Biker loses life at NARA DRAG

acesinghit

Re: Biker loses life at NARA DRAG

Postby acesinghit » June 30th, 2014, 2:31 pm

everytime a biker dies we see comments like "he was ah boss"; "best of the best"; "knows racing and safety all too well"; "very experienced" etc etc etc. Then threads like this pop up. For the remaining bikers still alive out there, you guys better be more careful cause if the dead were the best it leaves nothing really for the balance to hang on.

I see some tuners posting about safety first and they always observe this and that, quick to point out lack of facilities, equipment and PPE etc and they still patronise the event. Jokers.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » June 30th, 2014, 4:44 pm

Were there safety stewards at this event ??

link

Postby link » June 30th, 2014, 5:09 pm

djaggs wrote:Were there safety stewards at this event ??

safety stewards ????? what's that ?
who's responsible for these ?? the promoter, the event organiser...the organisation that hired the event organiser to run the event ..or the governing body (oops....I fergit...nobody wants to be affiliated to the governing body...soooo)
allyuh sheit up SR for asking his question..., without even realising how pertinent it was to the whole scenario......now al-a-u-all asking the pertinent questions in round-about fashion.
there are lessons to be learnt here

:idea:

Postby pioneer » June 30th, 2014, 6:40 pm

Biker killed in drag race.

Drag racing is dangerous.

More reason for the ministry not to support any mospo event.

Nobody does dead in carshow, jus sayin.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 30th, 2014, 6:41 pm

Its sad that our spciety continue to be a reactive one but I hope new measures are put in place going fwd....after last weekends event with the biker and the Christmas tree As well as the stuck nitrous solenoid of mr rooks, the promoters should have taken heed of these incidents and put measures in place in the event of a car overshooting the slow down area

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » June 30th, 2014, 7:57 pm

soooo who won the race?

Postby Bizzare » June 30th, 2014, 8:50 pm

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 30th, 2014, 9:52 pm

Big up to the biker for doing what you love , I will drink to that.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 30th, 2014, 10:11 pm

Has Nara make an official statement yet and I'm not tlking about the lil condolences thing on Facebook. An official statement from the executive.

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » July 1st, 2014, 7:17 am

Nabeel, (RIP).

Now, this unfortunate incident occurred late Saturday to early Sunday morning.

Up until now, there is no release or response from the organizer expressing condolences to the family and friends of our fallen comrade.

I am told his funeral is tomorrow. If this forum is used in a proper manner as advertisement along with the avenue for expression and information, I would expect much more than deafening silence.

May I now express my utter disappointment, in the lack of professional courtesy displayed by the organizer of the event. to date, only Face book chatter of the best times posted between Ricky and the van and 60ft this, in child like behavior.

Trinituner can be accessed from all over the world, even, Japan.

My comments on the rest later.

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 1st, 2014, 8:41 am

According to their PRO Roger Silva, this is their public statement. waste of time

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 1st, 2014, 8:44 am

NARA has made annocement and also did help with funeral cost etc. But that's that don't bring back a man son.....so drop your lil boy attitude cause have nothing good to offer

thats his response in asking what is NARA's position on the incident

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » July 1st, 2014, 9:22 am

an incident like this was bound to happen at some time with our current racing facilities..

these incidents do occur, therefore u have to have to plan alot.
We have to be PROACTIVE and Not REACTIVE
SAFETY should always be the #1 PRIORITY

Its sad that someone lost their life, and now the racing bodies are in disarray and even using the incident as leverage over one another

The bodies have to meet to discuss relevant safety issues.
And come to a common ground in which all Bodies will abide by..

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 1st, 2014, 10:36 am

this is a post by another representative from the organisation....again hush and put it under the rug...
1.tiff
Untitled.tiff

link

Postby link » July 1st, 2014, 10:50 am

dread_2002 wrote:an incident like this was bound to happen at some time with our current racing facilities..

these incidents do occur, therefore u have to have to plan alot.
We have to be PROACTIVE and Not REACTIVE
SAFETY should always be the #1 PRIORITY

Its sad that someone lost their life, and now the racing bodies are in disarray and even using the incident as leverage over one another

The bodies have to meet to discuss relevant safety issues.
And come to a common ground in which all Bodies will abide by..

so...if the motor sport organisations affiliate to the governing body....wouldn't all these entities BE OBLIGATED TO PRACTISE THE SAME LEVEL OF SAFETY, ETC,ETC,ETC ???
& wouldn't all those under the umbrella of said NGB also enjoy the PROTECTION of this very system ???
:idea:

Postby pete » July 1st, 2014, 11:23 am

Hey link, does the NGB have an idea of what their demands of the individual clubs will be for joining?

Will it be "ok, your members pay an annual fee of $x and this will entitle them to y" our fees for each event are $x and we will provide y" etc?

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » July 1st, 2014, 12:27 pm

An unfortunate incident takes place and this automatically makes individuals such as Aaron Achan an expert in motorsport safety. If you knew this much about the safety measures associated with racing on the whole, why come out at such a time to show everyone you know something or have a certificate.

An official statement was made on Cnews for those who are unaware. To point fingers at such a time is wrong. A proper investigation has to be done. The management of N.A.R.A has been with the family throughout and for those who believe that a statement on facebook or any other website is necessary at such a time, even though one was made on a news broadcast on sunday night, think again.

The management is supporting the family during this hard time. So Mr. Aaron Achan, before you go on asking for a statement to satisfy your own opinion, take some time to understand that others are supporting the ones affected. Unlike yourself.

