New Navara vs V8 Boys

Re: New Navara

Postby Team Loco » June 13th, 2014, 6:30 pm

I understand v8 boys point. Slowly we paying more for cheaper trash. We nearing the age of disposable vehicles. But v8 boys we dont really have much choice. Its what is available.

As for the new navara itself it looks like an isuzu. I wouldnt buy it because everyday I have to move aside from immature drivers who think their navara is on a runway

CHEEZE

Postby CHEEZE » June 13th, 2014, 7:10 pm

V8 boys you take the words right out of my mouth.its a show off ting in tnt who could outdo who by any means necessary .money and greed take over this country.

Postby SR » June 13th, 2014, 7:14 pm

How much profit does a new car company want to make on a vehicle....there was a discussion elswhere regarding the price of a sedan in december and the companies defense was that "they nkt making much:" but 4 months after price dropped by almost 30k and now marketed as a "sale"... go figure.. and these same new car companies continue to lobby against the roro market.

CHEEZE

Postby CHEEZE » June 13th, 2014, 7:25 pm

Is the motorvehicle tax and vat is nearly half d price of the car iz the frigin govt bleeding poor people.

SUNNYB310GUY

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » June 13th, 2014, 8:03 pm

I think that navara is a good lil pickup...not as tough as my old chevy but still a nice lil truck. This navara is not bad of a vehicle compared to them killer cars GM selling ppl with dem bad ignition switches that done kill about 13 ppl(possibly more). Had another recall today for half a million camaros today...check autoblog.com

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 13th, 2014, 9:40 pm

I have to wonder about the thinking that goes on in this forum. Ppl saying that the newer vehicles are disposable despite they now having once a year maintenance required, using new technologies in engineering and design, using advanced materials, etc. Basically saying that a modern car will not last as long as an old junker.

Modern day engines are being designed to lower operating costs and last longer, auto bodies are being made out of better materials. My EK4 is almost 15 yrs old and no rust...a 1985 Bluebird would have gone through 3 or 4 body jobs in that time due to rot.

And the stupidest argument is when a modern vehicle gets in an accident and folds up. The comments will be ah ole car woulda come out of that with a little dent. The reason of course is that the new car body protects the passengers by absorbing crash energy through deformation....yuh woulda dead in the good ole car.

Modern vehicles are engineered with advanced materials to improve safety, reduce fuel consumption, last longer, etc. So guess what you the consumer have to pay for this. I would rather be in a pickup with 8 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA and advanced safety technologies than in some stupid ole arse vehicle that could get me killed.

As for the price of new vehicles in TT? Well if ppl continue to buy who could blame the dealer for taking advantage. Trinis doh care about value for money only that they have the newest bling ... but that is a whole other story.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » June 13th, 2014, 11:16 pm

V8 is right they rape ppl pocket with those new car prices. Just do a price comparison on us models

bossmann

Postby bossmann » June 13th, 2014, 11:40 pm

While yes car prices are high you just can't compare to US prices without taking certain things into consideration. We do not manufacture cars here and they don't teleport here.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » June 13th, 2014, 11:52 pm

ek4ever wrote:I have to wonder about the thinking that goes on in this forum. Ppl saying that the newer vehicles are disposable despite they now having once a year maintenance required, using new technologies in engineering and design, using advanced materials, etc. Basically saying that a modern car will not last as long as an old junker.

Modern day engines are being designed to lower operating costs and last longer, auto bodies are being made out of better materials. My EK4 is almost 15 yrs old and no rust...a 1985 Bluebird would have gone through 3 or 4 body jobs in that time due to rot.

And the stupidest argument is when a modern vehicle gets in an accident and folds up. The comments will be ah ole car woulda come out of that with a little dent. The reason of course is that the new car body protects the passengers by absorbing crash energy through deformation....yuh woulda dead in the good ole car.

Modern vehicles are engineered with advanced materials to improve safety, reduce fuel consumption, last longer, etc. So guess what you the consumer have to pay for this. I would rather be in a pickup with 8 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA and advanced safety technologies than in some stupid ole arse vehicle that could get me killed.

