Got this AMP, need help now...

konartis

Got this AMP, need help now...

Postby konartis » June 14th, 2014, 4:18 pm

i got a Rockford Fosgate, prime 300x4 watts amp for fathers day, my brother bought it for me as he heard that i wanted to amp up my stock car sounds, now....he said that i can hook it up to my stock speakers and add a 10 or a 12 sub and it would sound well, ive searched the forums and hardly anything on this, so hence me asking....i drive a mzda3 2006, so the speakers are ok sounding...just need some advice on what to hook it up to...dont want to get another amp for bass also...thanks

kavaninho

Re: Got this AMP, need help now...

Postby kavaninho » June 14th, 2014, 5:19 pm

get 2 pairs of coax for the doors and a single 4 ohm sub with a low power rating ,around 200 watts or so. A mazda 3 rear deck usually rattles the hell out any time a sub is added.

is it the stock deck you're using?

konartis

Postby konartis » June 14th, 2014, 8:28 pm

Yea i'd be using my stock deck

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » June 15th, 2014, 12:07 am

you should look into upgrading the head unit if you want to use an amp

short_man

Postby short_man » June 15th, 2014, 12:15 am

You can buy a processor that can interface with your factory head unit.

The audiocontrol dq61 can do this
It takes the speaker output wires from the factory deck as the source and outputs tru RCA s which can be input in to the amp.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 15th, 2014, 1:57 am

konartis wrote:i got a Rockford Fosgate, prime 300x4 watts amp for fathers day, my brother bought it for me as he heard that i wanted to amp up my stock car sounds, now....he said that i can hook it up to my stock speakers and add a 10 or a 12 sub and it would sound well, ive searched the forums and hardly anything on this, so hence me asking....i drive a mzda3 2006, so the speakers are ok sounding...just need some advice on what to hook it up to...dont want to get another amp for bass also...thanks

Try the stock speakers first, you will be surprised at how great they will sound. I have a small JBL 4CH in my wife's car that powers the factory speakers and it sounds awesome and can get sufficiently loud. Actually, the stock speakers should outperform most coaxials!

You could run the 4 factory speakers and a single subwoofer off that one amp.
Two left side speakers to CH1
Two right side speakers to CH2
and single subwoofer to CH3&4 bridged.
Set the HPF on for CH1&2 and set the LPF on for CH3&4.

Would recommend a low wattage 12". The larger sub will produce more bass and the low wattage subs will better match the power output of that amp.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » June 15th, 2014, 2:07 am

check me whenu ready ill recommend something nice for that amp

konartis

Postby konartis » June 15th, 2014, 3:28 pm

thanks for all the response guys, I'm reading in the box its tested for 326 RMS power, is that the same as watts? a lot of different things on the net about it, but so far, its rated as a good amplifier. whats a good sub that I can use? mabe 10'' or 12''

Postby 3stagevtec » June 15th, 2014, 5:39 pm

konartis wrote:thanks for all the response guys, I'm reading in the box its tested for 326 RMS power, is that the same as watts? a lot of different things on the net about it, but so far, its rated as a good amplifier. whats a good sub that I can use? mabe 10'' or 12''

Always use the RMS power figures when matching equipment. Some companies quote a Peak rating (usually a very high figure), that is to be ignored. Rockford Fosgate quotes RMS as you saw. Both RMS and Peak power is measured in watts.

If you bridging two channels to run the sub, you will have approx 150Wrms at 4ohms to play with. Since that really isn't much for bass, I would recommend you get the bigger sub, a 12" and place it in a ported enclosure (more efficient). There are some nice low powered subs available on the market.

Look up the RE Audio REX line.. Those are rated at 175Wrms and would be a perfect match!

http://reaudio.com/woofers.php

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » June 15th, 2014, 10:16 pm

image dynamics also have a nice low powered sub as well. the key here is going ported. 150 watts is enough for a good rumble.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » June 16th, 2014, 9:26 am

konartis wrote:i got a Rockford Fosgate, prime 300x4 watts amp for fathers day, my brother bought it for me as he heard that i wanted to amp up my stock car sounds, now....he said that i can hook it up to my stock speakers and add a 10 or a 12 sub and it would sound well, ive searched the forums and hardly anything on this, so hence me asking....i drive a mzda3 2006, so the speakers are ok sounding...just need some advice on what to hook it up to...dont want to get another amp for bass also...thanks

Very good entry amplifier here.