Make recommendations and ensure that they are followed by all racing organisations. If not, do not race. You have a choice and you have a word in the way these events are carried out. Make a difference rather than an argument.

Postby cinco » July 1st, 2014, 12:29 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Proper barriers are an absolute necessity on a drag strip. TrackBite cannot be more important than concrete barriers. Maybe if there were barriers then one bike would not have collided with the other.

just like the concrete barriers that are in place for D&W?
oh wait no one has an issue with that in D&W until something happens
but of course the people posting here dont patronise that event either right?

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » July 1st, 2014, 12:37 pm

Look at Aaron Achan, racing against a biker wearing jeans and sneakers. Was this not important to you before? But let me not question a man with a certificate right.
10421352_1432835977003618_5165219621821189767_n[1].jpg

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 1st, 2014, 12:39 pm

The fundamentals of all HSE trainings and certifications state, all accidents can be prevented.

with that being said, yes waivers are signed BUTT it is the responsibility of the promoters/ organisers/ persons in charge to say if racing should be allowed based on the weather and environment OR STOP!

A common practise is the step back 5x5
http://www.coworking.com.au/StepBack_5x5.pdf

Say what you want about me and my responsibilities but if you recall a while back we had a chat and i told you about the shortcuts to safety at the NARA event i raced at and i told you unless they get their house in order, i won't be racing. Same approach to the RUDE officials who want their way only.

Rain falling on a drag strip with trackbite, you shut down high HP vehicles and bikes until you are satisfied with the conditions, no matter how much the patrons want to race.

So bash me all you want for asking for proper standard protocol but thats what separate professionals from goats

cheers

SPEC S

Postby SPEC S » July 1st, 2014, 12:44 pm

As a concerned individual just like myself, we should do what we can to ensure these procedures are followed. Where individuals don't know, we educate. But if you stay silent, progress will not take place.

Postby SR » July 1st, 2014, 12:49 pm

This....it is always the officials responsability to determine if the track is safe to race or not.

It has been said that racers complained about poor lighting and wet conditions at the end of the track

Officials are supposed to invesitigate and determine if racing should be allowed to carry on or not or to only allow slower vehicles to run until it becomes safe for the faster vehicles

It is also the officials responsability to ensure that racers are wearing the correct protective gear before being allowed to race.

Since the closure of wallerfield what has been seen are these new "promotional" companies being formed with the sole intention to make money and closure of a track due to questionable racing conditons would mean possible loss of income as well as lack of support in future events due to the lack of proper educatuons to racers and the public

Safety should always be priority for anyone hosting these events

Postby cinco » July 1st, 2014, 12:54 pm

racers complain and still compete ent?
if u dont race they wont have an event

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 1st, 2014, 2:57 pm

SR wrote:This....it is always the officials responsability to determine if the track is safe to race or not.

It has been said that racers complained about poor lighting and wet conditions at the end of the track

Officials are supposed to invesitigate and determine if racing should be allowed to carry on or not or to only allow slower vehicles to run until it becomes safe for the faster vehicles

It is also the officials responsability to ensure that racers are wearing the correct protective gear before being allowed to race.

Since the closure of wallerfield what has been seen are these new "promotional" companies being formed with the sole intention to make money and closure of a track due to questionable racing conditons would mean possible loss of income as well as lack of support in future events due to the lack of proper educatuons to racers and the public

Safety should always be priority for anyone hosting these events

Aye, stop making so much sense boi...

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 1st, 2014, 3:00 pm

cinco wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Proper barriers are an absolute necessity on a drag strip. TrackBite cannot be more important than concrete barriers. Maybe if there were barriers then one bike would not have collided with the other.

Completely different racing son, dont compare them. Solo racing is done at a much lower speed than drag racing and hence do not require the same kind of safety equipment or gear as drags.

Postby cinco » July 1st, 2014, 3:10 pm

djaggs wrote:
cinco wrote:

Completely different racing son, dont compare them. Solo racing is done at a much lower speed than drag racing and hence do not require the same kind of safety equipment or gear as drags.

so speed is the issue and not the proximity of two vehicles traveling at speed less than 10ft away from each other and doing a high speed turn pointing them directly at the direction of each other?

Postby MG Man » July 1st, 2014, 3:12 pm

So you saying if I had t-boned stephen hosein it would have been a minor incident? A mini cooper s can hit 100kph in 7 seconds.... Imagine what speed a fast car will do...Jesus is saddened by your brain

djaggs

Postby djaggs » July 1st, 2014, 3:16 pm

cinco wrote:
djaggs wrote:
cinco wrote:

so speed is the issue and not the proximity of two vehicles traveling at speed less than 10ft away from each other and doing a high speed turn pointing them directly at the direction of each other?

That is correct, speed is the issue. Taken from WIKIPEDIA:

"Like all other motorsports, drag racing has many safety requirements for the vehicles that compete. These can be found in the applicable governing body's rule book. Most rules do not apply until the vehicle exceeds a specified time, such as 10.99 seconds. This allows anyone with a regular production vehicle to take part for very little cost, and encourages participation of many people who cannot afford a proper racing vehicle."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dragstrip

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 1st, 2014, 3:16 pm

^ why alyuh talk sense boy....its all to say Party a do this so why not correct them

Postby MG Man » July 1st, 2014, 3:20 pm

Ésta

cinco wrote:racers complain and still compete ent?
if u dont race they wont have an event