T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Renaldo25

Re: NEW CAR / VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Renaldo25 » June 12th, 2014, 11:19 pm

^^ I know right. Hopefully the stiff competition will achieve just that. and as far as the a3 1.4 making more sense i was just thinking that the smaller cc size would be reflected in the price and also considering the a4 is already a 1.8 t....im thinking that you making things harder on yourself with 2 similar sedans w simliar performance and price etc...

mazdabishi

Postby mazdabishi » June 13th, 2014, 6:31 am

the a3 ( 180hp), a180 (120hp) and bmw 116i (135hp) are in almost the same price bracket but IMO the A3 is the best bang for buck ( if you can survive without the rear wheel drive factor of the bmw.....which I wish A3 had)

A3 at 180hp is faster than the lot and has a tad more legroom in the back seat for those with families. Performance wise the a3 1.8T is almost in the bmw 125i and merc a250 bracket, which are a LOT more expensive than the A3 in TT.

not often you can buy the world car of the year in Trinidad for 290K.....which we could have got the led lights for that price though....

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » June 13th, 2014, 7:34 am

mazdabishi wrote:
A3 at 180hp is faster than the lot and has a tad more legroom in the back seat for those with families. Performance wise the a3 1.8T is almost in the bmw 125i and merc a250 bracket, which are a LOT more expensive than the A3 in TT.

not often you can buy the world car of the year in Trinidad for 290K.....which we could have got the led lights for that price though....

Couldn't agree more.

The Audis in Trinidad are generally more competitive against their rivals. Look at the Q5 vs X3. The Q5 Ambition 2.0T is at 495k and the X3 xdrive 20i is around 595k. Not only is the Q5 similarly equipped but it has a lot more power. Then if you actually fairly match the X3 with the xdrive28i which is around 690k I'm pretty sure Audi would be able to bring the 3.0T Prestige for that price. It has baffled me why ANSA is off with their luxury car pricing.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 13th, 2014, 8:59 am

Off with their pricing because we buy them anyways.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 13th, 2014, 10:30 am

They are suffering, out if the big 3 I see audi's the most on the roads. They starting to realize that we are smarter than that. Honda prices have dropped, case in point.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 13th, 2014, 11:03 am

F30 like b13. They sell what they bring essentially. Prices not dropping. They may just not bring in as many. Honda drop prices to what?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 14th, 2014, 12:00 am

ent civic is 220 now? and they dropped the price of the fit and the city by like 10K a while bk

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 14th, 2014, 9:32 am

People view honda as a premium Japanese brand locally thanks to how classic motors marketed and positioned the brand. Classic's pricing of these vehicles were always high. Back in 1993 a prelude 2.0 sold for $299k and the civic exi 1.5 with sunroof sold for $179k. I must know cause I have the price list in my library. Anyway I think the business model is to sell 60 Hondas for example a year and make or exceed your targeted gp rather than sell 100 Hondas a year just to make your targeted gp. Honda is a niche brand for t&t I suppose. People simply realize now that Hondas are no different than pretty much every other car in its class now since we have to admit the quality and reliability of all brands improved over the years. I think the elantra is #1 in its class followed by the cerato, cruze, lancer, corolla, Jetta etc. the current crv and civic came out since pcu days and if I saw 10 of them that was plenty lol.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » June 14th, 2014, 1:48 pm

^^ that doesn't sound right .... I was quoted $160k for an SiR in 2000 and $130k for the Exi

Postby cinco » June 14th, 2014, 1:57 pm

ek4ever wrote:^^ that doesn't sound right .... I was quoted $160k for an SiR in 2000 and $130k for the Exi

Nah he is spot on for 93 prices the ba fowl bottom 323 was 155
The sir was 180 tho

allblacks

Postby allblacks » June 14th, 2014, 9:15 pm

ek4ever wrote:^^ that doesn't sound right .... I was quoted $160k for an SiR in 2000 and $130k for the Exi

Correct I bought my civic hatch exi in 1997 for 115K.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » June 14th, 2014, 9:44 pm

allblacks wrote:

Correct I bought my civic hatch exi in 1997 for 115K.

yep...paid around that myself

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 15th, 2014, 12:37 pm

See below:

1995 Prices:

Honda civic 1.5 manual - $135,895.30 vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.5 manual sunroof - $139,895. Vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.5 auto - $139,895. Vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.5 auto sunroof - $144,895.20 vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.6 auto 3-door - $154,000.90 vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.6 auto - $176,032.60 vat inclusive
Honda civic 1.6 auto sunroof - $180,763.70 vat inclusive
Honda accord 2.0 - $219,001.39 vat inclusive
Honda prelude 2.2 - $299,001.05 vat inclusive

So my bad it was the 1.6 with sunroof but mind you I don't think it was the b16a version but rather the d16z or d16y. The used sir I had some years ago still had the first insurance cert and invoice from the company in a file handed over to me and I saw the price back in 99' as $170k. (Some ek4 sedans did not come with a rear spoiler from the showroom and none came with fog lights and leather seats).

Cinco is also right wrt the 323f sports hatchback those were expensive too. Nissan and Mitsubishi were the value leaders then for eg. We still have the quote for a 96' sentra super saloon 1.6 auto with sunroof for $128k.

The point of Honda being an exclusive jap niche brand locally by now is fully explained. This strategy employed by classic motors is more than 22yrs old. Lastly a 2002 crv with a twin cam engine, leather, sunroof and 4 airbags was $255k. Today the graduate model with single cam engine, leather, sunroof and 6 airbags is $410k.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 15th, 2014, 12:46 pm

Single cam engine in today's crv?? Surely you jest.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 15th, 2014, 1:19 pm

In 1997 the Corolla was 125k... sounds like a bargain compared to the others..:smile:

4Motion

Postby 4Motion » June 15th, 2014, 4:09 pm

acesinghit wrote: Today the graduate model with single cam engine, leather, sunroof and 6 airbags is $410k.

The CR-V with leather I test drove last year only had 4 airbags and had the worst quality of leather. The rep was justifying why I didn't need curtain airbags and that thorax airbags were enough. :) so improvements!

allblacks

Postby allblacks » June 15th, 2014, 7:29 pm

I marvel at the prices of new cars when back in 1983 a brand spanking new GSR was $29,500. :roll:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 15th, 2014, 10:31 pm

Corolla was 20k in 86!

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » June 17th, 2014, 10:51 pm

^^ Ahhhhhh Bring back the old time days

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 24th, 2014, 12:25 am

1465 kms on one tank of diesel for the dmax....?..well thats amazing if thats true!!..Can anyone confirm?.....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 24th, 2014, 11:26 pm

If that is true the big question here is how big is that tank? 100 Liters?

Postby gastly369 » June 25th, 2014, 12:29 pm

massy y u no

Postby cinco » June 25th, 2014, 2:02 pm

gastly369 wrote:massy y u no

people wont pay 300k for a hyundai
you think they will pay 500-600k?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 25th, 2014, 2:38 pm

That never gonna reach our shores. Unless someone special orders it. But if the new model sonata follows this design then, damnnn!

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 25th, 2014, 2:58 pm

That genisis worth it to me.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 25th, 2014, 3:11 pm

they said the same thing for a Hyundai passing 200k then it went to 300k and it have so much 430k santa fe on the road. Anything is possible...eg. in NA, it appears the Azera, Genesis and Equus are doing well and the mere fact that they are actually available and selling alongside top German cars says something!

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » June 25th, 2014, 6:51 pm

Sonatas specifically, hardly selling here though. You see a lot more optimas. That's a fact. The mvt to bring in a Genesis would make it unfeasible.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 30th, 2014, 12:53 pm

New Mini cooper is here!

$295K for the Cooper 1.5 turbo (3 cylinder)
$375K for the Cooper S 2.0 turbo (4 cylinder)

Big price jump from the older models. The Cooper S has the MVT to deal with now from a 2.0L engine.

tmack

Postby tmack » July 1st, 2014, 12:09 am

DrChaos, I thought that the MVT only applied to vehicles with an engine size of 2.4 and higher? A lot of these new car dealers are saying that they're increasing taxes on 2.0 and such, which to me is utter nonsense. Can anyone clarify?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 1st, 2014, 1:35 am

My 1.4 L jetta had MVT on it ...

was close to $9000
Its a tiered tax with the higher the cc size the more the charge per cc
I think 2.0L engines carry a MVT of around 40 to 50K
gets even worse for 2.5 and higher.