As for the price of new vehicles in TT? Well if ppl continue to buy who could blame the dealer for taking advantage. Trinis doh care about value for money only that they have the newest bling ... but that is a whole other story.

Smh...

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 14th, 2014, 12:13 am

Ah!!! A worthy opponent!

This dude knows how to trade punches and still be gentlemanly about it!

But ah haffee mek some adjustments...

ek4ever wrote:I have to wonder about the thinking that goes on in this forum. Ppl saying that the newer vehicles are disposable despite they now having once a year maintenance required, using new technologies in engineering and design, using advanced materials, etc. Basically saying that a modern car will not last as long as an old junker.
ah love red...They ARE disposable buddy! Do you know how that the Japanese FORCE their ppl to buy new vehicles almost annually? Yup...they do this by subtle coercion...the insurance companies double their premiums after the first yr and they triple it every yr after that. That way the Japanese public is "encouraged" to purchase new vehicles every yr...(the dealers and part stores don't stock parts for them after 5yrs anyway) This is where the "foreign used" term came about...thousands of UNWANTED and outdated cars being shipped off to third world countries. Jamaica, Barbados, even Venezuela and recently Australia are grabbing them up. Common sense would also factor in here> would you buy bread from YESTERDAY if you lived next door to a bakery? Same principle...the Japs themselves are very programmed to keep their vehicles current. And one more fact...I like many others on this forum ACTALLY repair these new plastic fantastics...and I can vouch for their "5yr shelf life principle"...how so? I'll give you a few things to judge by...Nissan who for yrs put these into ALL their cars are now opting to discontinue their use>
1469974_579823112090268_1672535445_n.jpg

The vehicles that are guilty of this are the much glorified Quasqai, Xtrail March and the worse Nissan of all time> the Serena...they are BUILT to last just 5-8yrs...want more proof? The engines in the Quasqai, Serena and Xtrail are high compression small displacement all alluminum pieces of technological CRAP! NOT 1 lousy gasket anywhere in the motor, no temp gauges and plastic radiators that rupture after just 5yrs...and PLASTIC intakes that MELT when you go on ignoring the temperature light...so pls EK4 forever fella...know what yuh talkin bout. And doh get meh started on the March...a PLASTIC thermostat (goose neck) housing...that crumbles after 6yrs...and Neal and Nasty eh have 1 (one) tuh sell yuh and all the Cube engine dem in d Bamboo done missing them.

Nah...yuh eh think that one thru... yes the cars produced in the last 15yrs do have electro-dipped bodies and the plastic does outlast the metal bumpers and sure they sip gas....but did you ever think that the cars imported here from Japan were inferior to their domestic market ones? Your EK4...is foreign ent? That same bluebird yuh knockin...was made of a slightly thicker grade of metal that your civic does...but structurally..it was made a bit more rigid. The Body men of that time used acetylene and torch..and local bodyfiller and PERMOBEL....we've come a long way in repair since then. But would you say that you'd be full of confidence slammin your super-low-to-the-ground civic into a truck like mine and expect to walk out of it? They'd be burying you with airbag powder all up in yuh thorax.

The comments will be ah ole car woulda come out of that with a little dent. ever saw just how flimsy the rear trunk on a new 2014 civic is or how frighteningly soft the front bumper and fenders are on a swift? Or how frail the door skins are on those top heavy Hiluxes? Or have you ever taken a hammer to the rear bumpers on those dotish Navaralalas...its the same grade of metal as the body....thin and flimsy.The reason of course is that the new car body protects the passengers by absorbing crash energy through deformation....yuh woulda dead in the good ole car.when last yuh see ah ol car fold up on a lamp post buddy? One of the reason ppl didn't used to dead...sorry for the Patois, was that back in the 70's 80's and 90's is that pops worked his ass off to afford that 120y as plain and cude as it was..he wasn't divin it over 70mph. And he used to hate to have ppl slam he door....ppl took their time then. Now is 180kph all over the place. How d heck yuh could have fatalities on a main road? No respect for life and the feeling of invincibility behind yuh airbag.

