liqur » July 5th, 2014, 10:41 am

So after spending $600 for a mifi device by $60 for a "special" sim by a 15gb plan they restricting me from using voip services??? Texting still works though

Postby M_2NR » July 5th, 2014, 11:23 am

It's Tango, Nimbuzz and Viber so far. Nothing on the website yet though.

Postby rfari » July 5th, 2014, 11:23 am

What about ppl using magic jack devices?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 5th, 2014, 11:28 am

M_2NR wrote:It's Tango, Nimbuzz and Viber so far. Nothing on the website yet though.

http://www.digiceltt.com/en/about/news/ ... -providers

want2liqur

Postby want2liqur » July 5th, 2014, 11:40 am

rfari wrote:What about ppl using magic jack devices?

Still working thank god cause i paid for it just to get a #

Postby pioneer » July 5th, 2014, 11:47 am

It good ollor stay wid dem ricer companies

Postby rfari » July 5th, 2014, 11:57 am

U with at&t nuh pios

Postby tr1ad » July 5th, 2014, 11:59 am

You studying the troll king?

Postby rfari » July 5th, 2014, 12:01 pm

I looking for a link up with wha bess network he on. Cus it certainly cyar be bmobile he on

Postby UML » July 5th, 2014, 12:18 pm

Postby UML » July 5th, 2014, 12:19 pm

Postby rfari » July 5th, 2014, 12:48 pm

Hummuch time u wanna repost the link?

Postby pioneer » July 5th, 2014, 1:35 pm

Green>red

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » July 5th, 2014, 2:21 pm

vasquez

Postby vasquez » July 5th, 2014, 2:34 pm

Will FaceTime on ios devices (iPhones) be affected also?