3stage has everything on point, but rennie you forgot a hi/low level conversions system for his stock head unit lol.

The most you may want to add afterwards would be a pair of good quality tweeters (please not NB1 or anything from that family)

A good low powered 12" or 10" would be very much efficient , so look for anything with a 150-200wrms rating either dual 2ohm or single 4ohm

Now all you would need is a proper box design and you're all set!!

Postby Rainman » June 16th, 2014, 1:31 pm

In my Mazda 3 i ran the following:

Audiocontrol L2Ci
Audiocontrol Three.2
Alpine Amplifier MRP-F300
Infinity reference 6x8 comps up front
Infinity reference 6x8 coax rear
2 - Jl Audio 8w3v3-4

I miss my car :(

TiidaBanton

Postby TiidaBanton » June 23rd, 2014, 9:08 pm

Hey i will be starting an small install similar to yours soon(first timer) and in prep i did alot of reading. i wanted to connect 4 pioneer 6.5 door speakers @4ohms each to two bridged channels and the remaining two channels to a 10 inch sub. However i realised that i needed to match the ohms of the speakers to the ohms of the amp. This helped alot...good luck with your install
combo.jpg

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 23rd, 2014, 10:07 pm

Gonna give that layout a try^

Postby 3stagevtec » June 24th, 2014, 2:00 am

TiidaBanton wrote:Hey i will be starting an small install similar to yours soon(first timer) and in prep i did alot of reading. i wanted to connect 4 pioneer 6.5 door speakers @4ohms each to two bridged channels and the remaining two channels to a 10 inch sub. However i realised that i needed to match the ohms of the speakers to the ohms of the amp. This helped alot...good luck with your install

Note this layout gives a mono output and does not keep the stereo effect.. Would recommend paralleling the two left side speakers (4 / 4 = 2ohms) and running that to one channel. Do the same for the two right side speakers and run those to a 2nd channel. That way you match the ohms correctly AND keep the stereo (left to right) alive..

the 3rd and 4th channels could now be bridged and used to power your single sub.

TiidaBanton

Postby TiidaBanton » June 24th, 2014, 5:27 pm

My amp is a Soundstream Technologies Lil Wonder 4 Channel Amplifier 620Wrms (LW4.620)
Power Rating: 80Wrms X 4 @ 4 ohms Stereo
Power Rating: 155Wrms X 4 @ 2 ohms Stereo
Power Rating: 310Wrms X 2 @ 4 ohms Bridged
door speakers are 4-Pioneer TS-G1644RPower Handling:
Peak: 500 watts per pair / 250 watts each
RMS: 80 watts per pair / 40 watts each
Subwoofer-SVC Digital Designs 510 @4 ohms 200w-400w RMS, 1200w Peak

Wiring advice?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 24th, 2014, 7:44 pm

TiidaBanton wrote:My amp is a Soundstream Technologies Lil Wonder 4 Channel Amplifier 620Wrms (LW4.620)
Power Rating: 80Wrms X 4 @ 4 ohms Stereo
Power Rating: 155Wrms X 4 @ 2 ohms Stereo
Power Rating: 310Wrms X 2 @ 4 ohms Bridged

door speakers are 4-Pioneer TS-G1644RPower Handling:
Peak: 500 watts per pair / 250 watts each
RMS: 80 watts per pair / 40 watts each
Subwoofer-SVC Digital Designs 510 @4 ohms 200w-400w RMS, 1200w Peak

Wiring advice?

Same advice i gave before..

Would recommend paralleling the two left side speakers (4 / 4 = 2ohms) and running that to one channel. Do the same for the two right side speakers and run those to a 2nd channel. That way you match the ohms correctly AND keep the stereo (left to right) alive..

the 3rd and 4th channels could now be bridged and used to power your single sub.

According to the specs, you will have 155W to the two left side pioneers and 155W to the two right side pioneers. Sub will get 310W. The speakers and sub will match that amp impedance wise.

