shotta 20 wrote:
Statistics clearly showing steady increase in Murders when PNM in power..
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:UML wrote:rofl yuh trying tuh prove meh right or wrong?
So right in this thread you accuse me of not thinking for myself. You say you read, analyze and think for yourself but now you can't figure out something and need someone else to explain something to you?
Your foot hadda be real small cuz it fits in your mouth so easy and often.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I still trying to figure out what intelligence they speak off,because the public never hear of them.
as to what SAUTT did,they were responsible for calming sheit down in St. Paul street and removing relllll pests,watch the kinda sheit that start back since they gone.bietch get ur facts in order eh.
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:UML wrote:rofl yuh trying tuh prove meh right or wrong?
So right in this thread you accuse me of not thinking for myself. You say you read, analyze and think for yourself but now you can't figure out something and need someone else to explain something to you?
Your foot hadda be real small cuz it fits in your mouth so easy and often.
kaylex wrote:a Man say Sautt was Illegal..
Formed by Cabinet Note...
NSOC,NSOG and what other sheit this govt put in place... formed by Cabinet note also
End result of SAUTT.... destroyed when opposition came in to power
End result of NSOG,NSOC ..Filled with some of the same Sautt people.... will be dismantled when opposition comes into power...
What changes...?? what is legal vs illegal? steups... this guy is a real ignant!!! sorry to say
Not saying Sautt was the best solution but this govt take the same concept and put i their people...
what happened>>> more extra judicial killing, death of a state prosecutor, a so called death threat, a section 34 fiasco.... cocaine juice, '
Come on who have eyes to see let them see... National Security is now a feeding grounds for the incompetent political lackeys of both parties....
we the citizens loose....
SAUTT illegal under current law
BY COREY CONNELLY
There is no provision in the existing law to justify the establishment of the Special Anti-Crime Unit of T&T, attorney Dana Seetahal says.
She says a law will have to be passed in Parliament to ensure the SAUTT became a legal organisation.
“For the organisation to function in a legal framework, the State would have to pass laws to allow that,” Seetahal said yesterday in a telephone interview.
The SAUTT came under fire from the Police Social and Welfare Division during a news conference at Besson Street Police Station on Tuesday.
The association’s president, Cedric Neptune, called for the disbanding of the unit, insisting it was not a legal organisation.
Seetahal supported this view.
“A joint unit headed by Brig Peter Joseph is not within the contemplation of any of the existing laws,” she said.
Seetahal said under the Police Act, provisions were made for the police commissioner to establish units, and people under his jurisdiction must report directly to him.
A similar scenario obtained under the Defence Force Act, she added.
SAUTT, headed by Brig Peter Joseph, was formed by the Government last year in an attempt to address escalating crime.
Referring to the SAUTT, which is led by a member of the Defence Force, and comprised primarily of policemen and soldiers, Seetahal said it would be illegal for policemen to take instructions from Joseph.
http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2 ... news8.html
Obama envoy: Dana’s hit ordered by foreign drug cartel
Published:
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Curtis Williams
Flashback: United States Assistant Secretary of State William Brownfield, second from right, chats with Inspector Matthew Ovid, left, head of the Canine Unit, at the Piarco International Airport during his visit to T&T in April, where he attended the Association of Caribbean Commissioners of Police Conference at the Hyatt Regency, Port-of-Spain. With them are Keith Gilges political chief, right, and James Story, director of International Western Hemisphere Programmes. PHOTO COURTESY US EMBASSY, PORT-OF-SPAIN
Special state prosecutor Dana Seetahal was murdered by a trans-national drug organisation with operations in T&T, says the United States Assistant Secretary of State William Brownfield. Speaking from Washington, DC, in a teleconference with Caribbean journalists yesterday, Ambassador Brownfield said: “Those in Trinidad would know that I visited your country two months ago and two days after I left there was the brutal murder of Ms Dana Seetahal. She was murdered by a trans-national drug organisation.”
Asked by the T&T Guardian to elaborate on this suggestion, Brownfield, who has responsibility for international narcotics and law enforcement affairs, said: “I stand by everything I have said. This was clearly not a crime of passion. “It was not a crime of opportunity where someone felt they should steal her handbag and then found they had to shoot her. “This was a well planned and orchestrated hit. “This is not something you plan easily. It is organised crime with an international player that has a crime organisation with presence in T&T.”