As for the price of new vehicles in TT? Well if ppl continue to buy who could blame the dealer for taking advantage. Trinis doh care about value for money only that they have the newest bling <that is the gospel truth... but that is a whole other story.

Postby Team Loco » June 14th, 2014, 5:23 am

Wow.

Postby rollingstock » June 14th, 2014, 5:44 am

Just now man go want to cut yuh arse for how yuh spend your own money.
Lots of beat up in here.

Postby rollingstock » June 14th, 2014, 5:45 am

Just now man go want to cut yuh arse for how yuh spend your own money.
Lots of beat up in here.

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 14th, 2014, 6:21 am

rollingstock wrote:Just now man go want to cut yuh arse for how yuh spend your own money.
Lots of beat up in here.

But that's the whole point...yuh didn't have older heads talk to you bout spending "bad money"? Or is it that just like how parents today never want ppl tell them how tuh raise dey child...you fellas now that allyuh grow up on the internet...nobody must "enlighten" you?

It's called communication...how do you guys expect to get anywhere in life with "one line" comments? Hmmm...ah go have tuh start a thread about "common sense"....

All of what I've typed is what we would have said in conversation, had this topic come up among a group of people. How is it any different on here?

CHEEZE

Postby CHEEZE » June 14th, 2014, 7:15 am

The man just telling you the facts.he never tell you how to spend your money.it is a fact they send the vehicles to thailand to manufacture cause it is cheaper and maximize profit and when this happens quality goes out the door.i had a run in with am marketing for four roadstone tyres 4 tyre shops try to balance it shimming like hell .the tyres we made in china and were dsfective.gave me 4 made in korea no problems same tyre different country of manufacture.

Postby rollingstock » June 14th, 2014, 7:21 am

I doh know why men taking V8 Boys money and buying new van yes.
Tha real fcukup ting

Postby rollingstock » June 14th, 2014, 7:40 am

And before persons come saying i'm just being an arse, the topic title is "New Navara"
Not lets extoll the virtues of our old rust bucket compared to a new van in 500 words or more.

If V8 boys feel so strongly about it start a new topic and discuss it, not spew your one sided opinion that is not topic related all over the thread.

Postby Team Loco » June 14th, 2014, 8:18 am

Ok. Well new navara is nothi g special. Its expected. Manufacturers seem to stick to the same. First model in tue new line up is usually very square. Then a facelift where they change front bumper and interior trims. Then the last they curve the entire vehicle

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 14th, 2014, 11:36 am

@V8boys .... you're confusing the issue with all sorts of factors ..... dealer support and service have nothing to do with build quality and technology use to manufacture the vehicle, crash protection must be assesses equally i.e. at the same speed so compare the survivability at 100km/h in both an old vehicle and a new one....in fact let us see what is the crash rating of both vehicles, vehicle maintenance is anther variable and depends on the individual owner because you have seen some 'issues' doesn't mean it is a common, as for the rigidity of the Bluebird vs EK4 .... what evidence do you have that the Bluebird chassis is more rigid? 'Thicker metal' metal does not equate to stronger .... high strength steel used in modern vehicles are engineered to be stronger and lighter than conventional steel. And don't be too sure of car vs van .... my friend's B14 ran head first into a Frontier both doing about 100km/h and all 5 passengers in his B14 survived....driver in the pickup died. NHTSA has a video of a SMART car which is smaller than a Yaris 3-door hatch surviving a frontal crash with a big ole American 70s lead-sled.

Again what you consider flimsiness in a modern car body is purposely engineered that way to improve crash survivability and reduce fuel consumption.

Btw..... Japanese consumers replace their cars at three year intervals because of the stringent emissions laws not because the vehicles are no good. It cost more to have a vehicle certified for road use in its 4th year and as such Japaneses prefer to just buy a new vehicle. My Japan assembled vehicle is going 15 yrs strong and so are those of many other owners.