If you need further clarification on wiring or need a wiring diagram, let me know.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 24th, 2014, 7:51 pm

run the sub on channels 1 and 2 of the amp in bridged configuration. set the crossover setting for channels 1&2 to LPF and turn the freq adjuster all the way down to 50 hz.

parallel wire the two left side speakers and run it to channel 3

parallel wire the two right side speakers and run it to channel 4

set the crossover setting for ch 3&4 to HPF and turn the adjuster somewhere close to the 500hz mark.

adjust the gains to suit.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 24th, 2014, 7:51 pm

oh yea same as ^^

TiidaBanton

Postby TiidaBanton » June 24th, 2014, 8:02 pm

thanks fellas...buyin the amp 2moro and hoping to get started as well if not weekend. hope it goes well..tiida is probs to take off dash panels

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 24th, 2014, 8:57 pm

just be careful and slow with it and try not to break any of the clips

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 24th, 2014, 9:06 pm

TiidaBanton wrote:thanks fellas...buyin the amp 2moro and hoping to get started as well if not weekend. hope it goes well..tiida is probs to take off dash panels

lots of work but trust me its worth it. you'll stand out with yuh tiida and make sure it sound good. good luck

konartis

Postby konartis » July 6th, 2014, 12:23 pm

well just an update on the install, took it to a friend that does these things for car show an stuff, used the stock speakers for the 2 ch and the other two, a digital design 12" in a custom box, he said that it has the perfect tuning and power rating for the amp...I must say, the music sounds perfect, nice clean low bass, stock speakers sounds too good to be true, everyone asking me what amp i'm using and doubting that i used back my stock speakers...What I like about it is that it plays loud with no distortion...thanks for all the advice here.

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » July 6th, 2014, 12:50 pm

Memphis 10" perfect for the bass .and you can use your stock head unit , check triple r electronics on cipero st. San Fernando . they will budjet your pocket , there is an interface for those radio to convert the output to rca and work it to the amp , as cheap as 250 for it , check them call them , add a pair of nb 1 tweeters as well and yuh good to go ,

TiidaBanton

Postby TiidaBanton » July 6th, 2014, 2:40 pm

konartis wrote:well just an update on the install, took it to a friend that does these things for car show an stuff, used the stock speakers for the 2 ch and the other two, a digital design 12" in a custom box, he said that it has the perfect tuning and power rating for the amp...I must say, the music sounds perfect, nice clean low bass, stock speakers sounds too good to be true, everyone asking me what amp i'm using and doubting that i used back my stock speakers...What I like about it is that it plays loud with no distortion...thanks for all the advice here.

No probs man...glad u got it sorted out. Btw whats the Rms on that Dd? Will be going with a DD510 myself with only 320Rms from my amp for bass.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 6th, 2014, 7:44 pm

I know another guy who did a similar system and he also had reused the stock speakers. Later on he had upgraded to rockford fosgate coaxials and it sounded worse! He immediately reinstalled the stock speakers and have been using them ever since..

konartis

Postby konartis » July 25th, 2014, 8:03 pm

TiidaBanton wrote:
konartis wrote:well just an update on the install, took it to a friend that does these things for car show an stuff, used the stock speakers for the 2 ch and the other two, a digital design 12" in a custom box, he said that it has the perfect tuning and power rating for the amp...I must say, the music sounds perfect, nice clean low bass, stock speakers sounds too good to be true, everyone asking me what amp i'm using and doubting that i used back my stock speakers...What I like about it is that it plays loud with no distortion...thanks for all the advice here.

No probs man...glad u got it sorted out. Btw whats the Rms on that Dd? Will be going with a DD510 myself with only 320Rms from my amp for bass.

its 250rms, says that on the box

konartis

Postby konartis » July 25th, 2014, 8:06 pm

if i have to do a swap for the coaxials i'm going to get some infinity coaxials, based on all the online reports on them, they are among the best

TiidaBanton

Postby TiidaBanton » July 25th, 2014, 9:55 pm

konartis wrote:if i have to do a swap for the coaxials i'm going to get some infinity coaxials, based on all the online reports on them, they are among the best

U bringing those down or u bought them down here? I swapped my front pioneer coax for some JBL gto628 coax today sooo loud and clean dont even feel like connecting the rear speakers again :lol:

Postby 3stagevtec » July 25th, 2014, 9:59 pm

konartis wrote:if i have to do a swap for the coaxials i'm going to get some infinity coaxials, based on all the online reports on them, they are among the best

If you do decide to go that route, lemme know which one sounds better...