On May 4, Seetahal was shot dead just outside the Woodbrook Youth Facility on Hamilton Holder Street as she was on her way to her apartment at One Woodbrook Place after leaving the Ma Pau casino on Ariapita Avenue, Port-of-Spain. Residents reported hearing a volley of gunshots followed by screeching tyres. By the time they contacted police and ran outside to check, they found Seetahal slumped over the steering wheel of her light blue Volkswagen Touareg. She was pronounced dead at the scene.
Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams has publicly said the police knew how and why Seetahal was killed but thus far, 53 days after her killing, no one has been charged with her murder. Yesterday, Brownfield said Seetahal’s murder could not be seen as “just another statistic,” explaining that Seetahal had partnered with the US government on several issues, had been the beneficiary of a Fulbright scholarship from the US government, and was, in his words, “a star, a woman of tremendous courage.”
Reached in England last night National Security Minister Gary Griffith said he preferred not to comment.
Drug, crime problem gowing
Pointing out that there was a correlation between the increase of drugs flowing through the region and the crime and violence on the regional streets, including those of T&T, US Assistant Secretary of State William Brownfield said the increased use of the Caribbean as a trans-shipment point for drugs had led to the increase in murders. He predicted that the level of violence was likely to get worse over the next few years, warning that even arms of the State can be challenged.
He added: “Drug traffickers have to have the firepower to defend their turf. They eventually have to be prepared to take on institutions of the State, whether that is the police, border guards, customs or the Judiciary.” Brownfield said drug cartels were well organised and targeted countries where there were weaknesses, which could range from poorly paid public officials to unprotected borders.
He repeated his statement, reported in the T&T Guardian last month, that the US estimated the quantum of drugs being trans-shipped through the Caribbean to the US had increased, saying it had risen between 2011 and 2013 by over 300 per cent. He listed three major routes in the Caribbean. The first, he said, was through Jamaica and then onto the United States, the second through the Dominican Republic/Haiti and the third through the eastern Caribbean.
Brownfield said the US government was partnering with Caricom governments to help deal with the crime challenge, including the challenge of guns coming into the region from the US.
He said the reality was that the US had its own laws relating to gun control but had put in place a system where law enforcement could trace a gun in real time, determine if it was in the country illegally and if the ballistics showed it had been used in any other crime. The ambassador admitted that was not enough but said the US was operating in a situation where its legal system was different from those in the region.
On the issue of extra-judicial killings, he said if there was evidence that the police service was involved in such killing in any country, by law, the US would have to discontinue co-operation with the organisation. He explained that was currently the situation with the St Lucian police and that was why co-operation with that country had been suspended. Brownfield said that was unfortunate because the move not only hurt St Lucia but the region as a whole.
Allegations of extra-judicial killings have been made against the T&T Police Service by members of the public after the recent spate of police shootings. So far this year, 29 people have been killed by the police in T&T.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-06- ... ng-tt-ties
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:kakhole UML bawling intelligence agencies.
the US have FBI DEA etc
ISRAEL have MOSSAD
MI6 in the UK just to name a few
what does Trinidad have??? what can this gubbament talk about wrs to intelligence agency??? coughs reshmi matter coughs coughs
UML wrote:Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:UML wrote:rofl yuh trying tuh prove meh right or wrong?
Your foot hadda be real small cuz it fits in your mouth so easy and often.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I still trying to figure out what intelligence they speak off,because the public never hear of them.
as to what SAUTT did,they were responsible for calming sheit down in St. Paul street and removing relllll pests,watch the kinda sheit that start back since they gone.bietch get ur facts in order eh.
wah shiit u takling bout trajectory?!!! you trying to make the PNM look good for somethign they didnt even do?!!! yuh trying tuh play spin doctor?!!!
I see comprehension is not ur strong point...but
the point was being made that the shutting down of the SAUTT has resulted in increased crime!!!
THE STATS SPEAK FOR THEMSELF!!!Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:UML wrote:rofl yuh trying tuh prove meh right or wrong?
Your foot hadda be real small cuz it fits in your mouth so easy and often.kaylex wrote:a Man say Sautt was Illegal..
NSOC,NSOG and what other sheit this govt put in place... formed by Cabinet note also
End result of NSOG,NSOC ..Filled with some of the same Sautt people.... will be dismantled when opposition comes into power...
What changes...?? what is legal vs illegal? steups... this guy is a real ignant!!! sorry to say
Not saying Sautt was the best solution but this govt take the same concept and put i their people...
what happened>>> more extra judicial killing, death of a state prosecutor, a so called death threat, a section 34 fiasco.... cocaine juice, '
Come on who have eyes to see let them see... National Security is now a feeding grounds for the incompetent political lackeys of both parties....
its lose brother!!
allyuh does make this ting too easy for me yuh know...allyuh does make me look like an island scholar!!!SAUTT illegal under current law
BY COREY CONNELLY
There is no provision in the existing law to justify the establishment of the Special Anti-Crime Unit of T&T, attorney Dana Seetahal says.