And finally the RORO vehicles being brought to Trinidad from Japan are units that are designed for cold climate usage and are quite different from those designed for hot weather climates .... just compare a Japan market vehicle with one for the Middle East or Australia...these are the ones we should be getting for Trinidad. Even for new vehicles Trinidad and Tobago market is insignificant in size for these manufacturers so they are not going to develop a market-specific model for us instead they try to give us a model that will meet most of our requirements. Put another way our dealers, and others in the Caribbean have to sell what they can get their hands on.

rusty_turbo

Postby rusty_turbo » June 14th, 2014, 12:25 pm

V8 Boys wrote:
rusty_turbo wrote:V8 boys always sounds like he has something to prove, if it bothers you that much, why comment at all.. Dbu[/quote

My accomplishments speak volumes without having to respond to you small minded "ipad generation thinkers".

This is the internet and yuh doh have tuh click on anything. What bothers ppl like you is someone like me who speaks exactly what he thinks and doh give a toots who doh like to hear ppl talk straight and with "old time" sense.

Its simple, I see something that warrants my sarcasm...I comment. Whether it irritates the "trollers" is secondary to the intent.

I have owned over 90 different cars, trucks, vans etc...and the majority of them were "plastic toys". I don't have a problem with the new cars....ITS THE PUPPETS that glorify them I take issue with. How many have you owned "tusty turbo" ?

Yes they are the future and drive nice and have "cold breeze" but they are becoming more and more of a "throw away" item than the pieces of machinery we once took care of for more than 30yrs.

Wow, that escalated quickly.. I prefer driving my "navaralala" to work everyday than either of the 2 Datsun 720 pickups I have. I even prefer it over my L28 Cedric hardtop, just saying.. See, I consider myself to be a young guy (mid 20s) I have no problem with older cars (I've owned and still own a few) and since I bought my new van I've had no problems thus far. My weekends can now be renamed from 'fix something Saturday' to 'hiking Saturday' or 'beach Sunday'. Anyways don't be so quick to judge V8.
Also besides the point, I'm looking to restore one of the datsuns and I wanna do it properly. I've seen the work you do V8 so I'll be looking for a lil advice

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 14th, 2014, 6:00 pm

EK4...yoe truly a worthy adversary..hahaha. Well worded and low on cynicism. Got some truth there bout the structural integrity...but you're taking your analysis from stats and computer generated findings...ok ok and some crash test ratings. I however work with these vehicles on a daily basis and I am virtually seeing the deterioration in structure and workmanship that were earmarks of the 80s and 90s.

Yes I understand the theory of "crumple zones" and side impact bars...but when you compare the driving styles of the two generations I can safely say that ours is heavier on the pedal...hence the high speed impacts that usually render the new cars "unrecognisable" after a collision. With this in mind, I tell ppl that when we were kids that we usually learnt after our 2nd or 3rd "bounce"....as opposed to the kids nowadays...they are always xtoboard and when they "bounce" is usually their first and last. Ok I straying...but my intent is to highlight just how much we the buying public are being "short-changed".

Have you ever driven in the new Dodge Rams, Chevy Silverados or the new Raptors from Ford USA? Now dem ting solid...high off the ground...lots of power-plant options and are very competitive in price amongst each other...That's why Toyota had come up with the Tundra and Titan from Nissan to try to compete with the mid-size trucks the North American market has been craving.

Rusty Turbo...no doubt the 720 is an uncomfortable and flimsy compared to the Lala...as a 6footer no room in dey for me and 2 others..and when yuh crash..is level broken bones... however...I don't see many ppl wanting to restore a Navara/Lux/Dmax etc in 20yrs from now...heck...you cant even get ALL the parts for the first set of Frontiers that landed here 15yrs ago. The principle is the same with toys, tvs, ac's computers, and shoes...no body eh want fix nuttin so the manufacturers are "under-engineering" them and pulling certain techniques and build methods OUT of production.

They are actually making them to last (trouble free) for just 5 to 10 yrs.

The few things I listed earlier prove that..ie: the plastic thermostat housings, plastic intakes, radiator tanks, head-light-indicator and bumper all in one...watch and see..just now the headlight going to reach the blinkin door mirror just now...they are going to come up with a design that eliminates the front fender.

But trust me...yuh go be shakin your head when you start to feel the rear end (diff) start to sway and the original turbo fries up and the tranny doh want to select 1st...or the slightest bounce ends up costing you $25g to repair (and that is with Bobby's imitation parts eh.)