She says a law will have to be passed in Parliament to ensure the SAUTT became a legal organisation.
“For the organisation to function in a legal framework, the State would have to pass laws to allow that,” Seetahal said yesterday in a telephone interview.
The SAUTT came under fire from the Police Social and Welfare Division during a news conference at Besson Street Police Station on Tuesday.
The association’s president, Cedric Neptune, called for the disbanding of the unit, insisting it was not a legal organisation.
“A joint unit headed by Brig Peter Joseph is not within the contemplation of any of the existing laws,” she said.
Seetahal said under the Police Act, provisions were made for the police commissioner to establish units, and people under his jurisdiction must report directly to him.
SAUTT, headed by Brig Peter Joseph, was formed by the Government last year in an attempt to address escalating crime.
Referring to the SAUTT, which is led by a member of the Defence Force, and comprised primarily of policemen and soldiers, Seetahal said it would be illegal for policemen to take instructions from Joseph.
i didnt say..but look who..the same woman u was trying to include in ur point!!!
btw her death was as a result of the international drug trade. 2 days after meeting a top US drug enforcement official.Obama envoy: Dana’s hit ordered by foreign drug cartel
Published:
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Curtis Williams
Flashback: United States Assistant Secretary of State William Brownfield, second from right, chats with Inspector Matthew Ovid, left, head of the Canine Unit, at the Piarco International Airport during his visit to T&T in April, where he attended the Association of Caribbean Commissioners of Police Conference at the Hyatt Regency, Port-of-Spain. With them are Keith Gilges political chief, right, and James Story, director of International Western Hemisphere Programmes. PHOTO COURTESY US EMBASSY, PORT-OF-SPAIN
Special state prosecutor Dana Seetahal was murdered by a trans-national drug organisation with operations in T&T, says the United States Assistant Secretary of State William Brownfield. Speaking from Washington, DC, in a teleconference with Caribbean journalists yesterday, Ambassador Brownfield said: “Those in Trinidad would know that I visited your country two months ago and two days after I left there was the brutal murder of Ms Dana Seetahal. She was murdered by a trans-national drug organisation.”
Asked by the T&T Guardian to elaborate on this suggestion, Brownfield, who has responsibility for international narcotics and law enforcement affairs, said: “I stand by everything I have said. This was clearly not a crime of passion. “It was not a crime of opportunity where someone felt they should steal her handbag and then found they had to shoot her. “This was a well planned and orchestrated hit. “This is not something you plan easily. It is organised crime with an international player that has a crime organisation with presence in T&T.”
On May 4, Seetahal was shot dead just outside the Woodbrook Youth Facility on Hamilton Holder Street as she was on her way to her apartment at One Woodbrook Place after leaving the Ma Pau casino on Ariapita Avenue, Port-of-Spain. Residents reported hearing a volley of gunshots followed by screeching tyres. By the time they contacted police and ran outside to check, they found Seetahal slumped over the steering wheel of her light blue Volkswagen Touareg. She was pronounced dead at the scene.
Acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams has publicly said the police knew how and why Seetahal was killed but thus far, 53 days after her killing, no one has been charged with her murder. Yesterday, Brownfield said Seetahal’s murder could not be seen as “just another statistic,” explaining that Seetahal had partnered with the US government on several issues, had been the beneficiary of a Fulbright scholarship from the US government, and was, in his words, “a star, a woman of tremendous courage.”
Reached in England last night National Security Minister Gary Griffith said he preferred not to comment.
Drug, crime problem gowing
Pointing out that there was a correlation between the increase of drugs flowing through the region and the crime and violence on the regional streets, including those of T&T, US Assistant Secretary of State William Brownfield said the increased use of the Caribbean as a trans-shipment point for drugs had led to the increase in murders. He predicted that the level of violence was likely to get worse over the next few years, warning that even arms of the State can be challenged.
He added: “Drug traffickers have to have the firepower to defend their turf. They eventually have to be prepared to take on institutions of the State, whether that is the police, border guards, customs or the Judiciary.” Brownfield said drug cartels were well organised and targeted countries where there were weaknesses, which could range from poorly paid public officials to unprotected borders.