As for your friends surviving a head on with a 4x4 and surviving and one of the occupants in the 4x4 dying....that's rare and may have lots of factors unrelated to structural strength than could have contributed to that un-usual accident. That still doesn't negate the fact that every time one ah dem vans pull on you...you pull away every time.

I do admit, we'll never go back to the good ol days...but don't expect me to embrace the trends of today. I will NEVER own a car that doesn't have a key to open and start it.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » June 14th, 2014, 7:36 pm

Wow. A new Navara lead to all this. Which means, if it's on the streets, it'll lead to road rage. :lol::lol::lol:

At the end of it all, everyone have their own taste to vehicles. Respect all, but die hard for what I like, cause I'm the individual, who can choose what vehicle to like.

Postby j.o.e » June 15th, 2014, 7:22 am

Who knew the 2015 Navara would herald butthurt, essays and automotive bro-science

solar_ice

Postby solar_ice » June 15th, 2014, 11:43 am

Well said

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » June 15th, 2014, 2:03 pm

j.o.e wrote:Who knew the 2015 Navara would herald butthurt, essays and automotive bro-science

:lol::lol::lol:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 16th, 2014, 1:10 pm

^^^yeah we well stray off topic but to me the purpose of an online forum is to post opinions and have discussions.....oh well

Postby eliteauto » June 16th, 2014, 7:08 pm

ek4ever wrote:^^^yeah we well stray off topic but to me the purpose of an online forum is to post opinions and have discussions.....oh well

I'm enjoying the discussion, seems anyone capable of expressing an intelligent thought or opinion over 15 words is butthurt or chess burn, ignore the ADD sufferers and continue your discussion gents

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » June 16th, 2014, 10:47 pm

^ nicely! Now....where were we?

Oh...the Navaralala all of T&T going gaga for.

Lemme tell allyuh bout them Lalas dem...

Now before more "butthurt" is induced, what I am about to convey is based on my own experiences with these "fake Nissans" especially the ones under a 2 years old.
This is not to say that ALL Navaras that come from the factory have the same build flaws and weaknesses (for surely when you mass produce anything you MUST get a few dudds)'

Right, with that in mind...cast your memory back to the first Frontiers that made it to our shores. Twas the night before Halloween...
1997-nissan-frontier_600x0w.jpg

The long trusted and tested 720 was being replaced with a more roomy, more advanced and contoured pickup. They were first offered with 2.4 gasoline engines...and later due to the new Trini addiction> an overly heavy 3.2 diesel slug.

Here's where the lala came into the Navar.
The Japs...in all their cost cutting greatness...kept the original chassis that was designed and engineered for an ALL ALLUMINUM v6 motor that of course never made it here...and slapped that heavy no-tail 3.2 diesel. Result?

And doh play less than bright here eh fellas.. allyuh cyah tell me yuh didn't used to steups whenever you were on the CRH and was alongside or behind or infront one ah dem early Frontiers as they were dancing ..all ah dem Frontiers were bowing and swaying on our beautifully smooth roads. And if yuh passed LDG or Ramsingh's> HALF of all the vehicles doin alignment were dem Frontiers....every bloody, bleedin, blasted day.

Nissan corrected their faux-pas a few years later and introduced the 3.0 diesel that saved the brand from maljo.

End of Part 1.........

Postby rollingstock » June 17th, 2014, 1:23 pm

eliteauto wrote:
ek4ever wrote:^^^yeah we well stray off topic but to me the purpose of an online forum is to post opinions and have discussions.....oh well

I'm enjoying the discussion, seems anyone capable of expressing an intelligent thought or opinion over 15 words is butthurt or chess burn, ignore the ADD sufferers and continue your discussion gents

I would disagree, it diverts from the original topic and reeks of toting.

SUNNYB310GUY

Re: New Navara vs V8 Boys

Postby SUNNYB310GUY » June 17th, 2014, 1:41 pm

Wow this thread really get outta hand...why all this bacchanal over a pickup? Its Not necessary