He repeated his statement, reported in the T&T Guardian last month, that the US estimated the quantum of drugs being trans-shipped through the Caribbean to the US had increased, saying it had risen between 2011 and 2013 by over 300 per cent. He listed three major routes in the Caribbean. The first, he said, was through Jamaica and then onto the United States, the second through the Dominican Republic/Haiti and the third through the eastern Caribbean.
Brownfield said the US government was partnering with Caricom governments to help deal with the crime challenge, including the challenge of guns coming into the region from the US.
He said the reality was that the US had its own laws relating to gun control but had put in place a system where law enforcement could trace a gun in real time, determine if it was in the country illegally and if the ballistics showed it had been used in any other crime. The ambassador admitted that was not enough but said the US was operating in a situation where its legal system was different from those in the region.
On the issue of extra-judicial killings, he said if there was evidence that the police service was involved in such killing in any country, by law, the US would have to discontinue co-operation with the organisation. He explained that was currently the situation with the St Lucian police and that was why co-operation with that country had been suspended. Brownfield said that was unfortunate because the move not only hurt St Lucia but the region as a whole.
Allegations of extra-judicial killings have been made against the T&T Police Service by members of the public after the recent spate of police shootings. So far this year, 29 people have been killed by the police in T&T.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-06- ... ng-tt-ties
too easy ah say!!!shake d livin wake d dead wrote:kakhole UML bawling intelligence agencies.
the US have FBI DEA etc
ISRAEL have MOSSAD
MI6 in the UK just to name a few
what does Trinidad have??? what can this gubbament talk about wrs to intelligence agency??? coughs reshmi matter coughs coughs
nah ah go leave him to look more chupid.....didnt know it was possible though!
eliteauto wrote:but the same stats show the trend towards decreasing murders started under the PNM (2009) and took an upward swing under the PP (2012), if you wanna play games and semantics with stats they can be skewered in any fashion, there is no political comfort in saying the peak happened under one party because there was an immediate decline the next year so are we saying that measures/actions by the PNM had started to make an immediate impact?
UML wrote:shotta 20 wrote:
Statistics clearly showing steady increase in Murders when PNM in power..
u harsh bro!!
doh study dem dey blinders so tight it stopping circulation of shiit tuh dey head.![]()
kaylex wrote:a Man say Sautt was Illegal..
SAUTT illegal under current law
BY COREY CONNELLY
kaylex wrote:all i saying .. when the truth come out somehow .. bout all the legal vs illegal entity talk and what actually transpiring now.. I hope you UML defend and continue to defend.. only so long everything could remain a secret..
but yea if they cancelled it they should replace it quickly. but then again no govt want to do the same thing the other did....and das why as a country we cant move forward.
they could agree on a salary increase but they cant agree on hanging/ soldier bill/ privy council/ etc
Redman wrote:
but yea if they cancelled it they should replace it quickly. but then again no govt want to do the same thing the other did....and das why as a country we cant move forward.
they could agree on a salary increase but they cant agree on hanging/ soldier bill/ privy council/ etc
So if they have not replaced the unit until now,then they have ignored the problem.
Having done nothing new-how can this govt take responsibility for ANY drop off in crime.??
Having done nothing new-it was happenstance.
Its beyond dishonest to act in the way they have-ignore the MAJOR problem of narco trafficking and yet claim credit for a drop in the homicide rate.Especially when the detection rate is almost single digits.
To split hairs by saying SAUTT was illegal and needed to be disbanded is to akin to an axe murder getting off on a technicality.
Functionally it would have been more beneficial to the country to keep the unit ,bring it into 'legal' status and clean it up.
We would not have lost the money invested,and the time its taken for a 'replacement' to be created
As youve said,POLITICALLY it was unacceptable.
So we the population have been forced to suffer through the last 4 years of crime associated with unfettered narco trafficking because it was more politically expedient for the Peoples Partnership.
Ergo they did fcukery and should be held to task for that abject abuse of power.
UML wrote:^^ did you read the thread and follow the discussion?
yet the same point wasnt answered yet. can you begin by answering that? and then u cud answer what SAUTT did. and if u cud comprehend...which i doubt because reading SOG or whatever it called...as i mentioned before...sounds like it will operate more like a SWAT team!!!
I wont wait for an answer because you will answer my question with more questions because you cant answer....but then again what do we expect from someone who does just use a dictionary to fool ppl into thinking he bright...yet have no paper to show for it!!
pathetic![]()
and not being a graduate you will never know that anyone can hold a top position because u dont need to be a police to be min of security...u just need to know how to manage effectively...hence the reason there are technocrats to advise you!!